News Matt Clarke heads West. Replaced by Chris Toce

We let Graham go as a FA (2nd round compo as square up for Ellis shafting), trade Broad (pick 30) and Baker (pick 10-15) we could bundle it all up to teams like Brisbane, Blues, GC who need points and end up with a hand to rival the Deledio draft? Hopefully draft some quality KPF and speedy mids and a small forward this year could be a quick rebound.

reckon we've got the best recruiter lined up but the afl is gonna come in over the top and poach him to tassie on crazy afl $$$ like they did to us with plugger to sydney
When you get 7 of top 11 pics , you could pic them from the back of a cornflake pack it’s turning rookie list players to premiership stars where u earn your keep

Joined in 2009 as a recruiter

Promoted to lead national recruiter in 2016

Pick 29- Shai Bolton
Pick 53- Jack Graham
Pick 72- Ryan Garthwaite | Delisted

Rookie draft- Tyson Stengle | Geelong

Pick 17- Jack Higgins | St Kilda
Pick 20- Callum Coleman-Jones | North Melbourne
Pick 25- Noah Balta
Pick 34- Patrick Naish | Delsited
Pick 63- Ben Miller

Rookie draft- Liam Baker

Pick 20- Riley Collier-Dawkins | Delisted
Pick 43- Jack Ross
Pick 58- Fraser Turner | Delisted
Pick 62- Luke English | Delisted

Rookie draft- Jake Aarts | Delisted

PSS- Sydney Stack | Delisted
PSS- Maverick Weller |Delisted

MSD- Marlion Pickett

Pick 21- Thomson Dow
Pick 43- Noah Cumberland
Pick 44- Will Martyn | Delisted
Pick 46- Hugo Ralphsmith
Pick 54- Bigoa Nyuon | North Melbourne

Pick 40- Samson Ryan
Pick 51- Maurice Rioli Jnr

PSSP- Rhyan Mansell

MSD- Mathew Parker | Delisted

Pick 9- Josh Gibcus
Pick 17- Tom Brown
Pick 28- Tyler Sonsie
Pick 29- Sam Banks
Pick 30- Judson Clarke

MSD- Jacob Bauer

Pick 49- Kaleb Smith
Pick 55- Steely Green

Rookie draft- Seth Campbell
Rookie draft- Tylar Young

MSD- Mathew Coulthard
MSD- James Tresize

Pick 40- Kane McAuliffe
Pick 43- Liam Fawcett
Hmm when you put it that way , was prob on notice , get someone from coll

reckon we've got the best recruiter lined up but the afl is gonna come in over the top and poach him to tassie on crazy afl $$$ like they did to us with plugger to sydney
I was sitting in the vc commodore pulling a bong when the news came on the radio that Lockett was going to Sydney.

Pick 29- Shai Bolton
Pick 53- Jack Graham

Pick 25- Noah Balta
Pick 63- Ben Miller

Rookie draft- Liam Baker

Pick 43- Jack Ross

MSD- Marlion Pickett

Pick 21- Thomson Dow
Pick 43- Noah Cumberland
Pick 46- Hugo Ralphsmith

Pick 40- Samson Ryan

PSSP- Rhyan Mansell

Pick 9- Josh Gibcus
Pick 17- Tom Brown
Pick 28- Tyler Sonsie
Pick 29- Sam Banks
Pick 30- Judson Clarke

MSD- Jacob Bauer

Pick 49- Kaleb Smith
Pick 55- Steely Green

MSD- Mathew Coulthard
MSD- James Tresize

Pick 40- Kane McAuliffe
Pick 43- Liam Fawcett

Looking at his record, bear in mind that from 2017-2020 Clarke was recruiting players whose traits suited our Dimma-ball gameplan. Their disposal didn’t have to be perfect but they had to be hard-running players who could pressure and tackle all day long.

Once the stand rule was changed and the pressure/chaos counter-attack game-plan had to be discarded, we were stuck with kids like Dow, Hugo etc. and people look at this group of players struggling to play the conventional brand of efficient-build-up footy that everyone else plays and think that Clarke did a lousy job.

I think it’s better to judge his record from the 2021 batch on-wards (Gibcus, Brown, Sonsie, Judson etc.) as he wasn’t constrained by having to recruit to that gameplan. It’s very early days for those kids but they don’t look too bad at all – and I would have been willing to give him another 2-3 years to see what he could do.

Hiding behind a tree scouting Matt Dea
Tim And Eric Flirting GIF

"Chris Toce (Ex St Kilda), Collingwood’s Adam Shepard and Port Adelaide’s Anthony Parkin are names who could appeal to the Tigers when they search for Clarke’s successor.

Toce could also be considered at the Dockers, who lost recruiter Andrew Farrell when he decided to instead run his own business supplying information on future prospects to player agents and some AFL clubs.

The Saints have enjoyed fruitful drafts recently with top picks Mattaes Phillipou (No.10 in 2022) and Darcy Wilson (No.18 in 2023) making instant impressions.

It’s understood other key figures including coach Ross Lyon and head of talent Graeme Allan pushed heavily for both of those players.

List manager Stephen Silvagni also liked elite runner Wilson last year. But Toce was a huge fan of Hugo Garcia, who was taken at No.50 last year and also dazzled in last week’s big win against Essendon.

Wilson and Garcia are both chances to make their AFL debuts in round 1 against Geelong, with Wilson considered extremely likely to get the nod."

lol the draft happened less than a month after he took over, the work is done by then - that pick is more attributable to fj
What nonsense! He’d been a recruiter at the club since 2009, I’m sure he’d have seen some vision of Shai in the years leading up to that draft and would have had a say in selecting him

Looking at his record, bear in mind that from 2017-2020 Clarke was recruiting players whose traits suited our Dimma-ball gameplan. Their disposal didn’t have to be perfect but they had to be hard-running players who could pressure and tackle all day long.

Once the stand rule was changed and the pressure/chaos counter-attack game-plan had to be discarded, we were stuck with kids like Dow, Hugo etc. and people look at this group of players struggling to play the conventional brand of efficient-build-up footy that everyone else plays and think that Clarke did a lousy job.

I think it’s better to judge his record from the 2021 batch on-wards (Gibcus, Brown, Sonsie, Judson etc.) as he wasn’t constrained by having to recruit to that gameplan. It’s very early days for those kids but they don’t look too bad at all – and I would have been willing to give him another 2-3 years to see what he could do.
I have said the same thing...that "statue rule" was going to have big repercussions with our previous recruiting...and got howled down!
And totally agree it's better to judge Clarke's record from the "statue rule" onwards...that would be a more accurate appraisal...
That was a seismic shift the "statue rule" down at Tigerland...we are still coming to terms with it years later...prolly still in denial!
Akin to turning an Aircraft Carrier around! Back up into reverse and go sideways...into a parking bay!
Years of recruiting chaos players...the club and reserves full of them...recruiting officers focused on a particular type of player with notes/photos...computers full of them and BANG! out of nowhere the AFL bring in the "statue rule"
Playing tactics, coaching tactics, player suitability changed overnight...
Make no mistake I said that "statue rule" was/is a game changer!
Ooze is just our first adjustment toit!...better late than never!

Pick 29- Shai Bolton
Pick 53- Jack Graham

Pick 25- Noah Balta
Pick 63- Ben Miller

Rookie draft- Liam Baker

Pick 43- Jack Ross

MSD- Marlion Pickett

Pick 21- Thomson Dow
Pick 43- Noah Cumberland
Pick 46- Hugo Ralphsmith

Pick 40- Samson Ryan

PSSP- Rhyan Mansell

Pick 9- Josh Gibcus
Pick 17- Tom Brown
Pick 28- Tyler Sonsie
Pick 29- Sam Banks
Pick 30- Judson Clarke

MSD- Jacob Bauer

Pick 49- Kaleb Smith
Pick 55- Steely Green

MSD- Mathew Coulthard
MSD- James Tresize

Pick 40- Kane McAuliffe
Pick 43- Liam Fawcett
terrific work here mate!

Certainly a rebuild occurring at Tigerland. I expect this flurry of off field movement to go on for a least the next couple of years following our long standing coaches departure. I rate Matt Clarke but its time for a change. When things begin to settle on and off the field, we know the foundation is set once more and we will leap up the ladder from there. I think this year is going to be a tumultuous roller-coaster of results until the rail as relaid.

I wish Matty every success but we need to find a quality replacement. We can't afford a hiccup here because it will affect our plying list another decade

That was very much a Francis Jackson call.
Lol, we smacked Casino Jackson from pillar to post, and now we're crediting him. Awesome.

What nonsense! He’d been a recruiter at the club since 2009, I’m sure he’d have seen some vision of Shai in the years leading up to that draft and would have had a say in selecting him
sure but FJ led the team until just before the draft, Clarke wouldn't have gone in swinging with rogue captain's calls against the existing system. Particularly given he's effectively a graduate of the school of FJ.

News Matt Clarke heads West. Replaced by Chris Toce