Analysis Pick Mitch Harvey now, not in 2017!!

Sad but true. Come on Mitch grab next year with both hands. Henschel show him how to protect spaceand also not get pushed under and or out of position for contested marks.
Well I reckon he will get his debut next week. Still.. . I reckon Harvey and Shaw will fight over a forward spot next season.

One of my favourite Dennis Cometti comments was when Josh (then #9 with Port) clashed with Matthew (#9 with Freo) in a game and Dennis said "”How's that, a two Carr collision, both with the same rego!".
Josh was wearing #2 when he went to Freo and he was joint vice captain along with Pav. It seems we have a History of number 2s being our VCs. Scott Watters wore number 2 and he was a VC under Ben Allan in Freos early years.

The whole Harvey > Butcher movement seems to have come a cropper.

Hopefully Harvey can get himself in shape for next year.

The whole Harvey > Butcher movement seems to have come a cropper.

Hopefully Harvey can get himself in shape for next year.

If Harvs was fit to play last week, but not selected because he needed a wake up call ( as was suggested by another poster ) you would think he would have to come back into the Maggie's line up for this sunday's game against westies.

I'm not too sure his form was that bad except for the last 2 games he played, ( chooks and gay bays ) before that he had to be averaging close to 2 goals a game, and was leading the Maggie's goal kicking for the season.

Edit
Harvs is 14th on the list of sanfl goal kickers with 20 goals from 15 games ( a best of 3 goals )
Palmer is 22nd with 16 from 16 ( also a best of 3 goals )
No other Maggie is on the list of 31 players

If Harvs was fit to play last week, but not selected because he needed a wake up call ( as was suggested by another poster ) you would think he would have to come back into the Maggie's line up for this sunday's game against westies.

I'm not too sure his form was that bad except for the last 2 games he played, ( chooks and gay bays ) before that he had to be averaging close to 2 goals a game, and was leading the Maggie's goal kicking for the season.

Edit
Harvs is 14th on the list of sanfl goal kickers with 20 goals from 15 games ( a best of 3 goals )
Palmer is 22nd with 16 from 16 ( also a best of 3 goals )
No other Maggie is on the list of 31 players

Magpies have 20 AFL listed multiple goal scorers.

Harvey 20
Palmer 16
Neade 13
Butcher 12
Moore 10
Redden 8
Wagner 8
Amon 8
Stewart 8
Young 7
Howard 6
Mitchell 6
Krakouer 6
Gray 6
Colquhoun 5
Logan 5
Frampton 5
Monfries 4
Ah Chee 4
Austin 2

Recently it seems to be less of a "go home" factor and more of a "leave Brisbane" factor. There's got to be a bit more than homesickness and lack of success when one team has lost most of its first-round draft picks after a few years. It doesn't seem to be that people don't like QLD as the other QLD team, the Suns don't seem to have a huge problem with players leaving. They had to shed a few when the concessions ran out but at the moment the only reason a lot of their stars are invisible is that they're all injured.
Not quite the thread for it, but from what I've heard they don't really do the little things to make young players feel welcome. Genuinely, something as (seemingly) small as not providing lunch for the players on days that they're in at the club, something every other club does.

With a bit of talk that Butcher might play finals for the Magpies this weekend (see Butcher thread) could this be Harvey's chance?

Had reasonable stats on the weekend - 14 disposals 18 hitouts and kicked a goal. Should have a reasonable match up against Peel Thunder.

With a bit of talk that Butcher might play finals for the Magpies this weekend (see Butcher thread) could this be Harvey's chance?

Had reasonable stats on the weekend - 14 disposals 18 hitouts and kicked a goal. Should have a reasonable match up against Peel Thunder.

lol

It took me a while to get the Peel Thunder reference

I reckon if Butch is going back for finals, it would be more likely its for Jay to come back in to the Power side.

He was ok I guess but I wouldn't call him up off the back of that game, Redden and Shaw impressed me more.

Would love to give Shaw a taste, try and convince him if his body is right, he is our next Key Forward

I do hope that he stays though and isn't off to WA (Freo, WCE or WAFL).

This year has been a waste for him, been injured and when he's been fit he's been down back.

He is clearly just a forward, Needs to stay there.

I do hope that he stays though and isn't off to WA (Freo, WCE or WAFL).

This year has been a waste for him, been injured and when he's been fit he's been down back.

He is clearly just a forward, Needs to stay there.

Agreed, Shaw is a natural forward, he looked a bit lost in defence in the games I have seen.
As I said in another thread, it will be interesting to see where he and Butch are played in the finals.

Assuming Reddo and Wild Billy share the ruck duties, Harvey will probably have to be squeezed into the forward line somewhere as well.

Agreed, Shaw is a natural forward, he looked a bit lost in defence in the games I have seen.
As I said in another thread, it will be interesting to see where he and Butch are played in the finals.

Assuming Reddo and Wild Billy share the ruck duties, Harvey will probably have to be squeezed into the forward line somewhere as well.

For mine I'd have...
Redden 70% ruck, 30% fwd
Frampton 70% fwd, 30% ruck
Shaw and Harvey as tall forwards
Butcher, Clurey and Howard down back
Masters off the bench

For mine I'd have...
Redden 70% ruck, 30% fwd
Frampton 70% fwd, 30% ruck
Shaw and Harvey as tall forwards
Butcher, Clurey and Howard down back
Masters off the bench

We have some good stocks there but really need two to step up over the off season to make a difference to our 2016 AFL season. The question is who stays and who goes, as we can't keep crossing our fingers with all of them.

For talls we may see Schulz and Shaw leave with Dixon (via trade) and a project KPF (via draft) replacing them.

Masters has been the best forward of the lot!
but not being a power listed player i get where your going with it

Defender you mean?

Since Sam Gray, Aaron Young and Ah Chee can't play for the Maggies in finals, We could see Clurey play in the middle a little bit which then could fit in Masters as a defender.

Analysis Pick Mitch Harvey now, not in 2017!!