Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2014 Phantom Draft

Hey KM, can you share your opinion on the Hawks rookies? I like the look of bothe Hardisty and Miller-Lewis, JML especially (style kind of reminds me of Jurrah). What do you know about Lachie Langford?

Looks like the Hawks were happy with their depth and chose to go the high risk, high reward with JML and young Langers. Theory being get them on the list and let them develop at Box Hill!

Wright has proven to be great at his job but my on viewing of players that were available at each pick I thought the hawks could have done better
Howes' hands are not clean. How do you teach that? If he excels he could be a Birchall clone and that is pretty good.
Miles is a ripper but short and lean. What is his position? I Would have loved Billy Evens at this selection.
Pittonet is a great selection. I did not see this coming. Get of your bike big fella and get fit, strong and athletic.
Hardisty alias Hardatit has chunk, stamina and reportedly speed but no right foot. Walsh seemed a better option.
JML looks interesting but Oleg looked fantastic.
L Langford is described by Wright as a possible Key Position Player. He is only 190 cm. what the? L Langers may be good but at best a lead up 3rd tall.
The Hawks needs for an inside beast resides with Hardatit. I hope Wrighty chose well.

Where's the 2015 thread Knightmare?

Nowhere at this point.

If I start my own website perhaps I'll introduce it there. Just doing some research on that before I post anything anywhere relating to the 2015 draft.

Nowhere at this point.

If I start my own website perhaps I'll introduce it there. Just doing some research on that before I post anything anywhere relating to the 2015 draft.
haha i was only joking mate, you do a lot on these, great job

Hey KM, apologies if this has been asked but didn't see it anywhere, what are your thoughts on the impact that Kane Lambert can have in the coming season?

Lambert has been in the mix for a few years now. He is sub 180cm but handy. Can provide some scoreboard impact and is another guy who can play through the midfield to a pretty good standard. Can win it inside but then also has a burst of speed. Footskills relatively has been his weak point over the years but has improved and he knows his limitations so he can use it efficiently enough.

I see Lambert as a depth option but with Richmond looking for more midfield depth he is a suitable addition as a rookie and presumably has been picked to play. Could get say a reasonably productive 10-15 games if he has a strong preseason and some injuries happen through that Richmond midfield.

Nowhere at this point.

What would you call your website, if you started one?

I'm pretty settled on a website name but I won't give it away as someone may just buy the website name before me which would not be a great outcome if I went down the route of starting a website.

Aren’t they very Cheap to by a Domain?

Not the name that came to mind, no. But certainly logical.

Aren’t they very Cheap to by a Domain?

It seemed unreasonably costly I thought based on the research I've done to the extent that it does not seem worthwhile/profitable.

I'm hoping to meet up with a friend on Tuesday evening if he is available who will take me through some ideas regarding websites - just getting a feel for whether it's something worth doing/whether it's something I can do myself or whether I would be something I would be better off letting someone else create the website and I just focus on the content. Just going through those ideas as we speak and once I make a decision you'll all know about it I'm sure.

Not the name that came to mind, no. But certainly logical.

It seemed unreasonably costly I thought based on the research I've done to the extent that it does not seem worthwhile/profitable.

I'm hoping to meet up with a friend on Tuesday evening if he is available who will take me through some ideas regarding websites - just getting a feel for whether it's something worth doing/whether it's something I can do myself or whether I would be something I would be better off letting someone else create the website and I just focus on the content. Just going through those ideas as we speak and once I make a decision you'll all know about it I'm sure.

What sort of things are you thinking of putting on a Possible Web-Site?

Draft content primarily. Draft profiles. Draft stats. Phantom draft.
Some trade/free agent content perhaps in the leadup to those periods.

Some fantasy football content for the fantasy football people as I'm sure that will generate some interest - most specifically relating to rookies/yet to break out players with that some insight those regular fantasy football players will be interested in.

Perhaps some Collingwood content such as my yearly almanac if I continue producing that.

Some best 22s.

Perhaps some NBA and NBA draft content.

Really depends on what people would be most interested in me producing and how much time I have. But pretty much any of my usual threads/types of comments I put on here that seem to generate interest I'd be posting on the website if I was to go ahead with it.

To my regular draft followers,

At the moment I'm putting some planning into starting my own website. I'm finding out it's a lot of work and a lot of learning but if I am to go ahead with it I'm interested in hear some ideas and feedback from my regular readers regarding what you'd like to see me include on there.

At the moment my ideas regarding content include:
AFL Phantom Draft (I'll include all my old phantom drafts from over the years and put up my 2015 draft)
AFL Draft Profiles and Power Rankings (As per phantom draft and I'll just separate my phantom draft and AFL Draft Profiles and Power Rankings)
AFL Trades (This might include trade ideas for clubs. Analysis of trades)
AFL Free Agents (Same story as AFL Trades but with regard to Free Agents)
Fantasy Football (I'll go into all the Supercoach and Dreamteam stuff for those into that side of the game. Primarily rookie focused)
AFL Drafts Re-Done (I keep seeing the old re-do this draft and that draft thread so I figure why not have a shot myself - I might go from say 1999 onward with that in my mind where clubs started to get their picks reasonably right and continue to update as applicable *with ongoing updates)
AFL Draft Resources (Might include correct player measurements and testing results)
Collingwood Almanac (As per my thread on the Collingwood board)
AFL Team Notes (I may break down with each club do they draft, trade and develop their own talent well? Strengths/weaknesses of each club)
NBA Draft (I watch my share of college b-ball and also watch Euro-League and I also like to test my ability v the pros with the NBA draft so that's something else that may for a small % of my readers be something else of interest)
NBA Team Notes (Many here may not be aware but I watch as much NBA as I do AFL and given Australia per capita outside the US have the highest percentage of NBA fans I'll hedge my bets and say at least a few of my readers would be interesting in the NBA content I create. Again mostly regarding trade/free agent ideas and analysis of team strengths/weaknesses and where they stand. Perhaps also some historical content regarding all time where guys should be regarded)
About Me (Just a brief who I am so that people can put a face with the name)

--
Let me know whether there is anything I'm missing/could/should include that would be of interest.

To my regular draft follows,

At the moment I'm putting some planning into starting my own website. I'm finding out it's a lot of work and a lot of learning but if I am to go ahead with it I'm interested in hear some ideas and feedback from my regular readers regarding what you'd like to see me include on there.

At the moment my ideas regarding content include:
AFL Phantom Draft (I'll include all my old phantom drafts from over the years and put up my 2015 draft)
AFL Draft Profiles and Power Rankings (As per phantom draft and I'll just separate my phantom draft and AFL Draft Profiles and Power Rankings)
AFL Trades (This might include trade ideas for clubs. Analysis of trades)
AFL Free Agents (Same story as AFL Trades but with regard to Free Agents)
Fantasy Football (I'll go into all the Supercoach and Dreamteam stuff for those into that side of the game. Primarily rookie focused)
AFL Drafts Re-Done (I keep seeing the old re-do this draft and that draft thread so I figure why not have a shot myself - I might go from say 1999 onward with that in my mind where clubs started to get their picks reasonably right and continue to update as applicable *with ongoing updates)
AFL Draft Resources (Might include correct player measurements and testing results)
Collingwood Almanac (As per my thread on the Collingwood board)
AFL Team Notes (I may break down with each club do they draft, trade and develop their own talent well? Strengths/weaknesses of each club)
NBA Draft (I watch my share of college b-ball and also watch Euro-League and I also like to test my ability v the pros with the NBA draft so that's something else that may for a small % of my readers be something else of interest)
NBA Team Notes (Many here may not be aware but I watch as much NBA as I do AFL and given Australia per capita outside the US have the highest percentage of NBA fans I'll hedge my bets and say at least a few of my readers would be interesting in the NBA content I create. Again mostly regarding trade/free agent ideas and analysis of team strengths/weaknesses and where they stand. Perhaps also some historical content regarding all time where guys should be regarded)
About Me (Just a brief who I am so that people can put a face with the name)

--
Let me know whether there is anything I'm missing/could/should include that would be of interest.

I assume you'll have some sort of comment box so we can keep bombarding you will our questions? :)

No question campbell and I agree that is a must.

Reader engagement and discussion as it has been here will be a big part in what it will be all about in something of a blog-like style as my posts have mostly been here.

No question campbell and I agree that is a must.

Reader engagement and discussion as it has been here will be a big part in what it will be all about in something of a blog-like style as my posts have mostly been here.

Agree - Interaction be a great thing.

Make for a Stale Web-Site.

How about some Video Highlights when Avaliable added to site

Agree - Interaction be a great thing.

Make for a Stale Web-Site.

How about some Video Highlights when Avaliable added to site

I have some limited audio content I could access - specifically my interview with Derek Hine earlier in the season and the Port Adelaide pre-draft podcast.

So perhaps something like that could go under an audio and video section.

I agree video highlights is something fans always want - myself included. I'm rarely if ever fortunate enough to come across video highlights myself though with not much if any of it during the year publicly available that I'm aware of anyway. What I may be able to do if you or some other user collects the footage and uploads it onto youtube, I may share it on my website under another heading if you or whoever else uploads that footage is agreeable that is.

Could you ask around of Possibly trying to get some Video Footage?

I will upload what I find for the your Site Mate. Just say who Uploaded it

Could you ask around of Possibly trying to get some Video Footage?

I will upload what I find for the your Site Mate. Just say who Uploaded it

I don't have those personal relationships with people who would have access to video footage.

I can always put a note in a videos section asking people to send me links to footage if they come across any. But that's the best that I'd be able to do.

I would love to see more DT/SC stuff done... especially for the draft leagues with a fantasy draft ranking of the latest draftees each season about early to mid january

I don't know how long it will take for me to get a website happening if indeed it does happen. It's just a staggering amount to learn and my feel is it will be a gradual process just building that knowledge to go ahead with it.

Additionally just from a content creation perspective I'd like on launch to have a stack of content complete and there are lots of categories I want to cover and I want to cover in depth and to as high a standard as you'll see online anywhere. Or that is my hope.

One learning over the past few days is there is no point buying and launching a website right away without good content firstly ready to put on there but also and equally important that website structure would need to be created which again will take work with the number and the depth of things I want to do with it.

If I go ahead with it then I'll definitely go into some fantasy football content - SC/DT specific. I can't imagine having it up in Jan and I'd consider it a success really if I have it up even by the end of the U18 champs if I look at it realistically and produce the quality of product I expect from myself.

Are you referring specifically to the Supercoach Draft and similar variants of that game? Or something slightly different as there seem to be different people asking me about different fantasy football variants and I'm outside of just the standard Supercoach/DreamTeam/or the Draft variants of those games otherwise fairly out of the loop.
If you link me the rules to the type of game you play I'll learn it and think up some practical player recommendations for that based on the young guys people won't know much about yet.
Let me know the types of questions you would want answered/find interesting to hear this year and over the coming years so that I have a guideline of exactly what information would be helpful in whatever fantasy football games you're playing.
I'd also plan to have a Q+A type format available of some sort so either way yourself and others will get the answers to whatever questions are pressing and of interest/relevance at the time regarding fantasy football as I will with my draft content.

Likely with the 2015 draft it will be a similar story along these lines where I'll be slow to the party and I'd like my draft content to first hit the website if the website looks to be up before draft time next year but hopefully when I bring the content I'll come out with a bang and knock anything else you're seeing out of the water.

Just for the record, I intend to make videos again in '15 but I reckon I might have networked my way into some more footage to make them a bit more in depth. Would happily let you use them, really like what you're doing here!