Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2017 Draft Almanac

And I'd rather draft a bull like Rayner who, like many other bulls as poor endurance as they don't really bave the frame for long distance running than some skinny runner that doesn't have the frame to become an inside/outside player. Got to look at the future scope.

It's possible.

North Melbourne, Fremantle and Collingwood are the three teams inside the top 10 to have been linked in some way. St Kilda, Western Bulldogs and Carlton seem to favour other prospects, so if Stephenson doesn't go top six, he may well drop outside the top 10.
If those three teams mentioned don’t go that way, is there a chance he slides to the Crows? Or would he go to GWS?

It's possible.

North Melbourne, Fremantle and Collingwood are the three teams inside the top 10 to have been linked in some way. St Kilda, Western Bulldogs and Carlton seem to favour other prospects, so if Stephenson doesn't go top six, he may well drop outside the top 10.
North don't rank him in their top 4 apparently.

It's possible.

Care to elaborate?

Km what ur write up on Hunter Clark? Why is he seen as a reach at saints pick 7&8 and seen more as a teens pick? Any negatives to his games or concerns

hey km love your work. I was wondering if you think the crows will end up with jackson edwards or is there interest from rival clubs before the rookie draft?

It's possible.

if this happens would the crows pick him at 12? looks a gun

I guarantee these drafteew will do more rumning this pre-season than in any other.

When the new recruits come into the system. They do reduced training loads (say a 50% load for a general feel). Over coming preseasons they'll do more work as their bodies get used to it and can handle it without burning out.

If those three teams mentioned don’t go that way, is there a chance he slides to the Crows? Or would he go to GWS?

GWS and Adelaide both a chance for Stephenson.

I'm increasingly feeling it's likely he does drop out of the top 10.

North don't rank him in their top 4 apparently.

It's sounding that way. A Rayner or LDU may be there, or otherwise a Cerra/Dow/Brayshaw. That group seem favoured by most to Stephenson, even if North would be attracted to his run.

Care to elaborate?

Some combination of Coffield, Murphy, Naughton, Clark, Richards, Higgins and L.Fogarty are believed to be viewed favourably by the Dogs to Stephenson.

Km what ur write up on Hunter Clark? Why is he seen as a reach at saints pick 7&8 and seen more as a teens pick? Any negatives to his games or concerns

My write up with Clark is on page one.

He isn't a reach for the Saints at 7/8. I'm not rating him in the 20s or 30s. I do however view some others as being slightly better options around that point. Same story with Coffield and Bonar who are two others the Saints are believed to be looking at with those choices.

With regard to negatives with Clark. I like his game mostly - finds it inside/outside, has versatility and a much improved ball winner this year. Good numbers. His decision making under pressure is my concern, as he can feel rushed and turn over the footy when the opposition is pressuring effectively.

hey km love your work. I was wondering if you think the crows will end up with jackson edwards or is there interest from rival clubs before the rookie draft?

Edwards probably gets through to Adelaide in the rookie draft.

There may be 1-2 clubs late draft who consider, but probably more so as a situational pick if their preferred players aren't there late.

if this happens would the crows pick him at 12? looks a gun

Stephenson is a possible for Adelaide. Depends on who else slides through. D.Fogarty? Naughton? Brander? Higgins? Allen? Someone of value will get through, it's just unclear at this stage who Adelaide favour.

*Have updated page one with November Phantom Draft.

*Upcoming pieces in the leadup to the draft:
November Power Rankings (on ESPN tomorrow)
10 underrated players (on ESPN Wednesday)
Live chat (on ESPN Thursday night - likely around 5pm but time to be confirmed)
With my final phantom draft while I'll be submitting it on Thursday, will be going up Friday morning.

Knightmare, is Stephenson's slide purely credited to his heart irregularity, or are clubs just favouring other prospects?
Providing his heart condition won't be an issue, I see no reason why the Blues wouldn't be highly considering at #10.

Knightmare, is Stephenson's slide purely credited to his heart irregularity, or are clubs just favouring other prospects?
Providing his heart condition won't be an issue, I see no reason why the Blues wouldn't be highly considering at #10.

It's a bit of both. Maybe a North, Fremantle or Collingwood took him if not for the heart irregularity.

Some clubs are ruling him out as a result of the heart conditions while others are saying it's not going to affect their view of him. So it may well have affected his draft standing if one of those clubs with an earlier pick was going to take him.

*Have updated page one with November Phantom Draft.

*Upcoming pieces in the leadup to the draft:
November Power Rankings (on ESPN tomorrow)
10 underrated players (on ESPN Wednesday)
Live chat (on ESPN Thursday night - likely around 5pm but time to be confirmed)
With my final phantom draft while I'll be submitting it on Thursday, will be going up Friday morning.

Thanks again for another great year of analysis and bringing these players a bit closer to all of us rank and file.

Knightmare who do you see as Norths most likely selection at pick at this stage? Cheers

It's very open at this stage. I'm guessing whichever of Rayner/LDU/Dow is available. Failing any of those three being available, maybe Fogarty. If not then Cerra/Brayshaw would be the others I'm expecting to be considered.

Gday mate a young kid hasn't got much attention is Gordon Narrier from WA has some really nice skills and pace and good height.

I agree, and he will probably end up a very handy player but at the time he was selected it was unanimous that he would be pick 1 in the following years draft if not in the superdraft. As it stands now he would not be in the top 20 from 2013.

When we thrashed GC this year Martin was all over the goals - IIRC kicked 5 in the first half but could have kicked more in a better team. If the GC step up he will be a gun.

Knightmare, If the Eagles have a choice of Higgins, Allen and Clark at 13 which one do you think they would take. I assume Clark will be gone but you never know.

Gday mate a young kid hasn't got much attention is Gordon Narrier from WA has some really nice skills and pace and good height.

State combine invite, so he's a plausible late/rookie, but haven't heard his name come up in draft talks.

Knightmare, If the Eagles have a choice of Higgins, Allen and Clark at 13 which one do you think they would take. I assume Clark will be gone but you never know.

WCE are red hot on Clark, so he likely is the choice, but I expect he'll be gone.

Allen and Higgins both have been linked to WCE as possibles, without either being clear preferences.

WCE are red hot on Clark, so he likely is the choice, but I expect he'll be gone.

Allen and Higgins both have been linked to WCE as possibles, without either being clear preferences.

I'm glad to hear that we'd take Clark if he was there, even though that's looking less and less likely :( Is there any other names that you've heard linked to our first pick or our seconds?

Hunter Clark is the preferred with the first choice. Tim Kelly WCE may consider with 21 as North Melbourne probably take him at 23 if not. Ryley Stoddart, Jack Petruccelle, Brandon Starcevich and Liam Ryan have all been connected to WCE. They're the names I'm hearing most firmly connected, though no doubt there are others in the mix.

With WCE, the other key note is WCE historically like guys who have strong junior careers - think Tom Swift, Jack Darling. I wouldn't be surprised, particularly with the first choice, or maybe the other choices also, if there is a leaning/preference towards these types.

That might bring an Aiden Bonar, Darcy Fogarty, Jaidyn Stephenson or Jarrod Brander into the picture at 13 as some who would make sense following that trend.

KM any chance Lachlan Fogarty slides to mid-late 20s or late teens more likely?

Likely goes in the teens I'm expecting.

Brisbane said to be very keen, and if they don't take him with 15, they are expected to with pick 18. Dogs may consider at 16. If Fogarty doesn't go to Brisbane, Gold Coast at 19 probably take him.

Hunter Clark is the preferred with the first choice. Tim Kelly WCE may consider with 21 as North Melbourne probably take him at 23 if not. Ryley Stoddart, Jack Petruccelle, Brandon Starcevich and Liam Ryan have all been connected to WCE. They're the names I'm hearing most firmly connected, though no doubt there are others in the mix.

With WCE, the other key note is WCE historically like guys who have strong junior careers - think Tom Swift, Jack Darling. I wouldn't be surprised, particularly with the first choice, or maybe the other choices also, if there is a leaning/preference towards these types.

That might bring an Aiden Bonar, Darcy Fogarty, Jaidyn Stephenson or Jarrod Brander into the picture at 13 as some who would make sense following that trend.

Thanks KM, appreciate the insight.

State combine invite, so he's a plausible late/rookie, but haven't heard his name come up in draft talks.

Hard to see why not with him being as clean a one touch player as I've seen going and has done well at league level. Doesn't find much of the footy and not a lot of defensiveness in his game, but for a guy with his skill level I think Narrier would be a very good rookie pickup.