Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2017 Draft Almanac

Hey Knightmare I am interested in your thoughts on Brandon Zerk-Thatcher's chance of getting picked late or rookied. Had a fantastic finals series for Sturt's reserves and looks just a natural defender. Also a 19 year old who is the equivalent of an 18 year old in terms of development both from a body and time spent in an elite football program perspective. 6ft 5 with a serious vertical leap. Reckon he could be a player but not sure he gets a chance. What are your thoughts?

Hi KM

Many experts are changing their opinion post season on the eligible players are where they are all rated. Is it a case of over analysis ? Given the players are not playing anymore I find it a little funny. I understand the clubs would be doing extra interviews now so this may sway them depending on character and background checks but the experts are not privy to this ..

Last year Brett Anderson and Callum Twomey rated the best in their phantom drafts so do you think this is because they have more contacts inside clubs and sources? I dont think this worries you as you have always backed players the mainstream don’t rate as high.

The concensus seems to be that the top players will be Rayner, LDU, Dow, Cerra, Stephenson, D Fogarty, Naughton, so as a Doggies supporter who do you rate the next best midfielder backman and forward (excluding these players above), thanks in advance and loving your articles on ESPN

When you assess who "rated the best in their phantom drafts" I would suggest you consider when the phantom was done. It would appear easier to be on the money the day of the draft than it is a month beforehand.

Just had a read of your November Phantom draft, KM. Great stuff! ...but I'd actually be pretty disappointed if that's how Carlton's draft turned out. Two midfielders that will need to start their careers forward and Petruccelle doesn't really impress me from what I've seen.

Hey KM! What do you think the chances are that Stephenson makes it to the saints picks and if so do you think we would take him? Hoping for 1 of him and brayshaw at least

With phantom drafts the orders change based on rumours - with players starting to get connected to various clubs. Those rumours tend in most cases to become known post trade-week, so you'll see a lot of movement on a lot of draft boards.

Power Rankings shouldn't change much if at all - mostly will come down to if others such as myself nerd out re-watching games - u18 champs, TAC Cup games on youtube and the like. But phantom drafts surely will.

Brett Anderson and Callum Twomey do have more club connections than I do due to the nature of their roles. My focuses have always been in gaining the strongest knowledge of the draft history, trends and the draft crop of the year by attending games, watching games online and also engaging the most with my readers - sharing opinions, answering their questions and giving the most detailed knowledge about as many prospects as possible for the year. I've learnt some time ago from reading about Jerry Krause (Chicago Bulls GM from their championship era) that you should go to games your scouting and sit on your own, away from other club scouts. That way you can make your own judgements and not get sucked into players they like, who they probably overrate, or alternatively you can find a diamond in the rough others don't rate/value as much as they should. The downside to this of course is you don't make as many connections in clubland and have less exposure to the rumour mill, but that sits fine with me, I would prefer to differentiate myself.
That said, I still hear my share of draft rumours post-trade week, so my phantom draft shouldn't be all that much further off the mark than the next media phantom draft.

Thanks mate! love your work and the effort you make to get back to all of us

Hey Knightmare I am interested in your thoughts on Brandon Zerk-Thatcher's chance of getting picked late or rookied. Had a fantastic finals series for Sturt's reserves and looks just a natural defender. Also a 19 year old who is the equivalent of an 18 year old in terms of development both from a body and time spent in an elite football program perspective. 6ft 5 with a serious vertical leap. Reckon he could be a player but not sure he gets a chance. What are your thoughts?

Zerk-Thatcher is a plausible late/rookie. Good height and athlete (leaper - as you say) and hasn't looked out of place in the reserves. So there is something to work with. Ok during U18 Champs in patches. Lightly built but has some scope to develop. Overall he's shown glimpses without convincing me he's someone I'd pick, and overall from an overager I'd personally favour someone with a more advanced game that is closer to being AFL relevant.

I reckon the Fogarty link is all talk to try and get Carlton to move in on him early, and let Dow or the like slip to North’s pick 4. I don’t think it’ll be successful but I have a great source who suggests the Blues will take Cerra anyway and Dow may well get to pick 4 anyway.

Fogarty is literally the least needed player for North Melbourne of all top ten fancies. They’d be better off recruiting Higgins or Naughton at 4 because they better fill the needs.

Tell us more about your secret sauce, I quite like the thought of Cerra in Navy Blue.

When you assess who "rated the best in their phantom drafts" I would suggest you consider when the phantom was done. It would appear easier to be on the money the day of the draft than it is a month beforehand.

Always so many rumours going around on draft day, and confirmation of who various clubs will pick, that absolutely submitting phantom drafts a day early hurts accuracy.

Your phantom is up on ESPN KM. Great read.

Interested in any of the rationale for the decisions? Nothing specific just interested in the main factors you considered when making the changes from October to November.

Rumours based on likely (updated) draft ranges and particular players being linked/of interest to particular clubs is basically why each of the moves were made.

Just had a read of your November Phantom draft, KM. Great stuff! ...but I'd actually be pretty disappointed if that's how Carlton's draft turned out. Two midfielders that will need to start their careers forward and Petruccelle doesn't really impress me from what I've seen.

Petruccelle has some big moments and has game-changing potential. He wins it in the contest. But also has the acceleration away, aerial marking and strong hands overhead. He has his weapons. He just needs to find more of the footy. I wouldn't be surprised if he went before Carlton's selection, but if there I imagine he'll be on Carlton's shortlist.

Bonar probably starts forward, but the hope, as with Rayner is he becomes more a mid.

Will be interesting to see who Carlton go for if the rest of the draft works out roughly this way.

Hey KM! What do you think the chances are that Stephenson makes it to the saints picks and if so do you think we would take him? Hoping for 1 of him and brayshaw at least

North and Fremantle are said to have interest, and with Collingwood lacking pace and liking big game players, they may also consider.

50/50 at this stage to be available for the Saints. If there, he's one of a few I'm hearing. Brayshaw, H.Clark, Bonar and Naughton are the others to be connected to those two Saints picks.

Are you starting to hear more from clubs? Or is the 1st 4 still a raffle?

Are you more confident on any of the top 4 going where listed in your latest mock draft?

There is more word going around, and by the day there are more and more rumours, giving us all a better feel for who each club may be considering.

The top 4 I'm not yet confident on. Brisbane could take any of - Dow/LDU/Rayner. Fremantle may go LDU/Rayner and then probably Cerra or maybe Brayshaw who they're also interested in. Carlton are believed most likely to take the leftover of Dow/LDU/Rayner, with Cerra also a plausible shot. North may be a wildcard and have several different names linked to them (assuming non of the big three drop) - Cerra/D.Fogarty/Stephenson are the three I'm hearing most strongly linked to North, with the Fogarty rumours heating up over the last few days.

At this stage with the clubs possessing first round picks, I don't know about with others doing phantom drafts, but it feels like we're getting shortlists from each clubs of who they may take, and it's just from there deciphering who is most likely to go to each club until stronger rumours suggesting this team will take this guy.

Does Balta remind you of a young Rance?

Some have made the comment of Balta is similar to a young Rance. Balta can do some of the same positive things, but I see Balta more as Jarrad Waite than I do Rance - as a more freakish player and freakish athlete without necessarily the same consistency and sureness.

Balta is a unique in a lot of ways. Genuine 18 positional player and is a freak at so many things - acceleration from the contest, cleanness at ground level, working to the front in the marking contest and taking the grab, leap, size and strength, long kick etc. He has a lot going for him.

Hi KM do you have the top twenty champion data rankings for the TAC this year?

I may have read something along these lines online somewhere at some point. I believe Lachlan Fogarty rated highly (perhaps number one?). Jack Higgins would be up there among others.

Would be interested if someone located it online to link me in or post it in this discussion, as I'd be interested myself as a big stats guy.

http://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/18053132/knightmare-updated-2016-afl-phantom-draft

Based on last years November phantom draft. It's safe to say there is still so much movement to occur between now and the draft.

Always moves a stack in the weeks leading up to the draft.

The rumour mill is daily post-trade week and the clarity comes as you move closer to the draft.

Did Jonty Scharenberg do enough this year to be looked at getting picked up? I see you had him top 30 last year.

I still like Scharenberg as a prospect and would happily rookie him. I suspect though he hasn't received much interest again if Glenny's comments about Scharenberg not nominating are correct - I can't confirm having not heard.

Charlie Constable is an interested selection at 12 for the Crows, considering Clark, Higgins and Brander still on the board KM. Have you heard him linked to AFC?

Brander is one I see Adelaide considering, and had him in the mix for the pick.

I've heard Adelaide want another back flanker (noting that Brodie Smith is out) and with Constable he's not only coverage down back but also a genuine midfielder (useful if Sloane walks)- overall just giving you options with his contested ball winning capabilities in combination with his decision making/vision/skills.

Petruccelle has some big moments and has game-changing potential. He wins it in the contest. But also has the acceleration away, aerial marking and strong hands overhead. He has his weapons. He just needs to find more of the footy. I wouldn't be surprised if he went before Carlton's selection, but if there I imagine he'll be on Carlton's shortlist.

Bonar probably starts forward, but the hope, as with Rayner is he becomes more a mid.

Will be interesting to see who Carlton go for if the rest of the draft works out roughly this way.

I just don't like the idea of "hoping" on two top 10 picks. We certainly can't carry both of them in the seniors until they build their tank IMO.

How does worpel last to 48? A lot of people say he's ready made and can step in from day 1. What's the big knock on him than sees him drop like that?

Kicking and upside.

Yes. Only Tasmanian to receive an invite to the national combine.

Hi Knightmare. I just saw your ESPN phantom draft and noticed that you did not have Hugh Dixon picked up in the first 3 rounds. Is the reason for that the injury he picked up at the combine? My mail from an accurate source in Tasmania, is that while he is just doing core work at the moment he will back training at full intensity within 6 weeks. Word is that he runs the 20 metres considerably quicker than the 3.19 he ran at the combine and while his agility test at the combine was quicker than average (8.3 compared to the combine average of 8.5) he usually runs that, much quicker again. After seeing the vision of his last few TSL games, the All Stars game etc. I thought he would be picked up inside the first 3 rounds for sure. Is there anything that you have heard that makes you think he will slip so far?

Some have made the comment of Balta is similar to a young Rance. Balta can do some of the same positive things, but I see Balta more as Jarrad Waite than I do Rance - as a more freakish player and freakish athlete without necessarily the same consistency and sureness.

Balta is a unique in a lot of ways. Genuine 18 positional player and is a freak at so many things - acceleration from the contest, cleanness at ground level, working to the front in the marking contest and taking the grab, leap, size and strength, long kick etc. He has a lot going for him.

would you say maybe hes freakish like a young fraser gehrig and maybe even like a clive waterhouse type,freakish athletes that had some limitations