Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2013 phantom draft

SA is my tip for Div 1 with Metro and Country in the mix.

QLD will be hard to beat in Div 2 with Tasmania always a chance.

NSW will be competitive but not expecting them to take out the Div 2 title.
Cooke has talent but probably hasn't shown as much as hoped.

Has lined up mostly forward so far this season and just feels wasted there with his best from what I've seen more up the ground.

Very draftable though and in the 2nd/3rd round looks like a strong option if he can put together some strong footy.

Nothing to do with the above but what about Joel madden how old is he and where is he at

Hey KM, wondering if you've seen much of macrae so far this year. I know you were super high on him before the draft last year, and he's clearly exceeded my expectations so far already. So composed and smart with the footy. Wondering what you think his ceiling is as a player and which current player you think he's most like.

When are you doing the rest

Busy with work commitments right now but over the next month I may get an update up.

hey chris whats the talent like in the first round, will there be a significant drop off in the first round. i am thinking about if we try and acquire prestia from gold coast, then we'd have to part we say pick 6, but we might be able to get an early 2nd rounder or potentially their first rounder back in return

The first round I feel is a touch stronger than in past seasons.

The top 30 is looking good, after that it's more up to smart drafting with some gems there to be had late.

Early-mid 2nd round there will still be some guys available with the midfield depth above average this year and strong through that 2nd round with plenty of guys looking capable.

Thoughts on Ryley Norris?

You might not have seen him, probably more of a rookie shot if anything.

Finds his share of the ball through the midfield. Good linkup player. Hasn't stood out in the games I've seen, too much of a receiver and doesn't win enough of his own ball. A position on a rookie list would be an outcome but more improvement probably needed first.

Nothing to do with the above but what about Joel madden how old is he and where is he at

Joel Madden is turning 19 this year.

Hasn't played much TAC and in those games he has played his stats have been low so nothing to suggest draft relevance.

Hey KM, wondering if you've seen much of macrae so far this year. I know you were super high on him before the draft last year, and he's clearly exceeded my expectations so far already. So composed and smart with the footy. Wondering what you think his ceiling is as a player and which current player you think he's most like.

I've certainly been looking out for Macrae. As a recruiter you always want to watch out for those you rated highly and see what you got right/wrong with your evaluations so he is one of many I'll track the form of this year and into future seasons.

Macrae is going pretty much as expected to this point, he's starting to put some size on his frame but then finding it just as easily and still doing those same things he did in the TAC which is pleasing.

Macrae I consider most like Pendlebury. He won't be as dominant being 2-3cm shorter, less athletic and his footskills are not nearly as good and still hit or miss at this point but otherwise I see much the same game. Once Macrae has had a couple of years in the AFL system and puts size onto his frame I see him developing into a very high level inside player with that Pendlebury type ability in traffic and that same ability to slow down time and go at a different pace to anyone else on the field. Just finds that footy so easily and with that sheer rate of improvement, he's going to be very good and like Pendlebury hopefully make that transition from thin outside player to a rare inside player.

Finds his share of the ball through the midfield. Good linkup player. Hasn't stood out in the games I've seen, too much of a receiver and doesn't win enough of his own ball. A position on a rookie list would be an outcome but more improvement probably needed first.

Yeah he does really need to win a lot more of the ball to be considered. He is the brother of former North Melbourne player Brayden Norris. I'd probably rate him a bit higher. I do think Ryley is better suited up forward than in the midfield.

Always good to pay this thread a visit every couple of weeks during the year.

Teams are starting to have some success with the agile, ruckman-sized key defenders with Carlisle, Thompson, Roughead and Stanley all listed at 200cm.

I can't remember a time with so many of this sized player filling that role. Hawthorn grabbed Kayden Brand last year possibly with this in mind.

I reckon recruiters would be following this trend and looking around for this type of player now whereas five years ago maybe not so much. Are there any at this stage that look like they are worth a punt?

Always good to pay this thread a visit every couple of weeks during the year.

Teams are starting to have some success with the agile, ruckman-sized key defenders with Carlisle, Thompson, Roughead and Stanley all listed at 200cm.

I can't remember a time with so many of this sized player filling that role. Hawthorn grabbed Kayden Brand last year possibly with this in mind.

I reckon recruiters would be following this trend and looking around for this type of player now whereas five years ago maybe not so much. Are there any at this stage that look like they are worth a punt?

Those tall key defenders are exceptionally valueable.

Not a great year for ruckmen or quality, super tall key defenders this year so probably something more to look out for next year.

For Hawthorn Shem Tatupu coming through as a NZ pick this year is a big lad at 197cm, 105kg. He can't be discounted for a backline role with his size and strength. The guy is an absolute beast of a man. Playing more forward at this stage but so early in his development that he could just as easily develop into a key defender.

Hasn't played much TAC and in those games he has played his stats have been low so nothing to suggest draft relevance.

I've certainly been looking out for Macrae. As a recruiter you always want to watch out for those you rated highly and see what you got right/wrong with your evaluations so he is one of many I'll track the form of this year and into future seasons.

Macrae is going pretty much as expected to this point, he's starting to put some size on his frame but then finding it just as easily and still doing those same things he did in the TAC which is pleasing.

Macrae I consider most like Pendlebury. He won't be as dominant being 2-3cm shorter, less athletic and his footskills are not nearly as good and still hit or miss at this point but otherwise I see much the same game. Once Macrae has had a couple of years in the AFL system and puts size onto his frame I see him developing into a very high level inside player with that Pendlebury type ability in traffic and that same ability to slow down time and go at a different pace to anyone else on the field. Just finds that footy so easily and with that sheer rate of improvement, he's going to be very good and like Pendlebury hopefully make that transition from thin outside player to a rare inside player.

So who is carltons next f/s

I'm amazed how well his side step and just overall agility has transitioned to AFL level, its one of those things that could sort of be lost because of the faster pace of AFL but he pulls out at least one a game, great to watch!

It's one of those skills where it doesn't matter what level of footy you play at. I must agree it's fun to watch those side steps, he just anticipates what the opposition is doing so well, reading it before it happens to effectively get around guys and create that extra time and space for himself.

So who is carltons next f/s

Of draft relevance for Carlton as a father son possibly Jack Silvangi in 2-3 years may be a chance. But too far out to be able to say he will be drafted for certain.

It's one of those skills where it doesn't matter what level of footy you play at. I must agree it's fun to watch those side steps, he just anticipates what the opposition is doing so well, reading it before it happens to effectively get around guys and create that extra time and space for himself.

Of draft relevance for Carlton as a father son possibly Jack Silvangi in 2-3 years may be a chance. But too far out to be able to say he will be drafted for certain.

What about Ben brown is he a chance to get drafted

I liked Brown a couple of years ago in his draft year. Has had a couple of good games and is starting to adjust to VFL level which is pleasing from the play in Tasmania previously. Still has some way to go to get onto an AFL list and will need to continue improving. Not beyond him though if he has more big hauls as he did yesterday with his 5 goals.

What about wade Towmey dose he deserve a second chance

Having a strong season. Impressed in the state game. Could come into the mix.

Hey mate.
Really liking Roth's work for Easterns in the TAC Cup. He was instrumental yesterday and close to their best behind Boyd (who faded in the 2nd half). But at 173cm he is too small to be playing his current role at AFL level. Will he get a look in?

Cavarra is going well for the Ranges. Has a really excellent running game and goes all day so he may be in the mix late/rookie but with so many smalls of quality he will need to continue producing because it's far from a certainty.

Clubs will certainly notice him anyway given that he is in the same team as Boyd which never hurts.

Having a strong season. Impressed in the state game. Could come into the mix.

Cavarra is going well for the Ranges. Has a really excellent running game and goes all day so he may be in the mix late/rookie but with so many smalls of quality he will need to continue producing because it's far from a certainty.

Clubs will certainly notice him anyway given that he is in the same team as Boyd which never hurts.

On the Eastern Ranges, should I concede Adam Miles may not be drafted?
Likewise Rory Lehmann or are both improving their draft prospects?

After a long weekend the mind can go. Early night for me.

Roth is finding the goals and doing well at the feet of Boyd. Needs to find more of the footy up the field and become a better tackler before he gets looked at as a serious option. Certainly finding the big sticks which is a great starting point but as a small you really need to have more tricks before seriously entering the draft mix.

C
After a long weekend the mind can go. Early night for me.

Roth is finding the goals and doing well at the feet of Boyd. Needs to find more of the footy up the field and become a better tackler before he gets looked at as a serious option. Certainly finding the big sticks which is a great starting point but as a small you really need to have more tricks before seriously entering the draft mix.

Can you make me a list of mature aged rookies that mite make the afl plz

On the Eastern Ranges, should I concede Adam Miles may not be drafted?
Likewise Rory Lehmann or are both improving their draft prospects?

Miles has only played the one game so he'll need more exposure before he gets considered.

Rory Lehmann hasn't played any TAC to my knowledge so I can't imagine he'll be looked at until then.

Knightmare

Any bandwagon's we can start up early?

Where dat Waylen Manson fella' get to?

Manson is one of the best talents I've seen but seems to have dropped out of footy after not getting drafted. Loss to the game really.

No Manson type freaks this year as far as I can tell.

Willy Rioli and Elijah Edwards will be two fun ones to watch if you're after some highlight reel plays but few can dominate games like Manson who is an exceptionally rare talent with that marking ability of his.

C

Can you make me a list of mature aged rookies that mite make the afl plz

Ben Moloney is going well for Collingwood VFL through the midfield.

Marlon Motlop is doing some damage down back in the WAFL. Shane Nelson with the way he finds the footy so easily could be considered. Dayle Garlett is playing strong footy again and if he can keep himself in check off the field is a strong chance to get drafted.

Mat Suckling in the SANFL through the midfield. Sam Gray is another in the SANFL who could come into the mix.

More guys will pop up over the year but these are some I expect will get a look.

Manson is one of the best talents I've seen but seems to have dropped out of footy after not getting drafted. Loss to the game really.

No Manson type freaks this year as far as I can tell.

Willy Rioli and Elijah Edwards will be two fun ones to watch if you're after some highlight reel plays but few can dominate games like Manson who is an exceptionally rare talent with that marking ability of his.

Ben Moloney is going well for Collingwood VFL through the midfield.

Marlon Motlop is doing some damage down back in the WAFL. Shane Nelson with the way he finds the footy so easily could be considered. Dayle Garlett is playing strong footy again and if he can keep himself in check off the field is a strong chance to get drafted.

Mat Suckling in the SANFL through the midfield. Sam Gray is another in the SANFL who could come into the mix.

More guys will pop up over the year but these are some I expect will get a look.

What about jay van berlo,Paul Bower,Rohan Kerr ?