No Oppo Supporters Non Bulldog Footy Talk - Bulldogs only - Part 4

Oh my lord YES this season's been a gift.

It’s looking more and more like no one else wants it 🤣.

2023:

Kenan Thompson Eating GIF by Saturday Night Live

If you go to the Bombres board there’s a ‘who should our next coach be’ thread with a poll at the top.

I voted for dear James, thinking he needed the support, but to my surprise he’s their top pick !!!!

I love Doug Hawkins as much as next bloke, and I’m sure Geelong fans love their Gary Abletts snr and jnr , but you wouldn’t want them at the control panel.

Cmon Hirdy !

Just caught up with Slobbo in his duffle coat and beanie ramping up his push the injectors to party like it's 2012 and bring Hird back as coach. Funny stuff 😂 You've gotta love the deep, deep denial. 'Hird can bring the club together....' Maybe give Sheedy the Senior Assistant job and get Thompson back as well. Mark Harvey, give him a job and see what Dank is up to these days - he can be in charge of high performance.

I'm gonna need more popcorn.

Just caught up with Slobbo in his duffle coat and beanie ramping up his push the injectors to party like it's 2012 and bring Hird back as coach. Funny stuff 😂 You've gotta love the deep, deep denial. 'Hird can bring the club together....' Maybe give Sheedy the Senior Assistant job and get Thompson back as well. Mark Harvey, give him a job and see what Dank is up to these days - he can be in charge of high performance.

I'm gonna need more popcorn.
The HUN is about to go into overdrive!

Trying to block out images of Robbo's, err, "excitement" over "The Return of Albert".

Coming to a theatre near you!

The HUN is about to go into overdrive!

Trying to block out images of Robbo's, err, "excitement" over "The Return of Albert".

Coming to a theatre near you!

There isn't a club as far up its own a*** as the Bummers.

Every time I hear about Hird possibly coming back I think of this...

I hate that North are going to get a priority pick (probably pick #19) and then trade that to get Logue, having essentially pissed away the same pick to get Coleman-Jones last year rather than use the PSD. It’s essentially a net transfer to Richmond that should have never happened.

Granted teams injecting their players with PEDs is going too far, we have teams investing millions in marginal sporting improvements yet a perennially garbage North won’t use the equalisation tools at their disposal.

North should have been all over Riley West, offering him:
  • 3 years at $100k more a year versus what we offered
  • The extra $300k paid all in the first year as a signing bonus if he used the PSD.
  • Give him an option for a 4th year (at his election, so he could not trigger and renegotiate if he really takes off) if he plays 50 games over those 3 years.
  • A contracted promise to trade him for a 2nd round pick (or some points value) at any time if he wants an escape rope
There’s probably 1 player in a similar position to West at a dozen clubs. 50-75% of players will say they don’t want to burn the bridge with their club using the PSD but a few will take it up and they could take 3-4 players immediately into their best 22.

In nearly every scenario the option to walk to the PSD only benefits the wooden spoon club. I'm all for equalisation but this arrangement means that the wooden spooner and various managers can bypass the normal checks and balances in the AFL's equalisation processes. Although the threat is seldom activated it does give those managers a powerful hand in trade negotiations. It's a bit of a rort too because if they do walk it gives the club a good player for nothing when they should have been paying reasonable currency for him. And they already get plenty of good currency for finishing last. Sometimes even a priority pick as well.

I reckon it might be time to make a minor change to the PSD such as making the bottom four of the draft order subject to a random draw. That is, the clubs that finished 15th-18th go into a draw for the first four PSD draft picks. This draw would be done after the trade period concludes so nobody can make any assumptions about it.

That way nobody knows whether North have the first PSD pick. Theirs could be as low as 4th. This forces managers, players and clubs to deal in the open market instead of using threats of walking to the PSD.

The corollary is that if a player threatens to walk to the PSD it's because he genuinely wants out (irretrievable breakdown in relationship with the club) and is prepared to take his chances anywhere else. He and his manager are not trying to game the system to get to his preferred club.

For anyone that remembers the 70s and 80s, Mario Bortolotto, former Cat and Blue, has passed away, aged 65.

I remember him as a tough, no frills defender, and reading his bio, I never knew the circumstances of how he crossed to the Blues and became a dual-premiership player in 81-82.

Apparently he was at a table having a few drinks at the 1981 Geelong pre-season presentation night, and as jumpers were being handed out to players on-stage, when they got to his #29, another player was called up! Only then did someone from the club bother to come over to his table and say he was no longer required! How's that for a low act, and this after he'd trained all pre-season?! Bill Goggin, what a guy.

While on the subject of draft tweakage, why does the draft order need to be replicated in every round? The club that finishes last gets picks 1,19, 37, 55 etc. The club that finishes second last gets 2, 20, 38, 56. The club that finishes 12th gets picks 7, 25, 43 and 61.

The first round should absolutely stay in reverse ladder order but the replication of that draft order in subsequent rounds just heightens the incentive for a side that can't make the finals tanking for the last few rounds in order to finish 2-3 spots lower than they would have (say 14th instead of 11th).

I reckon there's an argument to make some adjustment such as shuffling the order in some balanced way in later rounds, even if they keep the second round as it is and it's only altered from the start of the third round.

In nearly every scenario the option to walk to the PSD only benefits the wooden spoon club. I'm all for equalisation but this arrangement means that the wooden spooner and various managers can bypass the normal checks and balances in the AFL's equalisation processes. Although the threat is seldom activated it does give those managers a powerful hand in trade negotiations. It's a bit of a rort too because if they do walk it gives the club a good player for nothing when they should have been paying reasonable currency for him. And they already get plenty of good currency for finishing last. Sometimes even a priority pick as well.

I reckon it might be time to make a minor change to the PSD such as making the bottom four of the draft order subject to a random draw. That is, the clubs that finished 15th-18th go into a draw for the first four PSD draft picks. This draw would be done after the trade period concludes so nobody can make any assumptions about it.

That way nobody knows whether North have the first PSD pick. Theirs could be as low as 4th. This forces managers, players and clubs to deal in the open market instead of using threats of walking to the PSD.

The corollary is that if a player threatens to walk to the PSD it's because he genuinely wants out (irretrievable breakdown in relationship with the club) and is prepared to take his chances anywhere else. He and his manager are not trying to game the system to get to his preferred club.
I think of the PSD (and would like clubs to do likewise) when combined with the salary cap as part of the equalisation system rather than a bypass of them.

There is no equalisation in Richmond not being prepared to match North’s offer ($ and games) but still getting to trade Callum Coleman-Jones for pick #19.

While on the subject of draft tweakage, why does the draft order need to be replicated in every round? The club that finishes last gets picks 1,19, 37, 55 etc. The club that finishes second last gets 2, 20, 38, 56. The club that finishes 12th gets picks 7, 25, 43 and 61.

The first round should absolutely stay in reverse ladder order but the replication of that draft order in subsequent rounds just heightens the incentive for a side that can't make the finals tanking for the last few rounds in order to finish 2-3 spots lower than they would have (say 14th instead of 11th).

I reckon there's an argument to make some adjustment such as shuffling the order in some balanced way in later rounds, even if they keep the second round as it is and it's only altered from the start of the third round.
I’d like a system based on:
  • Pick 1 - 18th placed team
  • Pick 2 - 18th on a 2 year H&A ladder
  • Pick 3 - 18th on a 3 year H&A ladder
  • Pick 4 - 17th placed team
  • Pick 5 - 17th on a 2 year H&A ladder
  • Pick 6 - 17th on a 3 year H&A ladder
  • Etc.
Then forget about priority picks. If you’re shit for multiple years the system factors that in. Also less incentive for single year tanking. You don’t get rewarded for a 1-year dip and bounce back. If a team wins a three-peat I’m happy with their first pick being #52 not #18.

I’d like a system based on:
  • Pick 1 - 18th placed team
  • Pick 2 - 18th on a 2 year H&A ladder
  • Pick 3 - 18th on a 3 year H&A ladder
  • Pick 4 - 17th placed team
  • Pick 5 - 17th on a 2 year H&A ladder
  • Pick 6 - 17th on a 3 year H&A ladder
  • Etc.
Then forget about priority picks. If you’re s**t for multiple years the system factors that in. Also less incentive for single year tanking. You don’t get rewarded for a 1-year dip and bounce back. If a team wins a three-peat I’m happy with their first pick being #52 not #18.
Wow that's more than just tweakage!

It certainly has some merit but is a bit of overkill to my mind. I'd want to look at some past scenarios to see how it would play out, but I'd certainly consider taking out the 18th placed team, 17th placed team etc and just make it the lowest on a 2 and 3 year ladder (or maybe 2 and 4 year ladder).

The risk is that the three-peat team could eventually have a massive crash after getting no ND picks under 40 for about 4-5 years (i.e. until their rolling average dropped low enough). Hawthorn have been crap for about the last 5 years anyway even under the current system and despite trading in players like O'Meara, Wingard, etc as a so-called destination club.

A related problem is that if that club has a FS pick who attracts a rival bid at say pick 3 they would be unable to muster enough points to counter it. Some might say that's a good thing but that opens up a whole different discussion about whether it's worth having a FS system at all. The basic premise of current arrangements seems to be that clubs are normally able to muster the required points from their annual allocation of picks no matter where they finish on the ladder. And yes it's progressively harder to match if you finish near the top, as we found at last year with the Sam Darcy bid.

Dunkley out Zerrett in????
Doggies supporter as a kid IIRC. I know some here don't rate him but we could do worse. He's only 15 months older than Dunkley.

Some symmetry to it as well. We gave up the pick (26?) that Essendon used on Merrett to get Stu Crameri (again, IIRC).

Chris Scott has been a very good coach for 11 seasons now, but does he have to win the flag this year to be considered a great one? This is the first time he's got a side close to the same win/loss record as 2011 - three losses then , four now.

At times the Cats board has said the same things about their coach as we have for ours. There's only one prize in AFL and if you don't grab it the heat comes.

Geelong and Sydney are the two most consistent and well run clubs this millenium. I back Longmire to win this one, he's got Sydney firing at the business end of the year & Geelong will be haunted by the fragility of finals past.

That's said this season has been so fascinating who could discount the possibility of a Lions v Pies final?