Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2016 Draft Almanac

have to disagree heavily with you here:
Logue is a special talent and if he's there we take him, simple. Clearly we have a significant lack of key defensive depth after the delisting of Tippet, Thompson not really having the ability to play on the massive key forwards, and Hansen being a complete spud whom should not get game time at all. Tarrant being the only exception of course, being a genuine A grader whom imo should have made the All Aus team this year. Daniel Nielson was and still is an utterly mind boggling pick from 2014 and i wouldn't mind seeing him delisted as he has some of the worst skills for a key defender I've ever seen and showed little to nothing in the VFL. Yes i know he had the ACL injury but i still think he won't make it. Durdin, despite still being skinny as a rake, certainly has potential and i reckon give him this year and he will come good. Hence, all things considered, Logue at 194 cm and the capacity to grow more, as well as having a big body, solid skills and solid pace would be a perfect fit for us. To label him as "not solving our problems' is wrong.

I happen to agree with you on Rotham, we have plenty on half back types and with Vickers Willis and Marley Williams added to that this year, i don't see the need to select Rotham.

Lastly, i disagree with you on Dylan Clarke. 2017 0r 2018 at a stretch, will be Swallow's last season in my opinion and we need another developing clearance specialist. You might say Dumont will fill this void, but i think he is already in the side and has cemented a spot and thus Swallow needs replacing when the time comes. There is a reason that Clarke won the most clearances at TAC cup level this season and was named in the starting U18 championship rep team.. because he can play. Would not be complaining if we selected him.
That's great and all, but none are going to solve our midfield problems, re class and legspeed. We need immeadiate replacements for Harvey and Wells, as Ahern won't play next year and Hvorat isn't the answer. Dumont, McDonald/Atley, Clarke and Hibberd rotating through the midfield is great and all, but we still lack that pacey and skilful outside player and in and out player that Harvey/Wells had provided for so long. We only need one, but we are more likely to pick one up at 11, than 32/33.

In saying all that, Logue would be a fine pick up, but North's problems as a side is primarily based in the midfield with too many similar types, leading to an unbalanced midfield.

In any case, it'll be interesting to see who we pick up, as long term we do need one more kpd (I don't agree with your sentiments about our 2014 draftees), but our midfield needs that quick outside midfielder, and hopefully Ryan Clarke can be that quicker in and out mid that accumulates the footy.

As for an inside mid, I wouldn't be surprised if we do pick up another one, however I see us pushing McDonald/Atley into the inside role, so they can replace swallow long-term.

Even great man. Thoughts on Jack Blood and his draft range?

Not invited to the state or national combine. Can't see him getting picked.

One of the best names this year though, I'll give you that much.

Fair enough! Hoping that's not the case but see the reason behind it. As we are likely to grab Waterman with our third I feel a forward with our first is unlikely though.

I don't project Waterman to be a key forward.

He is more a third tall forward, potentially pushing up through the midfield, if he makes it at AFL level.

If used as a key forward at AFL level it would be down to a lack of application defensively or any real want to tackle or pressure.

With key forwards the good ones typically either come in the first round or as father son selections.

Hoping Waterman takes over from Kennedy would be very optimistic indeed.

Great work on the Phantom Draft mate.

With a limited role in this years draft for the Hawks I was very excited with your selection of Esava Ratugolea at 88/90.

We have a hole for a developing KPF/Ruck on our list IMO and he seems such an exciting prospect.

Would you mind elaborating on Esava a little more? I understand he burst onto the scene a little throughout the year.

Is he realistically going to be there due to the depth of the draft this year or will clubs be more than happy to take him earlier?

If anyone can iron out his kicking, I'd say the Hawks could be the side that could do it. My feel is he goes late draft, so he could be a really good get if things work out. He has the power and intangibles that I give him a fighting chance, which is all you can ask for late draft sometimes.

I have covered Ratugolea quite frequently in my weekly wraps (which can be found on page one). These are a few samples of some of the things I've written about Ratugolea from a quick search:
Esava Ratugolea in the last month has proven a real find for Murray in the TAC Cup with four and eight goals in his previous two outings. Against South Australia, Ratugolea stepped into the Vic Country squad and showed some attributes that made recruiters and fans alike sit up and take notice.

Ratugolea is of Fijian heritage and having only picked up the game a few years ago is said to have progressed strongly off the back of an outstanding pre-season. At 194cm, 95kg, Ratugolea while not as tall, has a physical profile reminiscent of Nic Naitanui with his power, speed and leap all attributes he uses to have an impact.

Ratugolea took several impressive aerial marks, using his spring to get up high, and his strong hands to take the marks. Ratugolea also at ground level showed some terrific signs and made a particularly impressive play when he gave a second effort, diving and tapping the loose ball onto a teammate who went on to gain possession.

What let Ratugolea down in this game was his footskills - at stages missing a snap at goal from 10m with no angle, kicking the ball out on the full from 40m directly in front and missing a target on another kick around the ground.

Ratugolea as well as playing forward also has featured through the ruck, though was soundly beaten in those minutes he relived Darcy.

----
While Esava Ratugolea had just 10 disposals, six marks (four contested), 16 hitouts and one score assist, his play was astounding. Ratugolea consistently flew at packs for contested marks, bringing down a number of them, but his ability to simply get to contests and compete was impressive. This type of play is something that AFL recruiters look for in forwards, so that is a big tick for Ratugolea. One area the big man can work on would be his overhead marking which if perfected could see him turn into a powerful AFL forward.

Hey KM. Great work. Can you tell me a bit more about your 2nd selection for the blues? And do you have much info on a young Mackie (not sure if brother or cousin to Andrew) that has been mainly playing for Sacred Heart College and Glenelg 18's late that finished the season really strongly. Much like Andrew did in his school year. Draft smokey???? Highly rated at his school which as you know is the real footy factory .

Duman is a bit of a questionmark. Could be anything, play anywhere. If he develops physically could be a KPP. If not could settle onto a wing or flank. Excellent endurance athlete, provides run and has good skills. He is someone some clubs will have high on their draft boards (edge of first round) and others not as much so given the nature of his game and unclear best position at AFL level and light frame.

Mackie I've seen a bit of and liked the look of. He seems like a smart player. Uses his body well. Capable overhead and finds the footy. Seems to have some versatility. Unclear whether he gets picked but as a late/rookie I'd strongly consider.

Hey km with todays departure of cam o shea port are a bit light on tall defenders only having 4 left on our list; trengove austin clurey and hombsch. More likely than not all 4 will play round 1.

Who do you see at the 30/31 mark as a notable key defender? I like brennan cox but he may be taken just before than. Or would u suggest getting a dfa like silvagni and or rookie draft?

Cox could be there. Rotham (though undersized) might also be. Taylin Duman light bodied but could become a key defender. Jack Maibaum probably is there and is more your classic shutdown key defender. From the Academies Harrison Macreadie and Zachary Sproule if not yet bid on would be worth a bid there. Brisbane's Declan Watson is another around that point who could be considered as a genuine key defender who can intercept and find some of the ball.

I wouldn't look the recycled path. If looking for someone more immediate a Tyler Keitel or Matthew Sully of the state leaguers may be better options as a rebounder or shut down key defender respectively.

Would Ben Long be of any interest to Essendon at 41?

If there he likely is considered with Essendon lacking a quality small forward.

Eagles pick a key forward before an elite midfielder....let them do this :thumbsu:

West Coast just scored themselves an elite midfielder in Sam Mitchell.

Jack Redden also is good for more than he showed in 2016.

They have time to regenerate the clubs midfield and if they want midfielders could very easily use the clubs later selections to pick some up with very strong depth of midfielders in this draft. Will be several very good midfielders coming in the third round and later this year.

Tom Maloney won state title in basketball for melbourne tigers under 18 and also Tac cup flag with dragons.
I liked the way he puts on forward pressure.
Any chance of being drafted or rookie?

On SM-T315T using BigFooty.com mobile app

We have 1 established KPF on the list in Daniher.

Francis is a 3rd tall at either end.
Hooker is an AA defender.
Mckenna is a HBF. Edit: Read on and realized Mckernan was the guy you meant, Don't think he ever makes it at the level, Pure cover player.
Brown and Stewart have a lot of question marks still, Brown is a better defender.
Bellchambers is a resting ruck/forward.

I think Battle makes sense for us if he can play that Darling role.

Pat Kerr another option as well.

I'd love to see the look on his grandmothers face is Kerr gets picked by the bombers. Lol

We have 1 established KPF on the list in Daniher.

Francis is a 3rd tall at either end.
Hooker is an AA defender.
Mckenna is a HBF. Edit: Read on and realized Mckernan was the guy you meant, Don't think he ever makes it at the level, Pure cover player.
Brown and Stewart have a lot of question marks still, Brown is a better defender.
Bellchambers is a resting ruck/forward.

I think Battle makes sense for us if he can play that Darling role.

Pat Kerr another option as well.
Stewart is a LOT better than what he has shown in the limited opportunities he got with us, would be surprised if he doesn't play a key role for you up fwd next year and beyond.

With getting Stewart we should be taking BPA @ 20 instead of forcing Battle or Kerr. That said if Marshall slips somehow we have to go with him... and he'll probably be BPA anyway if he's still around @ 20.

Next year go after one of those prime KPF.

Tom Maloney won state title in basketball for melbourne tigers under 18 and also Tac cup flag with dragons.
I liked the way he puts on forward pressure.
Any chance of being drafted or rookie?

On SM-T315T using BigFooty.com mobile app

Doesn't appear on the radar. Not invited to the state or national combine. Not a standout for Sandringham. Would need to come back next year and elevate his game to make it onto an AFL list I'd expect.

Any rucks Essendon could take a punt on late ND or early RD?

There are lots of ruck options late/rookie.

Sean Darcy, Jordan Sweet, Jeremy Goddard and Peter Ladhams of the u18s should be there in that range.

Rowan Marshall and Darcy Cameron as mature agers could also be considered.

KM, what can you tell me about Josh Begley? Seems to have come on quite late this year as a mid.

Oh please Essendon have some of the worst foward stocks in the league stewart will obviously play

Doubt it. Forward line will start;

Francis, Daniher, Colyer
Fantasia, Hooker, Tippa

Stewart would have to impress significantly to switch Hooker back.

g'day knightmare. Just a quick question/ query with your summation of Shai Bolton. Admittedly I only see the games televised on foxtel so I'm no expert, but it seems to me that his decision making isn't a particular strength. Evasive skill, cleanness and x-factor are definitely off the charts but too often I saw him deny good options in favor of taking on another tackler which resulted in a rushed disposal(usually by foot). I get the feeling he isn't fully in control when in possession and uses his obvious talents to ad-lib with varying results. Wondering if you've seen similar or if these were isolated incidents in big games?

PS great job again mate, It's been a pleasure following your posts over the journey.

Smalsl good talls poor
lol yeah righteo mate.
Joe Daniher is trending upwards each year and is one of the brightest young KP prospects around, Hooker is a contested mark beast and played forward in the second half of 2015 and his numbers were very good and Aaron Francis you will certainly find out about this year if you haven't seen much of him yet.

lol yeah righteo mate.
Joe Daniher is trending upwards each year and is one of the brightest young KP prospects around, Hooker is a contested mark beast and played forward in the second half of 2015 and his numbers were very good and Aaron Francis you will certainly find out about this year if you haven't seen much of him yet.
If hooker plays foward your defence is cooked imo

Nah, we are well stocked for tall defenders. Ambrose, Hartley and Brown are adequate cover. The problem with our defence is with our smalls.

Hi Knightmare what are your thoughts on Joe Atley? Strengths and weaknesses, draft range etc. Also, what do think are the chances of Cedric Cox being available at North's pick 32? Cheers.