Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 23

Win 10 games against bottom 10 sides by less than 12 points?
They also beat Melbourne twice, and if they knock off the Cats, they're into a preliminary final. Given Geelong's recent history in qualifying finals, don't say it can't happen.

So what was said?
It seems to be confirmed by major news outlets that it was "I hope your mother dies" or similar.

Soon after the incident someone made up a rumour that several Brisbane players chipped in for Petty's sister to get an abortion when she cheated on Ryan Bastinac - the entire thing was pure nonsense made up by an absolute dickhead but it spread like wildfire until it was shut down. I think its probably the reason Melbourne are now releasing what was actually said.

Would be nice if someone like Robbo called Zorko a grub for his comments instead of trying to defend him by saying he's a good person off the field.

Guarantee you that if someone is saying that kind of shit on a football field, then they're probably just not a good person full stop.

The more I think about North and Clarkson, the more I think it will be an absolute disaster.

They are a club that simply cannot grow their base, it will take Hawthorn style success for them to even have a chance.

For THAT to happen will need substantial investment.

They are priding themselves on being debt free (on the back of Tassie money, running super lean and AFLW and government handouts).

If they do invest substantially and the Clarkson experiment doesn't deliver results, there's no way back out of the hole for them, other than Tasmania.

All I can think is that the re-location is all but assured if they don't win something soon and this is a desperate attempt to avoid it...or it has already been agreed.
Clarkson 2022 could be like Barassi 1972 for North Melbourne.

It wont be a carbon copy, but there will be a lot of similarities and maybe some similar on field results.

Barassi had 1972 season off to refresh, wanted to concentrate on his business interests. Was considered a great dual premiership coach and the best coach, not coaching in 1972.

North finished last in 1970, 9th/12th in 1971 and last in 1972. North have gone 17th/18th in 2020, then last and last, so its a similar type of era.

North had ex champion player Allen Alyett as Prez, came onboard in late in 1971 season and Ron Joseph was secretary/ceo and effective recruiting boss who worked with Albert Mantello to sign up all those players in no time, once the 10 year free agency rule was passed, which North voted against because they feared being screwed by it, but panic and smarts, and cash in brown paper bags, saw them move first, and they recruited three club captains - John Rantall South, Barry Davis Essendon, and Doug Wade Geelong within weeks of the new rule.

Sonia Hood is no Allen Alyett who became VFL Prez at end of 1976 season, Ben Amafio isn't Ron Joseph and the recruiting department at the moment has a big hole in it, but Clarko would have demanded some answers and guarantees on North improving this and other areas they have deficiencies in.

You know Clarko will bring in great assistants, did it for 18 seasons at the Hawks, and produced 7 AFL coaches, and he will attract players.

There is a 10 year free agency in 2022 like in 1972, but no brown paper bags and no strong WAFL and SANFL to raid over the next few years, but I expect North will get a priority pick. Probably pick 19 and not pick 1 but its better than nothing.

Barassi in 1972 attracted Bob Ansett. Ansett was a big fan of Barassi, helped him in his business interests, and changed his allegiance from Carlton to North because of Barassi. Ansett went from a coterie group member to Prez and brought in a lot of corporate $$$ and marketing $$$ and ideas to North and the VFL that changed footy.

Does Clarko have a Bob Ansett to bring to North?? No idea. If Tassie doesn't get up in the next few weeks or is delayed until say 2028, Clarko will probably be able to take advantage of Tassie sponsorship to keep those $$$ coming in. He along with the Hawks did a great job in Tassie in milking it for the $$$, and he has been working with the Tassie Taskforce on his year off.

Clarko to North wont be a disaster. But it probably wont be as successful as Barassi to North 50 years either.

Is it just a coincidence that Mark Williams at Richmond and melbourne has helped players at those clubs have the right mental approach to their footy. I know Choco wasn't at Richmond when they went top but imo he still had an influence on the players.

My point being, if we do replace Hinkley, Choco would be what we are missing in the mental and skill area of our game, he would imo make a fantastic head of development along with a new coach.
If we made Choco Hinkleys senior assistant old Ken would be out thedoor in 5 minutes.

Now way he could handle the intensity of the honest feedback

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I reluctantly accepted it because we had Ladhams and Hayes on the list and needed to give them a go to find out how good they were, especially Ladhams had a breakout year in 2019 and dominated at SANFL level. With the benefit of Ken Hinkley's genius coaching hindsight ..................
Imagine if the Swans go top - Ladhams receives his medal, and then says into the microphone, "Ken Hinkley - you were wrong."

Dayne Zorko stars in this weeks episode of "Things That Will Get You Fired in the Real World, But Not in the AFL"
I'll be happy to see his team fired from the finals series next week. I have no love for Richmond, but another Brisbane finals failure would be enjoyable.

Agreed, there's a real unjustified arrogance in that Brisbane team. Legit a bunch of campaigners.
If we did a poll on which team has the most punchable heads, I reckon the Lions would be right up there.

How would Zorko even known though? Seems it should be a private family matter that only MFC and close friends at other clubs would know about
Petty's sister is apparently dating Ryan Bastinac, an ex-Brisbane player who has a Rock The Razbah type podcast where he has current Lions players on as guests. That's probably how Zorko knows. It also adds an extra layer to what a piece of shit Zorko is, given that Petty's mother is also his ex-teammate's mother in law. Hopefully Bastinac clocks him next time he's at the club.

You’d shatter your hands on those ultra-thick skulls.
Put it this way - if the Cats go top, I won't be watching the presentation of the medals, as I'd quickly lose my appetite.

"Were gonna need more ribbon"

* in the voice of the waxing lady from 40 year old Virgin.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

ARGH!

I feel this personally.

I was not a star player but I was ok and did throw myself around a lot. I wasn't big, not too little, but undersized for a teen, tall than average but thinner too.
Every year at junior footy the most courageous player went to a short guy that also threw himself around and maybe wasn't quite as good as me at football stuff. I took it personally. I had concussions and blood rules and teeth knocks through my lips, year in year out, and only once did I get recognition for it. Always felt he got the award because he was short and not as good at you know, kicking and running and tackling, etc.

Sport can be a great leveller - I was at our league's Mail Medal count one year, not expecting to hear my name too often, if at all, when they read out "3 votes - G. Danger". Well, I jumped up and fisted the air, such was my pride - this is what you play for, much better than a mention in the 'also played wells' in the local rag. Next day a woman I worked with who'd been at the count told me that my outburst was "a bit unseemly". Thanks, luv.

Also with cricket, I was more of a bowler than a batsman (NABA actually), but one game I went in at my usual 9,10,Jack position and hit the first ball I faced for a six - the first six I'd ever hit. Got out the very next ball, but I was still buzzing when I got back to the sheds, looking at my teammates for admiration of the six, but all I got from the skip was "we needed you to hold up an end". Deflating.

Clarkson 2022 could be like Barassi 1972 for North Melbourne.

It wont be a carbon copy, but there will be a lot of similarities and maybe some similar on field results.

Barassi had 1972 season off to refresh, wanted to concentrate on his business interests. Was considered a great dual premiership coach and the best coach, not coaching in 1972.

North finished last in 1970, 9th/12th in 1971 and last in 1972. North have gone 17th/18th in 2020, then last and last, so its a similar type of era.

North had ex champion player Allen Alyett as Prez, came onboard in late in 1971 season and Ron Joseph was secretary/ceo and effective recruiting boss who worked with Albert Mantello to sign up all those players in no time, once the 10 year free agency rule was passed, which North voted against because they feared being screwed by it, but panic and smarts, and cash in brown paper bags, saw them move first, and they recruited three club captains - John Rantall South, Barry Davis Essendon, and Doug Wade Geelong within weeks of the new rule.

Sonia Hood is no Allen Alyett who became VFL Prez at end of 1976 season, Ben Amafio isn't Ron Joseph and the recruiting department at the moment has a big hole in it, but Clarko would have demanded some answers and guarantees on North improving this and other areas they have deficiencies in.

You know Clarko will bring in great assistants, did it for 18 seasons at the Hawks, and produced 7 AFL coaches, and he will attract players.

There is a 10 year free agency in 2022 like in 1972, but no brown paper bags and no strong WAFL and SANFL to raid over the next few years, but I expect North will get a priority pick. Probably pick 19 and not pick 1 but its better than nothing.

Barassi in 1972 attracted Bob Ansett. Ansett was a big fan of Barassi, helped him in his business interests, and changed his allegiance from Carlton to North because of Barassi. Ansett went from a coterie group member to Prez and brought in a lot of corporate $$$ and marketing $$$ and ideas to North and the VFL that changed footy.

Does Clarko have a Bob Ansett to bring to North?? No idea. If Tassie doesn't get up in the next few weeks or is delayed until say 2028, Clarko will probably be able to take advantage of Tassie sponsorship to keep those $$$ coming in. He along with the Hawks did a great job in Tassie in milking it for the $$$, and he has been working with the Tassie Taskforce on his year off.

Clarko to North wont be a disaster. But it probably wont be as successful as Barassi to North 50 years either.

That seems to be the dice they are rolling.