Roast Media Shakes Head, Part 7

Here you go El_Scorcho, cased closed, itreally brought the club together hey. I mean feel free to disagree with the clubs minor statement it's just everyone who does is thinking wrong and a racist. Just read that clowns post ffs, a boomer who'se done absolutely nothing with his life but sign change.org petitions whilst he's bored telling everyone their racist, what a time to be alive.

A boomer 'who'se' done nothing. :drunk:

You literally have no idea what I've done and what I'm doing now. As if that matters.

But I'm more than happy to call you out yet again for your self entitled bogan ignorance.

Someone who thinks the club is all about him and his old beliefs about the past. Someone getting all upset about Aboriginals getting uppity about their past.

Someone who is offended by the Port Adelaide Football Club daring to say this:

“We want an Australia Day that everyone can celebrate and be proud of"

CELEBRATING Australia Day on January 26 has historically been a source of sorrow and anguish for Australia’s First Nations people, and key leaders within Port Adelaide’s playing group have used a team meeting to discuss why.

Port Adelaide has a proud history of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander representation in its playing ranks and amongst its staff, directors and volunteers.

It runs industry-leading education programs which help young First Nations people to finish school and find opportunities beyond their schooling.

These words are words of unity and togetherness.

That you find this so offensive that you have to run off at the mouth on a footy forum cursing the world and saying it's 'political' says all I need to know about you.

But let's not mince words here. It's not that 'it's political' at all is it? Because on this footy forum you have never shied away from politics. Far from it.

No mate, be honest. It's that its content and the views it represents about equality, respect and healing with Indigenous Australians doesn't align with your politics. That's why you find it so personally offensive.

Well mate. Here's a tip. It ain't all about you when it comes to the Port Adelaide Football Club.

And I know that in my club, the Port Adelaide Football Club, your hatred of these views about equality and recognition puts you in an ever shrinking minority.

And about time too!

I for one won't be content until the club makes a statement about its support for keeping the paid day off for everyone to get shit-faced the same. Not our fault that to some it's a reminder and celebration of genocide.

It's not an overwhelming positive reaction though, clearly it's far from it. All it's done it pit supporters against each other and anyone who disagrees with the club getting accusation's of being a racist thrown at them, just look a few posts back for a good example. Who thinks that's great for the club?

You'll be surprised what loses members and you'll also find there's probably the same amount who are adamant not to change it as there are to change it and both should be free to have that belief because the date of Australia day, just because they are not vocal doesn't mean they do not care. You think the date should move, other's don't, both valid opinions are are welcome at the PAFC to discuss which is how it should be but it's not.

It absolutely is an overwhelming positive reaction. If you think it's anything approaching half-half, you're being wilfully ignorant.

It's pit a very, very small vocal minority against other people who feel strongly about it, but that's a tiny minority of people arguing. Further than that, it's supposed to have that effect. It's supposed to get people talking about it and it's supposed to make people on the wrong side of this reflect on their opinions and realise that they're in a tiny minority. That's what statements like this do.

Most people don't actually give a shit what day Australia Day is on, it's just a Public Holiday. The people that are adamant that our National Day MUST be on the day white people arrived and commenced a genocide and that no other day is suitable, are racists. If it got moved, literally nobody would be campaigning for it to move back, there is just a vocal minority of the right wing who don't like Indigenous people and their allies getting their way.

Because the supporters want them too lol. Yes let's compare a club with an individual. For example, how would you feel if a group of players and staff, ex players etc now demanded the club put out a statement supporting the day stays where it is because it means something to them?

Warren Tredrea, the greatest player of our AFL era, just came out as an anti-vaxxer and lost his sports presenter job. Did my opinion of him as a person go down? Yes. Would my opinion of the club go down if they joined him? Yes. Could a statement that didn't align with my values push me far enough that I stopped supporting the club? Absolutely.

This sort of hypothetical is dumb. No, of course I wouldn't support a club that didn't align with my values. Fortunately throughout my life Port have led from the front on issues like this and it's not a decision I have to make.

Yeah nah, the PAFC you supported growing up didn't touch this stuff because it understood it's a large umbrella and everyone was welcome. Picking fights that we needed to win as a club where everyone bought in, not picking the latest cultural hot take which is the complete opposite of what it used to be.

I mean how you gonna go at the footy with that attitude? Yelling at the bunch of Port supporting migrants celebrating Australia Day because it was the day they got their citizenship at the Port club as massive racists because you want to change the date and they don't.
Whose yelling?
Tex?

Go have a bbq with Tex and the 5aa crew. Matty P could tell you about the social media tweet that had clearly shown that Port is not focussed on Kenny G winning a preliminary final. You’ll be reassured, once and for all Footy is not to be mixed with politics (unless your talking about politicians giving the crows free land).

I’m sure the Port Supporting migrants would be happy to talk about Australian history from Gav, Mots, Pauly V or Boaky ect in difference to what they were selectively schooled up in Scomo’s and Dutt’s Christian Colonialist citizen test.

We made a political statement, ostracised half the supporters who disagree for wrong think and then it's turned supporters against each other. Granted it was clearly pushed by the AFL but we should stay out of this stuff or we'll pay the price and it could end the club if we have a big enough drop off as witnessed overseas by similar actions.
So should we stop saying "We exist to win premierships" because it ostracises the Ken supporting happy clappers?

No, we have some ****ing balls, like we have always had.

When people say 'actors/singers/sportspeople shouldn't get involved in politics', what they mean is 'actors/singers/sportspeople shouldn't disrupt the comfortable status quo which was established by people like me to suit people like me'.

Making a statement that we should change the date of Australia Day is a political act. Guess what, not making a statement that we should change the date of Australia Day is a political act too. Inaction is taking the side of the status quo, and is a political act in and of itself.

Here you go El_Scorcho, cased closed, itreally brought the club together hey. I mean feel free to disagree with the clubs minor statement it's just everyone who does is thinking wrong and a racist. Just read that clowns post ffs, a boomer who'se done absolutely nothing with his life but sign change.org petitions whilst he's bored telling everyone their racist, what a time to be alive.

Carn. Uncle Festy has a University education, a Sponsor Child in Africa and spends 60% of his time dedicated to thinking or writing vast slabs of bumptious prose on here. A mixture of idealism and self importance saw him on the Student Uniom, the Kindergarten Commitee, KESAB, chief organiser of the local Neighbourhood Watch (until that unfortunate misunderstanding with Mrs Nankervis's bathroom window), and run unsuccessfully for local Council several times. He even spent 2 nights on Sale of the Century where he had a minor on air disagreement with Tony Barber and won on the Fame Gane a Kodak VR35 (later seized in the aforementioned Nankervis incident).
Now semi retired from "Public Life" he can dedicate his time to Pontificating what he sees are his own righteous, ethical and moral values on us all and I for one am grateful that these threads are bombarded with his valued, even handed, thought provoking utterings. A fuller a more service driven life you will not see.

Muslim AFLW player boycotts game because she doesn't want to wear a Pride guernsey because it is against her religious beliefs. Everyone calmly accepts and moves on.

Imagine the uproar if Muslim AFLW player was replaced by 'Other Religion' AFLW player ...

But of course. The self important book-keeper called out on the coronavirus thread for mocking 'M0ng' kids crying over their dead mum a couple of weeks ago is on board with Strapping Tape.

Seems to me the PAFC Australia Day statement is getting under the thin skins of exactly the right people.

Muslim AFLW player boycotts game because she doesn't want to wear a Pride guernsey because it is against her religious beliefs. Everyone calmly accepts and moves on.

Imagine the uproar if Muslim AFLW player was replaced by 'Other Religion' AFLW player ...

The statement that the decision was taken calmly and accepted by all is not correct of course. Haneen Zreika explains her position in summary here:

And just imagine the uproar in this thread if PAFC ever decides one of its teams should wear a guernsey supporting LGBTIQA+.

Does everyone calmly accept or did you make that up?

As posted in the link below it seems people are in fact upset, but the overall interest and media coverage in AFLW is still very low, so of course it hasn't made a huge stir. If Bachar houli refused to play in pride round it would be a big deal

Does everyone calmly accept or did you make that up?

As posted in the link below it seems people are in fact upset, but the overall interest and media coverage in AFLW is still very low, so of course it hasn't made a huge stir. If Bachar houli refused to play in pride round it would be a big deal
Be honest though if it was a Hillsong flog taking this stance you wouldn't come up for air.

I can't imagine it would be a winning strategy when it comes to making friends with a fairly substantial number of her team mates, either.

Be honest though if it was a Hillsong flog taking this stance you wouldn't come up for air.
In a secular country like Australia believing in the sky fairy provides all manner of exemptions.

Screenshot_2022-01-29-20-14-12-409.jpeg

Muslim AFLW player boycotts game because she doesn't want to wear a Pride guernsey because it is against her religious beliefs...
Her religious beliefs should prevent her from playing sport of any kind. Nothing new about religious people cherry picking the tenets of their religion.

Yes, that is 100% true.

But in this particular case the young woman concerned has explained her reasons to her team members who have unanimously accepted it. That to me is the most important thing.

As you quite rightly say, the mere fact that Haneen Zreika is participating in a game of Aussie rules at the AFLW level is an outstanding and rare acheivement for a young Muslim woman.

She has also made it very clear that she respects people regardless of their sexual orientation which seems an absolute contradiction to her refusal to wear the gay pride jumper. Why is that?

All I can read into this is that she is someone deeply torn between her religious background and beliefs and her engagement with a liberal society. That perhaps there are far more complex issues at work here than the simple headline of 'muslim player boycotts game because of gay pride jumper'.

Attempting to wedge this into a simplistic muslim vs other religions debate is unhelpful when I am certain there are far more complex matters at play when it comes to this young woman.

Let's not forget that in the streets of Adelaide just a few weeks ago a young muslim woman was assaulted and held hostage by family members who are now facing attempted murder charges. From evidence made available at the bail hearing the young women was facing an honour killing simply because she was in a relationship with a non-Muslim man and rejected an attempt by her family to enter a forced marriage arrangement.

A young member of an immigrant family whose religious faith is often at extreme odds with the community she now finds herself in must have dealt with numerous barriers to getting where she has in life.

My general view is that we should not be too hasty in judging her harshly for taking that next step to openly recognising gay pride on the national stage. After all it is something that hasn't happened in the mens game yet.

Yes, that is 100% true.

But in this particular case the young woman concerned has explained her reasons to her team members who have unanimously accepted it. That to me is the most important thing.

She has also made it very clear that she respects people regardless of their sexual orientation which seems an absolute contradiction to her refusal to wear the gay pride jumper.

All I can read into this is that she is someone deeply torn between her religious background and beliefs and her engagement with a liberal society. That perhaps there are far more complex issues at work here than the simple headline of 'muslim player boycotts game because of gay pride jumper'.

Let's not forget that in the streets of Adelaide just a few weeks ago a young muslim woman was assaulted and held hostage by family members who are facing attempted murder charges. From evidence made available at the bail hearing the young women was facing an honour killing simply because she was in a relationship with a non-Muslim man and rejected an attempt by her family to enter a forced marriage arrangement.

Attempting to wedge this into a simplistic muslim vs other religions debate is childish in my view but completely as expected.
lol, my comment is clearly not Islam, Muslim is not a religion, versus other religions. I don't care which sky fairy people believe in they are still delusional.

I find your misrepresentation of my post childish.

lol, my comment is clearly not Islam, Muslim is not a religion, versus other religions. I don't care which sky fairy people believe in they are still delusional.

I find your misrepresentation of my post childish.
Apologies if you thought my post was targeted at you. It was not. The first words of 'Yes, that is 100% true' was responding to your comment about religions in general. That is all.

The rest of my post was a general comment reflecting my views about the commentary 'muslim vs non muslim' surrounding the issue, including the original post by Tee Kray which started the discussion in this thread, viz:

I will re-edit my post and insert the quote in context to remove all doubt.

All this sh*t is called out without tiptoeing though it's just a reality.
A big part of it is that even if one doesn’t believe now, nearly all Australians are culturally ‘Christian’, it’s far easier and more sensible to call out ‘your own’ as the understanding of the hypocrisy and unnecessary nature of things is far greater.
Add this to the fact that those with the power in this country are pretty much always Christian, it makes it a fair and reasonable target to question.

The influence of any other religion or belief system on Australia doesn’t even come close.
Criticising Islam and its hypocrisy is criticising small pockets of communities in the country, criticising Christianity is criticising the hypocrites that run and own our country AND the countries of our allies.

A big part of it is that even if one doesn’t believe now, nearly all Australians are culturally ‘Christian’, it’s far easier and more sensible to call out ‘your own’ as the understanding of the hypocrisy and unnecessary nature of things is far greater.
Add this to the fact that those with the power in this country are pretty much always Christian, it makes it a fair and reasonable target to question.

The influence of any other religion or belief system on Australia doesn’t even come close.
Criticising Islam and its hypocrisy is criticising small pockets of communities in the country, criticising Christianity is criticising the hypocrites that run and own our country AND the countries of our allies.
Yea that's well put but small pockets or not &/or sensitivities to cultural backgrounds at some point some archaic beliefs need to be punted down the road for a better future for all.

To be fair, it didn't seem that Haneen herself had any issues with Pride Round, it was more that she didn't want to wear the jersey because others in her community may have an issue with it, and that could have the consequence of impacting her ability to act as a leader in her community on other issues. Still not ideal, but it's not exactly Issy Folau posting homophobic memes on Twitter.

The new legislation is going the other way unfortunately.