MFC Fans Only Non Demons Footy Chat 2023 - incl. AFL Grand Final

Yeah their list is actually pretty bad, Lyon has really surprised me with how well he’s done. They’re probably two years with some savvy recruiting off contending, desperately need mids though.
Could obviously be proven wrong, but St Kilda's current list looks destined to stay middle of the road. Yes, they're unearthing some good talent but their midfield just seems to lack star power. Sinclair etc will be in their 30's by the time Phillipou etc start making a real impact. Their top-up players won't last much longer either.

List isn't balanced and I suspect they'll be overtaken by Hawthorn etc in a couple of years.

Richmond are a danger team this year if they get into the 8. Collingwood, etc would not want to play them if they sneak into finals.
Who are they knocking out of the 8? Bombers have a very easy draw. As do the Dogs. Crows maybe most vulnerable but they are very hard to beat at home and they still have 5 home games and an easy away win against WCE. Tigers still to play Lions, Dees, Dogs, Saints and Port and also still yet to have their bye. Granted they do still have Kangas, WCE and Hawks to come. It will be close but they are coming from a ways back. Would take one of the 5th to 8th teams to get real wobbly, but all 4 of those sides have fairly easy runs home, so Tigers would have to knock off teams above them and hope a Crows or Saints etc get wobbly.

Could obviously be proven wrong, but St Kilda's current list looks destined to stay middle of the road. Yes, they're unearthing some good talent but their midfield just seems to lack star power. Sinclair etc will be in their 30's by the time Phillipou etc start making a real impact. Their top-up players won't last much longer either.

List isn't balanced and I suspect they'll be overtaken by Hawthorn etc in a couple of years.
Hawks and Kangas will be very very good in a couple of year time. Crows will be the side to beat by then IMO. If the Crows can unearth a midfield jet from somewhere, they'll be very hard to stop. Their defence and forwardline looks sound for years to come. I like their midfield, but it can definitely get better.

Agree on the Crows (unfortunately because I cant stand them). Surprising because at the start of this year I didnt rate them at all, but they've impressed me.

Forwardline is one of the more potent in the league - Tex will retire soon but they'll have Thilthorpe who I think could take his place easily. Midfield and ruck is their weakness at this stage, but fix that they'll be flag contenders.

Who are they knocking out of the 8? Bombers have a very easy draw. As do the Dogs. Crows maybe most vulnerable but they are very hard to beat at home and they still have 5 home games and an easy away win against WCE. Tigers still to play Lions, Dees, Dogs, Saints and Port and also still yet to have their bye. Granted they do still have Kangas, WCE and Hawks to come. It will be close but they are coming from a ways back. Would take one of the 5th to 8th teams to get real wobbly, but all 4 of those sides have fairly easy runs home, so Tigers would have to knock off teams above them and hope a Crows or Saints etc get wobbly.

St Kilda and Adelaide both far from certainties, particularly St Kilda.

Game and a half ahead of Tigers with a game up their sleeve. 3 or 4 easy kills in the back half. Tiges would have to win at least 7/9 to get in, 6 at a stretch which leaves not much room for error against teams around them. Not saying it's not possible, just think the Crows more vulnerable a game further back and their match this week is against the Pies in Melbourne. They'll only be half a game ahead of Tiges with 9 games to go.

Crows last 9 games - Kangas(AO), Bombers, Giants (AO), Dees, Power (AO), Suns (AO), Lions, Swans (AO), Eagles

Tigers last 9 games - Lions, Swans (MCG), Eagles, Hawks (MCG), Dees (MCG), Dogs, Saints, Kangas (MCG), Power

Tiges with 1 less home game than Crows and have to play 1 more team in the 8. I have them both winning 5/9. Both likely to win one they shouldn't or drop one they shouldn't, but i reckon Crows are the most vulnerable, but it will be close.

Saints last 9 games - Eagles, Dees (MRVL), Suns, Kangas (MRVL), Hawks (MRVL), Blues (MRVL), Tiges (MRVL), Cats (MRVL), Lions.

Saints with 6 out of their last 9 at home. As average as they've been in the last month, i can't see them missing the 8 with that draw.

Cats is the interesting one for me. Still got 6 home games to go. If they win 5/6 then they will be thereabouts. Going to be a tight race for finals.

Curious why though? They specialise in tough, contested footy which is especially suited to finals. Still lots of premiership players there. Perhaps a bit too old/slow might be a concern.
Because if they could regularly beat top 4 teams, they'd be top 4

Rough getting played so easy hey mate

Played easy? your point was if they regularly beat top 4 sides, they be in the top 4.

We're top 4 and are 1/3 against top 4 sides.

Your smartarse comment was debunked. I know having posted on here 50,000+ times, you must enjoy being a trigger happy troll - don't worry, one day I'm sure you'll have something more than this...

Played easy? your point was if they regularly beat top 4 sides, they be in the top 4.

We're top 4 and are 1/3 against top 4 sides.

Your smartarse comment was debunked. I know having posted on here 50,000+ times, you must enjoy being a trigger happy troll - don't worry, one day I'm sure you'll have something more than this...
😂 🎣🎣

there's definitely some psychological demons in people that get off on being morons
Beer Ok GIF by Busch

Good one mate

Curious why though? They specialise in tough, contested footy which is especially suited to finals. Still lots of premiership players there. Perhaps a bit too old/slow might be a concern.
I'm just not convinced with Richmond yet. They've had three wins in a row which is great but they've looked pretty average most the season. I'm a hold on them.

Same was said about them last year and they didn't get past the first week.
They would have if Lynch's kick had been correctly called. Would rather have played them than Brisbane in the EF in hindsight!

Video review absolutely made the right call.

MFC Fans Only Non Demons Footy Chat 2023 - incl. AFL Grand Final