Malthouse sacked - Interim coach John Barker

Mick must surely be the greatest coach ever...
Inaugural premiership at West Coast,
Led the pies out of the Wobbles,
Dismantled Carlton and condemns them to medocrity for years to come!
Surely there can be no greater legacy.

Since when was Thompson even a realistic candidate? And why are these seasoned coaches coming out in the press and ruling themselves out when it's incredibly likely that Carlton are going to go with a young assistant anyway?

It's like going into a car auction and announcing that you want a cheap, small car, and the old guy at the back of the room stands up and yells "Well you can't have my Rolls Royce and that's FINAL!" and storms out of the room.

To be fair on Thompson, he didn't actually rush out to declare himself out of the running.

He's a regular Wednesday Night guest on 360 and was asked by Robinson if he would coach Carlton, to which he replied a quiet no with a shake of the head.

FWIW, good luck to JB. It may look like a lose/lose situation, but I for one want to see him go well personally and would also like to see Carlton show at least a bit of competitiveness for him and their fans.

I dare say the list is in for a massive rebuild and Johnny will have been given a criteria of things that must be done in the next 14 rounds to enable the CFC to prepare for 2106 and beyond:

1. Give kids a game so we can see if they are any good.
2. Finish 2015 with a list of players that must be delisted or traded to refresh the list with picks and FA
3. Finish bottom so we get top pick (this will take care of itself)
4. See if anyone on the current list other than Touhy has a bit of competitiveness in them

Since when was Thompson even a realistic candidate? And why are these seasoned coaches coming out in the press and ruling themselves out when it's incredibly likely that Carlton are going to go with a young assistant anyway?

It's like going into a car auction and announcing that you want a cheap, small car, and the old guy at the back of the room stands up and yells "Well you can't have my Rolls Royce and that's FINAL!" and storms out of the room.

Of the available coaches he would've been one of the best. Carlton would be idiots not to have looked there.

I think his game style would've been more suited to Carlton too. Mick's precision round the boundary stuff didn't look right for them.

Leigh Matthews did.

To be fair on Thompson, he didn't actually rush out to declare himself out of the running.

He's a regular Wednesday Night guest on 360 and was asked by Robinson if he would coach Carlton, to which he replied a quiet no with a shake of the head.

FWIW, good luck to JB. It may look like a lose/lose situation, but I for one want to see him go well personally and would also like to see Carlton show at least a bit of competitiveness for him and their fans.

I dare say the list is in for a massive rebuild and Johnny will have been given a criteria of things that must be done in the next 14 rounds to enable the CFC to prepare for 2106 and beyond:

2. Finish 2015 with a list of players that must be delisted or traded to refresh the list with picks and FA
4. See if anyone on the current list other than Touhy has a bit of competitiveness in them

If you end up with an opportunity like the Saints had last year (pick 1 for pick 4 and 6) would you take it to try and get more top 10 talent in or go all in on the number 1 pick?

Robbo was pissweak as usual then with Goddard. Asks Goddard a question, doesn't like the answer so has a sook about it, then comes back to Goddard with, 'You're paid to play football.'

Robbo, here's the tip, if you reckon there's a fair chance that you may not like the answer you're going to get then don't ask the question. He was probably under the false impression that Goddard would fall slavering at his feet and go along with what ever he said.

The media certainly didn't put the noose around Mick's neck and pull the lever, but I reckon they've supplied the rope and perhaps even tied the knot.

video of the exchange for those still interested

Good stuff from Goddard - Robbo, well not so much...

Tuohy hasn't been the only competitive player this year. Younger players plus Yarran, Bell, Docherty, White, Rowe, Judd and others have competed. The competitiveness and lack of tackling goes back to the players not believing in the coach and the game plan. Barker noted this.

No more 'stale' footy
With the likes of Zach Tuohy, Dylan Buckley and Andrew Walker running off the half-back line, Barker said they need to encourage their dash through the corridor.

“We’ve probably seen over the last few weeks, when the game has been on the line, we haven’t played with that same dare and we need to,” Barker said.

“We’ve got a good set of half-backs who can use the ball, who can use their legs, and we need to make sure we make the most of that and not go back into down-the-line, stale footy."

“The ball use shows a little bit where the boys’ heads are at and as a group of coaches, and a group of players, we need to drive a bit of energy back into the place – the players need to feel good about themselves. They use the ball really well when they’re confident about themselves,” he said.

Tuohy hasn't been the only competitive player this year. Younger players plus Yarran, Bell, Docherty, White, Rowe, Judd and others have competed. The competitiveness and lack of tackling goes back to the players not believing in the coach and the game plan. Barker noted this.

No more 'stale' footy
Love that the article mentions Tuohy, Walker and Buckley running off half back when it's Simpson, Docherty and Yarran that you really want.

I don't think it's belief in the game plan. Collingwood played attacking footy just fine under Mick. So did Carlton at times the previous 2 years. It's lack of belief in each other and pressure to perform for a coach that will be lifted.

With nothing to lose the players will take the game on more. If the improve their intensity around the contest that will come from their pride being dented.

Funny thing is we're just a win behind Saints and two wins behind Port who lost to the Lions. Media have lost their whipping boy. The heat will now go to Eade, Hird and Hinkley.

List isn't diabolical like Pagan's lot when he inherited no early draft picks and no middle aged players. Mick hasn't been playing the youth like he did when he had Thomas, Pendlebury, Blair, Sidebottom and Beams at Collingwood.
Love that the article mentions Tuohy, Walker and Buckley running off half back when it's Simpson, Docherty and Yarran that you really want.

I don't think it's belief in the game plan. Collingwood played attacking footy just fine under Mick. So did Carlton at times the previous 2 years. It's lack of belief in each other and pressure to perform for a coach that will be lifted.

With nothing to lose the players will take the game on more. If the improve their intensity around the contest that will come from their pride being dented.
We want all of them plus Sheahan and Byrne because they're quick ball carriers and can kick. Tuohy turned Barlow inside out two years ago with two ripping goals that would make Suckling's fans weep. Arguably more important than bringing in Graham who is another one paced inside mid like Mclean. Graham isn't a beast of a mid like Cripps or Robinson.

Game plan appears outdated with Mick changing it from a long kicking game to more run and carry in his first season. We rarely use the centre corridor and lower our eyes to spot up a forward 30 out when going forward. They might not be tackling, but that would still be Mick's game plan.

Wow that's a long rebuild.

If you end up with an opportunity like the Saints had last year (pick 1 for pick 4 and 6) would you take it to try and get more top 10 talent in or go all in on the number 1 pick?

Ripper question.

I reckon I'd lean toward going for the multiple top 10 picks in exchange for the top pick to try and get more top end talent as you've suggested.

Only way I'd keep number 1 if this sort of opportunity came up would be if there was a clear stand out in a key position that Carlton needed. E.G Wayne Carey or Gary Ablett were available in this years draft, or the 18 year old equivalent.

Even then................. I think the 4 and 6 looks a whole heap more attractive than a single pick at 1.

Historically you probably have has much chance of jagging the next superstar at 4 or 6 as you do at 1. And you double your chances.

Ripper question.

I reckon I'd lean toward going for the multiple top 10 picks in exchange for the top pick to try and get more top end talent as you've suggested.

Only way I'd keep number 1 if this sort of opportunity came up would be if there was a clear stand out in a key position that Carlton needed. E.G Wayne Carey or Gary Ablett were available in this years draft, or the 18 year old equivalent.

Even then................. I think the 4 and 6 looks a whole heap more attractive than a single pick at 1.

Historically you probably have has much chance of jagging the next superstar at 4 or 6 as you do at 1. And you double your chances.

I think the Saints made the right decision last year. McCartin and Petracca were far better than Ahern and Pickett. But i still wish gws had folded and gone the 4 6 and 7 for 1 deal the saints board were hoping for. A bit unrealistic if it was any other club but how much more top 10 picks did gws need really? Those three picks and then Bruce in this year's form would've been amazing.

Fremantle were a bit of a rabble when Lyon took over
Port Adelaide were a rabble when Hinkley took over.

We have a good core group of players need a coach to get it out of them with a game plan that works.

You don't have a good core at all and you just sacked that coach because the media tension was building up. You know it takes more than a year and a half to build a decent side and Frankly if your board can't see that not even Clarko would be able to get a win with this rabble then you lot truly are an absolute knee jerking basket case

We have a good core of players seems many are confusing talent with confidence,

Fisher, Gibbs and Murphy.... Then the talent starts to go south fast

Whose fisher?

Simpson, Murphy, Gibbs, Walker, Yarran, Docherty, Tuohy, Menzel, Buckley, Cripps, Henderson, Kreuzer, Thomas, Jamison are all talented players

Then we have Bell, White, Rowe, Armfield that should be back up only not starting 18 the above are missing two key forwards that's it.

Whose fisher?

Simpson, Murphy, Gibbs, Walker, Yarran, Docherty, Tuohy, Menzel, Buckley, Cripps, Henderson, Kreuzer, Thomas, Jamison are all talented players

Then we have Bell, White, Rowe, Armfield that should be back up only not starting 18 the above are missing two key forwards that's it.

Sorry I meant Simpson.. I'm sorry I just don't see it mate I mean you guys are getting worked over pretty hard every week. Talented players stand up in those situations that's what makes teams good, we all know the skill gap between AFL footballers is rather small, it's how they apply themselves to the game that matters and this group of boys playing for Carlton at the moment just don't have it.

Just saw a quick interview with Johnny Barker at the Airport - how much does he come across like Damien Hardwick! has the same facial expressions and talks exactly the same! Doppelganger!

Malthouse sacked - Interim coach John Barker