Game Day NAB Challenge Wk 1 - Carlton v Hawthorn Gameday Discussion

Just watched game....finally
Had already seen post match presser from BB so watched rotatations carefully & how they were running out the game. We look fitter & gameplan going alright but skills can undo the greatest of plans.
Fairly happy with it all, our defence will get better with JW no doubt.
Mids will be better with murph & Cripps in, so kerridge might get even better.
Our forward line though is terrible, out younguns will need to come thru quick to fix this.
I took careful note of jones & he tries but what's the point if you're a forward who can't take a grab!
Such a waste for someone who looks a million but plays like fiddy cent.

Didn't get to watch the game last night and only just watched the highlights on AFL website so really havnt seen much. Nice to hear that there were some players putting on a good show early on. All you want out of pre-season games is no injuries and a bit fo confidence and reckon we got that last night.

Have heard about Gibbs being in great physical shape and set for big year. However still saw a trait of his that stops him from going to elite level and that is work ethic. On the play that simpson drops a mark and hawks kick a goal through bruest, Gibbs was one stage level with bruest but just lazily followed along and was hoping someone else would 'do the work'. he needs to work hard and want to be more physical to impact plays that are 50-50 or 30-70.

Nice to hear the strong Tassie crowd support last night. Particularly considering the opposition.
Pretty rough when your goals get drowned out in boos on your 'home' turf :D

Make it happen, Kerra!

show_image.php

TL, I know you said you were in Tassie this week...

But are you sure you weren't in Wangaratta, delivering a stand-up gig?

View attachment 217310

:D

First gig I have ever done where the tumbleweeds were there from the beginning rather than rolling in around the 10 minute mark!! :eek:

I couldnt get over the amount of tossing off the commentators did over Hawthorn for the premiership...

I felt like trying to call the ground and screaming down the phone at them that it was only the first game of the NAB cup.
I had no issues with it. They deserve all the credit they receive. Should Carlton ever do a hat-trick in my lifetime, I would expect everyone, including the commentators to toss over us the entire time, including during a pre-season game.

also must say very disappointed in clarkson (hawks coach)
me and my 2 girls were sitting right underneath but in between the coaches boxes lower ract stand.. with another room in the middle where clarkson was sitting with his family. any ways comes the the last qtr and my eldest stands on her chair out of boredom also tiredness n starts stretching. apparently getting in clarksons way of the game. all of a sudden i hear multiple BANG BANG BANGS on the glass. i look back n here is a angry faced hawks coach with his arms in the air.
i turn to my daughter who starts balling her eyes out, in shock i guess as to what happened.... she wanted to go home :(
Boooooooooo!

Byrne looked a bit out of his depth, but hasn't played much and should settle with more time.

I own Byrne in a dynasty league and so was paying pretty close attention to him. I thought started the half he played slowly but worked into it. He still does not have the natural feel for where to go and often moved the wrong way around a contest. He did not seem confident about backing himself to find the ball. On the positive side though he has really nice size, good athleticism and a great long kick. He cracked in hard at the tackles (I thought he was robbed of at least a couple of tackles in the stats) and provides a good physical presence. With Carlton very much looking to build for the future this year I would play him and let him learn on the job. He has the tools to be a weapon at the back and getting AFL level games into him should help I think.

Early days, but we had numbers at the ball carrier which didn't allow Hawthorn to chip away and link up from end to end for easy goals like they always do. That stood out straight away. Players were in the right position which tells me they are understanding Bolton's game plan already which is fantastic. It didn't feel like 22 v 10 like in the past.

Individually I thought Kreuzer was good. Does what he's supposed to and more. Would appreciate it if commentators stop talking about his injuries, makes me flipping nervous!

Gibbs was physically bossing it up and set the tone early. Class above at times. Gonna have a big year. Maybe it's just me, but his shoulders looked huuuuugggeeee!

Nick Graham! How can you not love him! Was so upset when he got injured last year, but good to see him picking up where he left off. He's just so good. When he's got the ball in his hands I feel safe. Great goal kicker.

Whiley! Yessss! I was most excited about him from all our pickups last year and finally got to see what he is capable of. Looks wayyy bigger.

Boekhorst. THAT passage of play, you know the one I'm talking about, was silk. He seems so much more confident. Really exciting stuff.

Great to see so many fresh faces. Still getting used to them all so can't comment on them. Overall, just great to have footy back! Woooooo!!!

I probably didn't view last night's game as positively as most, but there's definitely something to build on.

We stuck to the new gameplan for probably a quarter and a half and looked good, but then slipped back to the same directionless 'hit and hope' footy we saw for most of last year. Should see drastic improvement as players learn to stick with it across four quarters.

This bit will probably be unpopular but...
I know some people were a wrap for Whiley and Tutt, but they (along with Dick) have a serious lack of ability when it comes to composure, decision-making, awareness, and disposal, and they're all at an age where it will be very difficult to fix. The rate at which these three are squeezed out of the team will be a good indicator of our rate of improvement.

Kerridge looks like a good inside addition, but his kicking is a bit of a concern.

Daisy was very disappointing IMO. A lot of nothing possessions, very little hurt factor, and was poor defensively. One effort vs Sam Mitchell right in front of goal was especially lazy/disinterested and drew comments from the non-Carltonians I was watching the game with. Hoping he's just saving his best for the real thing.

Byrne was rusty, but I thought battled hard, and should slot into the back 6 long term.

CCurnow dropped some marks he could have held and probably didn't chase as hard as he could have, but that can be put down to first-game nerves and base fitness. Looks very likely and will be great with a few years under his belt.

Graham's game really puts it into perspective how badly he was treated by Malthouse. Will never be a superstar, but he's absolutely AFL quality, and best 22 every day of the week.

Docherty was typically solid, Simpson was probably trying a bit too hard and didn't have his best game as a result, Gibbs was Gibbs. Wright was handy and I suspect will be lining up in round 1.

Phillips looks like a steal and will be Kreuz's ruck partner for the year. Between him and Kerridge I'd say we're already ahead on the Menzel trade.

Boekhorst's piece of play on the wing was probably the highlight of the game. Looks set for a big year, and could be a star with some consistency.

Everitt had a poor game, White and Rowe both battled hard but showed their usual limitations. As mentioned elsewhere, Gorringe is a non-entity.

Jones... His tackling showed he's trying, but he simply isn't up to it. Bad running patterns, can't mark, awful leap timing, no new info there though. In future years this trade/contract will be the reference point when discussing Malthouse's desperate and complete failure to build a team at Carlton.

Game Day NAB Challenge Wk 1 - Carlton v Hawthorn Gameday Discussion