Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2017 Draft Almanac

Love that you have us taking Bailey at pick 19 Knightmare. Exactly who id like.

Would love for us to be able to nab Starcevich or Worpel at 41 then get a key back at 50 though.

Sent from my MHA-L09 using Tapatalk

Gday mate what's your take on Ben Miller KF from WA.Has some strong traits very agile and quick lovely kick.?.Is in contention to get drafted.

so Sydney are going to take a key/2nd forward with our first rounder?

where is the justification for that?

have you looked at Sydney's list?

I just don't like the idea of "hoping" on two top 10 picks. We certainly can't carry both of them in the seniors until they build their tank IMO.

Rayner isn't one you hope on. He is clear AFL quality. It's just if you're to see him play primary as a midfielder his endurance will need to improve. He can still play midfield minutes next year. He's very impactful through through, maybe more so than any other in this draft when he gets his chance.

How does worpel last to 48? A lot of people say he's ready made and can step in from day 1. What's the big knock on him than sees him drop like that?

Clubs see physically built without tricks as having low upside.

Time has told us that this isn't the case, but few go into the draft seeking players with inconsistent skills who are only really effective as midfielders.

Jack Graham being last years example is one who should have gone earlier. Worpel may be another who clubs underrate for much the same reasons.

Hi Knightmare. I just saw your ESPN phantom draft and noticed that you did not have Hugh Dixon picked up in the first 3 rounds. Is the reason for that the injury he picked up at the combine? My mail from an accurate source in Tasmania, is that while he is just doing core work at the moment he will back training at full intensity within 6 weeks. Word is that he runs the 20 metres considerably quicker than the 3.19 he ran at the combine and while his agility test at the combine was quicker than average (8.3 compared to the combine average of 8.5) he usually runs that, much quicker again. After seeing the vision of his last few TSL games, the All Stars game etc. I thought he would be picked up inside the first 3 rounds for sure. Is there anything that you have heard that makes you think he will slip so far?

Dixon is a late/rookie draft chance but no certainty. Clubs may, but I don't personally care about athletic testing. He has football smarts and plays an unselfish game which I quite like, but he's more a late/rookie choice.

With KPPs clubs have to fall in love with them outside of the first or second round, as few, particularly key forwards make the grade and clubs will hold off on drafting them unless they're of the highest quality.

Some have made the comment of Balta is similar to a young Rance. Balta can do some of the same positive things, but I see Balta more as Jarrad Waite than I do Rance - as a more freakish player and freakish athlete without necessarily the same consistency and sureness.

Balta is a unique in a lot of ways. Genuine 18 positional player and is a freak at so many things - acceleration from the contest, cleanness at ground level, working to the front in the marking contest and taking the grab, leap, size and strength, long kick etc. He has a lot going for him.

would you say maybe hes freakish like a young fraser gehrig and maybe even like a clive waterhouse type,freakish athletes that had some limitations

Those are some names that go back a long way.

Balta is 11cm taller than Waterhouse, so that's a hard comparison to feel comfortable with. Fraser Gehrig was a different player again, real powerhouse and physical beast.

I'll stick with the Waite comparison. But there are elements of so many. He has some Buddy with some of the freakishness at ground level and movement. He has some Sam Frost with his acceleration from defence.

Waite overall is the closer mish-mash of a comparison to Balta.

Very interesting how much things can change

Changes are daily this time of year! So much draft rumours and news daily.

I must say as an Eagles supporter I much prefer the choices you made on here in Oct than those published in your Nov version. Two medium mids in O'Brien and Kelly plus two flankers wont solve the Eagles midfield deficencies.

I'm working more closely off of rumours as to who West Coast are considering with their various picks.

WCE's first pick is no certainty to be a midfielder depending on who is available.

Love that you have us taking Bailey at pick 19 Knightmare. Exactly who id like.

Would love for us to be able to nab Starcevich or Worpel at 41 then get a key back at 50 though.

Sent from my MHA-L09 using Tapatalk

Bailey feels a good fit for Gold Coast, and while he's not Abblett, he's the most Abblett-like in this draft. I also expect being an NT boy and playing in SA, go-home factor won't be an issue.

North mention there sole focus is on boosting the midfield and you pick two forwards with out first two picks. Interesting

D.Fogarty many clubs view as best suited to playing as a midfielder.

Houlahan while more a forward now also some view as having the scope to become a midfielder. I'm hearing Tim Kelly is in the mix for pick 23 if West Coast don't take him at 21, so you might be right.

Can't see the Lions going Dow.

He's the best pure contested ball winner of that top four. He's also viewed being a country boy as the least likely to be affected by go-home factor. Pick one does however remain open with Brisbane remaining tight-lipped.

Gday mate what's your take on Ben Miller KF from WA.Has some strong traits very agile and quick lovely kick.?.Is in contention to get drafted.

He's got a nice size, is a very nimble athlete and I also like his composure when pressured, it's unusual and refreshing from a key forward. He has some scope to develop and is one mid-late draft I expect will be in the mix to get picked up.

so Sydney are going to take a key/2nd forward with our first rounder?

where is the justification for that?

have you looked at Sydney's list?

It's not about what I think Sydney should do. My phantom draft reflects where I am expecting/hearing players will go. In Sydney's case, a lot of Sydney rumours are surrounding forwards. Oscar Allen and Jordan Houlahan are two being spoken about as firmly in the mix with that first choice along with Jarrod Brander.

Brayshaw and Spargo with North's picks, would you see that as a likely KM?

I don't think there is much credence to the Fogarty to North rumours, considering he isn't a genuine mid yet.

Knigtmare has Freo taking McCartin at 42 and Miller at 43 to the hawks.
Given our plan is to focus on WA kids, I would think we would take Miller before McCartin.
Bigger and more upside.

Brayshaw and Spargo with North's picks, would you see that as a likely KM?

I don't think there is much credence to the Fogarty to North rumours, considering he isn't a genuine mid yet.

Talk with Brayshaw he could fit anywhere 1-7. A lot of clubs with very early picks are really liking him. Brisbane, Fremantle and Collingwood are other teams at the very least to have Brayshaw shortlisted.

Spargo in the 20s is possible.

The AFL website predicted Richmond would pick up Constable, are you hearing anything about this?

Constable is not certain to be there when Richmond enter the draft. Have mostly been hearing Richmond will go tall (KPP), with at least one of those first picks if not two.

Knigtmare has Freo taking McCartin at 42 and Miller at 43 to the hawks.
Given our plan is to focus on WA kids, I would think we would take Miller before McCartin.
Bigger and more upside.

There are enough recruiters who will dispute Miller having the greater upside. McCartin if things go right for him could become Chris Tarrant. With McCartin you have to understand how young he is (30 December birthday). He's still in year 11, going into year 12 next year. He has also missed considerable time with injury in previous years.

I'm not as big of a wrap as some for McCartin as he doesn't kick enough goals or draw nearly enough of the ball inside 50m. But I would go calling him, as with Miller untapped.

I'd personally lean towards Miller (without personally feeling like I'd draft either, as neither are certainties), but recruiters for the most part are liking McCartin more. He's the more likely of the two to figure inside the top 40, and may well not be there for Fremantle in the 40s.

Hey Knightmare,

Do you see Matthew day making it to Hawthorne’s first pick? If so do you reckon they’ll take him? Or is there a better option for hawthorn around that pick

Hey Knightmare,

Do you see Matthew day making it to Hawthorne’s first pick? If so do you reckon they’ll take him? Or is there a better option for hawthorn around that pick

Day could slip in anywhere mid draft onwards, maybe 40 onwards. He is probably there at Hawthorn's pick. He was unlucky not to be in my three round phantom and he is someone who I will probably find a spot for in my final phantom draft.

I like his game overall. Wins the contested ball, but has evasiveness and moves fairly well. He needs to find more of the footy and probably improve his endurance, but he's overall an improver with scope to continue his growth. Late/rookie he's worth a shot for mine.

At 40 though I'd tend to think there may be better options.

One name I look at and associate with Hawthorn is Kane Farrell. He has a lot of Matt Suckling to him with that left boot and the way he wheels around onto it and does his damage.

According to Mick Ablett Brisbane need forwards he picked at every Lions pick

It didn't feel like they put too much effort into it. Just named players they liked.

I don't know how Twomey got the gig but his performance has always been average IMO.

The AFL website predicted Richmond would pick up Constable, are you hearing anything about this?

No chance, they don't rate his endurance at all, and their game plan requires high intensity repeat efforts. I'd be staggered if they went that way.

Constable is not certain to be there when Richmond enter the draft. Have mostly been hearing Richmond will go tall (KPP), with at least one of those first picks if not two.

Hey mate just a quick one and please dont take this the wrong way and think im doubting you have these inside sources but where do you hear these things? do you know people that work at clubs, or hear things from journos or just go off rumours that make their way around social media e.t.c?

Also one more question, are there any Tassie lads that are a chance of getting drafted at all apart from Dixon, and how high will be Tarryn Thomas likely be picked up in the 218 draft?

Thanks mate.

It didn't feel like they put too much effort into it. Just named players they liked.

I don't know how Twomey got the gig but his performance has always been average IMO.

They lost me when they picked Matthew Ling thinking we could do with some outside pace off the back flank (esp with Zac Bailey still available). Granted, pace would be nice, but outside players and half backs we do not need, especially if taking O'Brien already. 3 picks inside top 26 and we don't take a mid who can win contested ball, stand up and throw his weight around a little, which we are screaming out for. Not a lot of attention paid to some clubs "needs".

No chance, they don't rate his endurance at all, and their game plan requires high intensity repeat efforts. I'd be staggered if they went that way.
I personally believe we will go tall, Naish will get matched at what ever pick the bid comes in at as Richmond has invested alot of time into him and likes what they see with Naish - So he is 1 small already

Balta,Allen,Brander,Taylor,Hayes all look to be in the mix at different stages but if Naish is picked up with 1 of our first 3 picks and #53 & #55 become live picks rather than used for Naish i can see another midfielder being selected so could be 3 KPP / 2 Mids