Game Day 2024 AFL Draft Live discussion Rd1, 2-4 and Rookie Draft

What time are today's drafts?

With the two-night Telstra AFL Draft done for another year, the pre-season draft (PSD) and rookie draft will take place on Friday afternoon from 2.55pm AEDT, which you can watch exclusively live on AFL.com.au and the AFL Live app.

What pick dance were you think we should have done? Maybe the cost of trades was just on the nose so we kep our selves clean for next year. I think the SWans may have jumped us on Bice. Interesting. Did any phantom have us linked to any of our picks?

You think the mature ruck Blak.. and someone like Henderson is chance for Rookie?

I never wanted to trade the future 1st. But when gerryn and Clarke were near our pick I would have tried to trade up (probably gws at 36) say with a future 2nd or swaps to get one.
I don't know if the dogs traded back in specifically at 51 because they thought we would take Davidson at 52 but he was predicted in that range so given a few 40s picks were traded I feel we should have anticipated it and traded up to grab him.
I'm not disappointed in our picks but I think we could have maximised it more.

With today I would assume we take some mature ruck backup and I'm guessing either someone from our vfl team like Herbert or a mature ager like henderson. No idea on the 3rd pick.

Archer Day-Wicks, one of the Werribee mids and Floyd Burmeister would be the guys I’d love them to take.

I like burmeister a lot but now we have taken molier I'd say there's no point taking a tall ruck unless it's someone ready to go for 2025.

Unless we really like them I'd pass on older mature aged players. We kept Bews, Duncan and Stanley who provide our mature depth.

I'd also pass on a mature ruck. At best they'll take 30 games to really find their feet at AFL level. Blicavs and Stanley are better options this year in the ruck and by the time an older player comes good Conway and Edwards should be ready to go.

I'd focus on high upside youngsters.

Bews and Duncan are both Cooked physically and are basically there as paid coaches without impacting the soft cap.

Stanley will play if we've got no ruck options but he might be struggling as much with the knee as ceglar was in his last year so I think we need another option.

I wouldn't be against taking at least one mature option to give us more depth for next year.

I never wanted to trade the future 1st. But when gerryn and Clarke were near our pick I would have tried to trade up (probably gws at 36) say with a future 2nd or swaps to get one.
I don't know if the dogs traded back in specifically at 51 because they thought we would take Davidson at 52 but he was predicted in that range so given a few 40s picks were traded I feel we should have anticipated it and traded up to grab him.
I'm not disappointed in our picks but I think we could have maximised it more.

With today I would assume we take some mature ruck backup and I'm guessing either someone from our vfl team like Herbert or a mature ager like henderson. No idea on the 3rd pick.
It was an interesting part of the draft. We bid on The Brisbane kid I think partly to get them to use the 3 picks in the middle of our next one.

They clearly outsmarted us and countered and traded them all out for picks next year. A joke really. The real joke was that clubs allowed them to get free picks next year by not properly bidding on their kids early in the draft this year. I’m sure they will package those up next year for a top talent.

Clubs have pretty good info. I have no doubt the Dogs knew the cats were ready to pull the trigger. I wonder which club was hot on Polkinghorne. Nowhere did people expect him to go that high. Would he have lasted 7 more picks to our next one?? You’d have to say he would have.

It was an interesting part of the draft. We bid on The Brisbane kid I think partly to get them to use the 3 picks in the middle of our next one.

They clearly outsmarted us and countered and traded them all out for picks next year. A joke really. The real joke was that clubs allowed them to get free picks next year by not properly bidding on their kids early in the draft this year. I’m sure they will package those up next year for a top talent.

Clubs have pretty good info. I have no doubt the Dogs knew the cats were ready to pull the trigger. I wonder which club was hot on Polkinghorne. Nowhere did people expect him to go that high. Would he have lasted 7 more picks to our next one?? You’d have to say he would have.

Yeah that's my issue. It was obvious Brisbane were going to try to trade out once we matched.
I don't know why we weren't then on the phone to Collingwood to try and bring 52 forward (while the campo bid was being matched) as it was obvious whoever Brisbane dealt with might take Davidson. Yes I'm somewhat annoyed we didn't take Davidson at 44 as I reckon we would have still got polk at the next pick but you never know these things.

I love that Fox and the H/S still running with the story this morning that we offered Rich a F1st to pick up Dodson at 28.

We overlooked him another two times and then picked up his backup at club level )let alone state level)

Safe to say we had absolutely zero interest in him.
Fans, Media and experts alike need to fully admit they have no clue who Geelong will pick 90% of the time

Carlton traded pick 12 and pick 14 for pick 3 during the trade period

North could jump up a bit next season but the only teams I would be confident they finish ahead of would be Richmond and West Coast

Therefore I would value their future 1st at pick 3

In comparison to what Carlton gave up for the same pick they got pick 27 and Richmond's future 2nd rounder which will be at about pick 25

Unless Whitlock is Wayne Carey incarnate they have been robbed blind

Can't spin it any other way
I had a bet with a mate last night. I plucked a figure out of my butt and said "$90 bottle of wine"

He's a North supporter. Thinks they'll win 6-8 games.
I said 11. So thats the bet.

I had a bet with a mate last night. I plucked a figure out of my butt and said "$90 bottle of wine"

Hmm North winning 11 is hard to see that would put them just outside the 8 but it would be funny to see Richmond fans crying if it came true

Hmm on second thought if North can beat WCE twice maybe they could get to 10ish wins due to getting WCE and Richmond twice which would start them at 4

The power of the MSD is basically gone now that clubs are taking chances in mature agers a bit more. The mechanism is basically ineffective now
Or post COVID.

There were a few that slipped through the cracks there over that '19-21 period like Newcombe, D'Ambrosio, Durham etc.

Now that order has been restored a bit, if those types exist they're just getting taken in the draft again, even if late.

Ihad a bet with a mate last night. I plucked a figure out of my butt and said "$90 bottle of wine"

I Want Some GIF by youngest media

11 wins lol
I’ll even give you 9

Is there any ball pig - hunting types left? That's the area of the ground we got killed.

I do like our selections, they all seem to play with high impact, but I feel all of them go missing in games. They look a bit more boom or bust, or just potentially role players. But that is expected given where we entered the draft.

I don't mind our picks in isolation 2 are very powerful players (polk and keighton) and players with real speed (molier and lennox) and that's the way the game is going. It's a good draft.

I just feel like we let slip the chance to make it a great draft through better live trading.
With some quick moves we could have ended up with gerryn (who is equally athletic) and Clarke or bice/Davidson. Missing both mature agers by 1 pick is a fair bit galling.

That said not a bad draft for the picks we had and i think Hoffman in particular will be a ripper.
Not taking a mature ager tonight says we have more faith in guys like knevitt and Clark than I thought although it will be interesting to see if we take a mid like henderson or a 2025 ruck cover tomorrow (an issue we still haven't addresssed).
Agree - like our picks.
Also agree on need for a mature ruck - our rucks aren’t resilient or aren’t ready (or both). High likelihood of needing to rely on Blitz and SDK again.
Pike is young but big, resilient, showed good ruck craft, good second efforts, reasonably strong mark and knows our system- go for Joe! (The hill upon which - no doubt - I’ll die on).

Is there any ball pig - hunting types left? That's the area of the ground we got killed.

I do like our selections, they all seem to play with high impact, but I feel all of them go missing in games. They look a bit more boom or bust, or just potentially role players. But that is expected given where we entered the draft.
Again, the mid is Bailey Smith, and development from Holmes, Bruhn, Clark etc.

If we're relying on a kid picked in the rookie draft to fix that in 2025 over those guys then we're more f***ed than I thought.