Autopsy Loss to Sydney - quite literally no words will adequately sum this up

Can we honestly go back to a one umpire system? At least that way, the players know early on how a game is going to be officiated.

Going to 3 than 4 has made umpiring worse because you have 4 different sets of interpretations. And the clowns in charge today..ooh boy, their ineptness was on a whole other level.

FWIW, I'm more incensed about the decisions (and non-decisions) throughout the game that probably resulted in about a 4 goal differential.

So this was my post in the GD thread this morning.

About to start my 3 hour drive in the rain, spend $150 on petrol, parking, food and beer to see my team play a side we've lost to 69 times in a row. If anyone sees me come up and kick me in the balls, it will ease the pain.

Well, I've had a great day. Wandered aimlessly for 15 minutes after the game as my mate stormed off at the siren to catch a train back to Brunswick. Got my head together and smashed 3 angry pints at The Nixon, now I'm sitting in my car for the next couple of hours so I don't blow .05 on the 3 hour drive home. I'll probably punt away my Sportsbet account while I'm waiting and knowing my luck when I get home at midnight the dog will have died and the missus has packed up and left me.

* my life.

PS, the offer to kick me in the nuts is still open.
The silver lining is that by buying the pints at the nixon you wont have any money left to punt.

It's a shame the media's focus will be on the interchange free kick, and not all the diabolical calls the umps made during the game. That's where we were robbed, not in the final minute.
The AFL need to keep the Sydney Fartsniffers interested somehow. North is an easy target for the 4 clowns to go to work.

Would never happen to a Collingwood, Richmond or Essendon.

This is wrong. We had 1 left and took 2, taking us 1 over and causing the infringement. If we missed our 1 warning because we took 2 at once, it would have been 2 down to 0. It was 1 down to -1, so that’s not the reason we missed a warning at 1. Maybe the warning happened, don’t know, but what you wrote is wrong. It was the reason we missed the 0 warning, but it wasn’t the reason we missed the 1 warning (if we missed it at all, we might not have).

Regardless, we are warned multiple times when below ten, if you can't handle counting back from 5 then maybe that isn't the role for you.

Even if they were slow to give us the "1 interchange remaining" count we would have received the 10 and 5 warnings. Our dude just forgot how to count in the excitement of it all. Not excusable but it is what it is.

The rule on the punishment for the infringement is weird though, but that's a different conversation.

Regardless, it was a kick in the guts to end the game. Such a shame.

How about an apology to all the mugs like me and others who pay big bucks to watch so many insipid shit performances, only to lose through a dumb mistake.

Big shout out to the umpiring fraternity for that last free kick against Goldy.

If that’s the interpretation then Max Gawn better retire because he will be umpired out of the game.

Such a cheap free kick, but they needed to secure their result somehow.

And we did this without LDU & Bull

It’s all about just digging in and trying, we might not be the most skilled/fit team but the 2 things we can control is effort and pressure.

The AFL need to keep the Sydney Fartsniffers interested somehow. North is an easy target for the 4 clowns to go to work.

Would never happen to a Collingwood, Richmond or Essendon.
It’s happened with the Bombers and Tigers v Swans too

Can we honestly go back to a one umpire system? At least that way, the players know early on how a game is going to be officiated.

Going to 3 than 4 has made umpiring worse because you have 4 different sets of interpretations. And the clowns in charge today..ooh boy, their ineptness was on a whole other level.

FWIW, I'm more incensed about the decisions (and non-decisions) throughout the game that probably resulted in about a 4 goal differential.
Multiple times today I saw one ump bring their whistle to their mouth and another one call play on. Or the further away ump make a call over the ump closer to the play. The umpiring zones are too overlapped, causing doubt and conflicting decisions. The AFL have absolutely dropped the ball on this four ump change. A shambles.

I know everyone is upset, but let us look at some of the positives.

Scott had a fantastic game.
Sheezel looked really dangerous.
Wardlaw played like I expected him to, really hard at it.
CCJ had a real impact, took some big marks, kicked a couple of goals.
I thought Logue and McKay competed a lot better, there was more pressure around the ground.
Curtis kicked a ripper goal.

364 disposals vs 337
55 I50s vs 49
53 hit-outs vs 29
47 Clearances vs 27 with no Cunners, LDU or Thomas
130 CPs vs 135
237 UPs vs 200
72 Tackles vs 62
17 TI50s vs 13

I was proud of them having a crack, but this is what we are capable of every week and that effort hasn't been there all year. We have to work out if it is partly to do with who is in the side or what, but we can't accept going back to the shithouse footy we played last week.

Multiple times today I saw one ump bring their whistle to their mouth and another one call play on. Or the further away ump make a call over the ump closer to the play. The umpiring zones are too overlapped, causing doubt and conflicting decisions. The AFL have absolutely dropped the ball on this four ump change. A shambles.
It doesn’t help that with 4 umpires that the AFL has to reward absolute arse clowns like Fisher and Glouftis.

A mate and I made comment today that back when there was one umpire, you knew the guy was the best of the best and not some gimp they need to give a go because of an umpire shortage.

I don’t see why they actually need 4? It just means a higher quotient of shit umpires getting rewarded for being absolute spuds.

Autopsy Loss to Sydney - quite literally no words will adequately sum this up