pick No 6: Reece Conca

Rated comparatively low by phantom drafters I reckon tug. Word is he could have gone to Essendon at 8 or GC at 9/10/11. West Coast were believed to have considered him at 4. I remember describing him as solid watching him in the last Champs game and rated him around 20 based on that and the highlights on the AFL site, but viewing this new (to us) stuff you can see why FJ loved him. Who cares where so-called experts had him (Emma Quayle had him 13 maybe?)? Looks like we've got ourselves a beauty. I agree with Dustin and Madtiger, looks better than the others we overlooked.

Thanks McGun and RATD.
I am not in any way criticising our decision to get him. I am stoked. Looks like a kid you can build a club around. He and Cotch could well be the next Capt and V-Capt of our next flag.
I was just wondering why nobody rated him, or at least didn't appeart to rate him.
A little birdy told me, that Essendon were right into him. Freo were hoping like hell he would slide to them.

Thanks heaps Coughlan.

Feeling much better about taking Conca at 6 now. Absolute class. Almost like a classier version of Foley I think. Now just needs good run with injuries and an AFL tank.

Am liking him more and more.
Question is. With him being such a level headed, intelligent kid, and super impressive...why did people have him around pick 20 in mock drafts? Not knocking mock drafts or questioning Reece one little bit.
Just curious as to why he was rated compatively low and why we rated him so high?

There's one real good reason for that tug.

Those doing the mock drafts do not have the resources or the time to do the the research required on these players.

These kids are scattered accross the country. How many people get to see these kids live very often, or have a network at least that does?

How many so called experts, self appointed normally, actually do this for a living, day in day out?

How many of the people doing mock drafts have sat down and interviewed these kids, gone to their home and met their parents?

Psych tests?

Everyone else is making their decisions based on what they have seen on the park alone, yet there is much more to becoming a good footballer that raw talent. If Tambling doesn't highlight that football, like all sports, is so much about what is between the ears then nothing will.

Those doing the mock drafts do not have the resources or the time to do the the research required on these players.

These kids are scattered accross the country. How many people get to see these kids live very often, or have a network at least that does?

How many so called experts, self appointed normally, actually do this for a living, day in day out?

How many of the people doing mock drafts have sat down and interviewed these kids, gone to their home and met their parents?

Psych tests?

Everyone else is making their decisions based on what they have seen on the park alone, yet there is much more to becoming a good footballer that raw talent. If Tambling doesn't highlight that football, like all sports, is so much about what is between the ears then nothing will.
Some great points.
I am rapt Reece is with us. We could just have done the steal of the 2010 draft.

Just seen the highlights package and it's got me salivating at the thought of having him in the team. Looks a natural footballer with great skills and pace but even more so, a few times under pressure he was directing players as to where to go for him to deliver the ball...all whilst he was under pressure. That to me shows a pure footballer and I reckon we have a good one here ladies and gentlemen!!!

Psych tests?

Also according to the website the Francis Jackson has seen every game he played live this year. Reading the comments from Francis Jackson he was very confident of Conca's abilities that he actually found it a relief that Conca was injured for the finals and draft combine so he would remain under the radar of other clubs.

I'm going as far to say that our interest in Polec may possibly have been a red herring. If Richmond let on that we were very interested in Conca then the other clubs may start to do a lot more research on him to see why we're interested.

Ultimately this pick could end up like when we picked up JON early then expected or when Collingwood picked up Pendlebury earlier then expected. Seeing the amount of research FJ put into him and seeing what he is capable of in the footage from the RFC website, I'll put my money on the Pendlebury scenario.

Looking at that highlights package it's clear the guy understands what kicking is about. He can kick high, low, long, short and around corners and hit a target. It's something that's been in short supply at Richmond for many years.

He's obviously not a natural with his left but he's not afraid to use it, which will only make him better.

Welcome to Tigerland Reece.

Deledio, Cotchin, Martin, Foley, Conca, Morton, Edwards, Grigg, Jackson, Tuck.....loving this shit!

Yeah I'm with you on this one!!!! Just need to get a nice balance between inside mids and outside and we're nicely set.

And I'm still drooling over the highlights package of Conca. I tend to not get over excited and have had the stuffing knocked out of me over the years through the sh1t years but fair dinkum, I can barely contain myself. The kid looks to be an out and out gun (at the level he has played) and can't believe we got him at 6. This is either one of the best drafts ever or some teams will be made to look stupid in the coming years...hope it's both!!!

I also hope Grigg comes on and Cotch has an injury free run as I would love for others to see what most of us believe will be something fantastic.

I was really impressed with how clean he was off the deck, he looks like a really smart footballer too and wasn't afraid to go when it was his time to go.

Very pleased, everyone questioning this selection should have a closer look

Just watched the clip for the 5th or 6th time, And the more i watch it the more i like what i see.

In the space of 8 minutes i have seen a little bit of

Trent Cotchin
Marc Murphy
Ben Cousins
Joel Selwood
Gary Ablett

Cant wait to see him after 2 years playing with

Cotchin,Delidio,Martin,Foley,Grigg

Did you go on a bender TT? :)

Well...not quite a bender but had a back to 1980 night down here last weekend. Rob Wiley was one of our guests along with Flea and Disco Roach. 8 seasons at Perth FC for a lazy 8 B&Fs. He's a bloody top bloke and excellent speaker and we had a great night. I suspect he may have done a bit of due diligence for us on young Reece as he is now back in Melb and back in the Tiger fold. If you check yoiutube for Hobart Richmond Supporters group you can view the vids of our On the Couch. Quality isnt too flash but.

Just watched the clip for the 5th or 6th time, And the more i watch it the more i like what i see.

In the space of 8 minutes i have seen a little bit of

Trent Cotchin
Marc Murphy
Ben Cousins
Joel Selwood
Gary Ablett

Cant wait to see him after 2 years playing with

Cotchin,Delidio,Martin,Foley,Grigg

I see a bit of Jack Trengove and Stephen Hill as well.

So No pressure then.:eek:

Gee Nut, I thought one of the strengths on his highlights reel was his ability on either foot! watch again and see how natural both sides look.

I Watched it again and I still think he is one sided. At about 5.40 minute mark were he moves awkwardly onto his right foot and almost sprays the kick.
I only spotted him use his left on about 4-5 occasions and it did look ok.

Very happy with the selection though....

yeh i think it could just be the resolution of the footage! his kicking seems to be flawless to me!
Yeh he probably shanks a few kick but so does everyone, hell ive seen lids try to launch a left foot kick to the goal square for it to roll 20 meters along the ground!

I think reece will develope pretty quickly, to me he seems like Tom Scully this year! he's still skinny and raw but good enough to play AFL because of his speed, evasiveness and footy brains!

I think we've hit gold with this kid and by midway through next year the doubters will be very quiet!

pick No 6: Reece Conca