News Media Thread, 2023: Insightful, Inciteful and Incomptent

Sumich trying to get him dropped then delisted in the hope he doesn't surpass his Eagles goal kicking record?

That would be rather petty

Maybe you’re onto something

“He is showing no leadership on the ground at all. I would drop him and play one short with no sub if Simpson has no other players to come into the side".

Is it any wonder he never got a main gig?
FMD.

It’s almost as if he says things that are deliberately inflammatory in order to get clicks.

Geez we dodged a bullet when sumich went for the head coach job.
As said, it's so obvious what happens to Allen if JD gets dropped, there's no mention of that from summa, surely he realizes it or maybe he is actually as thick as he's coming across.

Geez we dodged a bullet when sumich went for the head coach job.
As said, it's so obvious what happens to Allen if JD gets dropped, there's no mention of that from summa, surely he realizes it or maybe he is actually as thick as he's coming across.
Just trying to be a local version if Kane Cornes IMO.

Reckon he's burning his bridges at the club as well.

I like The First Crack on Fox.

But tonight, David King " Dont tag Nick Daicos. It upsets your team balance".

A couple of weeks ago when Daicos won the ANZAC medal
"When are clubs going to put some time into Nick Daicos?
Don't get beat by what you know".

And.....

"Richmond getting back to their old system. They will be dangerous".

Someone obviously forgot to tell Kingy we got beaten by 100 plus points last week at home.

Duck my brown dog.

Nothing sadder than a former champion continually potting players just to try and remain relevant.
Who remembers sumishes last years - soft, mentally destroyed, permanent yip, and showuing signs of later emerging inability to cope with the world. JD- playing injured because the team needs it and working hard. It was JD forcing an oposition point a week ago.

As they say in the classics, I know who i would go to war with.

Who remembers sumishes last years - soft, mentally destroyed, permanent yip, and showuing signs of later emerging inability to cope with the world. JD- playing injured because the team needs it and working hard. It was JD forcing an oposition point a week ago.

As they say in the classics, I know who i would go to war with.
Suma kicked 13 goals across 3 grand finals. Probably better in the biggest wars than Jack.

Darling is clearly out of form, possibly because he’s playing through injury as posted by WCE_phil , or maybe he’s just having a bad run - I’m not going to pretend to know why. Most frustrating for me on the weekend was that he got clean hands on a number of marks but wasn’t able to hold them as you’d normally expect

I’ll say these things in regards to dropping him though :
• Even though he’s under performing he still takes away a quality defender from double or triple teaming Allen
• The only other KPF we have available in his place is Barnett who’s struggling to impact in the WAFL, elevating him to the AFL would just be silly
• We could run with a small ball forwardline but that would leave Allen and an undersized Waterman as the sole talls. Allen would be on his own when Waterman goes into the ruck or alternatively we could use either Rotham or Jamieson as second ruck
• This season he’s kicked 10.11 which is unusually inaccurate for Darling. Convert a few of those misses and he has say 14.7 which would be in line with his career accuracy and goals per game
• If he is injured and playing through it, sacrificing his own game in the process, then rather than a lack of leadership it’s actually the opposite given our sheer lack of numbers

So I’m really curious as to what dropping him would actually achieve. That said if he is carrying an injury then serious thought should be given to resting him

He cops an unreasonable amount of s**t for someone who is our 3rd best KPF of all time, behind Kennedy and Sumich, and will likely retire as our all time 2nd leading goal scorer
Good post Keys

In regards to Darling I see this situation as very similar to Tex Walker with the crows a few years back when they were really struggling. Tex was having a lean run and there where calls to trade drop etc… not anymore though :think:

People/Supporters are frustrated and I understand that but those points you outlined above Keys are 100% valid we just need to keep the faith.

I don't know if Darling is playing injured or not but his form is terrible. That said, dropping him (given our current situation) is not the answer and he has been a fantastic (much maligned) player for us. However, it has really brought home for me that we need another key forward sooner, rather than later. Even if Darling comes good, he is getting older and doesn't have that long left. We need another genuine key forward coming through. Whilst JWilliams may get there, I don't think we can rely on that.

Suma kicked 13 goals across 3 grand finals. Probably better in the biggest wars than Jack.

Sumich was a great player and at his peak in the early 90’s was arguably better than Kennedy. Struggled later in his career due, in part, to persistent hamstring issues and was treated pretty poorly by fans

I disagree with what he’s writing atm but I agree there’s no need to disparage his career because it was very good

Sumich was a great player and at his peak in the early 90’s was arguably better than Kennedy. Struggled later in his career due, in part, to persistent hamstring issues and was treated pretty poorly by fans

I disagree with what he’s writing atm but I agree there’s no need to disparage his career because it was very good

He was dropped three times in his final season including for a semi final (coincidentally against Simpson and the Roos), I wonder if that’s come into his thinking at all?

Robbo in the HS saying the "AFL won't be happy with Cane Cornes criticizing Taranto as Cornes
is a selector for the All Australian side.

If Cornes couldn't criticize, he wouldn't have a job.

Really??

I don't know the actual stats, but I read somewhere that he has a fantastic record in finals.
Something like nearly 4 or 5 goals per game.

Robbo in the HS saying the "AFL won't be happy with Cane Cornes criticizing Taranto as Cornes
is a selector for the All Australian side.

If Cornes couldn't criticize, he wouldn't have a job.

Really??

Surely they can't be that hard up for potential selectors that they need media figures on the panel?

Saturday

Richmond (104) v West Coast (58)

The good news for Tigers fans is they haven’t hit rock bottom; in fact, they were 46 points above it on Saturday.

They could have been up even higher, but they kicked for goal with the steadiness of my hands in the morning before a stiff drink.

If you didn’t catch this game, well done. Like all games involving the Eagles, it was a real test of how much you love footy.

I love footy a bit too much, and even I started to wonder if I should look for another hobby.

The Eagles are meant to be a top club. Rich, heaps of members, a history of success, one of the toughest home-field advantages in the game, and yet they struggle to kick a football.

It’s amazing everyone hasn’t been fired, from the chairman down. Their offices should sound like an episode of The Apprentice.

Richmond can’t take too much comfort from this. At one stage, Dion Prestia booted three goals in five minutes to remind everyone this was not a real game.

It was like playing AFL 23. Buggy and unrealistic.

Titus and Barrett could be a stand up comedy duo.

Meanwhile The Mongrel Punt wondered why there was so little media criticism of the Eagles in their review of our game. They might have said some other stuff too but I was laughing too hard after that to really read.

Surely they can't be that hard up for potential selectors that they need media figures on the panel?
2023 All Australian Selection Panel:
Gillon McLachlan (Chairperson), Kevin Bartlett, Jude Bolton, Nathan Buckley, Kane Cornes, Andrew Dillon, Glen Jakovich, Chris Johnson, Laura Kane (new in 2023), Cameron Ling, Matthew Pavlich (new in 2023), and Kevin Sheehan (AFL Rising Star only)

I don't know the actual stats, but I read somewhere that he has a fantastic record in finals.
Something like nearly 4 or 5 goals per game.

Checked on afltables. It’s 3.26 goals per game, a little below his career average.