Oppo Camp Non Geelong football (AFL) discussion 2021/2022

Good game of footy. Go Freo. Dees probably due for a loss but if you were at K.Park when Freo beat us, you saw how good they can be. Umpiring was good too.

This result is just an aberration.
Perhaps - ive been very bullish on the Dees right through- but they were terrible today

Carlton in 1995 only lost 2 games for the year - i think it was to Stk and Footscray who were shocking sides at the time - so all powerhouse/great sides can have down days - but it will be interesting how Melb respond

It is easy to say -look the competition is garbage - but it is - i mean we are 7-4 - we could quite easily be 10-1 - those 3 narrow losses StK - Haw - Frem - we were in front and had control of those games - so we could be 10-1 - but our 2007-13 team would beat our current team by about 15 goals - so the current comp is shocking really

They've shut Melbourne's midfield down.

Not sure we can do that, though it may depend on who's available come game time.
With any luck with injuries by July 8 we could have a few ins to make us better. Menegola, Danger, Holmes and Henry.

Maybe. I give it a 50% chance of being an aberration, 50% chance of the start of Melbourne falling in a huge heap.
Teams will dissect this victory and if they are good tactically, will be able to trouble Melbourne.

Everyone has been drinking Melbourne’s bath water this year. they were excellent during the finals last year, but were not some sort of dominant juggernaut during the season. A strong finish to 2021 has made everyone think that they are the second coming of Brisbane/Geelong/Richmond. When you hit that sort of purple patch - suddenly every player on every line looks like they should be in the team of the century.

Thus far in 2022, they’ve just demonstrated that they are in form right now and a good team.

Plenty of things have to fall in place to win a premiership, plenty of teams in the past have looked amazing mid-year, only to be worked out or have injuries or hit poor form or just have luck go against them.

Yep I’m confident around the ground but Melb midfield will flog us atm
Well yes. And many other midfields too. Adelaide’s midfield gave us a bit of a lesson too.

But the key is knowing your weaknesses and strengths.

Today, when we were losing clearances and contested football - what did we do? Did we try and win these things - despite not having any dominance in ruck or midfield personnel? No. Strangely - what went up was tackles. We committed to pressure. It was telling. I suspect our coaches saw it - and rather than flogging a dead horse - they said - let’s control what we can control. The second we turned on the pressure, we controlled the turnovers and our intensity lifted.

I reckon when we play Melbourne- expect us to tackle them like machines.