Message for Bryon Pickett

Originally posted by moomba
Thats nice for you. Personally I have found my club winning premierships were pretty sweet, but I guess you wouldn't know anything about that.

Interesting over the past year or so the two sets of supporters most outraged about Pickett are Geelong and Melbourne. Maybe if shepherds and tackles were accepted practices at those clubs they would have more than 0 premierships between them in the past 30+ years.

Moomba

If you want to go back 30 years, why not go the whole hog and go back 100 years? I'm sure you will find the Dees have many more Premierships in their trophy cases than North do.

Originally posted by port1978
I don't see how those bumps justified the Melbourne crowd booing him whenever he got the ball.

Yeah the pathetic crowd of 12000 would of dented his Ego.

I can't believe Melbourne supporters are whingeing about two fair bumps.
Two weeks ago Yze 50 metres off the took out the Geelong player and today in the heat of play Pickett lays a sheperd within a couple of metres. All the **** in this thread that he doesn't run at the ball etc, what a load of ****. First the thread on how bad the umpires were, how bad Pickett is, **** I'd hate to be on here a night after a Demons loss. If these Melbourne supporters were as passionate about there club as they were about other clubs they actually might get a crowd of 20k and not have all there off-field dramas.

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
Protecting the player Macca? Sorry, go back and watch them again mate. The first one was when he bumped Brown AFTER the ball was kicked. Brown was never going to catch him anyway, and Pickett just decided to run straight through him while he wasn't even looking. Gutless.

You call it gutless. I call it protecting and supporting his teammate.

The second bump was on Godfrey after he handpassed the ball to a team-mate while there were no other Port players around. Godfrey didn't see it coming again, and Pickett certainly wasn't protecting any of his players as they were not around. Again, it was gutless.

Use yoru eyes and watch it in full speed. It wasnt a late hit. Godfrey got rid of the ball about 0.2 after Pickett bumped him. Godfrey didnt see him coming? Is Godfrey blind? Pickett was right in front of him for god sake.

So, sorry Macca, they guy can play football, but he's a gutless wonder behind the play. Why didn't he try and run through Neitz? Because he picks on smaller players. Yep, he's a treasure that one.

haha. This is the funniest of the lot. So you would have liked to have seen Pickett run 150 metres to the other end of the ground just to hit David Neitz. Use your brain Adam.

The point I tried to make mate was that he "picked off" two players half his size. I don't know how you can call it protecting players when they didn't need any protecting in the first place Macca. Sure, he throws his body around but while his bumps might have been legit, they were after the ball had gone, and IMO, that's pretty gutless.

The second one wasn't even a shephered for Christ sakes. Godfrey handpassed the ball AWAY to a team mate, and Pickett just ran through him anyway. No shephered there, as your team mates were off snoozing like they did for most of the game. How can you be proud of that?

I never said the second one was a shepherd. It was a bump. And a normal one at that. Pretty similar to the Neitz one. McCabe never had the ball either mate. And the ball had been just disposed of by Godfrey 0.2 of a second before Pickett bumped him. Its not like the ball was 90 metres away.

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
they guy can play football, but he's a gutless wonder behind the play. Why didn't he try and run through Neitz? Because he picks on smaller players. Yep, he's a treasure that one.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Does Craig Ellis ring any bells, rd 16 last year.
Our last encounter at AAMI stadium, or is a Melbourne supporters memory span shorter than a toothpick.

The point I tried to make mate was that he "picked off" two players half his size. I don't know how you can call it protecting players when they didn't need any protecting in the first place Macca. Sure, he throws his body around but while his bumps might have been legit, they were after the ball had gone, and IMO, that's pretty gutless.

And a fair call......but that's footy.... it won't be the last time that happens. It's the 'gutless action' from a rugged player not a gutless player. I see Solomon the same way (cheap shots) but he's not a gutless player IMO...... gutless actions from a rugged player that's all. I'm sure you Demon supporters will find a bridge soon and GET OVER IT !!!

Originally posted by The Floodbuster
quote:
they guy can play football, but he's a gutless wonder behind the play. Why didn't he try and run through Neitz? Because he picks on smaller players. Yep, he's a treasure that one.

Does Craig Ellis ring any bells, rd 16 last year.
Our last encounter at AAMI stadium, or is a Melbourne supporters memory span shorter than a toothpick.

I bet if he put down David Neitz who had possesion of the football youd still call him gutless. McCabe never had possesion of the ball...yet Neitz put him down, and you lot thought it was fantastic footy. The fact that the two players were "smaller than Pickett" is a stupid argument. Should players now only bump or tackle other players that are of similar height/weight now?? What a stupid argument. If a plyer is there to be bumped, you dont stop and say 'oh sorry, i wont bump you, you dont have the biceps that i do...ill let you go...sorry old chap'.

Anyway:

Byron Pickett - 178cm, 82kg

Nathan Brown - 180cm, 81kg (gee such a lightweight there compared to Byron!!)

Simon Godfrey - 184cm, 83kg

Yup...Godfrey and Brown are so much smaller than Pickett arent they!!! In fact Godfrey is taller and heavier than Pickett!! Sort of ends your argument on the spot doesnt it!!

The point I tried to make mate was that he "picked off" two players half his size.

Just thought id emphasise this point with its own point.

Byron Pickett - 178cm, 82kg

Nathan Brown - 180cm, 81kg

Simon Godfrey - 184cm, 83kg

Half Picketts size are they?

Just saw the slowmo replay of the Pickett incident again on the news and id just like to point out for CFH that Pickett did NOT...i repeat N.O.T bump Brown after the ball had been kicked. He bumped him about half a second BEFORE the ball kicked.

It is there for you to see. Why people make crap up when there is television footage showing Pickett bump Brown before the ball is kicked is beyond me.

Originally posted by Macca19
Why people make crap up when there is television footage showing Pickett bump Brown before the ball is kicked is beyond me.

Not beyond understanding Macca... if it suits the argument, make crap up. :rolleyes:

Well well well, five pages of mostly crap.

The bumps were within the rules of the game, nobody was 'picked off' with their head down, neither player was a skinny circus midget with fragile bones, and neither player has had their career shortened.
You Melbourne supporters are a bunch of whinging sooks, and personally I'd be more worried about the state your club is in. 12 000 at a game where solidarity amongst supporters was needed is a ****ing disgrace. Your club is in trouble, and your supporters have been exposed as not caring about the state of their club.........DISGRACEFUL!!!

ps. too good on the day yesterday, we were crap.

This is insanity.

Melbourne people

The bumps were late-ish but definitely within the rules. If a Demon player had done the same to a Port player you guys would be as happy as larry. It's part of the game.

Port people

The bumps were within the rules but there is no way Pickett's intention was to protect his team mate. He tried to iron out those guys and he did. He's done it before and he's very good at it. Opposition supporters don't like it when it happens. Just like when when one of yours goes down you don't like it - Demon fans are no more precious than Port fans when it comes to this. Again, if the roles were reversed I reckon there's a fair chance some of you would be calling for the sniper's head.

Originally posted by Yze_Magic
there was nothing sweeter than the 2000 prelim Final when Jeff Farmer bagged 8 goals against a hapless Pickett

Perhaps the grand final when Melbourne got shown up as the pretenders that they was a little sweeter.

Interesting none of you Melbourne ****ers seem to want to acknowledge comments made by former captain and club legend in Garry Lyon who looked at both bumps and indicated they were completely fair, or Danniher who had no problem with the bumps.

Its just you chicken skinned supporters who actually think you've got a clue.

Go have a cry somewhere else cause I dont want to hear it.

You are a moron.

Do you know how often a genuine opportunity arises to run through someone ? **** all !!! So I dont really think Byron backs off because the player is a bit bigger than him. He does it when its there. I dont think hes ever been reported for it and definitely never been suspended for it. So get over it.

If you think the ball was gone in the first case then you are in la la land. You really are.

Quite frankly if I was coaching the side and he hadnt laid the first bump he would have been sitting on the pine straight away. It was his job to put on a shephard ... and he put on a big one. Note - no free kick - not reported..... stop crying.

Message for Bryon Pickett