New Coach Questions,Rumours and Suggestions

Re: Hardwick now Dons' frontrunner

Yep, Centrebet have him at $1.50 to coach Essendon next year and $2.95 to coach Geelong...........Also $51 to coach another club or no-one

How can this be if the deal has already been done with Bomber Thompson?? There's been a few people on here who have said it's been a done deal for a while (citing inside knowledge etc.). We'll see who is the best at making up stories soon I guess.

You must be worried if you keep coming back to add to the discussion ......

Re: Hardwick now Dons' frontrunner

"DAMIEN Hardwick is the frontrunner to succeed Kevin Sheedy as Essendon coach, with the Dons having eliminated ex-captain and Melbourne coach Neale Daniher from the four-man race. But Essendon is set to talk to Geelong coach Mark Thompson next week — on either Monday or Tuesday — and no appointment will be made until after it has ascertained whether Thompson is interested in coaching his old club."

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/new...486226505.html

Real Footy

My money remains on Peter Sumich to be coaching Essendon next season and Hardwick being announced as his Senior Assistant.

Everything I've heard, aside from articles in The Age in the last couple of days, points in that direction.

apparently hardwick is soon to be announced as coach said so on sports tonight. As for assistants i can't help but think that stephen silvani would be an excellent defensive coach. He mentored lewis roberts-thomson for the season he was gud since then he has been shit. He's now at St.Kilda and when you think about it there defense has improved with sam fisher etc. I reckon he'd b alright if we could pinch him.

Not sure where Channel 10 get that from. The remaining candidates have not yet presented there submission's to the whole board as the process specifies, along with the fact the EFC club has clearly indicated they wish to speak with Mark Thompson at seasons end.

We are $1.50 favourite as Bombers coaching destination next season.

that price suggests there is some truth to the rumour based on the proviso Geelong lose the GF!! If they lose you would suggest bomber might not even be offered a new deal by the cats or if so 2 year deal at best.. If that is the case Jackson and co feel confident 800k over 5 years with full control of the footy department will bring bomber back home!!

if they win the 1.50 will blow out the door!! in that case plan b hardwick is executed as they know the essendon people will accept him and more importantly is what was relayed to Judd... this wont disadvantage us at all Judd would be excited at the prospect of both coaches hardwick and bomber play attaching footy and he wont have to be captain like carlton have declared he will be..

take what they are offering for bomber to coach geelong surely this is one GF they couldnt possible lose:rolleyes:

Apparently a deal was offered to Bomber in February but it was either not a done deal or they left it open for him to change his mind.

We're either still waiting to hear from him or he has told us to look elsewhere already.

That would be an enormous story.... and when you look at the landscape back then, it makes a lot of sense and has a certain ring of truth about it.

It would certainly explain Bomber's actions (or inaction) better than any other theory I've heard to date (Knocking back an extension deal from the Cats and refusing to discuss '08).

I think Jules mentioned that Choco might have been thrown into the mix just to take some of the heat off Bomber. A good theory.

The club's "premature" announcement of Sheedy's contract non-renewal was more to allow Kevin to be considered for other jobs, rather than for us to start our hunt in earnest. That gesture may, in the future, be seen as one of extremely good faith by the club, rather than the panic reaction that some people (including myself) considered it to be.

PJ & Ray might come out of all of this looking like bl00dy saints & geniuses!!!!

I'm rapt that it appears to be down to Hardwick & Bomber.... I'd be very happy either way.

I'd also be rapt to learn that the Club had a solid succession plan in place all along!

Roll on 2008!!! :thumbsu: :D :thumbsu: :D

I'd be happy with Hardwick as coach......

Apparently a deal was offered to Bomber in February but it was either not a done deal or they left it open for him to change his mind.

We're either still waiting to hear from him or he has told us to look elsewhere already.

This is why I asked if anyone listened to him on 3aw last night, as apparently he confirmed he was to meet with us after the GF. I didnt hear it tho.

If thats the case, Hardwick could not be confirmed at all.

this is my gut feel and OPINION - we spoke to Thompson some time in the past, who indicated he was keen/interested/set to join, whatever, but nothing can be done till after the season. At the time he probably didnt realistically expect to have such a freak season, which may complicate things, but we wont know till next week.

This may help explain why we "freaked out" and sacked Sheedy in such a weird time - perhaps we didnt panic in relation to Carlton/Voss (thats the smokescreen), but in fact Essendon were worried by Geelongs freak success, and wanted to convey to Thompson they were still going ahead with the "agreement" as they were worried Thompson may decide to sign a contract with Geelong, or in fact got wind that Geelong had in fact offered Thompson a contract, or wanted to (does anyone know the timeframe of when Thompson told Geelong he didnt want to talk? was it after we sacked Sheedy?). The Pagan sacking day/day after was simply a convenient time to do this, and use it as an excuse.

Essendon, in confidence, may have told the top canditates that there will be a final two, ie one "winner" who, depending on Bombers timing of exit, will be up against Bomber for the final position, ie nothing can be offered until Bomber presents. Going by the media talk, that person may well have been Hardwick, who knows now it is him v Thompson for the job.

Hence, Sumich went back to Perth and apparently divulged he thought Hardwick had it, which Channel 10 ran with and prematurally said was signed, when in fact Hardwick had won the first of 2 races.

So its Harwick v Thompson.

Something like that.

This is why I asked if anyone listened to him on 3aw last night, as apparently he confirmed he was to meet with us after the GF. I didnt hear it tho.

If thats the case, Hardwick could not be confirmed at all.

this is my gut feel and OPINION - we spoke to Thompson some time in the past, who indicated he was keen/interested/set to join, whatever, but nothing can be done till after the season. At the time he probably didnt realistically expect to have such a freak season, which may complicate things, but we wont know till next week.

This may help explain why we "freaked out" and sacked Sheedy in such a weird time - perhaps we didnt panic in relation to Carlton/Voss (thats the smokescreen),
but in fact Essendon were worried by Geelongs freak success, and wanted to convey to Thompson they were still going ahead with the "agreement" as they were worried Thompson may decide to sign a contract with Geelong, or in fact got wind that Geelong had in fact offered Thompson a contract, or wanted to (does anyone know the timeframe of when Thompson told Geelong he didnt want to talk? was it after we sacked Sheedy?).

The Pagan sacking day/day after was simply a convenient time to do this, and use it as an excuse.

Essendon, in confidence, may have told the top canditates that there will be a final two, ie one "winner" who, depending on Bombers timing of exit, will be up against Bomber for the final position, ie nothing can be offered until Bomber presents. Going by the media talk, that person may well have been Hardwick, who knows now it is him v Thompson for the job.

Hence, Sumich went back to Perth and apparently divulged he thought Hardwick had it, which Channel 10 ran with and prematurally said was signed, when in fact Hardwick had won the first of 2 races.

So its Harwick v Thompson.

Something like that.

I think its all getting to you mate. You're imagination is running out of control.

Why would they even bother interviewing others if Bomber was already lined-up for the job?

Why would EFC 'panic' at GFC's success and sack Sheedy early to let Bomber know the job is his?

Bomber is going nowhere from Geelong. Unless he has a massive grudge against the club for nearly sacking him last year,what could possibly be the reason for him to leave?

I've watched Bomber since I was 12-13 years old,since he started at Essendon...and I've never seen him more relaxed and content as he seems to be at Geelong.

The Cats will sign him for 3-4 years...and Bomber would be an idiot for not taking it.

My money remains on Peter Sumich to be coaching Essendon next season and Hardwick being announced as his Senior Assistant.

Everything I've heard, aside from articles in The Age in the last couple of days, points in that direction.

Sumich is out of the race according to todays reports. Hardwick is believed to have the job but are waiting until after the Grand Final to speak with Bomber Thompson in the hope they can get him to Windy Hill. Odds are against the bombers signing thompson and Hardwick is expected to be named Coach by the end of next week.

The source was Racing Radio in WA, they were talking to someone in Melbourne forget there name but that is the story they ran this morning

Peter Sumich has already said he is out of the running. He then said '' I believe Hardwick got the job' Which then that turned into ''Damien Hardwick is Essendons new coach''.

We have offered Sumich as a assistant role which i think he will likely accpet.

Its out of Hardwick-Thompson i guess they will be meeting Thompson and if he doesnt accpet Hardwick will be our new coach. If he does then i think Hardwick will then be our assistant

according to a peter jackson grab on sen this morning, its down to two candidates, hardwick and probably knights. hardwick is almost certain to get the job, unless bomber thompson decides to leave geelong.

on sen this morning sumich has said he was told last night he was no longer in the running.

Peter Sumich has already said he is out of the running. He then said '' I believe Hardwick got the job' Which then that turned into ''Damien Hardwick is Essendons new coach''.

We have offered Sumich as a assistant role which i think he will likely accpet.

Its out of Hardwick-Thompson i guess they will be meeting Thompson and if he doesnt accpet Hardwick will be our new coach. If he does then i think Hardwick will then be our assistant

I hope this is the case and I think it could be.

I posted not long after the search for a coach started that any assistants we deem to be in the best few, should be offered assistant roles at Essendon.

If we deem them to being the best assistants in the competition then it makes sense to throw money at them to get them to Essendon.

If we are doing this then we are doing what is best for the club. Especially if GO'D stays as a director/manager of football operations/coaching type role.

If things fall into place in the manner in which they have the board and the CEO should be applauded. They had the impossible situation and they stuffed up at times along the way, but it does seem that the process and result has been the right one.

I think its all getting to you mate. You're imagination is running out of control.

lol maybe!

Why would they even bother interviewing others if Bomber was already lined-up for the job?

Why would EFC 'panic' at GFC's success and sack Sheedy early to let Bomber know the job is his?

Why? because nothing is agreed until the ink dries! I never said we have signed him or its guaranteed, we probably had talks to him in the last off-season or early in the year.

Obviously we need a contingency, anything can happen.

He will still need to present like everyone else, but he simply head-hunted as opposed to being an applicant.

Bomber is going nowhere from Geelong. Unless he has a massive grudge against the club for nearly sacking him last year,what could possibly be the reason for him to leave?

I think its pretty clear the rational behind him leaving is over and above any field factors.

The Cats will sign him for 3-4 years...and Bomber would be an idiot for not taking it.

Why did he knock them back then? Why is he waiting so long to sign? he could have written his contract when Geelong came to him wanting him to sign, he said no. He could have entered the final third of the year professional stress free, his future locked away and could approach the finals like that. Instead, he has pulled a Judd, and refused to talk. Surely this indicates some sort of writing on the wall.

No doubt Geelong have already tabled, or wanted to table some sort of deal, that isnt the question.

If he confirmed last night on the radio he was meeting us, obviously some part of him wants out, if not all.

I hope this is the case and I think it could be.

I posted not long after the search for a coach started that any assistants we deem to be in the best few, should be offered assistant roles at Essendon.

If we deem them to being the best assistants in the competition then it makes sense to throw money at them to get them to Essendon.

If we are doing this then we are doing what is best for the club. Especially if GO'D stays as a director/manager of football operations/coaching type role.

If things fall into place in the manner in which they have the board and the CEO should be applauded. They had the impossible situation and they stuffed up at times along the way, but it does seem that the process and result has been the right one.

Sumich would be ok in my books to be an assistant at WH...but I just don't think he will accept an assistant coaching job in Melbourne.

He has alot of offers back in Perth to consider.

Sumich would be ok in my books to be an assistant at WH...but I just don't think he will accept an assistant coaching job in Melbourne.

He has alot of offers back in Perth to consider.

he has put his house on the market according to another thread

lol maybe!

Why? because nothing is agreed until the ink dries! I never said we have signed him or its guaranteed, we probably had talks to him in the last off-season or early in the year.

Obviously we need a contingency, anything can happen.

He will still need to present like everyone else, but he simply head-hunted as opposed to being an applicant.

I think its pretty clear the rational behind him leaving is over and above any field factors.

Why did he knock them back then? Why is he waiting so long to sign? he could have written his contract when Geelong came to him wanting him to sign, he said no. He could have entered the final third of the year professional stress free, his future locked away and could approach the finals like that. Instead, he has pulled a Judd, and refused to talk. Surely this indicates some sort of writing on the wall.

No doubt Geelong have already tabled, or wanted to table some sort of deal, that isnt the question.

If he confirmed last night on the radio he was meeting us,
obviously some part of him wants out, if not all.[/QUOTE]

Pure speculation.

Bomber is a guy who keeps his cards close to his chest,always has.

I just find it hard to believe that Bomber will leave Geelong and hand over a Premiership side (they should win) to someone else with a list as strong as Geelong's got.

I can't get my head around a valid reason why he would come back to Windy Hill. Unless the love of the club is pulling him back..its not about money thats for sure.

he has put his house on the market according to another thread

That old chestnut....

Maybe he's getting ready to move up in the Geelong housing market and is set to buy a bigger place.

That old chestnut....

Maybe he's getting ready to move up in the Geelong housing market and is set to buy a bigger place.

Nobby's nuts.... Jules was talking about Sumich!

I believe Bomber already lives in Melbourne and commutes.

lol yea I was talking about Sumich... I think he will be an assistant next year.
What i think:

Coach: Hardwick
Midfield coach: Matthew Knights
Forward Coach: Sumich
Bckline coach: ??

WHat I would like:
Coach: Thompson
Bckline coach: Hardwick

lol yea I was talking about Sumich... I think he will be an assistant next year.
What i think:

Coach: Hardwick
Bckline coach: ??

WHat I would like:
Coach: Thompson
Bckline coach: Hardwick

Does anyone see a scenario where Hird gets a gig?