Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2019 Draft Almanac

How does 2019 compare with the 2020 Draft?

Unclear at this stage how good or otherwise 2020 will be. At this stage having a greater familiarity with this year's talent, I favour this year's draft, but each week I'm seeing a few more for next year's draft starting to pop up, so there shouldn't be too much separation if any if more come good next year.

Knightmare. Who will freo be after?

Certainly Liam Henry (NGA) will be Fremantle's priority through the draft and picks will be made/traded with a focus around where a bid will come for Henry. My assumption is that there will be no bid before Fremantle's first choice on Henry, so assuming that proves correct, I can see a Brodie Kemp or local product Deven Robertson receiving consideration to give Fremantle's midfield a boost.

Sam Flanders' brilliant finals performance on Sunday furthered his claims as a possible top-five pick
http://m.afl.com.au/news/2019-09-02/young-gun-enhances-topfive-claims-with-stunning-performance

Could you see him pushing into the top 5?

Helps put Flanders in the mix. And he was the best performer for Gippsland v an Oakleigh which included the probable top two picks in Rowell and Anderson.

What makes Flanders so good, and this is why last year I was talking about Flanders as a potential number one is his work forward of centre. Play him forward and he can take over games. That's where he plays his best footy. And he showed it with that period of dominance in the second quarter. And he's that with the capabilities to play through the midfield to a strong standard - where he has been this year. Top 5 is realistic for Flanders and if a club took him there I wouldn't be at all critical because he's one of those who should on performance and quality be in that conversation.

Is there a big name who is injured ala Bytel type?

Cooper Stephens is this year's Bytel. A seriously good ball winner with explosiveness who probably would be a first rounder if he was available.

Hey knightmare, what are your thoughts about Sam Ramsey? And where do you expect him to be taken in the draft?

Ramsay is no draft lock but one who is in the mix. He's a hard working mid who covers a lot of ground but I don't find all that influential, all that often - he got 35d and a goal v Dandenong but I thought D'Intinosante and Manton for their respective sides were the better players. Ramsay is more a late/rookie chance given his state combine invite.

Do you see Isaac Wareham getting drafted Knighta, I'm hoping he at least gets through to us as a rookie, reckon he has a lot of scope and upside given his late December birthday [Chjristmas Eve] making him close to or the youngest player in this draft. His 2 games for Vic Country at the Championships were quite impressive I thought, good size, speed and skills and likes to take the game on.

Unclear at this stage how good or otherwise 2020 will be. At this stage having a greater familiarity with this year's talent, I favour this year's draft, but each week I'm seeing a few more for next year's draft starting to pop up, so there shouldn't be too much separation if any if more come good next year.

Certainly Liam Henry (NGA) will be Fremantle's priority through the draft and picks will be made/traded with a focus around where a bid will come for Henry. My assumption is that there will be no bid before Fremantle's first choice on Henry, so assuming that proves correct, I can see a Brodie Kemp or local product Deven Robertson receiving consideration to give Fremantle's midfield a boost.
Thanks mate, how does it compare with previous years ive heard some say its weak.

Do you see Isaac Wareham getting drafted Knighta, I'm hoping he at least gets through to us as a rookie, reckon he has a lot of scope and upside given his late December birthday [Chjristmas Eve] making him close to or the youngest player in this draft. His 2 games for Vic Country at the Championships were quite impressive I thought, good size, speed and skills and likes to take the game on.

He can generate drive and is good by foot as you say. He's a late/rookie chance. Certainly in the mix with his national combine invite evidence of that, but not a certain pick.

Thanks mate, how does it compare with previous years ive heard some say its weak.

This year is average. Not good, not bad. There is some good depth of players and the top 10 is solid. I like a lot of the speed/skill/x-factor. But the KPPs are thin and lacking in top end quality this year.

What makes Flanders so good, and this is why last year I was talking about Flanders as a potential number one is his work forward of centre. Play him forward and he can take over games. That's where he plays his best footy. And he showed it with that period of dominance in the second quarter. And he's that with the capabilities to play through the midfield to a strong standard - where he has been this year. Top 5 is realistic for Flanders and if a club took him there I wouldn't be at all critical because he's one of those who should on performance and quality be in that conversation.
He sounds a bit like Connor Rozee, are they comparable prospects?

been real impressed with daniel mott (calder), where can you see him ending up in the draft?

A later pick if he goes. Productive, but probably not as impactful as some others.

He sounds a bit like Connor Rozee, are they comparable prospects?

Different types. There is more Petracca to Flanders. Flanders is a stronger body and better 1v1, Rozee generates more drive.

A later pick if he goes. Productive, but probably not as impactful as some others.

Different types. There is more Petracca to Flanders. Flanders is a stronger body and better 1v1, Rozee generates more drive.
Flanders looks to me like he moves a bit similar to Dusty Martin when playing in the middle and is apparently a good forward (I haven't seen that much of him playing there). Can you see similarities between the two KM? Barring Flanders being listed as 5cm shorter.

Sent from my SM-G977B using Tapatalk

Flanders looks to me like he moves a bit similar to Dusty Martin when playing in the middle and is apparently a good forward (I haven't seen that much of him playing there). Can you see similarities between the two KM? Barring Flanders being listed as 5cm shorter.

Sent from my SM-G977B using Tapatalk

Calling Flanders a shorter Dusty with a similar style of game is basically what you're looking at.

He's not on that level which is why I say more Petracca, but there is a lot in common stylistically and in the way he impacts games.