Oppo Camp Non Geelong football (AFL) discussion 2021/2022

Could see Joel being a mentor at clubs rather than a coach. His game preparation, physically and mentally, and how he conducts himself as a human off the field, are what clubs would die to have for their young players.

Imagine you get the next 18 year old De Goey, immense talent but potentially a wreck off field, and he has a guy like Selwood to help him navigate life and football from 18 to 22 before they can stand on their own two feet.

Thought some of you might find this entertaining!

Since my 'Scotty Doesn't Know' video has had almost 20k views on YouTube, I decided to take down another club with a new video. Here are a few snapshots to help you guess the club in the crosshairs. Clue: The video/song is called "Oh We're a Violent Gang!"

1656968917077.png
1656968943357.png
1656968966052.png
1656968992894.png
1656969013777.png

It should be done within the week.

Jake Niall thinks North are in the market for a guy who would command respect the minute he walked in the door. Guys like Gaff and Matt Crouch for mine are the complete opposite. Why wouldn’t they offer the Swans’ Kennedy, Selwood or Pendlebury two years with another 3 as an assistant?
Only Kennedy would go.

I think North used to have this type of player, but over time - experience went and youth and instability came in. It’s a lesson for all the nuffies who want CS out and our list management to skew towards youth.

I think North can only really try and get that respect by having a renowned coach come in- however- Carlton tried it with Malthouse and he couldn’t so much, meanwhile Matthews did it with the Lions so 🤷‍♂️

Haven't seen it. Roughly how many minutes in?
It was before the first ad break, IIRC. It was very awkward. Some on social media are saying Robbo was back to his drunken self again on the show. Kath showed through the whole night she knew more about footy than old Robbo.

He’s always been a drunk I know people who have seen him staggering around in pubs blind drunk on workdays

How he has a high profile career I’ll never know he practically cried on tv every time during the Ess drug cheating days. The media landscape and professionalism in this country is ****ed.

Watching AFL360 last night, and all I can say is how rude was Robbo to Kath? That bit where she was talking to him while he read the paper was disgusting TV. The look on poor Kath's face said it all.

They really need to change Robbo out - he was moderately amusing in a crazy uncle sense at first but it's wearing thin after so many years.
He adds no insight whatsoever and is incapable of logical thought or analysis.
360 was so much more enjoyable when he was missing :(

I'd rather listen to Nick Riewoldt than Robbo, and I hate that flog.
Riewoldt was being a massive pissbaby on the couch when the Hipwood stuff was being discussed. Makes me wonder if Hipwood is actually a Riewoldt with how much he went into bat for him.

Massimo D'Ambrosio taken by Essendon at pick 3 MSD got a Rising Star nomination in his 3rd senior game aged 19. Our recruiters should be taking note of whatever skills and attributes he showed before getting drafted, including last season, and keeping a lookout for similar players in case they have the potential to step up like he did.

Riewoldt was being a massive pissbaby on the couch when the Hipwood stuff was being discussed. Makes me wonder if Hipwood is actually a Riewoldt with how much he went into bat for him.
I can't watch The Couch. Three of the biggest blowhards on TV on that show make it unwatchable. The only FoxFooty shows I watch are AFL360 and The First Crack. The rest is shite.

Since my 'Scotty Doesn't Know' video has had almost 20k views on YouTube, I decided to take down another club with a new video. Here are a few snapshots to help you guess the club in the crosshairs. Clue: The video/song is called "Oh We're a Violent Gang!"

View attachment 1439856
View attachment 1439857
View attachment 1439858
View attachment 1439859
View attachment 1439860

Ah so you produced that music video.

Have to say, I had a good laugh at it when a mate sent it to me after 2020, I’m sure one of my mates will bring It up again if we bottle another finals series.

That preview of Jack Riewoldt's mic'd up bit looks interesting. Having never played the game but lots of other sports, I am fascinated by how things work out on the field. Footy is on the surface seems pretty chaotic unlike US football. How they communicate in game is very instructionable. He said something like 'line of contest'. Now that's something to look for in games.
I had similar reaction to Hodges' a few years ago. So enlightening.

That preview of Jack Riewoldt's mic'd up bit looks interesting. Having never played the game but lots of other sports, I am fascinated by how things work out on the field. Footy is on the surface seems pretty chaotic unlike US football. How they communicate in game is very instructionable. He said something like 'line of contest'. Now that's something to look for in games.
I had similar reaction to Hodges' a few years ago. So enlightening.
I remember playing local footy a long time ago and we had an ex-AFL player join the club and bring all the lingo.

Remember the first time I heard the phrase "bite off the 45" and thought what the **** does that mean.

View attachment 1439856
View attachment 1439857
View attachment 1439858
View attachment 1439859
View attachment 1439860

Awesome! Can't wait to see it.

Gold Coast has committed to re-signing Stuart Dew with the Suns coach set to ink a two-year deal to be announced as early as Wednesday.

The Herald Sun can exclusively reveal the Suns have brought forward the negotiations for Dew, who entered the season under massive pressure given the spectre of four-time premiership coach Alastair Clarkson potentially replacing him at the expansion club.

But after a brilliant coaching performance under extreme hardship this season, the Suns believe Dew is their man for the foreseeable future.