News Media Thread, 2023: Insightful, Inciteful and Incomptent

WA broadcaster believes Naitanui has played his last AFL game​

By Seb Mottram
03FrWC23DC0024.jpg

Respected Western Australian broadcaster Peter Vlahos believes Nic Naitanui has played his last game of AFL.

Naitanui, 33, hasn’t featured this year dealing with ongoing Achilles soreness, an injury that has continually had its timeframe pushed out.

On Tuesday, West Coast stated Naitanui would see a specialist before making a decision on the next steps “about the management of his Achilles”.

There was no mention of his return to play. In late April the club hoped to have Naitanui back shortly after the bye, but his return was last week listed as 6-7 weeks away.

But Vlahos suggested the three-time All-Australian appeared content with the fact he might not play again.

“I don’t think Nic Naitanui will play again, I’ll say that,” he told SEN WA’s The Run Home.

Even the Chief commented on it last night on 360.
Said it was pretty much ridiculous getting a week off for pleading guilty and showing remorse.
Shane McAdam gets 3 weeks because his action had "the potential to cause injury" meanwhile the bloke who actually gave a bloke a concussion gets the same suspension?

AFL mental gymnastics at it's finest.

This week really highlights how poor the club is performing off and on field.

1. DeGoey tweet and subsequent apology.
2. Sheeds comments about possible suspension & reported apology.
3. Duggan’s appeal then non-appeal. If the club felt him not guilty - *n appeal and wave the flag for one of your players. Illness is not relevant in this case.
4. Players failure to fly flag with DeGoey and now I hear Longs wrestle with three pies.
5. Schofield’s rightful highlighting of failure to fly flag.
6. Now NN getting specialist opinion - after mid-season draft.
7. Burgeils hamstrings.

Turns Sundays 63point loss into a highlight really.

The ship is sinking and some serious repair work is needed.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
it's not easy to turn a good news story of us playing our best footy of the year into THAT. but they rolled up their sleeves and got to work absolutely ****ing up everything at every possible level. really, really impressive work from the club here.

Shane McAdam gets 3 weeks because his action had "the potential to cause injury" meanwhile the bloke who actually gave a bloke a concussion gets the same suspension?

AFL mental gymnastics at it's finest.
Umm, one's a no-name interstate player and another is a high-profile 'big 4' player.

What did you expect?

AFL fixtures are a bit of joke, had a quick look and Brisbane have not had to play eagles in Perth since 2017 yet played docket 6 times including 2023.

Never played WCE at Optus.
The AFL is the hardest to plan in any league and you get quirks like that all the time. We had a solid run where we didn’t play the Swans at the SCG for years and years. In rnd 21 we play Essendon away for the first time in 6 years.

AFL fixtures are a bit of joke, had a quick look and Brisbane have not had to play eagles in Perth since 2017 yet played docket 6 times including 2023.

Never played WCE at Optus.
My mate is a Brisbane fan based here and was complaining that very point

Apart from winning the flag, what has this thing we did the year we won the flag got us?

Nothing says what a bunch of sooks like a group of guys that came from 5 goals down, away, to win a GF despite having the scars of 2015.

Past 24 months have been abysmal but let's not pretend that it invalidates everything in the 3+ years before it.
Flags, the slogan said flags and we won one flag which is great, but we had a lot of things go our way that year in finals and on the day. I’m glad we won but if Richmond had been our opponent that day I’m pretty sure we would have been smoked. We haven’t been close to a flag since.

As far as the bad performances and attitude are concerned it’s been more than 24 months. We had some pretty big lapses in attitude and effort in 2019 where we’d turn up for one quarter and then disappear for two quarters in games, which just suggested a casual attitude to the game to me.
Things haven’t gotten much better since and adding the huge amount of injuries we keep getting that few other clubs are getting, plus everything else that’s been highlighted in previous posts about the off field debacles etc just screams that something is wrong at the club at the moment. You may be happy to think everything’s fine but I and many others don’t, so don’t be surprised if people voice their concerns.

The AFL is the hardest to plan in any league

It wouldn’t be if they focused on just making an equitable draw each year, rather than bastardising it to ensure marquee matchups.

I hope Simmo prints that article from Schoey and hangs it in the team meeting room. Or even better gets him to address the side.

Schoey attended a little shindig for Sheed over the weekend and said several players were filthy at their lack of reaction and response.

Gonna be interesting to see which oppo team next decides to * around and find out

Whoa nelly, the boys will be riled up.

Those post match comments are going to be scathing!

Flags, the slogan said flags and we won one flag which is great, but we had a lot of things go our way that year in finals and on the day. I’m glad we won but if Richmond had been our opponent that day I’m pretty sure we would have been smoked. We haven’t been close to a flag since.

Nah you can **** right off with the rest of the VFL flogs

47 point demolition earlier in the year.
Richmond were also playing shit heading into finals with 3 wins by under 10 points.

They deservedly got belted by Mason Cox and would have been smashed by us if we played them

Nah you can * right off with the rest of the VFL flogs

Richmond were also playing s**t heading into finals with 3 wins by under 10 points.

They deservedly got belted by Mason Cox and would have been smashed by us if we played them
Bang on... we were the best team that year.

WA broadcaster believes Naitanui has played his last AFL game​

By Seb Mottram
03FrWC23DC0024.jpg

Respected Western Australian broadcaster Peter Vlahos believes Nic Naitanui has played his last game of AFL.

Naitanui, 33, hasn’t featured this year dealing with ongoing Achilles soreness, an injury that has continually had its timeframe pushed out.

On Tuesday, West Coast stated Naitanui would see a specialist before making a decision on the next steps “about the management of his Achilles”.

There was no mention of his return to play. In late April the club hoped to have Naitanui back shortly after the bye, but his return was last week listed as 6-7 weeks away.

But Vlahos suggested the three-time All-Australian appeared content with the fact he might not play again.

“I don’t think Nic Naitanui will play again, I’ll say that,” he told SEN WA’s The Run Home.
Isnt that an oxymoron - respected broadcaster

Nah you can * right off with the rest of the VFL flogs

Richmond were also playing s**t heading into finals with 3 wins by under 10 points.

I often wish we had beaten them instead of the Pies, just to shut up this weak as piss argument.

Then again, it's like the Dockers supporters who said they would have beat us of they'd made the 2006 GF because they won the derbies. I once bumped into a tanked Heath Black in a bar in 2007 who repeated the same thing to me and a mate. I would have laughed but I was afraid he'd bash me.

I often wish we had beaten them instead of the Pies, just to shut up this weak as piss argument.

Then again, it's like the Dockers supporters who said they would have beat us of they'd made the 2006 GF because they won the derbies. I once bumped into a tanked Heath Black in a bar in 2007 who repeated the same thing to me and a mate. I would have laughed but I was afraid he'd bash me.
The pressure of being a GF and 100,000 fans would have got to freo tbh. Apart from Crows and Swans, no other team would have got close to us in a GF that year

Their first ever GF appearance against us who were going back to back for redemption? Not a chance in hell. We saw how 2013 went for them.