Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 27

Tom Rockliff. Shoulder was destroyed, if he was a soccer player he’d have failed the medical and the transfer would’ve been cancelled.
Was about to post exactly this. Was cooked.

Tom Rockliff. Shoulder was destroyed, if he was a soccer player he’d have failed the medical and the transfer would’ve been cancelled.

You're always on about this tribes but he actually had a pretty big renaissance in 2020 (10 Brownlow votes in 14 games). If we'd won the flag that year he would've been a big part of the reason why.

I am.

I never thought the juice was worth the squeeze, and him being part of the engine room that got steamrolled in clearances and contested footy when the whips were cracking in the 2o2o Prelim was a fancy exclamation point.

Don't forget Ollie Wines and Travis Boak. Melb, Dogs, Brisbane, etc. didnt have an answer for them.

You'd almost take that midfield over Laird - Crouch - Dawson.

The campaign continues.

How about sticking to your dismal science eh Tim? Norwood had their chance at a 'red hot go' when it mattered and squibbed it.

They've down f-all since on field ever since and when it comes to the AFL that's what matters more than being a place up the street from half decent skinny lattes and a couple of yearly food and wine festivals.

Haha Tim on Saturday night after we got back to his hotel from the double header at AO, told me he was going to write an article about the 20th team, but only after he asked me who I thought should get the 20th licence.

If you read the article closely, he says they should throw their hat in the ring, not that they deserve, or will get it. He says "If there was a third team from SA, it would surely have to be Norwood." I don't think that is an outrageous statement. Tim likes to write and get a bit of free PR.

Tim thinks Darwin should get it from a footy perspective, but he knows the economics don't stack up. Neither do I. We both agreed Darwin deserve it because they can actually produce enough AFL footballers to fill the team and they probably would attract brothers from around Oz in trades and you might finally see an Aboriginal coach in the AFL - I'm discounting Polly Farmer and Barry Cable from VFL days.

But Darwin is about 300,000 people short of what you would need to sustain an AFL team. Then there are issues about the weather. The local league plays out of sync with the AFL season because the wet season is a lot easier to play footy in, than the dry season.

If Tassie are forced to build a stadium with a roof to get a 19th licence, does that mean Darwin have to build one with a roof and air-conditioning, like stadiums in Qatar for the WC?? The NT government can't afford that and are struggling to deliver basic services.

I then told him what I wrote in this thread last Friday - HERE - what the AFL and clubs were forcing the Tassie government to stump up, ie $700m+ for the stadium, $60m for their admin and training base and $12m a year + CPI for 12 years for operational funding for the AFL and AFLW team.

I said to him that means the AFL are only interested in money which means a 3rd WA team is the only place that fits that bill.

He said the AFL aren't interested just in money, and said they are giving Tassie over $300m to help fund the team. Tim has done work for the AFL so he is pro their policies.

I said that its a bullshit figure as its over 10 years and $210 mil, of the $360m is AFL distributions, which the AFL give every club and most clubs would be getting over $150m over 10 years if they don't increase the distributions at all.

But the AFL will, as they basically fund the salary cap increase amounts every year. The GWS and GC will get more than $210m distribution over the same 10 years that a Tassie team gets.

The AFL are also giving Tassie $90m over 10 years for development of grass roots Tassie footy, but the AFL recently announced that over the next 10 seasons they will spend over $1bil on development, so Tassie footy was going to get $30-$40m anyway. The AFL are contributing $15m to the new stadium ie about 2%, which is better than the 1% they contributed to AO and $10m to the new training and admin base. There is another $35m for elite talent programs over a decade for both boys and girls.

I agreed that a 3rd WA team would be a difficult sell in Perth as it would be like the South Queensland Crushers were in the expanded NSWRL comp which became the ARL before Super League war forced them to fold.

They were invented partly because Ken Arthurson (chair) and John Quayle (CEO) didn't like the majority shareholders of the Brisbane Broncos, led by Paul 'Porky' Morgan and his mates, and John Ribot who was CEO, so when the exclusive 5 years no competitor licence clause was up, they gave a 2nd Brisbane team licence, but gave them 2 and a bit years to prepare, and they had no heartland and no real support, people who barracked for them were basically anti-Broncos supporters and the Crushers didn't tie in with any Brisbane Rugby League clubs, especially those with a long successful history.

The Redcliffe Dolphins will work better because they come from a successful BRL team who became even more successful when that comp folded and the Queensland Cup became a state league not just Brisbane, they have their own boutique 10k stadium 30km from Brisbane CBD, they have a licensed/pokie club that has $20m in the bank and several big property investments, and wjilst the Redcliffe peninsula has only 60,000 people, they are part of the City of Moreton Bay which has 450k people and is close to their heartland and a bit further away is Sunshine Coast region which is another 400k people. And Wayne Bennett as a foundation coach is a bloody great move.

So they have followed the Port Adelaide model in terms of existing club/geographic separation from Adelaide and Fremantle's geographic separation from Perth and drawing on rich Freo footy culture model.

Canberra has been lost to Rugby League's Raiders and Union's Brumbies, and a team there will hurt GWS.

Tassie was about righting a footy historical wrong. GWS and GC was about plenty of new eyeballs and TV dollars. The 20th licence doesn't cover any of these criteria.

Bottom line is the $$$ say a 3rd WA team, practical common sense says we will have a 19th team comp for at least a decade. That's alright we survived 4 seasons with 15 teams in the early 90's.

Galucci - fail
Fogarty - borderline. Really should be producing more.
Jones - finally playing some ok footy but not worthy of a top 10 pick. You could pick up a similar player in the pre season draft.
McHenry - fail, should have been about pick 60, not in the top 20 lol.
Mcasey - fail
Thilthorpe - jury's still out. Would want to start hitting his stride next season.
Pedlar - decent but gone backwards this year, possibly due to poor coaching/being played out of position.
Rachele - looks incapable of progressing to the midfield. Still too early but could easily be another bust.
Michelanny - looks a gun. Finally nailed one.
Curtin - too early

Haha Tim on Saturday night after we got back to his hotel from the double header at AO, told me he was going to write an article about the 20th team, but only after he asked me who I thought should get the 20th licence.

If you read the article closely, he says they should throw their hat in the ring, not that they deserve, or will get it. He says "If there was a third team from SA, it would surely have to be Norwood." I don't think that is an outrageous statement. Tim likes to write and get a bit of free PR.

Tim thinks Darwin should get it from a footy perspective, but he knows the economics don't stack up. Neither do I. We both agreed Darwin deserve it because they can actually produce enough AFL footballers to fill the team and they probably would attract brothers from around Oz in trades and you might finally see an Aboriginal coach in the AFL - I'm discounting Polly Farmer and Barry Cable from VFL days.

But Darwin is about 300,000 people short of what you would need to sustain an AFL team. Then there are issues about the weather. The local league plays out of sync with the AFL season because the wet season is a lot easier to play footy in, than the dry season.

If Tassie are forced to build a stadium with a roof to get a 19th licence, does that mean Darwin have to build one with a roof and air-conditioning, like stadiums in Qatar for the WC?? The NT government can't afford that and are struggling to deliver basic services.

I then told him what I wrote in this thread last Friday - HERE - what the AFL and clubs were forcing the Tassie government to stump up, ie $700m+ for the stadium, $60m for their admin and training base and $12m a year + CPI for 12 years for operational funding for the AFL and AFLW team.

I said to him that means the AFL are only interested in money which means a 3rd WA team is the only place that fits that bill.

He said the AFL aren't interested just in money, and said they are giving Tassie over $300m to help fund the team. Tim has done work for the AFL so he is pro their policies.

I said that its a bullshit figure as its over 10 years and $210 mil, of the $360m is AFL distributions, which the AFL give every club and most clubs would be getting over $150m over 10 years if they don't increase the distributions at all.

But the AFL will, as they basically fund the salary cap increase amounts every year. The GWS and GC will get more than $210m distribution over the same 10 years that a Tassie team gets.

The AFL are also giving Tassie $90m over 10 years for development of grass roots Tassie footy, but the AFL recently announced that over the next 10 seasons they will spend over $1bil on development, so Tassie footy was going to get $30-$40m anyway. The AFL are contributing $15m to the new stadium ie about 2%, which is better than the 1% they contributed to AO and $10m to the new training and admin base. There is another $35m for elite talent programs over a decade for both boys and girls.

I agreed that a 3rd WA team would be a difficult sell in Perth as it would be like the South Queensland Crushers were in the expanded NSWRL comp which became the ARL before Super League war forced them to fold.

They were invented partly because Ken Arthurson (chair) and John Quayle (CEO) didn't like the majority shareholders of the Brisbane Broncos, led by Paul 'Porky' Morgan and his mates, and John Ribot who was CEO, so when the exclusive 5 years no competitor licence clause was up, they gave a 2nd Brisbane team licence, but gave them 2 and a bit years to prepare, and they had no heartland and no real support, people who barracked for them were basically anti-Broncos supporters and the Crushers didn't tie in with any Brisbane Rugby League clubs, especially those with a long successful history.

The Redcliffe Dolphins will work better because they come from a successful BRL team who became even more successful when that comp folded and the Queensland Cup became a state league not just Brisbane, they have their own boutique 10k stadium 30km from Brisbane CBD, they have a licensed/pokie club that has $20m in the bank and several big property investments, and wjilst the Redcliffe peninsula has only 60,000 people, they are part of the City of Moreton Bay which has 450k people and is close to their heartland and a bit further away is Sunshine Coast region which is another 400k people. And Wayne Bennett as a foundation coach is a bloody great move.

So they have followed the Port Adelaide model in terms of existing club/geographic separation from Adelaide and Fremantle's geographic separation from Perth and drawing on rich Freo footy culture model.

Canberra has been lost to Rugby League's Raiders and Union's Brumbies, and a team there will hurt GWS.

Tassie was about righting a footy historical wrong. GWS and GC was about plenty of new eyeballs and TV dollars. The 20th licence doesn't cover any of these criteria.

Bottom line is the $$$ say a 3rd WA team, practical common sense says we will have a 19th team comp for at least a decade. That's alright we survived 4 seasons with 15 teams in the early 90's.
Vics won’t be happy with more travel to WA.
( Do they actually travel to WA?)

Can’t remember who it was, but someone said on here “they will be lucky to be there within the next 10 years”.

I think they might be right. No idea how the Crows will make a mid-2026 time frame for an $100m project that doesn’t have planning permission.
Festerz said it, I agreed and said 7 would be best case scenario and listed all the organisations they have to deal with to get it all done. It was at least 6 if you limped all the government funding as 1 lot.

I actually looked up my original post this arvo when I read the story, as I couldn't remember when I wrote this. It was August 2022.

But I didn't know about SANFL moving back to West Lakes and didn't have Charles Sturt Council on the list. The crows recently said they are looking at moving in, in 2026 but didn't say if at the start, middle or end of year.

I also looked up when the South Road upgrade is supposed to start as it always seems to be in the never never as that was Dept of Transport and South Rd was one of the 6 organisations I mentioned. Supposedly 2025, but they don't say when in 2025 and supposed to be completed in 2031.