Losing your love/passion for the game

Interesting that those not interested are those following struggling teams...

I'd probably lose interest too if the Cats were struggling

There's a few on the Richmond board who are losing interest. Stuck through 30 years of crap make finals and it's a bit meh to be honest.

And a plastic franchise is what exactly?

To me, it is a 'club' that has been countless picks in the first round with the AFL's only intention on putting them into the comp because of money. Neither the Gold Coast or Western Sydney were crying out for a team and their dismal crowds and interest in the teams prove that their should only be one team in each of QLD and NSW.

Hawthorn were near death in 1996, we took the initiative to dig ourselves out of the hole we were in and now we are one of biggest and most successful clubs in the league.

Oh, I must of missed the part when Hawthorn got 6 (or whatever it was) of the top 10 draft picks to make sure the AFL gets some cash and a few 'fans' in a place where no one gives a shit about the sport.

I laugh every single time when I see the turnout at another GIANTS game has failed to get 7k. Far out, it is embarrassing for the code.

All growth starts somewhere.

We are a new team in a new area, we are getting more fans than well lets see

Well I couldn't find much of the old days, but Hawthorn in 1925 30 years after creation was 1,200 members. Wow that's terrible. Hell it wasn't until 1992 that you got 12k members (Only our 2nd year and we get more). How embarrassing:oops: ...

Just to add, this year your avging about 20k against the interstate sides. Not exactly lighting it on fire for a club up the top of the ladder

Really !! has Hird killed the game for you ?? Are you really that sad ??

It's cheapened the winning of the premiership, which is what we all aspire to through our clubs. Not only Essendon's conduct, but confirmation that the AFL's own principles are indeed flexible.

None of this came about through the AFL's vigilance. Unfortunately the sport and the business have become nigh on impossible to separate.

All growth starts somewhere.

We are a new team in a new area, we are getting more fans than well lets see

Well I couldn't find much of the old days, but Hawthorn in 1925 30 years after creation was 1,200 members. Wow that's terrible. Hell it wasn't until 1992 that you got 12k members (Only our 2nd year and we get more). How embarrassing:oops: ...

How the **** can you compare 1925 to 2013?

Membership was not a 'thing' back then, nor was the population large. There is 2 million people living in Western Sydney and you have not once got a home crowd larger than 10k, besides when you have played Sydney.

Yes, you can pull that crap out 'oh, when we are winning we will get fans'. Because I cant wait until you are struggling at the bottom again, lets see how many fans come.

NSW is a bandwagon state, I should now as I live there, that is exactly why the AFL gives Sydney the COLA, at least the AFL realises if Sydney fell out of the 8 for a few years the crowds will drop dramatically.

Can't believe the AFL is so deluded into thinking two AFL teams can work in NSW, they have to prop up the first who has had a decade of success, to keep the fans coming.

How the **** can you compare 1925 to 2013?

Membership was not a 'thing' back then, nor was the population large. There is 2 million people living in Western Sydney and you have not once got a home crowd larger than 10k, besides when you have played Sydney.

Yes, you can pull that crap out 'oh, when we are winning we will get fans'. Because I cant wait until you are struggling at the bottom again, lets see how many fans come.

NSW is a bandwagon state, I should now as I live there, that is exactly why the AFL gives Sydney the COLA, at least the AFL realises if Sydney fell out of the 8 for a few years the crowds will drop dramatically.

Can't believe the AFL is so deluded into thinking two AFL teams can work in NSW, they have to prop up the first who has had a decade of success, to keep the fans coming.

How the **** can you compare expanding the game to teams that are in Footy home states? Its about broadening the game, bringing in new areas which take time, everyone complains about not enough talent (they were doing this before us let alone after we got here) yet they don't want to put the effort into finding new talent pools.. Just to clarify I wouldn't class Wollongong as part of NSW we don't like recognising that dump that makes Mt Druitt seem like the North Shore.

When we are competitive the crowds will come, if that's crap then so is all the junk about vic crowds being huge, the only reason that is so is because you play each other in the same stadium, or one next door.

Enjoy your move to Tassie.

How the **** can you compare expanding the game to teams that are in Footy home states? Its about broadening the game, bringing in new areas which take time, everyone complains about not enough talent (they were doing this before us let alone after we got here) yet they don't want to put the effort into finding new talent pools.. Just to clarify I wouldn't class Wollongong as part of NSW we don't like recognising that dump that makes Mt Druitt seem like the North Shore.

When we are competitive the crowds will come, if that's crap then so is all the junk about vic crowds being huge, the only reason that is so is because you play each other in the same stadium, or one next door.

Enjoy your move to Tassie.

I don't have a problem with broadening the game, however if you want long term success why do you need to do this at the detriment of clubs like St Kilda, Melbourne, Richmond, North?

If we are going to build a long-term passionate GWS supporter base, there is no need to have an instant 'dynasty'. They shouldn't of got the countless draft picks and money to grab superstars of the competition. GWS should have had to gradually build success through hard work over a number of years, like having picks, say, 3, 8, 17, 30, 49 etc. not all the top picks.

Why are you having a dig at Wollongong? I am not offended at all. So, to bad mate.

Haha, yeah they will. They might reach 10k than!

I don't have a problem with broadening the game, however if you want long term success why do you need to do this at the detriment of clubs like St Kilda, Melbourne, Richmond, North?

If we are going to build a long-term passionate GWS supporter base, there is no need to have an instant 'dynasty'. They shouldn't of got the countless draft picks and money to grab superstars of the competition. GWS should have had to gradually build success through hard work over a number of years, like having picks, say, 3, 8, 17, 30, 49 etc. not all the top picks.

Why are you having a dig at Wollongong? I am not offended at all. So, to bad mate.

Haha, yeah they will. They might reach 10k than!

The benefits we were given were voted on and brought in by all clubs.. These were the rules given to us by the AFL and the other clubs, don't hate us because we are trying to build straight away.

Easy to do for the gong, Im actually ashamed for using the easy way.

We'll end up with more than 10k. Have a look at your own crowds for teams other than your own vic clubs, and yes you can use the Swans even thou7gh they still have a large base down there. It doesn't look to good for the Hawks either.

I know the main team in this story is mine but mine is waivering too. I love Essendon and watch all our games without any distractions and defend us constantIy about what's going on. But l rarely fully watch really any neutral games anymore. And my interest in soccer is rising...

I have to say that I'm less passionate about playing the game, at a local and country level it's almost far too serious much like the big league is. At least living in Qld and having to travel long distances to see games live (especially when you sit through 2 Melbourne games) shows I'm still passionate about the game as a fan.

Essendon has no doubt tainted this season, but in a few years time like all scandal's everyone will of moved on and the AFL will be bigger and better than ever

Not because of Essendon but I am waining in my 'love for the game' through the dilution of the physical side of the game, games very soft compared to even 10 years ago.

Personally thought early 2000's the AFL hit a sweet spot.

Yet injury rates are through the roof... go figure

Vindicated Vindicated Vindicated.... not surprised to see the home truths coming out in the AFL's darkest hour. I walked away after the 2008 season. Had a gutful and have been spelling out ever since. Still vindicated week in week out with the direction of sloppy standards / AFL losing the plot but that doesn't excuse the EFC for totally getting ahead of themselves with pressing forward with their naive ways of splashing the $$$$ on supplements to drag the game thru more murky mud.

EFC members who STILL don't see the big picture (as my sister is one of them) will have to realize sooner or later that the clubs don't give a flying F about the fans or the game. It's all about the almighty $$$. Because if they did, they would be listening to the players on many issues. Let's start with two incidences that co-incidentally start and end with the EFC. Who remembers the public blast by Jimmy Hird to the umpires?

Move along to the near 'ballsy' act that didn't get support that would of been the BIG breakthrough to the game when Jobe Watson hinted of protesting / sit down for the season opener regards to players not having a say in rule changes.

Those two moments were the big ones. Mover & shaker statements that got smashed over the head by the AFL/ opposition clubs to support to the hilt (which the gutless b@stards refused!!). Snap!!

Blame yourselves (clubs) to not standing up to the AFL when the momentum was obviously painful to all 'real fans' of the game. After that it was obvious that the AFL would ruin the game.

What is truly staggering is that the membership numbers for all clubs are rising thru the roof yet the game
standards/ skills are not improving (umpiring Accountability doesn't exist) and less contested marks are the
damning statistic that doesn't lie.

Not missing out on anything except to say 'told ya so.... vindicated vindicated vindicated'.

The "real fans", according to this place, are always leaving, yet some how their crowds, memberships and ratings go up... Hmmm

Fans only become 'real' when they stick with their clubs (or the game, in some cases) through adversity. If Essendon gets knocked back to the Stone Age, it'll sort the wheat from the chaff at Windy Hill.

Very true. The fans that stick with Windy Hill after this will be the ones who are truly fans. Just like the respect I have for Suns and Giants fans who are riding the initial part of their lives with 100 point losses but are still loyal before the good times.

Ive said it before, but fans of the AFL clubs are the only ones ive seen in any sport to want to kill of a another club. Its disgusts me really. Wether a club has 100k of fans or 10, they are still a club. The ones who deathride them are the ones I have little pity for when their own club ends up on bad times (and it will happen to them all).

Very true. The fans that stick with Windy Hill after this will be the ones who are truly fans. Just like the respect I have for Suns and Giants fans who are riding the initial part of their lives with 100 point losses but are still loyal before the good times.

Reckon GC & GWS were established for the wrong reasons and don't want them to flourish, however I concede that they will be accepted in time. Anyone turning up regularly to Giants games deserves kudos!

The main reason (tv dollars) maybe, although with that money it helps keep clubs alive and gets the best athletes in our game instead of other sports. But the rest of the reasons, opening up another 2.5 mill or so to our great game for fans and juniors. I don't really class that as bad or wrong.

. But l rarely fully watch really any neutral games anymore. And my interest in soccer is rising...

Exactly the same. Love my sainters forever, but only watch neutral games for a little bit and then switch off, would only watch neutral games with mates (who happen to be mostly richmond supporters for some reason).

And i am enjoying watching soccer a fair bit more these days.

Losing your love/passion for the game