List Mgmt. List Management 2024-25

Well if the crows offered 1.1 for Lucko we must be around the 900k mark.
What a fking joke, we spend all year complaining how soft the likes of Rozze Burton and co are and now they want to bring in another marshmallow and pay him top dollar.
All this because he went high in a draft and he’s a SA player.
When we going to get over this crap and see players for what they actually are.
He gets dropped by GC cos 3 times premiership coach thinks he’s shyt.
What do the SA clubs do?
Go there hardest to get him offering over a million a year for a Suns reject.
Unbelievable!

I think with Marshall most likely having to retire, if not immediately within the next season or 2, he became an important get for us. I can see a forward line of him, Georgie and big sav/Lord complimenting each other and working well, with decent coaching and a game plan.

Well I’d say Hardwick is a decent coach and Lucko can’t get a gig for the Suns so that must tell you something is horribly wrong.
If we’re picking him up on the cheap that’s ok but paying a a guy 800-900k a year on a 7 year deal who can’t hold a permanent spot at GC is fked.

Both clubs pay way overs to get SA players back to play no matter how bog average they’re.
This is why both SA teams need to wake up, your not winning nothing with butter soft players.

Burton has regressed for me and tbh assuming that Port gets Perryman, Cumming, Richards and Luko, I struggle to see Burton feature in the 23 and Ratugolea was simply not a good choice and the lengths Port went to acquire him for the output he has achieved. He can't play as a defender, poor kicking which has resulted in costly turnover goals and he is a hack of forward. What is his best position? I can't figure out where to play him next season nor see a spot in the starting 23.
We'll most probably agree a deal to get Luko.
Possibly Richards (50/50).

Perryman looks to be Pie bound.
Cummings to Camries.

Won't need too many more list spots to create.
Leaving:
The Canon.
Charlie.
Soldo.
Houston.

Should delist:
Narkle.
McEntee.
F Evans.
Charleson.

Possible delist:
McCallum (or do we wait for Tassie to make an offer for him?).
K Marshall (reckon we should keep any young talls for a few years, until they mature, to see what their ceilings are, before deciding).
Scully (see above).
Burton (keep as depth).
Jackson (one more year to see if his body holds up).
Mead (ran out of puff by the end of the year, but did ok I thought - one more year).

Medical?:
T Marshall (who knows).

That's 8 outgoings (7 others to consider, but personally, I reckon we keep them a bit longer).

So then, one, maybe two, incomings.
And the other six to be made up from Draftees, F/S, NGA, etc.

I'd definitely trade Ollie Lord, can never see him finishing top 20 in the Coleman medal, not a naturally talented goal kicker. If he stays id train him at CHB

On PHN110 using BigFooty.com mobile app

If the measure of whether a kf was worth having was that they were top 20 in the Coleman medal then by fact of numbers , only 20 kfs worth having (1.1 per a team) could exist at any time.

And that’s basing it as if all spots were filled by kfs.

If you assumed 35% of the spots were filled by other positions, that leaves 13 spots for kfs.

0.7 kfs per a team when teams are expected to field 2-3.

Also, I don’t see anything about him that says chb. I don’t think he’s got the smarts , mobility, intercept marking or footskills needed.

Well I’d say Hardwick is a decent coach and Lucko can’t get a gig for the Suns so that must tell you something is horribly wrong.
If we’re picking him up on the cheap that’s ok but paying a a guy 800-900k a year on a 7 year deal who can’t hold a permanent spot at GC is fked.

Both clubs pay way overs to get SA players back to play no matter how bog average they’re.
This is why both SA teams need to wake up, your not winning nothing with butter soft players.

Early last week The Advertiser reported that Lukosius was on 1M plus. If we pay him 800k he would be taking a substantial pay cut. Lukosius is a useful player but he is overrated and not worth 1M a year. I would sooner hang on to Dan Houston.

You are right we all complain about mediocrity yet want to take B+ players in the hope they will suddenly become something they are not. Lukosius is a useful player but he is far from a match winning forward. In fact he is that good as a forward that Gold Coast have played him in defence for a good proportion of his career.

We reportedly put a price of two first round picks on Dan Houston's head earlier this year and we should stick to it.

We'll most probably agree a deal to get Luko.
Possibly Richards (50/50).

Perryman looks to be Pie bound.
Cummings to Camries.

Won't need too many more list spots to create.
Leaving:
The Canon.
Charlie.
Soldo.
Houston.

Should delist:
Narkle.
McEntee.
F Evans.
Charleson.

Possible delist:
McCallum (or do we wait for Tassie to make an offer for him?).
K Marshall (reckon we should keep any young talls for a few years, until they mature, to see what their ceilings are, before deciding).
Scully (see above).
Burton (keep as depth).
Jackson (one more year to see if his body holds up).
Mead (ran out of puff by the end of the year, but did ok I thought - one more year).

Medical?:
T Marshall (who knows).

That's 8 outgoings (7 others to consider, but personally, I reckon we keep them a bit longer).

So then, one, maybe two, incomings.
And the other six to be made up from Draftees, F/S, NGA, etc.
One of our biggest problems right now is we have terrible depth. You don't fix that by delisting all of your depth that is borderline in the 23. You fix it by recruiting players above their level and pushing them down to out of the best 23. Narkle and Evans should both not be delisted. How on earth is Mead, Jackson and Burton on a possible delist for you?

Did hardwick drop Luko because he didn't rate him or because he knew he was leaving? Important difference

Thoughts on potentially getting Parfitt as a delisted free agent? I think he would be a decent depth player but nothing beyond that. Narkle out for Parfitt, would also help us maintain our quota of Geelong rejects
Can we just stop with the Geelong rejects. It's nuts that we thought we had a chance against Geelong with Ratagulea, Evans and Narkle. Heck that is half our forward line. It really was the A team v the B team in training!

Realistically he, McCallum and K Marshall would all be hanging on waiting to see what happens with Perryman and Cumming. You'd think one of this group would be delisted, but it's possible all 3 are.
Unless McCallum has a contract he should be one of the first delisted.
K Marshall is another who showed virtually nothing at sanfl level and probably should go too, his size and the dearth of tall defenders at Alberton could get him a rookie list spot but that could depend on what other talls are available late in this year's draft.

Reports that Perryman will make his call on the weekend after discussions with Collingwood over the next 48 hours.

Think we can scratch him from the race.

I will be terribly frustr
Unless McCallum has a contract he should be one of the first delisted.
K Marshall is another who showed virtually nothing at sanfl level and probably should go too, his size and the dearth of tall defenders at Alberton could get him a rookie list spot but that could depend on what other talls are available late in this year's draft.
Disagree regarding K.Marshall showing nothing. He is a young 19-20 year old up against 26-30 year old blokes 20kgs heavier than him. In the worst side ever rolled out at Port Adelaide, midfielders allow opposition to deliver the footy on silver platters to his opponents.

I would be dirty with the club if they delist Marshall and keep a mediocre small forward like McIntee, F.Evans and Narkle or a soft unaccountable Half Back Flanker like Burton or a bloke out of any future plans like Clurey.

I don’t think we can let Houston go if we don’t get either of cumming or perryman as a ready made replacement.
Nahhh, bs, if we can get draft capital I would back Sinn in to stay fit. Rome or Louis may surprise, Lachie Jones and Farrell will be good enough off half back. If we draft a reasonable mid they can ply their trade there for a while, Lorenz maybe off Half Back. Push DBJ back there if Tommy A or Charleson come on, or with SPP coming back into the fold.

One of the most replicable pieces to the puzzle. However is elite in his position and we should be compensated to his value, not positional worth.

So have we given up on Esava as a backman and if so are we trying to find someone to fill that spot. I think the prelim showed we're still missing that tall back.

Got the feeling (for no real reason) that we are not going to land either the PMan or (I'm) Cumming.
Just have to hope that Harry wants more coin that he joins us with the idea that the midfield spot will become open once wines retire and cumming gets enticed by the potential trip to the US for soft tissue rehabilitation.

Do we think that Perryman leading towards Collingwood is because of the increased offer to Luko?
Nah. Collingwood would appeal to him for numerous reasons:
1. Victorian
2. Lifelong Collingwood supporter
3. Recent premiership success and great coach and culture of winning
4. Bigger club. Bigger games.
5. More midfield time

No-brainer.

List Mgmt. List Management 2024-25