Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2013 phantom draft

Surely there is more to it than him fading in and out of games?

He's a pure offensive player and clubs like their two way guys more. If I was to take Merrett say top 30 I'd want him to do more damage more often. But anywhere 30-50 is Merrett's appropriate draft range.

Now that you point it out, he didn't seem to be seen in the defensive half very much let alone tackling. Seems to have a lot of scope for improvement though. If I were picking in the 3rd round, he would be on my radar IMO.

Do you think there is much interest from other clubs in some of Essendon's fringe players, guys like Hardingham or Jetta (who is halfway into a 2 year deal)? What picks would be a reasonable trade for players of that status?

Interesting you have us taking Billings at #5 mate, i would of thought we'd take a Dunstan, Sheed , Freeman with our first. No doubt the kids got talent but we got Menz last year and our midfield desperately needs some quality youth!

Also glad to see you brought carlton down to a more realistic finishing spot :(

Great work as always!

Now that you point it out, he didn't seem to be seen in the defensive half very much let alone tackling. Seems to have a lot of scope for improvement though. If I were picking in the 3rd round, he would be on my radar IMO.

I agree and I think he can become a good one.

Do you think there is much interest from other clubs in some of Essendon's fringe players, guys like Hardingham or Jetta (who is halfway into a 2 year deal)? What picks would be a reasonable trade for players of that status?

3rd round selections.

Interesting you have us taking Billings at #5 mate, i would of thought we'd take a Dunstan, Sheed , Freeman with our first. No doubt the kids got talent but we got Menz last year and our midfield desperately needs some quality youth!

Also glad to see you brought carlton down to a more realistic finishing spot :(

Great work as always!

I like Dunstan, Sheed and Freeman but they are generally seen as 10-20 selections by the "experts" so I'll stay reasonably consistent with that.

Dunstan and Sheed are not super quick as well performed as they are. Freeman at 181cm as a medium production midfielder probably also doesn't go top 10.

Billings is an absolute freak with some of the things he does and pick 5 is around the position he would go today. He can play midfield and I expect some other scouts view him as a future midfielder but I just really enjoy his dominant play as a forward more with his footskills, marking and 1v1 ability so special.

I worked out the final ladder positions through the AFL.com ladder predictor so it's probably more an indicator of those teams to come with all teams other than perhaps WBD not easy beats.

KM - love your work.

How do you rate the Bulldogs list right now and which player do you think they should be targeting with their first and second round picks? Assuming Boyd is gone, I'd like to hear which players or kind of players you think the dogs are really needing right now.

Thank you in advance.

While the draft order between the highly regarded midfielders may change between now and draft day it looks clear that Tom Boyd is the standout KPP of the draft

We don't know how good Boyd will eventually become but most would at least declare him to become a good player

GWS have made it clear that for them to give up their number 1 draft pick they would need a player that met their criteria

Sheedy stated that a player who had around 100 games under his belt in the 24 age group and was a top 5 player at your club would fit the bill

Many Melbourne supporters think that our forward line has a no vacancy sign on the door and the need for Boyd is not required

Melbourne has 3 key position forwards

Clark is our best performer but injury prone and how many games he has left is anyone guess
Dawes is good without being great
Hogan much like Boyd could be anything

Watts will never have the build to play KP and is probably best suited to a flank or wing

Fitzpatrick is a Forward and Ruck option although i am convinced with his unique speed he could easily be effective at full forward especially if we lost the services of Clark though injury

The question i ask KM is would it be feasible for Melbourne to offer up James Frawley for GWS Draft pick #1

GWS need to strengthen their spine and Frawley could do that as a KP Defender

That would give Melbourne the first 2 draft picks in round one

The added dilemma is would we actually pick Boyd and a much needed midfielder or ignore Boyd altogether and pick 2 Midfielders

Melbourne also has an early pick in round 2 so could either gain 3 Midfielders or 2 and Boyd

A lot would depend on the depth of quality midfielders lasting until round 2

Frawley is contracted until 2015 i believe and their has been some speculation of interests from other clubs

Frawley would be a loss and a hole for Melbourne to fill but the size of the hole might not be that big compared to what we could gain

Your thoughts ?

KM - love your work.

How do you rate the Bulldogs list right now and which player do you think they should be targeting with their first and second round picks? Assuming Boyd is gone, I'd like to hear which players or kind of players you think the dogs are really needing right now.

Thank you in advance.

I like that young core coming through the midfield but the team really lacks the quality talls or the footskills accross the list to be finals relevant at this point.

This year will need to be about bringing in a mix of quality KPPs and some guys who can use if by foot.

Scharenberg/Kelly/Billings/Lennon are likely looked at early for footskills. A Cameron McCarthy or Darcy Gardiner perhaps as KPPs could get some consideration.

Otherwise a Cameron Conlon or Mitchell Harvey in the second round would be a strong choices as key forwards and a Zac Merrett as your all class user of the footy could be the type of thing I can see the Dogs really going after perhaps 3rd round if still available.

While the draft order between the highly regarded midfielders may change between now and draft day it looks clear that Tom Boyd is the standout KPP of the draft

We don't know how good Boyd will eventually become but most would at least declare him to become a good player

GWS have made it clear that for them to give up their number 1 draft pick they would need a player that met their criteria

Sheedy stated that a player who had around 100 games under his belt in the 24 age group and was a top 5 player at your club would fit the bill

Many Melbourne supporters think that our forward line has a no vacancy sign on the door and the need for Boyd is not required

Melbourne has 3 key position forwards

Clark is our best performer but injury prone and how many games he has left is anyone guess
Dawes is good without being great
Hogan much like Boyd could be anything

Watts will never have the build to play KP and is probably best suited to a flank or wing

Fitzpatrick is a Forward and Ruck option although i am convinced with his unique speed he could easily be effective at full forward especially if we lost the services of Clark though injury

The question i ask KM is would it be feasible for Melbourne to offer up James Frawley for GWS Draft pick #1

GWS need to strengthen their spine and Frawley could do that as a KP Defender

That would give Melbourne the first 2 draft picks in round one

The added dilemma is would we actually pick Boyd and a much needed midfielder or ignore Boyd altogether and pick 2 Midfielders

Melbourne also has an early pick in round 2 so could either gain 3 Midfielders or 2 and Boyd

A lot would depend on the depth of quality midfielders lasting until round 2

Frawley is contracted until 2015 i believe and their has been some speculation of interests from other clubs

Frawley would be a loss and a hole for Melbourne to fill but the size of the hole might not be that big compared to what we could gain

Your thoughts ?

Firstly I don't see Melbourne making the play for Boyd with all of Hogan, Watts, Clark, Dawes, Fitzpatrick and Pedersen capable key forwards. It's probably the deepest, most capable group of key forwards in the competition which is really saying something so to add Boyd to that while he and Hogan would be the two "stars" of that group it would make the rest of that group surplus players who probably would be best traded on for currency which could be done but wouldn't be popular among the playing group and clubs tend to avoid this as there is in the AFL unlike other sports still that level of loyalty between club and player.

GWS do need a key defender and James Frawley would certainly be a good fit and they may even accept that deal as Rory Sloane is that only other "name player" who is reportedly on the table for that chance at Boyd.

Personally in GWS' situation while I'd go all out in free agency to get Franklin to get that "franchise player" which the community will need to generate interest in the team, I'd go the longer term route which firstly ensures the maximum salary cap space is available to make the play at Franklin who needs to be that absolute top priority. While the move is aiding the enemy (Gold Coast) I'd go into talks for some more of their future 1st round selections to further spread the age of that list out which has the bonus of filling out any list needs that may not be obvious yet a little later when that premiership window opens up which gives them the best opportunity to make their best better than Gold Coast's best even if Gold Coast reach that premiership window earlier, which they will anyway.

While GWS would like something more immediate in that 100 game type 22-24 year old I'd instead make a play at Brad Sewell and Daniel Cross to add that more immediate midfield strength they require and leadership to help promote the growth of their younger players and show them professionalism and how to get the most out of their games which Sewell and Cross have done just about as well as anyone.

I like that young core coming through the midfield but the team really lacks the quality talls or the footskills accross the list to be finals relevant at this point.

This year will need to be about bringing in a mix of quality KPPs and some guys who can use if by foot.

Scharenberg/Kelly/Billings/Lennon are likely looked at early for footskills. A Cameron McCarthy or Darcy Gardiner perhaps as KPPs could get some consideration.

Otherwise a Cameron Conlon or Mitchell Harvey in the second round would be a strong choices as key forwards and a Zac Merrett as your all class user of the footy could be the type of thing I can see the Dogs really going after perhaps 3rd round if still available.
I think doggies are going to go for Conlon in the second round because last pre season he went and trained with the doggies.

Having not seen anything of Conlon, can anyone tell me what sort of forward he is?
Impressed with McCarthy, Harvey and Reynolds ( lead up role) wouldn't be bothered with any of those selections.
Need some foot skills , that's a given.

Having not seen anything of Conlon, can anyone tell me what sort of forward he is?
Impressed with McCarthy, Harvey and Reynolds ( lead up role) wouldn't be bothered with any of those selections.
Need some foot skills , that's a given.

Conlon is a good one. Hasn't played this year as he's been recovering from injury but last year he was exceptional. Particularly early season up forward.

Conlon is more a super athletic tall key forward. Similar to a Patrick Ryder but not as good through the ruck.

Thoughts on Tom Langdon Knightmare? Played really well for Sandy seniors today

Langdon has gone well and has thrust his name forward again as a strong choice. He's not only dominated in the TAC but he's also producing in the VFL now that he's received some games and really looking comfortable out there. Has some positional range and can play back/midfield/forward and as a guy who is continuing his strong development as a tallish, skilled utility he's worth a shot.

Do Tasmania have any chances outside of Webster, KK, Templeton. Pearce has been dominating at state level Nankervis as well?

Mitch Thorp and Ben Brown (although he defected to the VFL) are other chances. Kade's brother Jake is another possible.

Hey Knightmare, just wondering how this years top end talent compares to last year. Thanks. :thumbsu:

I'd take the top end this year. More midfield strength.

Hi KM,

Sorry if you have been asked this already, but who would be the two picks if there was a mini-draft this year (as a PP to MFC) and where would they rank if they were eligible in this year's draft? Also who would be the top two picks at the moment for 2014?

Thanks in advance.

Hi KM,

Sorry if you have been asked this already, but who would be the two picks if there was a mini-draft this year (as a PP to MFC) and where would they rank if they were eligible in this year's draft? Also who would be the top two picks at the moment for 2014?

Thanks in advance.

The minidraft thankfully no longer exists.

Hugh Goddard is in my view that top prospect but he wouldn't fit into that category so it would have left probably Patrick McCartin (VIC-KPF) and maybe a Clem Smith (WA-Def/Mid) as that other which probably isn't as sexy as having a chance at a Jaeger O'Meara, Jack Martin, Jesse Hogan or Brad Crouch.

interesting you like the top end strength more knights.

last year i was confident of port getting a very good player at pick 7.

this year with port likely having a pick from 8-12 im not so confident of getting a class a-grade player.

what mids do you think port can look at around that mark? i reckon we really need speed , someone who can run and carry and good footskills. im not sure i see that player available. reckon dumont would be likely at our pick , although he sounds very similiar to many of our generic midfielders like ebert and broadbent. hopefully we can pick up dwayne wilson at our second for a wingman. i like the descriptions of freeman but rory atkins had the same hype. ild like top ten picks to have big numbers to show they can hunt the ball and not expect that they are suddenly going to learn that at afl level.

interesting you like the top end strength more knights.

last year i was confident of port getting a very good player at pick 7.

this year with port likely having a pick from 8-12 im not so confident of getting a class a-grade player.

what mids do you think port can look at around that mark? i reckon we really need speed , someone who can run and carry and good footskills. im not sure i see that player available. reckon dumont would be likely at our pick , although he sounds very similiar to many of our generic midfielders like ebert and broadbent. hopefully we can pick up dwayne wilson at our second for a wingman. i like the descriptions of freeman but rory atkins had the same hype. ild like top ten picks to have big numbers to show they can hunt the ball and not expect that they are suddenly going to learn that at afl level.

A Kade Kolodjashnij may be an option if looking for something more outside with footskills and run and carry. Blake Acres is another who probably hasn't been spoken about enough as another who can really use the footy on the outside. Both really have the numbers to back up their cases.

Lewis Taylor, Marcus Bontempelli, Billy Hartung and Nathan Freeman all have some real pace so there are some guys early draft.

KM, what are your thoughts on Melbourne trading 1st rnd pick (currently pick #2) to Adelaide for Rory Sloane?

Sloane is 23 yo & a known quantity at AFL level, currently averaging 23 possessions (12.7 k & 10.3h), 5 marks, 4 tackles & 0.5 goals per game.

Aish is highly rated South Australian talent & regarded as the best midfield talent in this years draft.

Adelaide have come out and said that Sloane is not for sale but with their draft penalties meaning they would not have a pick in this years draft until the mid 40's, is this a trade that would be a win - win for both clubs?

KM, what are your thoughts on Melbourne trading 1st rnd pick (currently pick #2) to Adelaide for Rory Sloane?

Sloane is 23 yo & a known quantity at AFL level, currently averaging 23 possessions (12.7 k & 10.3h), 5 marks, 4 tackles & 0.5 goals per game.

Aish is highly rated South Australian talent & regarded as the best midfield talent in this years draft.

Adelaide have come out and said that Sloane is not for sale but with their draft penalties meaning they would not have a pick in this years draft until the mid 40's, is this a trade that would be a win - win for both clubs?

I think it's a very good move in Melbourne's situation.

Aish is quality and I think becomes the better player of the two but Sloane is a quality player now who can help make the midfield more competitive now but more importantly and this is the reason why I say it's a good move for Melbourne. Sloane is a proven leader. Melbourne need this more than anything to start creating a winning culture and help begin the development of the young core group who mostly have remained the same played they were when drafted.
Sloane can help change that which is where his value really lies beyond his obvious playing ability.

What would Gawn and Fizpatrick bring to the Bulldogs as they could come cheap. Assuming Minson is used as a trade bait do you think them two could replace him along with Cambell in the VFL who has played well.

Collingwood would love a shot at Minson with Jolly likely to retire at seasons end and Hudson probably doing the same. He's in that ideal age group to allow Witts and Grundy time to develop.

On Melbourne I don't see then trading Gawn. He's considered their future no.1 ruckman with Jamar turning 30 next season.

Melbourne if they trade any of their rucks will move Jake Spencer and possibly Jack Fitzpatrick if they think they'll get fair currency for him as a guy who has really shown something in recent weeks.

Love your work KM. A great read and source of reference for rundowns on potential draft picks :thumbsu:

I see you currently have the Suns first pick at #9 but I think we'll end up with pick #5, the same position we are currently at. If this turns out to be the case who do you think we should target? I still believe we need to improve our midfield depth first and foremost, and need an inside / outside mid with elite disposal especially by foot who can spot up targets inside forward 50. I see James Aish was spotted having dinner with Gaz and co on the coast last week. :) any chance of him sliding?