Oppo Camp Non Geelong football (AFL) discussion 2021

And my point was - do you think he cares that much? Footy fans have a tendency to look at a former player of theirs at another club and use their/their team's poor performance relative to the past/their team's performance as a sort of "gotcha/sucked in for leaving us" type of thing, but for many, as long as they have the money and the better off-field life, they probably don't care as much as the fans think. They're professionals and this is a job for them.

He was lazy in that last quarter

I only watched the 2nd half of the game - quite an entertaining game - he played ok in the 3rd qtr - kicked a nice goal

But in the last qtr - unless he was injured - with the game on the line - he gave absolutely nothing - it would be 1-2 possessions - if any - max

Top notch players - irrespective of your point about being comfortable about the money their being paid - have got that real will to win - he had none of that in the last qtr - none whatsoever

Can the club request the AFL dismiss the charge?
Would like to see an official statement from Geelong advising that the decision be withdrawn.
dismiss which charge? The one in the Duncan incident? It's not the club who is laying the charge, so they can't do anything to stop it.

Port won’t win the Premiership if they can only defeat Collingwood by the smallest margin there is on the ‘MCG’.
Not in May they won't.

It is WIDE open.
Have the Dogs peaked too early?
Can the Demons maintain the rage all year?
Can Tigers regroup and win 4 in 5?
Can Lions make amends for 2020?
Can we get it all together in September?
Is Port trying to peak when it counts?
Can GWS keep winning?
Will WCE become consistent?
Are Swans the real deal?

Holmans 2 weeks for his tackle on Duncan is the worst suspension I’ve ever seen
Honestly how are you supposed to tackle a bloke who's running full-tilt away from you? There's always a risk he's going to fall forward / get his legs tangled / not be able to brace. FFS it's a contact sport for a reason. There needs to be a better line drawn in regards to what's wreckless and what isn't.

from the office of the AFL (Legal Division)
Guidelines on Tackling 2022
1. Wrap arms around the ball carrier, below the neck and above the hips.
2. Prop and lift tacklee off the ground to arrest forward motion.
3. Gently cradle tacklee in your arms.
4. Lay tacklee onto ground like you would your first-born baby into his crib. (cooing lovingly to tacklee is optional)

Big game Melb v Footscray this week

My thinking was Melb were better - because they had beaten higher quality opponents - however i think the Dees have gone off the boil the last 3-4 weeks - starting with their win against Nth Melb down in Tassie - they won but it wasnt impressive . They were stifff against the Crows re umpiring closing stages

Dogs remind me of the Cats of the early 90s - in that they are smashing/annihilating average teams by huge ( 100 pt plus ) margins - it looks impressive - but when they came up against a top notch team ( Rich ) the 2nd half they fell to bits - and Tigers didnt have their best team in - far from it

I reckon this weeks game is all about Melb - can they get their mojo back - and play that impressive football they were playing earlier in the season - where as if they play like they have played in the last 3-4 weeks then they will get beaten easily

Just saw this on the Scandals & Rumours board. "Blood tests conducted on Essendon players were 'interpreted by AFL and ASADA investigators far differently from those at Geelong' during the 2013 supplements scandal". Not sure what to make of that - will be interested to see what comes of it when the book is released on Wednesday.

yfgtbl29dy071-jpg.1135922

Just saw this on the Scandals & Rumours board. "Blood tests conducted on Essendon players were 'interpreted by AFL and ASADA investigators far differently from those at Geelong' during the 2013 supplements scandal". Not sure what to make of that - will be interested to see what comes of it when the book is released on Wednesday.

yfgtbl29dy071-jpg.1135922

Sounds like it'll be a ripper read