- Aug 31, 2018
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
In Swann and Icke SOS we trust.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Yes, the bridge is burnt but we have underpasses here in Adelaide so no probsHonest question here - how feasible do you think it would be for McGovern to walk back into the club next year if a deal doesn't get done? Is the bridge well and truly burnt now?
We still have the Torrens bridgeYes, the bridge is burnt but we have underpasses here in Adelaide so no probs
Yeah agree, same manager too.I see it as very close to the McCarthy situation. In 2015
To all those other dopey high school dropouts posting from their jobs at the local Carlton servo, pay attention
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/...s/news-story/b59e93ed25be96090e094d78e9a7c65d
Back in 2015 when no trade happened
These quotes sound familiar?
“
FREMANTLE’S desperation to finally snare a key forward has it willing to hand over its first round picks in the next two drafts for GWS goalkicker Cam McCarthy.
McCarthy’s manager Colin Young said on Friday he was “100 per cent” confident the Dockers would make the too-good-to-refuse offer when the trade period opens on Monday. “
“It’s not about GWS, it’s about living in Sydney. Once his contract is up he won’t be staying there.”
“McCarthy is contracted at the Giants for another two years.”
Well of course it’s up to him, if he wants to get paid by us he’ll suit up again next year if a deal doesn’t get done. If he wants to sit out from footy next year he won’t get paid.Wants?... Who cares what he wants, it's not up to him as soon as that pen hit that paper with the sneaky scribble it was game over for ole mate MM.
Has it been discussed just how incompetent Young is as a manager? What a useless F...
All in good time as you said.I wonder why we are being so quiet. We on the front foot about Lever and Charles. We set the agenda that we expected 2 first round picks / 1 good first round pick.
The media discussion was focused on what we demanded. Is it fair? Will they get it? Opinions differed. In the end we got close to our demands.
This time we appear to have been completely silent. We don’t have media reports like “I hear AFC expect a top 5 pick for MGov, [insert hot take here]”
This means the agenda is set by Carlton and their media cronies. “I hear Carlton will offer pick 24 and some SANFL guy, will it be enough”?
I cannot say whether this is good or bad. But it is very weird given it is so different to last year’s approach, and that approach worked well so why change it.
My concern is that the reports proposing we aim for a pick around 10-15 are going to turn out to be true.
We will have to wait for the result.
Sorry if this has been said in the 25 pages which were posted in the last 37 minutes.
Maybe quiet as we are balancing this with the need to try and get pick 1 as part of a bigger trade and by being bullish in public, it may put Carlton's nose right out and they just refuse to put pick 1 in play..just a guessI wonder why we are being so quiet. We on the front foot about Lever and Charles. We set the agenda that we expected 2 first round picks / 1 good first round pick.
The media discussion was focused on what we demanded. Is it fair? Will they get it? Opinions differed. In the end we got close to our demands.
This time we appear to have been completely silent. We don’t have media reports like “I hear AFC expect a top 5 pick for MGov, [insert hot take here]”
This means the agenda is set by Carlton and their media cronies. “I hear Carlton will offer pick 24 and some SANFL guy, will it be enough”?
I cannot say whether this is good or bad. But it is very weird given it is so different to last year’s approach, and that approach worked well so why change it.
My concern is that the reports proposing we aim for a pick around 10-15 are going to turn out to be true.
Sorry if this has been said in the 25 pages which were posted in the last 37 minutes.
They'll only waste it and destroy a players career if they keep it but we won't get it.Maybe quiet as we are balancing this with the need to try and get pick 1 as part of a bigger trade and by being bullish in public, it may put Carlton's nose right out and they just refuse to put pick 1 in play..just a guess
Yeah, but it's not made of wood so won't burnWe still have the Torrens bridge
They'll only waste it and destroy a players career if they keep it but we won't get it.
Can see west coast matching but not the suns.Trade week is still 11 days away, and no one quite knows what's going to happen in the preceding FA week yet (Will GC and WCE match?), plenty of time to go
Adelaide announced the trade rather than informing Carlton first. That wasn't the right way to go about it and ultimately is why a deal wasn't done the first time. Simple as that.As I posted previously you flog, Gibbs wasnt happy to stay at Carlton. He was pissed off and his manager and family over here said so. But as he was contraced he had two options, sit out the year or play and ask for the trade the next year, which he did.
Now piss off back to your board with your BS.
Media has largely attacked Adelaide all year, some justified, some not so I'd imagine they are just trying to stay out of the focus. Don't think media talk really has any bearing on things.I wonder why we are being so quiet. We on the front foot about Lever and Charles. We set the agenda that we expected 2 first round picks / 1 good first round pick.
We haven't said anything because there's no point ATM. Trade period hasn't even started yet.I wonder why we are being so quiet. We on the front foot about Lever and Charles. We set the agenda that we expected 2 first round picks / 1 good first round pick.
lol at 27 pages.I wonder why we are being so quiet. We on the front foot about Lever and Charles. We set the agenda that we expected 2 first round picks / 1 good first round pick.
If you really believe that you are effectively saying SOS is a petty sad little man. I find it hard to believe he would base a list decision off something so weak. Would have thought it's exactly what it sounded like - SOS wanted a lot (fair enough he was contracted for numerous years yet), Adelaide weren't prepared to pay up at the time so nothing happened.Adelaide announced the trade rather than informing Carlton first. That wasn't the right way to go about it and ultimately is why a deal wasn't done the first time. Simple as that.
End of the day, if a player doesn't want to be at your club - be happy they're going and move on.
First and second round picks. or 2 first with a second going back.out of curiosity what would you deem acceptable for gov?
Carlton lose pick 1, 2019 first round
Suns lose pick 2,3
Adelaide lose McGovern, Melbournes pick
GWS lose Shiel
Carlton gain McGovern & Shiel
Adelaide gain pick 2 or 3 (depending who GWS want
GWS gain pick 2 or 3 and the Melbourne pick
Suns gain pick 1 and Carlton’s 2019 pick