Katie Brennan appeal - Wins battle with AFL

So you completely ignored all of the reasonable points he made I'm guessing because you don't have an actual rebutall and instead sooked about something else.
Classic.

AFLW is the most well covered women's competition in world sport bar none. The ' male' media have welcomed it into its domain and given it equal coverage during its season despite the fact in many cases the product is dog shit. But go ahead and sook it up
What exactly do you mean by classic?

Why are you acting as if women aren’t at all involved in the AFL. There are plenty of coaches, journalists, presidents who are female and incredibly powerful.

I resent the idea that these AFLW players should be on their knees thanking the AFL. When have you ever asked the men to thank the AFL?
Infact the men often speak out against the AFL but rarely cop any criticism.

She and the club have felt that they need to go to the human rights comission.. so we will just see the result and that will be it. Personally I think it’s God’s she is taking a stand, perhaps not the correct avenue.
It’s a great competition and we are all thankful for it exisiting.
But you only need to read your own comments to see that attitudes and respect towards women in the AFL isn’t improving greatly, infact I think it’s getting worse...

I imagine it could take other AFLW figureheads acting fast to condemn the Bulldogs actions in order to avoid the whole league looking like a joke.

These teams would get flogged by your average -18s men's team whose players are still forking out for their subs each season.

I said if before and I will say it again. I watch footy as an escape from this sort of rubbish in the world.

Really?........ Sexual discrimination..........Human Rights.

Why would I bother turning the tv on to the aflw if its just another platform for the crap bombared by the PC police who just cant help themselves and feel a need to ruin everything to forward their social agendas. Unfortunately aflw is less about football and more about the everything else to alot of others. Why bother watching that.

I would rather do something fun than put myself through it.

Wow we release this unsightly and at times horrible brand of football to the world and call it elite. The public, the media, the football fraternity welcome it with open arms. The AFL pumps heaps of money into it, everyone laps it up at the expense of other elite womens sports that have been established, is at elite level (unlike AFLW which is crap to watch), girls get brought over from their elite sports to play, its all going swimmingly, we've all embraced it, I was just starting to like it a little....
And then the small minority feminists ride in on their horses and call out the AFL for being sexist. Wow! but did we ever think this wasn't going to happen. Oh wo is me!!
Not a good look for AFLW and I'm sure that the AFL and others in high places running this farce would be quietly seething at the Bulldogs for running a sexism smear campaign. Laughable. Happening in many organisations and workforces across the country. I can't wait for my organisation to celebrate national heterosexual middle aged non predatory male day but I aint holding my breath. maybe i'll bring it up at the next work monthly man haters meeting.

Oh dear. Why do you write as if it is somehow the AFL's duty to create a woman's league at all? Why didn't women get their own elite league up and running a long time ago? Are women not capable of doing this?

"Thank you" would be very appropriate. Men built this game from nothing. It is their sweat and sacrifice which has created this multi million dollar industry. For women like Brennan to squeal "sexism!" the moment the game doesn't go her way is the epitome of female entitlement and their craven desire to always be a victim. What a slap in the face to the countless men in the AFL admin. who have bent backwards to support the women's comp. They have given it enormous coverage and kept admission free in order to boost attendances. The women are bringing nothing into the coffers yet are still being paid. How sexist of the AFL! The woman have been welcomed into the men's facilities with open arms. And yet all you hear is whining about the pay gap (how incredibly insane) or anger about why this didn't happen long ago.

You mention "horrific comments made about women" when you are at the footy. I hear horrific comments about men from the female supporters every week. What's your point? You then complain about the AFL having the temerity to run a new concept in the off season with the hope it could lead to international exposure suggesting it is another sexist act which detracted from the girls comp. Why? If people prefer to watch the women play it should have had zero affect. Perhaps you'd prefer the women to play in winter and go up against the men's comp?

You mention you have heard a few bad comments about women while at the footy. I am not sure exactly what they would be. But you make no mention of the millions of dollars men raise for women's health every year both on Footy Shows and at AFL grounds. I don't think this gesture has ever been reciprocated by women's sport-yet we are the sexist ones!

Why is there no demand for the Netball association to create an elite men's netball competition? Why are they allowed to deny the many young men who have enjoyed playing in mixed netball competitions the chance to play netball at the highest level?

Double standards are alive and well.

Oh and the AFL has dedicated a whole round to women in gratitude for their contribution to the game. This has been going on for a few years now. Pity women don't appear to have the class of blokes. We say thanks when it is warranted.

http://lipmag.com/opinion/the-womens-round-the-role-of-women-in-afl/
Don’t stick us all in the same um box! I’m a woman and I just can’t believe this shit! Cloke rubbed out for the 2002 or 3 was far more of a farce. Sling tackles are dangerous, end of story, and it was a classic sling tackle. I’m just glad it wasn’t the Barry hall story, give him 1 so we can take it off in a dispute. Now there was a wrong rigged decision if ever there was one. No way She should play.

i can assure you the majority of us "normal, everyday" women also think the situation is ridiculous..
Id imagine that is correct Macmum. Interestingly when I talk about my organisation and the goings ons in that many of the 'normal, everyday' women are over the fact that every second week there is a dinner or function or event celebrating women all the time and they honestly feel it is contributing to more of a divide and resentment. The other day I read an internal email looking for women to run exercise classes just for the women, having mentor and coaching classes just for the women. And we are the ones looked at and labelled as sexist? Don't get me wrong I work with wonderful people both men and women but equality has gone full circle now. Unfortunately this was going to happen in the AFLW and its sad because all it will do and create a bigger divide and given ammo for the haters. What were they thinking?? Sexism? give me a spell. At the moment AFLW is free and listening to Nicole Livingston (CEO AFLW) on radio the other day when asked if one day their will be an attendance price you could tell there was no way they would want to put a ticket price on attendance because they know people won't go if they had to pay for it.

Another one that annoys me is when the Pollies say they must have more women in cabinet...

I agree, IF they genuinely warrant selection etc. Don't just put them there because they are a woman. I want the right person, male or female, in the job.

(sorry, off topic I know)

Wow we release this unsightly and at times horrible brand of football to the world and call it elite. The public, the media, the football fraternity welcome it with open arms. The AFL pumps heaps of money into it, everyone laps it up at the expense of other elite womens sports that have been established, is at elite level (unlike AFLW which is crap to watch), girls get brought over from their elite sports to play, its all going swimmingly, we've all embraced it, I was just starting to like it a little....
And then the small minority feminists ride in on their horses and call out the AFL for being sexist. Wow! but did we ever think this wasn't going to happen. Oh wo is me!!
Not a good look for AFLW and I'm sure that the AFL and others in high places running this farce would be quietly seething at the Bulldogs for running a sexism smear campaign. Laughable. Happening in many organisations and workforces across the country. I can't wait for my organisation to celebrate national heterosexual middle aged non predatory male day but I aint holding my breath. maybe i'll bring it up at the next work monthly man haters meeting.

Great post

It is somewhat similar to the Danger tackle that cost him a Brownlow, a tackle that was perfectly executed and legal but unfortunately resulted in a player accidentally getting hurt through no fault of Danger.

Footy is a physical sport, you can't 100% eliminate the possibility of injury from the game so I'm glad one of the AFLW players is taking the obtuse afl admin to court for introducing farcical rules that immediately lays the blame on a tackler just because the player being tackled is strength-wise weaker or so uncoordinated that they don't take the necessary steps to protect themselves when tackled legally.
Spot on.

I imagine it could take other AFLW figureheads acting fast to condemn the Bulldogs actions in order to avoid the whole league looking like a joke.

These teams would get flogged by your average -18s men's team whose players are still forking out for their subs each season.

Bringing the game into disrepute, when the BBC run this
http://www.bbc.com/news/world-australia-43509970
The captain of an Australian rules football team has launched a high-profile gender discrimination complaint after she was banned from playing in her league's biggest match.

Katie Brennan was suspended from the Australian Football League Women's (AFLW) over a rough tackle.

A similar offence in the men's league would attract a fine, not a suspension.
Brennan has taken her case to the Australian Human Rights Commission. League officials have denied sexism.

And to add insult to injury, the BBC refer to the rules for a different set of rules to the AFLW:
Australian rules football is a contact sport that involves two teams of 18 people who use their feet or hands to move an oval-shaped ball.

lets look at this...

1. if the bloody umps pay HTB earlier and not give the person in possession so much time, then some sling tackles can be avoided.
2. is the MRP going to penalize a player for intent or the outcome? you cant have it both ways

Why are you acting as if women aren’t at all involved in the AFL. There are plenty of coaches, journalists, presidents who are female and incredibly powerful.

I resent the idea that these AFLW players should be on their knees thanking the AFL. When have you ever asked the men to thank the AFL?

She and the club have felt that they need to go to the human rights comission.. so we will just see the result and that will be it. Personally I think it’s God’s she is taking a stand, perhaps not the correct avenue.
But you only need to read your own comments to see that attitudes and respect towards women in the AFL isn’t improving greatly, infact I think it’s getting worse...
Unfortunately it is not the correct avenue. At all. In fact it really does not have anything to do with human rights, it's a governance issue about the application of a set of rules of the AFLW competition. They differ from the AFL. There are also other competitions played at a high level throughout the country that have rule differences to the AFL. The AFL is at fault here to a degree, because they have allowed differing sets of rules to be applied throughout different leagues.

I am of the view that the Western Bulldogs are really clutching at nothing here, but the sexual discrimination comment really takes this beyond a joke. In fact it is quite a serious implication. The rules of the AFLW were well known (or should have been to the clubs), so they all have given the ok to sign off on that there would be no financial sanctions but game day sanctions. At no one point did one official actually say 'Hang on, in the remote chance we have a player suspended for a Grand Final, this wouldn't be a very good outcome when we could forgo some money to clear it'. Financial sanctions should be in line with player payments so they are scaled correctly with the AFL.

Unfortunately what this has done is make the Western Bulldogs out to be really cheap, by bringing up the sexual discrimination claim and using Brennan as a mouthpiece in her press interviews, they've in fact undermined the real meaning of sexual harassment. It is a grab for attention in a social landscape that is highly sensitive to these accusations, so the hope here for them is to try and play that card so a judiciary will let her play in the name of mitigating any sexual prejudice that may be associated with the AFLW.

The real reason here is being overlooked. The current AFLW rules purport to a game day sanction. Brennan also has history, and the tackle she applied to Cordner was very dangerous. The consequences of this are far ranging, for the AFLW and socially. If she gets off on the charge (or if she would have) then a precedent is set whereby any decision that is handed down that an AFLW club does not like will have the option to be challenged under the sexual discrimination banner because the AFL has different rules.

It's been a horribly managed affair and it's an indictment on the game.

It is somewhat similar to the Danger tackle that cost him a Brownlow, a tackle that was perfectly executed and legal but unfortunately resulted in a player accidentally getting hurt through no fault of Danger.

Footy is a physical sport, you can't 100% eliminate the possibility of injury from the game so I'm glad one of the AFLW players is taking the obtuse afl admin to court for introducing farcical rules that immediately lays the blame on a tackler just because the player being tackled is strength-wise weaker or so uncoordinated that they don't take the necessary steps to protect themselves when tackled legally.

"No fault of Danger"

Seriously?

Don’t agree with her going to the human rights but good luck to her.
Has taken a bit of a shine off what will be an amazing grand final and I think that is the most disappointing thing.

I don’t know that the ruling is sexist but you can’t doubt that if she was a man playing in the men’s competition she may have been treated differently..
They were right to appeal it and she has every right to be upset, but sometimes you’ve just got to cop it and move on

Definitely something the AFLW will need to look at for next season though.

Stop trying to infer gender has a role in this outcome.. the aflw players union set the rules specifying no fines, were they men? What is a better solution?

Identity politics is a blight on our society, anyone who buys into it are ignorant fools.

o_O
The women’s round(which was incredibly condescending) hasn’t happened in years..
The idea of celebrating women was to offer fashion advice from players partners and getting your nails done in your team colours...that’s some great contribution to the game..

Wow. So saying thank you to women for their contribution to the game is condescending? You asked when has the AFL ever thanked women and when I show you, you call it condescending! You are also ignoring the tributes by players who thanked their mums for driving them to games, washing their clothes and supporting them week in week out.

When was the round thanking dads for their contribution? I think dads would love just a smidgeon of the spotlight given to mums in our society.

So I assume everything else I wrote rendered you unable to respond with any credibility.

Wow. So saying thank you to women for their contribution to the game is condescending? You asked when has the AFL ever thanked women and when I show you, you call it condescending! You are also ignoring the tributes by players who thanked their mums for driving them to games, washing their clothes and supporting them week in week out.

When was the round thanking dads for their contribution? I think dads would love just a smidgeon of the spotlight given to mums in our society.

So I assume everything else I wrote rendered you unable to respond with any credibility.
The pink lady game for breast cancer is condescending as well

you don't seem thankful at all. From your posting history you seek to complain about everything about this competition. A competition is a terrible standard of football, generates a minuscule amount of revenue and will likely be broadcast on delay on ABC2 when the broadcast rights come up for sale, considering 7 and Fox have only shown it out of goodwill towards the AFL. The AFL should wipe their hands clean of this mess and the grave mistake of allowing SJW's into football. This move by Brennan is the first down a slippery slope towards disaster and the AFL should get out as soon as possible.

Katie Brennan appeal - Wins battle with AFL