Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2016 Draft Almanac

If hooker plays foward your defence is cooked imo

Respectfully disagree.

Baguley ~ Hurley ~ Ambrose
Goddard ~ Hartley ~ Kelly/Gleeson

As Red Black and Blue said, I think the issue is not so much with our key defenders but more so the small/med defenders. They look a little slow and old for me, post Hibberd and Dempsey.

Perhaps McGrath is on the radar at pick 1. He would go some way to addressing that deficiency, in time.

I'm also interested in Luke Ryan/Jarrod Berry/Alex Witherden/Jordan Ridley. I'd hope to get one of these guys at 20/29. Especially if we take McCluggage at pick 1 (who I personally prefer).

Respectfully disagree.

Baguley ~ Hurley ~ Ambrose
Goddard ~ Hartley ~ Kelly/Gleeson

As Red Black and Blue said, I think the issue is not so much with our key defenders but more so the small/med defenders. They look a little slow and old for me, post Hibberd and Dempsey.

Perhaps McGrath is on the radar at pick 1. He would go some way to addressing that deficiency, in time.

I'm also interested in Luke Ryan/Jarrod Berry/Alex Witherden/Jordan Ridley. I'd hope to get one of these guys at 20/29. Especially if we take McCluggage at pick 1 (who I personally prefer).
Doesn't tippa play in the backline first?

Callum Searle any chance to be drafted KM? Good athlete, smart kid and smart fooballer, no fuss. Think his skills will improve in an AFL environment.

Draft chance given state screening invite but outside chance I would have thought. Probably not many genuine standouts from Oakleight this year (very even group overall) but Searle for me wasn't in that top group who I have getting picked at this stage on performance. He's more someone I'd want to see come back next year and see if he can take the next step.

Would Haywood remind you of a Daniel Menzel?

Different players.

Menzel is more freakish. Hayward is more a leadup, strong marking forward who is more smart than freakish.

Menzel is more a Stevey J style with Hayward more a Jack Gunston (style) to put their styles of play more in the context of better known players.

Hey KM, do you think Josh Battle and Jy Simpkin would be ready to play Round 1? Ken said he wanted to draft players ready to make an impact.

Wouldn't think either would be.

Battle is the more ready of the taller forwards but will still need a couple of years to develop.

Simpkin isn't a contested ball winning beast so I'm not expecting him to be an immediate impact player either.

KM if you had to put money on it now, who would you back for next years rising star.

I get it wrong every year, even in the leadup to the thing (Cripps I felt was the pick in 2015 and Weitering I though this year - in the leadup), so while I have the knowledge on these guys I don't necessarily feel individual awards - with the brownlow the most obvious example not going to the player who is the best in that season.

I'd need a list of players eligible. I'd probably lean towards someone who was drafted in recent years but has not yet been nominated with no one obvious guy in this years draft.

KM, what can you tell me about Josh Begley? Seems to have come on quite late this year as a mid.

Big boy. Plays forward well (can take a grab, very strong and can hit the scoreboard) and can push through the midfield and win his own ball. Has lost weight but running still needs work.

Has some attributes and late/rookie is a potentially developable player who probably starts his career forward and lots of running work will push through the midfield more.

Doubt it. Forward line will start;

Francis, Daniher, Colyer
Fantasia, Hooker, Tippa

Stewart would have to impress significantly to switch Hooker back.

Hooker is a capable forward and I'm well aware how many options Essendon have down back, but I'd have him down back. He and Hurley are as good as any key defence duo in the game.

It's like placing Ben Reid or Harry Taylor forward. You can do it, but it's just not the same.

I'd start James Stewart as the second key forward to compliment Daniher.

It's not perfect, but I'm not one for moving players away from their best positions.

g'day knightmare. Just a quick question/ query with your summation of Shai Bolton. Admittedly I only see the games televised on foxtel so I'm no expert, but it seems to me that his decision making isn't a particular strength. Evasive skill, cleanness and x-factor are definitely off the charts but too often I saw him deny good options in favor of taking on another tackler which resulted in a rushed disposal(usually by foot). I get the feeling he isn't fully in control when in possession and uses his obvious talents to ad-lib with varying results. Wondering if you've seen similar or if these were isolated incidents in big games?

PS great job again mate, It's been a pleasure following your posts over the journey.

Your feel is right. He can play out of control and try to do too much and make some poor decisions at times. Plays a highly instinctive game and that's something I'd fully encourage him to continue using, because he does it so well. But you will still get some mistakes, I'd just live with it, he is one of the players with the talent where you take the good and live with the bad, because the good can be sometimes game-changing.

Hi Knightmare what are your thoughts on Joe Atley? Strengths and weaknesses, draft range etc. Also, what do think are the chances of Cedric Cox being available at North's pick 32? Cheers.

Joe Atley probably is more a late pick.

Strong contested ball winner and good distributor. Can push forward and take a mark.

Just overall lacking that x-factor to take him over the edge and push up into the top group/s of midfielders.

Cedric Cox is likely gone by pick 32. Probably goes around 10 selections earlier. 10% chance to be available is my estimate at the moment so you can plan for the possibility but you just wouldn't expect him to be there.

Doesn't tippa play in the backline first?
As the year drew on and opposition teams got smarter they were exposing his lack of height and lack of aerial ability by taking him deep and isolating him one on one. This isn't as much of an issue as a small forward and he finished off the season playing up there. The highlight being kicking a bag of 4 in the last game and gave us something we've really lacked for a while. He will start 2017 as a forward IMO.

Draft chance given state screening invite but outside chance I would have thought. Probably not many genuine standouts from Oakleight this year (very even group overall) but Searle for me wasn't in that top group who I have getting picked at this stage on performance. He's more someone I'd want to see come back next year and see if he can take the next step.

Hey Knightmare,
Apart from the boys you listed in your Phantom, do you expect any of the other boys from the Chargers to get drafted? Cheers.

Hi Knightmare,

What can you tell me about Jordan Ridley? Does his shoulder injury knock him back a few picks? Pick 20 seems a bit high for him, is he still getable at 29?

who are some real possibilities to slide to hawthorns first draft pick? Could Jack Maibaum slide? haven't heard much on him from you but he was all Australian full back so its doubtful

Hi KM,

Just wanted to know your thoughts on Luke Bunker. His draft range and what you see him developing into?

Thanks mate.

KM what do you think of Villis and what he'll be like at afl level I think I recall seeing him as the aa back pocket and is he quick or slow?

Hey km,
With the saints looking for some more midfield depth, preferably a classy mid, with reasonable pace and skills, who is likely to be around that mark at pick 23. Is Cedric cox likely to become a wingman?

Doubt it. Forward line will start;

Francis, Daniher, Colyer
Fantasia, Hooker, Tippa

Stewart would have to impress significantly to switch Hooker back.
Stewart had 3 clubs chasing him during the trade period. Do you really think that he would have chosen Essendon if they weren't even sure he was best 22?

Has a stack of similar competition at Carlton, Curnow, McKay, Silvangi, maybe Marchbank or Jaksch. Not sure of the third team. At Essendon he isn't best 22 but is first drop with no opposition. Just don't see him getting a game in front of Daniher or Hooker who has been working with a biomechanist for his set shot technique also Lloyd has been working with and is bullish about.

Curnow and Silvagni are both medium forwards. McKay is still super raw and inexperienced. Marchbank is a defender, Jaksch is terrible. He would have walked in to their round 1 side as a tall forward/relief ruck. Collingwood was the third team. Would have likely played ahead of Cox and alongside White and Moore.

He didn't leave GWS for more opportunity to go to a club where he is regarded as depth. Essendon has told him he will be given senior games, you're kidding yourself if you think he signed up with the Bombers without being told he would play round 1.

Reportedly he is angry the pies for overlooking him as father son, so it was probably never a consideration.

If he has realistic impressions of where he is at, why would he expect to be best 22? There are more factors than purely the promise of guaranteed football. Like contract conditions, facilities, preexisting relationships, future growth, opinion of the list, etc etc...

The only thing that will settle it is round 1 and I'm pretty confident he won't be a part of it without injury to others.

Reportedly he is angry the pies for overlooking him as father son, so it was probably never a consideration.
The Stewart's and Collingwood have a good relationship. He gave Collingwood serious consideration before they pulled out of the running because Essendon and Carlton made offers they were unwilling to match.
If he has realistic impressions of where he is at, why would he expect to be best 22? There are more factors than purely the promise of guaranteed football. Like contract conditions, facilities, preexisting relationships, future growth, opinion of the list, etc etc...
He would have gotten games at Essendon and Carlton this year. He will get games at Essendon next year. Putting Hooker in the forward line is robbing Peter to pay Paul.

Knightmare, who is your player that you tip to have to the biggest impact in 2017?

Difficult to pick given the evenness.

Andrew McGrath could have the greatest immediate impact if GWS give him games from the get go. Fairly ready to go and the production is there.

Hey Knightmare,
Apart from the boys you listed in your Phantom, do you expect any of the other boys from the Chargers to get drafted? Cheers.

My best guess is just Ridley, Duman, Kerr and Daicos are picked.

McLarty was also invited to the national combine. From the state screenings I like top ager Lachlan Walker as a prospect though like with McLarty I don't have him getting drafted if I'm to complete a full phantom draft.

Hi Knightmare,

What can you tell me about Jordan Ridley? Does his shoulder injury knock him back a few picks? Pick 20 seems a bit high for him, is he still getable at 29?

Ridley may go around pick 20. Looks like a top 30 pick. Possibly there at 29 but not certainly. He's versatile - can play flanks or wing. Good skills. Good athlete - moving fluidly at his height. Not a huge impact player, but numbers good and someone a lot of clubs are intrigued by the potential of as a highly skilled type at his height.

who are some real possibilities to slide to hawthorns first draft pick? Could Jack Maibaum slide? haven't heard much on him from you but he was all Australian full back so its doubtful

Maibaum probably goes mid-draft but could slide.

He is a solid key defender but just not a rebounder/interceptor to be one who has received too much excitement.

Ratugolea, Ronke, Romensky, Walker, Tiziani and several state leaguers are among those I'd be looking at when Hawthorn enter the draft.

Hi KM,

Just wanted to know your thoughts on Luke Bunker. His draft range and what you see him developing into?

Thanks mate.

Strong inside mid who wins the contested ball but probably lacks an x-factor. Not athletic or freakishly skilled. He's one of the pack of a deep midfield class.

His scope to develop is probably into good state league mid more so than an AFL mid.

KM what do you think of Villis and what he'll be like at afl level I think I recall seeing him as the aa back pocket and is he quick or slow?

I'm not a huge fan. Very outside. Not a contested ball winner. Not a big impact player either.

Finds enough of the ball and is a very clean and reliable ball user on the outside. Pace fine but unexceptional.

Has his fans, with some of the SA scouts I've spoken to drooling over him and talking him up as SA's best prospect this year.

From my viewings, I'm of a different opinion with Hayward, Scharenberg and Graham among the SA prospects I favour.

Any chance Griffen Logue is avialable at 28?

No.

He probably goes top 10.

Sydney at 9 seem keen.

Hey km,
With the saints looking for some more midfield depth, preferably a classy mid, with reasonable pace and skills, who is likely to be around that mark at pick 23. Is Cedric cox likely to become a wingman?

Cedric Cox could play wing. Might be available. Certainly has the pace and is a good ball user. Just needs to find more of the ball which is the query, particularly playing on a wing.

It's not a great draft for outside players with inside mids, mids who play other positions and back flankers more prevalent this year relatively.

The only thing that will settle it is round 1 and I'm pretty confident he won't be a part of it without internet njury to others.

Frankly, all modern day AFL players should minimise screen time and internet usage to avoid the scourge of modern day footy.

Internet injury.