News Monfries traded to Port + Expectations Poll

How many games do you think Angus will play in his next four years with Port?

Here we go again....all aboard the Spud Train, gee this time of year comes around fast:eek:

And our first Spud on offer is Angus Monfries, 180cm slow as a wet week and cant kick for shyt ....if that don't get your taste bubs drooling nothing will.

Ouch

Nope.

If we've identified a 25yo proven player we want in our team, I don't understand the reservation in securing his services long-term through his prime.
IIRC his injury record was the main one.

I guess the PEDs may have helped with that.

Monfries has done a great job since he has come to Port, before the season started another small forward was not an high need for us and going on the past bunch of dills we have drafted(Simon Philips) another dud looked in the making.
At the time Kennny was a unknown factor as a coach but since he has moved in he has had the golden touch.
Just on Monfries game it has been a long time since a port player has kicked 7 goals in a game who has not been playing FF.
Without looking on the net i cant remember us having one to kick that much, i remember Ebert kicking a bag one day but not sure if it was 7.
Anyways its been another good deal for us not like the past duds we have drafted.
Kenny is the man!

Is he a smoker?

Gus could be perfect. In fact if we don't use it for Angus we could use it for Broady!

2396588153_fb2b4b0a7b.jpg

p.s. most of you won't be old enough to understand

didn't the character of mr squiggle end up being mr kiddie squiggler?

Not just Port folklore, it's being mythologised across the AFL. Watching/listening to a few games over the weekend there were continual references by commentators to a kick needing a Monfries-bounce.

and the kick that SHOULD also be noted...is the TEAM first instinctive thought and that was squaring the ball to the hot spot which resulted in the Chad mark/goal. Gus could have easily blasted from the boundary with no result. That passage of play gets an A class pass from his teammates, coaches etc.

I didn't watch Essendon heaps this year but every time I did Monfries seemed to be on the TV. He seems to get himself in the contest all the time (in a physical sense more than anything) and obviously defends from the front as a small forward. not sure how accurate a set shot he is but I would take him. Monfries, Banner, Gray, Wingard are small forwards I can get behind.

well I kinda got the basics there, he is a fit man and a good defensive forward. quietly replace Banner with Neade. :p not the greatest set shot but who is? (Schulz the best)

earlier this year I made a post about how I thought he was a bit ~vanilla~ but we have stomped that out of him and he has shown it as the seasons gone on, I think that was just preconceptions mixed with a couple of on field events that I look into perhaps too much. he puts his body on the line. he's a great player and shows he's got over 150 senior games under his belt every week.

I think making a call on a four year acquisition less than one year in is premature

So you have no opinion of his 2013 form?

I think he's been a great contributor in 2013, and I'm pretty sure I've said so elsewhere.

Well he's a quarter of the way there, I guess ... :rolleyes:

Go on YouTube and watch him check side from 20 metres out when on no more than a 40 degree angle with the Dons 5 points up with a minute to play. He missed the lot when a point would've done. Hawthorn kick a goal. Result- Monfries glory hunting loses the game.

A spud McDonalds would be proud to call their own.

HAHAHAHA.......must be an essendon thing, pretty sure he's not doing that now.

I'm not against having a look at Monfries, but four years.. if true, that is another horrendous decision.

Also, I reckon he might have realised he will probably start getting phased out of Essendon's forward line. They've already got Jetta and Davey for crumbing and pace and I like what I have seen so far of the guy in Jack Package's "other teams", Nic O'Brien as far as a medium marking forward goes.

Yeah nah! I love when people bump these threads.

News Monfries traded to Port + Expectations Poll