No Oppo Supporters Non Bulldog Footy Talk - Bulldogs only - Part 4

To be fair, he achieved a rare stat line 22 kicks, 11 handballs, 11 marks, 13 tackles. Only the 8th player to do so I think. So understandable they are talking it up.
But if you have a look at Neale, he had a very quiet night, Dunkley was doing all of the work, Neale unsighted, not complimenting each other are they.

And 11 turnovers

No different to half of our players ball use. I'm sure we can nit pick the worst stat of every player on the field. If our players had half of Dunkleys work rate in the first three rounds, we might be sitting in a better position.

For the record I do not care that he is no longer with us either. But credit due because he did play a good game.

Let’s be honest, anyone “lured” to Tassie will be because of money. They will probably live in Melbourne but have a place in TAS to live during the season
Such rubbish. People who live in the city have such a weird ego that they seem to think everyone wants to there there.

A lot of the AFL would much rather live in the county than the city. They’ve just never had the choice besides Geelong.

That’s why players like Andrew Walker and Ben McEvoy move out of Melb as soon as they retire.

Look, Dunkley racks up the stats and has a great work rate, but how damaging was he? Just throwing out the question because I didn't see the game last night. Was it a Tom Mitchell type stats which go nowhere game or a break the lines, setting up scoring opportunities game?

Such rubbish. People who live in the city have such a weird ego that they seem to think everyone wants to there there.

A lot of the AFL would much rather live in the county than the city. They’ve just never had the choice besides Geelong.

That’s why players like Andrew Walker and Ben McEvoy move out of Melb as soon as they retire.
100%. Geelong became that in the last 20 years. Great lifestyle, space, low traffic, beaches, good schools. Now with rapid growth it’s starting to get too big and could become like a metropolis. Tasmania certainly offers everything Geelong has and maybe more. If I were a player I’d love to go and live there, even in my 20’s.

Look, Dunkley racks up the stats and has a great work rate, but how damaging was he? Just throwing out the question because I didn't see the game last night. Was it a Tom Mitchell type stats which go nowhere game or a break the lines, setting up scoring opportunities game?

He playred on Cripps and cut him out of the game. Great effort.

Fagan using him differently than Bevo.

He was very very good last night. Without doing too much thinking it’d be in the top 5 games he’s played. He had 11 turn overs but I watched the entire game and didn’t know that until I checked the stats. He did what Connor Nash did last week with Bont in the sense that he quelled Cripps and played a handy game himself, except he made Cripps completely ineffective whilst getting votes himself.

As a few of you have already said, that was pretty ordinary from Carlton. Only really looked vaguely dangerous once the lions had put the queue in the rack.

Re. Dunkley, he did what he is good at very well and often. He’d probably be an asset for any team. But he’s an absolute liability when the ball hits his boot, and I’m not entirely sure players like that are worth elite level money.
Avoided kicking for goal where possible, kicked his usual 1 behind.

But credit where it’s due.

We seem to say that a LOT these days. There’s something wrong with the game.
Umpiring is insipid. Allow players to hold onto the ball too long. These days players are so strong it’s impossible to bring them down so they wait until a mate arrives to dish it off.

Seriously need to look at this. It’s rugby.

Last nights Dunks game reminded me of late season 2019 Dunks. Tackling like a monster. He’ll never be a good kick so no reason harping in that.

Also Cripps has zero impact on a game if he doesn’t win the ball in the middle. Can’t go forward and is a terrible kick.

Part of the Carlton Respects program, promoting respect towards woman. Been a program at the Blues for 7-8 years.
Great initiative but an odd choice to run with the orange against the Lions in Melbourne though.
Ok thanks, didn't know that. As you say odd choice, but given the cause, I'll retract my sarcasm, good on them.

He playred on Cripps and cut him out of the game. Great effort.

Fagan using him differently than Bevo.
Smart move by Fagan to quell Cripps and therefore Carlton using Dunkley in a run with.

Would it work against Oliver or Petracca et al? I doubt it as they are much quicker than Cripps.....and Dunkley.

He was a horse for a course in this game and played it well.

But the pointy end will be played against faster players. That was our dilemma and will probably be Brisbane's when the time comes.

I think a heap of mature talent wouldn't mind a Tassie sea change. I can't see too many 18 y.o's thrilled to be there though.

Young getting absolutely smashed on the Carlton board for all of the reasons he struggled at the dogs.

I for one didn’t want him to be moved on , but I am always very optimistic with players that have potential. He is a flawed player , and always will be.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeah he had a stinker. Was no surprise that he was the one subbed out.

With Lewis Young we're seeing when the going gets tough why he ultimately didn't play enough games for us, it's all well and good to play loose and intercept when you don't have an opponent but he falls apart when actually forced to man an opponent.

How does a team "force" a player to defend? How can a player like Lewis play loose one week and be forced to be more accountable the next? Serious question from an old bloke that finds this stuff confusing :think:

You force a defender to defend against their man by going through their direct opponent. If Young is going to play loose against, for example, Lobb then you aggressively attack through Lobb.