Opinion Non-Crows AFL 6: This Is Getting Cruel

You might be a self appointed expert subject matter here but seem to be getting slightly confused with material facts, considering the documented abortion within a year of the previous birth.

“Six months after the birth of their child, Ian and Amy were shocked to find they were expecting again.”

So they ignored the request the first time and then followed through with the initial request some time down the track. Isn't that what Sanders is saying? It's the distance between request and compliance?

What am I missing? Were there follow up requests/pressure?

So they ignored the request the first time and then followed through with the initial request some time down the track. Isn't that what Sanders is saying? It's the distance between request and compliance?

Six months after the birth of their child, Ian and Amy were shocked to find they were expecting again. She explains the initial excitement she felt and says it "was quickly replaced with fear when I remembered the trauma we had just gone through bringing our previous baby into the world."

"I spoke to Ian and he became stressed immediately. Not because he wasn't a capable, beautiful father, but because we both knew what the reaction of the club would be," Amy says.

"I didn't want to lose Ian again. I needed him there with me and the kids and I didn't want to put his footy career at risk. [I felt like] Hawthorn always used that against us."
She resigned herself to a termination whose heartbreaking legacy now surrounds her in the form of pregnancy-themed artworks and textiles she has created as a means of processing her grief and guilt.

Six months after the birth of their child, Ian and Amy were shocked to find they were expecting again. She explains the initial excitement she felt and says it "was quickly replaced with fear when I remembered the trauma we had just gone through bringing our previous baby into the world."

"I spoke to Ian and he became stressed immediately. Not because he wasn't a capable, beautiful father, but because we both knew what the reaction of the club would be," Amy says.

"I didn't want to lose Ian again. I needed him there with me and the kids and I didn't want to put his footy career at risk. [I felt like] Hawthorn always used that against us."
She resigned herself to a termination whose heartbreaking legacy now surrounds her in the form of pregnancy-themed artworks and textiles she has created as a means of processing her grief and guilt.

seems pretty obvious to me.they felt pressured to abort their second child based on the experience with their first. as per the above. getting pregnant 6 months after first bubs is born…not sure how much shorter “distance“ you and Sanders are referring to? It’s almost immediate.

sanders make some really interesting points and perspectiveS in this thread which I am enjoying reading (and learning from). Just think you guys have misread this part

I'm pretty sure you've had investigative journalists pursue you for a quote before, and I can't imagine they gave you an unlimited deadline before getting back to them ...

24 hours to respond to a journalist's question is very reasonable.

I’ve seen the full range of tricks, as you know, including the gotcha ones

Which this certainly was.

The journalist has zero responsibilities beyond that - he's not their lawyer.

Let’s see. Is that the same zero responsibilities that Sam Maclure that demonstrated

The integrity of the story depends on the fact that the journalist has many responsibilities in the collection and presentation of the various elements

Let’s see how this part of things turns out, I reckon we haven’t heard the last

Disagree. It's a long time ago and I'd have to go digging for a link, but my recollection is clear that what he actually said - not the way Jason Mifsud interpreted it - was not racist. It was blunt, and perhaps clumsy, but it was not racist.

Edit: Here's a link:

Maybe it wasn't a very, shall be say, diplomatic way to express himself, but it was not, as was alleged / implied at the time, a statement that he / the club would only recruit players with at least one white parent, it was a statement about what might happen if better mechanisms weren't put in place to support indigenous recruits.

Mifsud should have said "hang on a minute Matt, that's taking it a bit far" but instead he decided to go the "reporting for racism" route.

Not only was it not a line that he would not recruit such players, the proof is in the pudding

The most recent player Rendell had taken in the national draft prior to that comment was CEY, who possessed precise zero white parents

I think journos only give someone 24 hours to respond because they can say they gave them a chance to comment without running the risk of losing the advantage of getting the story out quickly. Give the other person too much time and they might proactively go to the media and beat you to it, so you lose the power of a scoop

Allegedly Cyril Rioli's wife kept all the text messages sent to her via Hawthorn as well as ones sent to the other indigenous girlfriends.

That's nail in the coffin stuff if true.

That was being alluded to - that their is evidence but lets see what plays out.

Clarkson has had a reputation (punching walls etc), this attitude he has may not be a stretch as one thinks.

Again, this is like most things in life, who has the power?

The media linking the Hawthorn situation and the Crows Camp, as well as other incidents, seems fair to me. They involve serious cultural insensitivity at their core, as part of a clear pattern that exists not just in the AFL but in many of our systems.

Ours however wasn’t indigenous based - it was about insensitivity and use of personal information - as it impacted both indigenous and white.

Over on the Port board, the Sack Hinkley thread keeps ticking along - but now with an added twist!

They’re thinking/hoping that Kenny might do a Bradbury and skate his way to a new job at Brisbane or NM as a result of the Hawthorn allegations 😄

Suddenly he’s looking good!

Over on the Port board, the Sack Hinkley thread keeps ticking along - but now with an added twist!

They’re thinking/hoping that Kenny might do a Bradbury and skate his way to a new job at Brisbane or NM as a result of the Hawthorn allegations 😄

My god they are delusional.

there’s no way Kochhead let’s Ken walk after kochhead told the world that Ken is going nowhere..

Kochhead has far too big an ego to let that happen..he’d sooner sign ken up to another3 years before letting that happen..

there’s no way Kochhead let’s Ken walk after kochhead told the world that Ken is going nowhere..

Kochhead has far too big an ego to let that happen..he’d sooner sign ken up to another3 years before letting that happen..

Ken will probably use the threat of this to get the three year extension!

Doesn’t hurt to let them get their hopes up every now and again.

kenny-bradbury-jpg.1516227

FiveAA going back to taking 3AW coverage for non-Crows and Port games. SEN's coverage will now be exclusively on the narrowcast band.

This is good news. It is a significantly inferrior product. AFL nation also call too many games from the studio.3AW do it as well but not to the same extent.

Also need to bring back a pre game.

Let it never again be said that the media in this town is Crows leaning.

“INDEPENDENT” Daily my arse

Let’s get Malinauskas to be political editor while you’re at it

It’s actually quite a funny article. Everything’s roses because fat Rioli wants to take their handfuls of cash, and Dixon was runner up in the Coleman a few years back