Traded Ollie Henry - Traded to Geelong as part of a reported 3-way deal (details tbc)

I hope that the deal will come together but we need some draft upgrades. We need fewer picks imo. Picks 16, 25, 27, 33, 50, 51 hopefully can be turned into Mitchell (hopefully), Fiorini (slim chance) and 1-3 upgraded picks. Hopefully we can get Geelong, Hawthorn and maybe a few other clubs involved to get it done. Mega trade number 2.
Wright said today that they're not going to be pursuing Fiorini so put a line through that one.

I get this from other clubs, I asked this question a few posts ago with no reply but why don't the AFL just call players like this a free agent as the current club can't really do anything seems ridiculous situation he can just demand to go to a certain club which puts every other club off so we take what we are give or get nothing , seems to me the players at this stage are really just free agents
I think they'll move to that. Get rid of the psd and award a compo pick straight after the guy is taken in the national draft. It'd level the trade period.

Particularly as the current situation increases the power of stronger teams. The Dunkley one is just obscene. If he was going to a bottom club, they'd be giving a top ten pick plus. Whereas at a top club it's, two firsts is too much - even though their two firsts combined are valued lower in trade than one top 10 pick.

i think the AFL will laugh in collingwoods face if they go in and complain saying " this is a ridiculous situation and the club can't do anything" because the other club does not want to give exactly what you want for an uncontracted player offering you pick 25 instead of your demands for a first rounder. you are carrying on like we waved pick 50 in your face. That is negotiating and there is generally a well excepted principle of when you are out of contract the clubs bargaining power declines. Believe it or not but Ollie Henry has rights as well mate, and if collingwood want to demand x and y for him and he doesnt want to come back, he can make decisions to walk.
That is my point you could offer pick 50 and we would be in the same situation absolutely nothing we can do but take it or let him go. So my point is once players are out of contract call it for what it is they are free agents unless i am missing something. Not saying Collingwood should got to AFL or Geelong are doing something wrong as that is how the rules stand but seems a stupid convoluted process. And the draft for him seems pointless he will just scare other teams off (and not considered tampering) so just call him a free agent

i think the AFL will laugh in collingwoods face if they go in and complain saying " this is a ridiculous situation and the club can't do anything" because the other club does not want to give exactly what you want for an uncontracted player offering you pick 25 instead of your demands for a first rounder. you are carrying on like we waved pick 50 in your face. That is negotiating and there is generally a well excepted principle of when you are out of contract the clubs bargaining power declines. Believe it or not but Ollie Henry has rights as well mate, and if collingwood want to demand x and y for him and he doesnt want to come back, he can make decisions to walk... hence UNCONTRACTED.

And to answer your question more bluntly, collingwood absolutely has options here, i will provide a few of them
A) they accept pick 25 for a reserves second year player
B) they try to get more (25 + 33 if we get it)
C) they do nothing and he walks

what your more referring to is collingwood throwing a tantrum because they do not like the options and want things their way or the highway
Spot on mate actually agrre with you.
He can use massenger to talk to his parents if gws pick him up ,and play in front of 7000 fans.
And as per draft rules we can pick him up at 16 if available , if you actually look at it we are pretty much giving up our pick 16 for a future pick in 2023.

I think old mate is just trying to make #mackattack sound tough after #mackattack cried so many times to tab, Sportsbet, bet365 and many other bookies having a huge history of destroyed losses.
He wasn't tough. He could barely open the door to the weights room. But that's why all those tough forwards he owned left the field insecure, with PTSD and an existential doubt that they were ever any good in the first place.

This isn't a new phenomenon, and the Pies should be comfortable with it given their most cherished media person did exactly the same thing to Brisbane after only one year, almost thirty years ago.
You might want to read up on the Buckley scenario, as I don't think you know the rules at the time or what actually occured, including the trade price.

What has the price got to do with it? Could Brisbane have stopped Buckley leaving only after one year? At least the Pies can hold onto Ollie.

That is my point you could offer pick 50 and we would be in the same situation absolutely nothing we can do but take it or let him go. So my point is once players are out of contract call it for what it is they are free agents unless i am missing something. Not saying Collingwood should got to AFL or Geelong are doing something wrong as that is how the rules stand but seems a stupid convoluted process. And the draft for him seems pointless he will just scare other teams off (and not considered tampering) so just call him a free agent
i don't think anyone has actually had an abusive situation to this point in time, as offering pick 25 for ollie henry is well within the limits of fair given his first two seasons. You can bang on about how good you believe he is, but there is also the flip side argument of a player who goes missing for huge portions of matches, has almost no defensive side to his game, and was dropped to the reserves behind forwards who are not exactly world beaters (nathan krueger getting the nod as sub).

i would agree with you if we threw pick 40 or 50 in your face, but 25 is within the limits of fair and calls extreme exaggeration to your comment, as clubs do give reasonable deals for out of contract players. Whether it is what you want is another story

Well looks like he'll have to choose between re-signing for Collingwood for one year, or going to the draft and being taken by Collingwood for two years. It's completely up to him at this stage.
I will lol so hard if the pies use a second top 20 draft pick on a player they already had on their list.

that would be insane.

In all seriousness if I could put money on Esava joining Port for 33, and then Geelong trading 25 + 33 for Henry + 41, I’d do it. It sucks but it will probably be this.

Our leverage is that Geelong can’t move up from 24 at all with their current hand unless they touch pick 7. If they get 33 it might be enough to trade up to a Sydney or GWS pick and nab him at the national draft. I don’t think Collingwood would trade up from 27 to redraft him.
I think that would be fine, maybe a slight overpay by Geelong but getting 41 back would solve that. Also no way Pies draft him again, the amount of shit you would cop would make North send a blank cheque in the mail as thanks.

Yeah, three premiership All Australian. Pretty average.
I don't think Hertier Lumumba and Nick Maxwell were that fantastic either despite being AA premiership players. Put a solid defender in a great team with an extremely well drilled defence and they get inflated reputations. Ollie's brother will probably end up with an AA to go with his single premiership at some stage.

That's fair enough. Laughable to put Lumumba and Maxwell on the same platform as Mackie, but who am I to judge?

I think they'll move to that. Get rid of the psd and award a compo pick straight after the guy is taken in the national draft. It'd level the trade period.

Particularly as the current situation increases the power of stronger teams. The Dunkley one is just obscene. If he was going to a bottom club, they'd be giving a top ten pick plus. Whereas at a top club it's, two firsts is too much - even though their two firsts combined are valued lower in trade than one top 10 pick.

I agree with that actually. Doubt the afl does it though.

And they are lower teams

I stand by that

Were any a threat?
Freo were shown up in finals as crap
Carlton weren’t good enough to make the 8 after a red hot start

What else you want? They weren’t good teams sorry
Going by your logic, Jeremy Cameron is just as much of a flop. What did he do against any real threats?

Outside two junk time goals in the last quarter of the Grand Final and a last quarter junk time goal in the Prelim, he actually didn’t kick any goals against genuine threats this year.

Because any side outside Geelong and Sydney weren’t a threat.

Great logic 😂

The decision on your view of most value has been sent upstairs to the ARC.
Decision pending...
Pending...
Bong Bong
ARC says you're wrong.
The National Competition.
The AFL.
Created in1990.
GiddyUpCats!
How generous of the VFL to allow a couple of interstate sides to participate in our amateur league prior to 1990.

Well at least our under offers to our players are that insulting they leak it to the press & openly state it & request a trade
Our players leave for opportunity
So this thread has taught me that Geelong’s unders offers are appropriate, but Collingwood’s are ‘offensive’. Collingwood players leave because they’re insulted, but Geelong players only leave for ‘greater opportunities’. Geelong are unfairly treated when they have to let Clark go for unders, but when they offer Collingwood unders for Henry, it’s not unders, it’s ‘fair’. When the Cats pinch kids from other sides, it’s completely appropriate because ‘they came to us, we didn’t go after them’, but when Collingwood does, it’s ‘raiding the expansion teams’.

What I’ve learnt is there’s a few Geelong supporters who live in this weird fairytale land where they lap up the absolute shit they spiel.

What has the price got to do with it? Could Brisbane have stopped Buckley leaving only after one year? At least the Pies can hold onto Ollie.
It was a really different system. Players didn't nominate for the draft. A contract didn't come with being drafted. Players hadn't agreed to any of the terms and heaps of drafted players never joined the club that drafted them.

The draft gave a club a period of time where they had exclusive rights to sign the kid. Brisbane drafted an unknown kid called Nathan Buckley who had played a season in Darwin in their zone. But that kid hadn't agreed to be part of the draft or abide by it's rules.

Then he went on to tear the Sanfl to shreds and became the hottest non-AFL player in the country, but he had no intention of joining Brisbane, was threatening legal action and was going to stay in the Sanfl until Brisbane's signing rights expired if the legal action failed.

The AFL got involved because they didn't want legal action, wanted the best players to join the AFL and also to give some exposure to the struggling Bears and it was agreed that he'd move to Brisbane and be traded after his first year. He wanted to move to Melbourne. North and Collingwood were neck and neck, but Collingwood offered the best trade deal to the Bears - any two players from the club, outside 10 untouchables and a first round pick.

It wasn't particularly similar to the Ollie situation.

Cool. We get to keep 25 as well.

'If Henry entered the pre-season draft, rival clubs were adamant on Tuesday they would be reluctant to take him because of the homesickness problems he experienced living only one hour’s drive away from family in Geelong.

Interstate clubs said Henry was a no-go zone, and was set on ending up in Geelong to join his brother Jack'
In direct contradiction to what The Age reports.

Almost as if they’re just mouthpieces for various club sources!

They're way harder to win just based on having 18 teams. It's not even arguable.
Can you explain how/why it’s harder just based on having 18 teams?

It’s has been a final 8 for almost 30 years and when there were 15 teams, and prior to that it was a final 5 and 6 from less teams.

How exactly is it harder? Will it then become even automatically become harder when it’s 19 teams with the Tassie team? Just because they’re there?

Strange logic.

Traded Ollie Henry - Traded to Geelong as part of a reported 3-way deal (details tbc)