Mitch Brown (WCE) asks for trade to St Kilda

They will get more than Cripps. A draft pick as well. Most St. Kilda posters who are realistic about this trade will concede that.

Most WC posters with a realistic opinion concede he is not worth pick 13.

Pretty simple.

Of course he isn't worth trade 13 but thats not the point. Most West Coast supporters are saying it's not worth trading him unless we get overs for him.

WC could very well get Cripps cheapishly without trading Brown so the trade you suggested adds very little value.

According to your line of thinking Brown will hold little value next year if he wants to come home then. Out of contract, former first rounder, hasn't held down a regular spot...

That's why the Eagles will trade him this year.

Pretty simple really. You must understand. Your post proves it!
And no doubt, if we keep him for that last year and don't sign him, we would be lucky to get a pick beyond 35. But this year at least, we at least can push the price up due to his contract status.

He is a vital piece of our long term puzzle, and is contracted so we want to keep him, so we will play chicken with the saints and demand a high until they either give in or give up. We don't have much to lose at least this year, and who knows, we may have a long injury to either glass or mackenzie early next year and he steps up to the plate.

This trade won't happen IMO until:

1) brown comes back from holiday and west coast have a further chat with brown.
2) the full details of the compo pick are revealed.
3) or if the saints get tired of waiting, offer something ridiculous. Which won't happen either.

Never did I say they were similar players.

I understand that they are completely different. With 5 more years in the system Cripps could be a very good player. At the moment Brown isn't. He has potential but thats all it is at the moment since he can't play regular footy. Next year he won't either, unless Glass or others go down with a knee etc.

By the end of next year he will be worth a similar amount to Cripps is this year.

The problem is he IS a good player and has shown he IS a good player whenever he has played. It's just you guys haven't seen it because he hasn't played enough games and for good reason as he is behind 2 very, very good defenders.

It's no longer potential, if there is a trade he will be your no.1 back and would be the no 1 back for a lot of teams. He has shown he can be the number 1 back. When McKenzie was out this year, Brown went straight to the no 1 forward with Glass staying on the no. 2 forward.

I have Cripps as worth 30 - 35 this year, similar to Stevens
Next year i'd have Brown as 25 - 30 if he plays less than 10 games

from WCs perspective, there is still no reason to consider this really. "Required Player" isn't trying to boost his trade value, we need him. and if the only thing on offer is what we will most likely get for him next year when he is out of contract, then it makes no sense for him to go now

the offer really has to be too good to refuse IMO.

13 or keep him. its overs for sure, but he is in contract. if glass retires at end of year as expected, he wont walk.

problem is that its money and playing time. if he stays hope we can sort him out.

be a terrific pickup for St Kilda if they can get something done but not for pick 13.

Still young (23) and has plenty of upside due to injury and lack of opportunities at West Coast.

They will get more than Cripps. A draft pick as well. Most St. Kilda posters who are realistic about this trade will concede that.

Most WC posters with a realistic opinion concede he is not worth pick 13.

Pretty simple.

Again you have failed to understand the difference between worth and cost.

I don't think any of us thinks he is worth pick 13 but that is what it would cost to trade him.

He used to be exceptional in my opinion in this area. Really agile. But after a few injuries not as much as he used to be. Still probably above average for his height.

Recent injuries were freak like.

Nothing serious.

Again you have failed to understand the difference between worth and cost.

I don't think any of us thinks he is worth pick 13 but that is what it would cost to trade him.

Saints understand that very well. We also understand that trying to keep a player who does not want to be there and not accepting a reasonable trade, results in the player walking to another club through the draft for nothing. We saw exactly this scenario with Luke Ball.

If we don't get him now for a reasonable trade, when he and his manager are saying that he wants out now, wants to come to St Kilda, we will draft him for nothing in twelve months time.

Saints understand that very well. We also understand that trying to keep a player who does not want to be there and not accepting a reasonable trade, results in the player walking to another club through the draft for nothing. We saw exactly this scenario with Luke Ball.

If we don't get him now for a reasonable trade, when he and his manager are saying that he wants out now, wants to come to St Kilda, we will draft him for nothing in twelve months time.
I am glad the entire saint population and met and agreed 100%. You all now understand and full agree it appears.

Problem is a contract - he can not leave. He may go into the draft in 2013 and we may get nothing - but this is a year away and will be informed by changed circumstances. Wellingham nominated WC and was traded.

WC are a very honourable club but are also strong. We drafted Tim Watson to keep him out of play for a year.

That's fine. Would rather lose him for nothing in 2014 than have no KPD depth in a year we're competing.

Gary Stocks made it pretty clear we will only trade him for a like for like swap.

In the end when your in premiership mode having Mitch Brown on your list for 1 year longer is more valuable then a measley 2nd rounder or for Eagles essentially moving down 20 spots in a draft we dont rate.

Cool do that then.

I would back our club to convince him to stay in that 12 months.

I don't think we are that fussed.

hahahaha yeah right

IF he doesent get opportunities here next year and IF no other clubs are interested in trading for him next year and IF he hasnt decided to re-sign with WC and IF we cant organise a deal next year and IF you somehow manage to convince him to go into the draft and IF you somehow manage to get him past GWS.... THEN you will get him for nothing

good luck with that mate hahahahahaha

seriously, if you reckon its that easy to get him for free, you shouldnt even be trying to trade. just **** off and take him in the draft next year

hahahahahahahah

thats whats so funny about this whole idea. normally, a club will shake their fist and threaten "take the deal or he will go into the draft" but for mitch, its "take the deal or he will cut all communication with you and sit in the WAFL for a year and go into the draft next year without talking to you"

hahahahahahahahahahahahaha players going into the draft is rare and difficult at the best of times, but 12 months out? the chances of mitch ending up in next years draft is less than %0.1

its hilarious that there are actually saints supporters suggesting that it is part of the bargaining.