List Mgmt. List Management 2022

Hunter is rated highly as a player, but obviously has some issues outside his footy, the Dogs won't be giving him away cheaply whilst he is contracted.
Mid-late 1st round pick would most likely be required.
We have a need for more outside run, not sure he fits that category.

No one is giving up a 1st rounder for Hunter. Late 2nd rounder, early 3rd would get it done imo (if the Dogs are that keen to move him on)

He's tainted goods at the Dogs - for whatever reason - and everyone outside the Dogs knows it....

Personally, without knowing what Austin would 100% know, he fills a need for us and is a very good ball user.

And it's clear the Dogs will pay a big chunk of his salary...

All that said, Acres looks a lock, and LOB/Cotters/Carroll can all play wing....

The only thing that makes me curious about Schache with us is that he'd be the third tall and nowhere close to the no.1 or 2 target in the attacking 50. He's quite clearly shown he's not a no.1 and probably at best is a no.2, but as a 3 maybe the lack of attention will allow him to only need to play to his strengths.
he's more of a franklin or hipwood than a KPP, a very tall flanker, although without the pace of either of those two.

i suggested we look at him midyear as a jones type project but I suspect this is more due diligence than genuine interest

No one is giving up a 1st rounder for Hunter. Late 2nd rounder, early 3rd would get it done imo (if the Dogs are that keen to move him on)

He's tainted goods at the Dogs - for whatever reason - and everyone outside the Dogs knows it....

Personally, without knowing what Austin would 100% know, he fills a need for us and is a very good ball user.

And it's clear the Dogs will pay a big chunk of his salary...

All that said, Acres looks a lock, and LOB/Cotters/Carroll can all play wing....
Hunter is not the first quality player to have some issues, De Goey & Stenglein etc, no point giving him away for a early 3rd round pick, he is a quality player and there are some clubs that deal with these matters better than others, sure if a good deal comes along the dogs will look at a trade otherwise he will stay and they try will work to improve the issues with him, as do not see the benefit off- loading him for a 3rd round selection.

I wonder if we have considered shopping for a veteran from a successful club?

Surely our team would benefit from a year (or more, depending on who) from a Breust, Gunston or Edwards type? Someone who can explain, player to player, the level that's required to go from 9th to 1st in this era.

Or if we saw an opening, a guy like Nick Vlastuin* and his experience, intercepting and flexibility be a gamechanger in our backline, I reckon. That would be something worth giving up draft currency to put our squad over the top. It would a "last piece" type of move, but could be worth it.

* No suggestion he is available or interested, but thinking a player of that caliber.

Hunter is not the first quality player to have some issues, De Goey & Stenglein etc, no point giving him away for a early 3rd round pick, he is a quality player and there are some clubs that deal with these matters better than others, sure if a good deal comes along the dogs will look at a trade otherwise he will stay and they try will work to improve the issues with him, as do not see the benefit off- loading him for a 3rd round selection.
It's not as if we'd be blindsided by the issues....

Hunter would know it's his last chance....

Happy to take Acres, fills a need and shouldn't be on too much coin, the kid from Adelaide McAstey is hear nor there, will be on min wage and shouldn't cost a lot in picks, will prob end up being the pick we get for Dow.. Could be a like for like swap with the Crows who may find a role for Dow where we cant find one. Outside of these, i hope we are looking for a ruck.. We dont need another developing ruck, we need someone that can come in an immediately put pressure on Pittonet and TDK for the #1 ruck spot. Would love a genuine #1 to come in, but short of a last minute play for Grundy I don't see any others that are on the market.

Are we seriously discussing Josh Schache.. Surely seeing Dow, SPS, Setterfield etc is enough proof that just because you are a high draft pick doesnt mean you can play the game.. Schache has been on an AFL list for 7 years, at 2 different clubs and at no stage has he ever looked like an AFL player a 3rd club is not going to change this..... This is without the fact we already have McKay, Curnow, JSOS, TDK who already play his role, just 1000 x better.

I wonder if we have considered shopping for a veteran from a successful club?

Surely our team would benefit from a year (or more, depending on who) from a Breust, Gunston or Edwards type? Someone who can explain, player to player, the level that's required to go from 9th to 1st in this era.

Or if we saw an opening, a guy like Nick Vlastuin* and his experience, intercepting and flexibility be a gamechanger in our backline, I reckon. That would be something worth giving up draft currency to put our squad over the top. It would a "last piece" type of move, but could be worth it.

* No suggestion he is available or interested, but thinking a player of that caliber.

Like who.. Richmond, who would we want.. I have always rated Nathan Broad but he is hardly the 'leader' that we are after, Bruest would start next season as a 32yo not sure there is much value in bringing him in and its been 7 years since he played in a flag.. The dogs seem to be imploding and have a toxic culture, not sure i want someone from that program despite there flag which now really looks a fluke.

Are we seriously discussing Josh Schache.. Surely seeing Dow, SPS, Setterfield etc is enough proof that just because you are a high draft pick doesnt mean you can play the game.. Schache has been on an AFL list for 7 years, at 2 different clubs and at no stage has he ever looked like an AFL player a 3rd club is not going to change this..... This is without the fact we already have McKay, Curnow, JSOS, TDK who already play his role, just 1000 x better.
Different positions. Different levels of depth in those positions.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Like who.. Richmond, who would we want.. I have always rated Nathan Broad but he is hardly the 'leader' that we are after, Bruest would start next season as a 32yo not sure there is much value in bringing him in and its been 7 years since he played in a flag.. The dogs seem to be imploding and have a toxic culture, not sure i want someone from that program despite there flag which now really looks a fluke.

Yeh, not sure there's a perfect guy. But Breust did kick 40 goals this year, and none of our small forwards got 20.

I'm not necessarily thinking of finding a guy for our premiership side, but maybe a 12-month playing coach-mentor-type thing.

McGovern and Williams have new contracts in front of them, but not at the same value as their previous contract.

Dow is on the trade table, but not much interest so far.

O'Brien, Plowman also on the trade table.

Massive changes to the playing list coming up.

Setterfield also on the trade table.

Nope - 2 more years:-

Just because they were re-signed doesn’t mean they can’t be traded…what makes the post complete made up bollocks is the bit about Williams.

You can put a contract in front of him at worse dollars and terms if you want to give him a laugh but he’s got 4 years left on the current contract. What would make anyone think he’d sign that away.

Laughable

Sorry, long post incoming :)

I think we have 4 main list needs which we should be able to fill with our current 6 free list spots.
1. A more consistent winger also acting as a Newnes replacement
2. KPF depth behind Harry/Charlie
3. An outside mid with good endurance/burst from stoppage/foot skills
4. A small-mid sized forward who is crafty with delivery inside 50 and can kick a goal too

With player number 1 like mentioned we relied on Newnes pretty heavily this year. While he was still very serviceable, to be able to get Acres with a nothing pick (approx. pick 50) is an absolute steal. You very rarely find a player of Acres' calibre that deep in the draft so I don't mind that we're using a future pick or that we were ruthless with the delistings.

For player number 2 I'm prepared to use pick 10 for some key position depth in the draft - up forward we have no cover for Harry/Charlie. Matthew Jefferson seems like a great option while Isaac Keeler is more of a JSOS clone.

To cover player number 3 there are plenty of options in the second round. We could potentially take Hewett/Hollands at pick 10 letting us pick Keeler a little later in the draft, otherwise I'd be happy with a number of others at pick 28 to fill this list need.

Finally for player number 4 we're said to be interested in Ned Cahill. I'm expecting him to be available at pick 62, or more likely pass on him at the draft and select him in the SSP after he completes a pre-season with the seniors. I'm always a fan of promoting VFL listed players as they're already used to the club, players, game plan, etc. Plus they can come for dirt cheap assuming they want to continue being affiliated with the same club.

So we're left with pick 37 (or thereabouts) from the Jones compo. There isn't any list need still needing to be addressed, so trading it to Brisbane (who need the points) for example with pick 64 in return for a future 2nd could work. However I feel that with any pick under 40 there are too many variables at play to trade it for a high future pick - for example where each team finishes, which players are already taken before that 2023 pick and just the overall strength of the draft compared to this years.

So we're left with two options. First, we could use that pick to upgrade existing depth players/borderline best 22, but for me the player selected at pick 37 couldn't really do that. I also don't feel like we're in serious need of bringing in youth to eventually replace retirees in 2-3 years time. So I'm happy just to take the best available with pick 37, if we can get another KPP I'd be even happier.

We're left with 1 list spot now but two options. Personally I'd be taking it into next season as a MSD selection. We could also use it on a DFA/cheap Lewis Young style trade. I'm personally happy to use pick 64 on Josh Schache, although one of Patrick Naish, Ben Ronke, Toby Bedford, Josh Corbett, Quinton Narkle, Aaron Francis or Alec Waterman would also be fine. [If Fogarty ends up being delisted then we can pick up one of those players and still have a pick for the MSD]

OUT - Jones, Williamson, Parks, McDonald, Newnes, Stocker, Hayes
IN - pick 10, pick 28, pick 37, future 3rd (Acres), pick 62 (Cahill), 2023 MSD pick, Sam Durdin

Hunter and Schache are irrelevant.

Schache seems like a decent human but we don't need him. If he went elsewhere, we wouldn't bat an eyelid.

One of the shining lights of our club is the non-existence of ducking flogs.
That counts Hunter out too.

Move on.

One factor everyone seems to be overlooking is the correlation between similar haircuts and teamwork.

Round 1, most players still had short hair from the Docherty trim they did, but as the season progressed and hair grew out, each player went back to their own identity, and our team cohesiveness dropped off. Something to really think about....

Would love to see 22 mohawks in round one next year.

Wouldn’t lose a game.

One factor everyone seems to be overlooking is the correlation between similar haircuts and teamwork.

Round 1, most players still had short hair from the Docherty trim they did, but as the season progressed and hair grew out, each player went back to their own identity, and our team cohesiveness dropped off. Something to really think about....

Visit to Ciccone’s ...

Easily fixed.

Sorry, long post incoming :)

I think we have 4 main list needs which we should be able to fill with our current 6 free list spots.
1. A more consistent winger also acting as a Newnes replacement
2. KPF depth behind Harry/Charlie
3. An outside mid with good endurance/burst from stoppage/foot skills
4. A small-mid sized forward who is crafty with delivery inside 50 and can kick a goal too

With player number 1 like mentioned we relied on Newnes pretty heavily this year. While he was still very serviceable, to be able to get Acres with a nothing pick (approx. pick 50) is an absolute steal. You very rarely find a player of Acres' calibre that deep in the draft so I don't mind that we're using a future pick or that we were ruthless with the delistings.

For player number 2 I'm prepared to use pick 10 for some key position depth in the draft - up forward we have no cover for Harry/Charlie. Matthew Jefferson seems like a great option while Isaac Keeler is more of a JSOS clone.

To cover player number 3 there are plenty of options in the second round. We could potentially take Hewett/Hollands at pick 10 letting us pick Keeler a little later in the draft, otherwise I'd be happy with a number of others at pick 28 to fill this list need.

Finally for player number 4 we're said to be interested in Ned Cahill. I'm expecting him to be available at pick 62, or more likely pass on him at the draft and select him in the SSP after he completes a pre-season with the seniors. I'm always a fan of promoting VFL listed players as they're already used to the club, players, game plan, etc. Plus they can come for dirt cheap assuming they want to continue being affiliated with the same club.

So we're left with pick 37 (or thereabouts) from the Jones compo. There isn't any list need still needing to be addressed, so trading it to Brisbane (who need the points) for example with pick 64 in return for a future 2nd could work. However I feel that with any pick under 40 there are too many variables at play to trade it for a high future pick - for example where each team finishes, which players are already taken before that 2023 pick and just the overall strength of the draft compared to this years.

So we're left with two options. First, we could use that pick to upgrade existing depth players/borderline best 22, but for me the player selected at pick 37 couldn't really do that. I also don't feel like we're in serious need of bringing in youth to eventually replace retirees in 2-3 years time. So I'm happy just to take the best available with pick 37, if we can get another KPP I'd be even happier.

We're left with 1 list spot now but two options. Personally I'd be taking it into next season as a MSD selection. We could also use it on a DFA/cheap Lewis Young style trade. I'm personally happy to use pick 64 on Josh Schache, although one of Patrick Naish, Ben Ronke, Toby Bedford, Josh Corbett, Quinton Narkle, Aaron Francis or Alec Waterman would also be fine. [If Fogarty ends up being delisted then we can pick up one of those players and still have a pick for the MSD]

OUT - Jones, Williamson, Parks, McDonald, Newnes, Stocker, Hayes
IN - pick 10, pick 28, pick 37, future 3rd (Acres), pick 62 (Cahill), 2023 MSD pick, Sam Durdin
You're not allowing for Owies moving to the senior list. I don't think we take 4 picks at the draft (including Cahill). Will be 2 or 3 (unless there are other players traded out). Would also rather we use the Jones compo pick for Acres rather than dip into next year, though a F3 is nominally cheaper.

What's our current senior/rookie list breakdown compared to the max allowed? I also think the rule still stands where we have to pick up at least 3 players in the draft.

With talk that the Acres trade is essentially ready to go, I doubt the Jones compo pick would be involved considering neither us nor Freo have confirmation on what that pick will be.

What's our current senior/rookie list breakdown compared to the max allowed? I also think the rule still stands where we have to pick up at least 3 players in the draft.

With talk that the Acres trade is essentially ready to go, I doubt the Jones compo pick would be involved considering neither us nor Freo have confirmation on what that pick will be.
Think Beveridge reported it was a future third involved for Acres

We're currently at 33/5 + 1
The 33 includes the elevated Owies, and the still uncontracted Setterfield, Ed & Fogarty.

The minimum is 36/1
The max is 42 (max senior is 38) + 2 Cat B.
So we currently have 4 spots available (+ 1 Cat B spot).

You have to draft 3 players to the senior list, but up to 2 of those 3 can be rookie elevations (Owies is 1).

Hunter and Schache are irrelevant.

Schache seems like a decent human but we don't need him. If he went elsewhere, we wouldn't bat an eyelid.

One of the shining lights of our club is the non-existence of ducking flogs.
That counts Hunter out too.

Move on.
And Ginnivan and Selwood

We're currently at 33/5 + 1
The 33 includes the elevated Owies, and the still uncontracted Setterfield, Ed & Fogarty.

The minimum is 36/1
The max is 42 (max senior is 38) + 2 Cat B.
So we currently have 4 spots available (+ 1 Cat B spot).

You have to draft 3 players to the senior list, but up to 2 of those 3 can be rookie elevations (Owies is 1).
Thanks, so if I'm not mistaken...

OUT - Willo (senior), E. Curnow (senior), Jones (senior), Newnes (senior), Stocker (senior), Hayes (rookie), McDonald (rookie), Parks (rookie)
IN - Owies (senior), S. Durdin (senior rookie), E. Curnow (rookie)

and that leaves us with 4 senior and 1 rookie spots available?

DeGoey is such a dick.
Just when you thought he couldn't possibly get any more of a dick, he rejects Collingwood's offer because of behavioral clauses... because, he's such an upstanding citizen... 🤮 I mean - is it even possible to reach a higher level of Flog?

It sounds left field but it may work. Some of our players are being Sent to an LA gang simulated training camp which also involves spending time with some of the local street gangs in the hope they develop a harder edge. Below is LOB's Instagram post.
1664272753288.png