Judd and Hodge...again but difft

Originally Posted by Seethus
Yep, I would take a brownlow vote, over a meanlingless Bigfooty vote wouldnt you? massive tool
Yeah, so Shane Woewoedin is a better player than Gary Ablett Snr., Wayne Carey and Leigh Matthews because he won a Brownlow and they didn't.

Hey noodle. Why does Mitchell call Hodge our on field captain. Before you post go get a brain transplant with a chimp. Then you might post something even close to accurate or enlightening.:confused:

why did hodge only get 8 disposals in the semi final?

also hodge is definatley not a leader of the field and i think its a disgrace that hawk supporters want to talk him up

Yeah, so Shane Woewoedin is a better player than Gary Ablett Snr., Wayne Carey and Leigh Matthews because he won a Brownlow and they didn't.

Mate, you better not chat to Seethus about this subject unless you have hard evidence! :D:thumbsu:

Originally Posted by ShinSplints
judd > ball >>> Hodge
Now that's bias. More like Judd>Hodge>Ball. Ball when fit is a very good player, but he's only ever going to be an extractor, he doesn't damage sides, like a Judd or a Hodge. As for Hodge pushing through pain moreso than Judd, well Hodge did it in 1 game. Judd did it for basically the whole season after RD10. He was advised not to play at stages later in the season but said he wanted to LEAD the side.

Im sick of this never ending thread. But ill post anyway

In my opinion Judd is overrated. Dont get me wrong he is a fantastic player, but a players tyres can get pumped up so hard that his name becomes bigger then his on field talent. Some people say he could be the best midfielder EVER or even in the last 20 years. What a load of crap. To even be close to that he would have to prove himself for the next 6-7 years consistantly at the level he has shown at West Coast. This is the real test for Judd, His reputation has definately been boosted at WC by having a hard insider to extract the pill in Kerr, Cous and also the best ruckman in the league by far. At Carlton he will have the best tagger without doubt week in week out, a piss poor ruck division and will generally be surrounded by inexperience. Had Hodge had played for West Coast and not Hawthorn, we may all be laughing now at Judd being compared to Hodges greatness.

Judd is not hands down better, He is a better Athlete has blistering speed and an uncanny abilty to the read the play but Hodge has far better disposal, is tougher, more versitile and is a better contested mark. Both gun players, but Judd is ahead by a bit at CURRENT standings. Judd has been surrounded by a LOT better team until now, so lets wait and see.

As the Hawks get better, watch Hodge start to dominate. If Judd can dominate a season like he did at WC at Carlton in 08 for the next few years in a weaker team, ill retract what i have just said.

By the way for all the people using Hodges game against the roos in this argument, Maybe you should have seen him limp his way through training that whole week. Clearly injured and heavily tagged by Rawlings. Judd wasn't exactly the same superstar he has been with his injurys in 07 wasn't he?

In my opinion Judd is overrated. Dont get me wrong he is a fantastic player, but a players tyres can get pumped up so hard that his name becomes bigger then his on field talent. Some people say he could be the best midfielder EVER or even in the last 20 years. What a load of crap. To even be close to that he would have to prove himself for the next 6-7 years consistantly at the level he has shown at West Coast. This is the real test for Judd, His reputation has definately been boosted at WC by having a hard insider to extract the pill in Kerr, Cous and also the best ruckman in the league by far. At Carlton he will have the best tagger without doubt week in week out, a piss poor ruck division and will generally be surrounded by inexperience. Had Hodge had played for West Coast and not Hawthorn, we may all be laughing now at Judd being compared to Hodges greatness.

Judd is not hands down better, He is a better Athlete has blistering speed and an uncanny abilty to the read the play but Hodge has far better disposal, is tougher, more versitile and is a better contested mark. Both gun players, but Judd is ahead by a bit at CURRENT standings. Judd has been surrounded by a LOT better team until now, so lets wait and see.

As the Hawks get better, watch Hodge start to dominate. If Judd can dominate a season like he did at WC at Carlton in 08 for the next few years in a weaker team, ill retract what i have just said.

By the way for all the people using Hodges game against the roos in this argument, Maybe you should have seen him limp his way through training that whole week. Clearly injured and heavily tagged by Rawlings. Judd wasn't exactly the same superstar he has been with his injurys in 07 wasn't he?

Yeah but you cant use injuries as your excuse, do you want to end up like St kilda?
"YEAH WELL WE WOULD HAVE DONE BETTER LAST YEAR IF WE DIDNT HAVE ALL THE INJURIES"
How pathetic does that sound ,year after year?
I get your point about how Judd was in a team of champions so it may have bolstered his image.
I think it will be a few years yet, and a few on field achievements before Hodge can be called elite

Funny how people dont look at it the other way...maybe Judd made Cousins Kerr and Cox look good..will be interesting to see how they go without Judd and Cousins.

Like i said earlier..Judd by the Nullabor Plain compared to Hodge

So what? James Hird was pretty quiet but he was one of the best captains ever.

As for Hodge being far tougher than Judd, I disagree completely. People get blinded by the fact that Judd breaks away from packs so often, but he wins heaps of contested footy, hence why he was one of the leading hard-ball get winners in 2006.

Very good post. It really is irritating when people mention that Judd is all 'outside'. Has consistently been in the top tier of hard-ball gets for his whole career.

That is just so inaccurate it isn't funny. Kerr the only 'inside mid'? BS. Judd is clearly outside and inside-it's as if someone people just don't understand the game at all. The majority of the time, Judd would get his own ball out of the pack and burst away. Not receive it constantly off Kerr. This is what makes him so great.

Originally Posted by detox
Some people say he could be the best midfielder EVER or even in the last 20 years. What a load of crap. To even be close to that he would have to prove himself for the next 6-7 years consistantly at the level he has shown at West Coast
Yes that's why people say he could be the best player ever or of the last 20 years. You even said it yourself.
Originally Posted by detox
This is the real test for Judd, His reputation has definately been boosted at WC by having a hard insider to extract the pill in Kerr,
I am so sick of people saying this, Judd wins heaps of his own ball.

Very good post. It really is irritating when people mention that Judd is all 'outside'. Has consistently been in the top tier of hard-ball gets for his whole career.

It's become common footy knowledge (even commentators are stating it publicly) that Judd had a number of blockers giving him heaps of assistance getting to that ball.

Let's just wait for this season to get well and truly under way and many issues will be settled. I think Judd is a star. But I also think he's not a leader, he not loyal, he looks after no.1. So we'll see how he goes with a team struggling. Just as Hodge has done for the past few years.

Let's see....I have doubts. Judd will remove my suspicions or satisfy them. For me it's 50/50 at this point. As for Hird being quiet on the field, what a load of crap. He was often pointing to where players should be positioning themselves and having a chat to guys like Cupido when they got out of hand. Absolute garbage. Hird is a fantastic leader.

It's become common footy knowledge (even commentators are stating it publicly) that Judd had a number of blockers giving him heaps of assistance getting to that ball.

Let's just wait for this season to get well and truly under way and many issues will be settled. I think Judd is a star. But I also think he's not a leader, he not loyal, he looks after no.1. So we'll see how he goes with a team struggling. Just as Hodge has done for the past few years.

Let's see....I have doubts. Judd will remove my suspicions or satisfy them. For me it's 50/50 at this point. As for Hird being quiet on the field, what a load of crap. He was often pointing to where players should be positioning themselves and having a chat to guys like Cupido when they got out of hand. Absolute garbage. Hird is a fantastic leader.

Homework people homework....may i remind you that Judd captained the Eagles to the 2006 flag. Do you know him personally? How someone can say he's not a leader without knowing the guy is beyond me.

Havent read this thread throughout, but if I were Hawthorn (how can one man be a football club :confused:) I would not change a thing if I could... I would still take Hodge at #1

On the other hand... were I St Kilda...

This is the real test for Judd, His reputation has definately been boosted at WC by having a hard insider to extract the pill in Kerr

He's a victim of his own speed, which gives the impression he doesnt get the hard ball, cause whenever he has it, he seems to be alone...

No-one ever said that Hird isn't a fantastic leader mate, it was just pointed out that he wasn't always as boisterous as Voss or Buckley. And in reference to the blockers comment, hardball get statistics do not lie, what other proof needs to be put in front of you that consistently wins his own ball and then proceeds to sprint away with it?

Originally Posted by Happy Hawk
As for Hird being quiet on the field, what a load of crap. He was often pointing to where players should be positioning themselves and having a chat to guys like Cupido when they got out of hand.
All captains do this but Hird was undeniably a quiter captain than most.

Originally Posted by bender22
Hodge did it for his first whole 2 years.
If I remember correctly Hodge didn't even play a game in 2002. I'm not saying Hodge doesn't push through pain, because he does, but I'm not sure how someone can claim that he is far tougher than Judd. Both players are consummate ball-winners (although Hodge sometimes gets distracted by the oppositiong) that never shirk the contest. Both players have pushed through relatively serious injuries in order to help their team, so based on this I would say that Hodge and Judd are equally tough. Some people get the impression that Hodge is tougher because he is a more aggressive player.

Posters will sook "oh but matthews hasn't got a charlie or a norm smith or whatever". People here misunderstand the post. I'm talking about the presence of a talented individual like Hodge vs Judd as just pure talent. Judd is not a leader of men. Hodge clearly is.

So I'm talking about the effect on the team. Judd gets 25-30 touches, looks flashy etc. Hodge does similar doesn't look as flashy but there is NO one harder or more inspirational in our team. A true leader. So yes, whilst I agree Judd has more talent, I will wait to see how much inspiration he gives young kids down at Carlton. If he leads and inspires then it will be clear.

If playing in an obviously weaker side shows Judd up then the argument will be over....It will be interesting to see.

Would you call playing injured in the most important game your club has played in 16 years hard and inspirational, or would you call it selfish and foolhardy? At the time it might have been more out of column A, but in hindsight considering he only managed to get 7 ineffective touches and looked out of his depth, I'd say he let his team mates down.

By the way, to all the innocent Imogens, remember, there are none so blind as those who choose not to see.

I agree, but whered they come in from?

whered bartel and ablett come in? I was just making the point that i dont beleive hodge is the second best midfielder in the game

who cares iff hodge has to play with a little bit of pain, he looks in good shape to me i mean there are lots of people out there who live in pain far far worse than hodge

Judd and Hodge...again but difft