List Mgmt. Mid-Season Draft - Who do we take?

Pretty sure we would have a list of "draftable" players. The list might run x number of players long where x could be well before our pick. I don't think we will take anyone just for the sake of making a pick.

I do think that if the player we think is is worth taking is there, we will pick him. I don't expect us to pick any of the mature age players that can supposedly help us now. I think we will be looking for the long term, similar to how we picked up Jordon Butts. A young player who was overlooked in previous draft but is worth taking a look at because he had a good season. I suspect we are in the market for 19-21 year olds who think we can develop into a long term player for us. I don't think the position would come into it too much. We might put a bit more value on local SANFL talent just because of the easier logistics but we wouldn't be ruling out the interstate players just on that alone.

Roo indicated with the injured players coming back and the fact we have minimal long term injuries there is no need to draft at this stage

That could quite well be the case. Part of it might be that there is a player we like and are putting out crap info to get other teams off the trail. We are a fair way back in the pick order for this draft which means the best of the younger crop that might be worth a shot will likely be gone by our pick.

Maybe we just rort the system and pick up a top-notch SANFL midfielder like Jordan Foote, Sam Colquhoun, Abe Davis or Aidan Tropiano for a tilt at the SANFL flag?

Just kidding, folks.

Somebody should probably inform Roo that we no longer have any decent KPF's.
Do you honestly think a mature age recruit would help us solve this problem without any AFL pre-season with the team?

Serious?!

Shit Adam Richardson dominated SANFL as the best KPF at the time, we got him, he had a full pre-season with the team and still couldn't hack it. I highly doubt there is a KPF out there that would made immediate impact for us. Let's be real!

Do you honestly think a mature age recruit would help us solve this problem without any AFL pre-season with the team?

Serious?!

**** Adam Richardson dominated SANFL as the best KPF at the time, we got him, he had a full pre-season with the team and still couldn't hack it. I highly doubt there is a KPF out there that would made immediate impact for us. Let's be real!

Agree - fitness would be a problem.

Although i'd happily pick up a star KPF if they could take a contested mark like nobody's business, and i'd tell them don't bother running, we'll bomb it to you in the square

Serious?!

**** Adam Richardson dominated SANFL as the best KPF at the time, we got him, he had a full pre-season with the team and still couldn't hack it. I highly doubt there is a KPF out there that would made immediate impact for us. Let's be real!
Well we need to do something. Staying the course will have us finishing mid-table. Roll the dice. What have we got to lose?

Rolling the dice blind against all odds is not exactly the smart thing to do. I would have thought getting games into young key forwards already on the list would be a smarter move. Hell moving Keath or Talia (both of whom have played some junior footy at CHF) would also be a better option than drafting someone who happens to be tall and can take a contested grab.

Should we bring back Ken McGregor?

Rolling the dice blind against all odds is not exactly the smart thing to do. I would have thought getting games into young key forwards already on the list would be a smarter move. Hell moving Keath or Talia (both of whom have played some junior footy at CHF) would also be a better option than drafting someone who happens to be tall and can take a contested grab.

Should we bring back Ken McGregor?
I can understand wanting Fog to get more games but do you really want Hartigan the bull butcher lining up for set shots? You want Alex Keath who has just cemeted his spot as one of the comps best intercept defenders to move forward?

Do we even have a pick?

Pick 12.

It's weird that afl.com.au are classing Dunn as the reason - he was replaced on the list by Magden (and today that's swapped for Wells, with Dunn back on the Primary List). Can't promote a Cat B AND have a MSR pick.

(I reckon it's actually for Sam Murray - if they are allowed to do that for druggies)

NAB AFL MID-SEASON ROOKIE DRAFT ORDER
FIRST ROUND

1. Carlton (Tomas Bugg)
2. Gold Coast (Harrison Wigg)
3. Melbourne (Aaron Nietschke)
4. Sydney (Kurt Tippett)
5. North Melbourne (Ed Vickers-Willis)
6. Western Bulldogs (Liam Picken)
7. Essendon (Devon Smith)
8. St Kilda (Paddy McCartin)
9. Port Adelaide (Jake Patmore)
10. Hawthorn (Tim Mohr)
11. Fremantle (Matt Taberner)
12. Adelaide (Tom Doedee)
13. Richmond (Shaun Grigg)
14. Collingwood (Lynden Dunn)

SECOND ROUND
15. Gold Coast (Rory Thompson)
16. Sydney (Heath Grundy)
17. Western Bulldogs (Tom Boyd)
18. Essendon (Joe Daniher or Sam Draper)

I can understand wanting Fog to get more games but do you really want Hartigan the bull butcher lining up for set shots? You want Alex Keath who has just cemeted his spot as one of the comps best intercept defenders to move forward?
Every one of the players you mentioned would be a better option than someone form a state league who would be coming in from a lesser competition without any knowledge of the game plan, structures, leading patterns etc to come in and provide us with a marking forward.

C'mon man think about it. It would be hard enough to incorporate an AFL player from another club mid-season let alone essentially an amateur footballer into a professional environment.

Every one of the players you mentioned would be a better option than someone form a state league who would be coming in from a lesser competition without any knowledge of the game plan, structures, leading patterns etc to come in and provide us with a marking forward.

C'mon man think about it. It would be hard enough to incorporate an AFL player from another club mid-season let alone essentially an amateur footballer into a professional environment.
The draft in isolation seems pointless from the intended outcomes atm. In conjunction with mid-season trading it's easier to see an immediate benefit for some clubs in theory.

Finishing midtable this year is fine, other years I'd agree.

I haven't seen anyone at SANFL level who could dramatically help us.

The draft in isolation seems pointless from the intended outcomes atm. In conjunction with mid-season trading it's easier to see an immediate benefit for some clubs in theory.
Of course it's pointless. You watch, most clubs will be looking to exploit it and load up on longer term players (i.e. players that were overlooked last year due to injury form and who have improved this year - e.g. Jordon Butts of last year or players who have come out of nowhere to perform well this season and would be picked up in the draft later on in the year - e.g. Shane McAdam from last year).

It would be a LOT more beneficial to introduce the mid year trade and/or loan period where teams can trade for a player of need from another team's list or simply loan them from other teams until the end of the year. It would work for players and both teams. One team gets the player of need, the other team gets the other club to develop that player and get AFL games into them and get them back (if they want them) at the end of the year.

It makes a lot more sense than a mid-season draft where the player will not be getting games at the AFL club and state league teams receive significant blows along the way.

Pick 12.

It's weird that afl.com.au are classing Dunn as the reason - he was replaced on the list by Magden (and today that's swapped for Wells, with Dunn back on the Primary List). Can't promote a Cat B AND have a MSR pick.

(I reckon it's actually for Sam Murray - if they are allowed to do that for druggies)

NAB AFL MID-SEASON ROOKIE DRAFT ORDER
FIRST ROUND

1. Carlton (Tomas Bugg)
2. Gold Coast (Harrison Wigg)
3. Melbourne (Aaron Nietschke)
4. Sydney (Kurt Tippett)
5. North Melbourne (Ed Vickers-Willis)
6. Western Bulldogs (Liam Picken)
7. Essendon (Devon Smith)
8. St Kilda (Paddy McCartin)
9. Port Adelaide (Jake Patmore)
10. Hawthorn (Tim Mohr)
11. Fremantle (Matt Taberner)
12. Adelaide (Tom Doedee)
13. Richmond (Shaun Grigg)
14. Collingwood (Lynden Dunn)

SECOND ROUND
15. Gold Coast (Rory Thompson)
16. Sydney (Heath Grundy)
17. Western Bulldogs (Tom Boyd)
18. Essendon (Joe Daniher or Sam Draper)
Doedee?

Surely Hamish would love a speculative pop at someone ? What's the downside? What is the cost?
I am sure he has a list. If there is a player left on that list when its our turn, he will make the move, otherwise it will be a pass.

From memory wasn't there some talk that a rookie costs the clubs some $200k-$300k a season both in terms of salary, development and all the other associated costs. So essentially, if you are picking someone up, it should be for for a season and a half which equates to some $300k-$450k. Even if you cut them at the end of the year you are looking at $100k-$150k investment for a long shot.

List Mgmt. Mid-Season Draft - Who do we take?