Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 23

Might pay to target and tap up someone like him well ahead of time instead of coming armed with a future 3rd rounder at the eleventh hour.

View attachment 1632150

“They said no, by the way.”
But he's only a big massive mobile unit not worth a 3rd rounder & it's easy to find defenders late in the draft etc.. wipes vomit from trade thread

Why is mcrae on the bench for the 2nd half I thought you were suppose to sit in the box and say" its up to the players" with 10 mins left 🤔
It's good optics. Poor for an overall tactical view of the game but if the game is won he may as well soak it up.

Monday night Craig McRae will run into a mental juggernaut when he comes face to face with Ken Hinkley on AFL 360.

Cats were underdone and Stewart was a bigger loss for them than Howe was for Collingwood. I'm still expecting Collingwood to drop to the lower part of the 8 and think your game next week against them will be close. You will also win tommorow by about 10 points

Its easy to like the way Collingwood play. Mitchells a great get obviously but Hill looked every bit an afl player for once.

Having said that, it was a defensive shitshow by both teams.

Thought Rat looked alright after a horror 5 minutes.

Its easy to like the way Collingwood play. Mitchells a great get obviously but Hill looked every bit an afl player for once.

Having said that, it was a defensive shitshow by both teams.

Thought Rat looked alright after a horror 5 minutes.
They looked seriously light on in experience and height as soon as Stewart hit the pine.

Getting strong Port Adelaide 2014 vibes from Collingwood. Exciting, fast, total buy-in from every player. Not sure they have what it takes to go all the way yet but they'll be right up there this year
I'd say they look more like hypothetical us in 2015 if Hinkley didn't shit the bed in the off season and we continued on the path of practise and refinement.

And without an elite FF.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

We could've had Stengle for peanuts lol

Hammer by his own admission told our recruiters get this guy he can play. I recorded the game and have got to say this was the GF we should've

had last year. Sydney tried slow build up controlled footy and got smashed. Had the Carringbush made it Wincey wouldn't have a Premiership :(

Ala a number of other posters the wobblers also reminded me of Port circa 2014, ie a lot of run and gun, attack the goal front whenever possible, don't worry too much about getting behind on the score board but back yourself in to keep coming at the oppo and eventually wear them down, and with little to none of the boring backwards and sideways keepings off BS.

On disclosed form I expect the Power will have their work cut out defeating any one of the 4 teams we have seen so far this round, kern will want a 4 qtr slog fest against the better teams and I can't see any quality coach coming to that party, and even though it's only round 1 today's game against brisvegas could be a definitive guide to what is in store for us this season.

The thing with the pies is that they seem to play to the level of their opponents. In the preseason, that pipped the Hawks at the death by a kick as well.

Will be interesting to see whether they do the same for us.

Carlton looked impressive and like winners most of the night. Good system. Good decision making, composed and calm in a crisis most of the time. Good disposal skills.
But, like last year, they couldn't sustain it.
And they didn't win!

Tigers were fumbly, lacked system and composure, two and three grabbing the pill, s***house disposal.
But they hung in there.
And drew a game they always seemed destined to lose!

Geelong looked like a well oiled machine. Straight lined every contest. One grabbed ground balls. Had a telepathic knowledge of where their team mates were. Their decision making and disposal skills elite. Goal kicking was sensational. Looked dominant and doing it easily most of the match.
But they panicked late, and stopped running.
And they lost!

Pies were like Richmond. Fumbled, had to take a second look to spot up a team mate, had no forward structure. Always seemed like the Cats would blow them away. Hesitant and nervous.
But they never lost belief, and kept on running until things "clicked".
And they won!

Moral:
Don't throw in the towel, no matter what. Self belief can sometimes (not always, but now and again) surprise you!

Why isn’t metres gained per possession a stat in the afl?

It’s arguably more relevant than plenty of the stats they peddle.

Doing rough maths

Tom Mitchell 12m a possession

Dangerfield 17m a possession

hard metres got v uncontested metres got would be an important demarcation

i'd also luck "ducks" and "dropped knees"

Just caught Kern's presser from yesterday on the club website. For a head coach going into his 11th season, he sure seemed on edge... jittery and fidgety... a little short with reporters (maybe that's his normal demeanour? I noticed he was a little short with Rowe on the radio too). Hasn't had a shave... looked like he hasn't slept much. Makes you wonder how he's gonna handle the undoubted and ongoing speculation "until August".

Cats were underdone and Stewart was a bigger loss for them than Howe was for Collingwood. I'm still expecting Collingwood to drop to the lower part of the 8 and think your game next week against them will be close. You will also win tommorow by about 10 points
For a Freo fan to post in here about a Port Lions game is reasonably unexpected so I’ll ask you why do you think we will win ?

Because he doesnt know who Tom Jonas is.