Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 29

Don't understand why we don't use silver as much in our merch. It would look better with the black & white.

I hate to say it but this cap looks clean with the silver logo on the black background.

Agree. Looks great. In colours that have nothing to do with the crows but 100% part of ours.

For a club formed out of deep seated jealousy of the success of the PAFC Magpies, the harder they try to be them the further away they get. (sadly so do we)

View attachment 2161492
I reckon i'll be seeing a lot of those in the op shops in the next couple of years like the we fly as one caps that are in abundance

Confidential settlement - ie lock things away forever, a week after AFL's ban on Joel Smith.

The long-running feud between the Melbourne Football Club and former president Glen Bartlett has finally ended. Melbourne issued a statement on Thursday night, revealing that a confidential settlement had been reached. Bartlett was appointed president of the club in 2013 and his tenure ended in April 2021.

In the past few years Bartlett has levelled several allegations about the club, its culture, and coach Simon Goodwin. Accusations linking Goodwin and drug use were also raised and have been investigated. The club says those allegations were “false and had no basis in fact”.

“These allegations have caused enormous hurt and pain for Simon and his family for which all parties are deeply sorry,” the club said in a statement.

The settlement comes a week after club CEO Gary Pert stood down.

In September president Kate Roffey, who took over from Bartlett, also walked away from the job.

Read the full statement

The Board of the Melbourne Football Club, Mr Glen Bartlett and Ms Victoria Laspas, are pleased to announce that all proceedings between them have been resolved to the satisfaction of all parties. A confidential settlement has been entered into between the parties to avoid the costs of litigation for all.

Individual recollections and perspectives can differ and lead to many feeling aggrieved. The parties recognise that the last three years of dispute have been a difficult and stressful time for all and acknowledge that the matter could have been handled differently. All parties are sorry for the hurt that has been caused.

The Board acknowledges and thanks Glen for the important role he played as President, having overseen the resurgence in the Club’s fortunes. Glen focussed on cultural change including the development of the Club values, now known as “TRUE”, of Trust, Respect, Unity and Excellence which are reflective of values based leadership. Glen is proud of the improvements he introduced to the Club as President.

During the period in which Glen Bartlett was the Club’s President, serious allegations about Simon Goodwin’s use of illicit drugs were passed onto and duly investigated by the Club. It was found that the allegations were false and had no basis in fact. These allegations have caused enormous hurt and pain for Simon and his family for which all parties are deeply sorry.

This brings these matters to an end for all time. Simon Goodwin is a highly regarded and respected Demons premiership coach.

The Board and Mr Bartlett agree that focussing on the future of the Club and particularly the welfare of its people is the most important priority.

The Board and Glen look forward to the future including the continued success of the club.
Michael Warner's take on Bartlett - Melbourne feud and resolution.

Michael Warner: Glen Bartlett took on the AFL, Melbourne — and won​

Former Melbourne president Glen Bartlett took on the AFL — and won. MICHAEL WARNER examines how Bartlett emerged victorious from years of legal drama.

It takes balls of steel to stare down the AFL establishment.
James Hird did it. Dean Bailey tried. Richard Colless told them to go forth and multiply.

Now you can add former Melbourne president Glen Bartlett to the list.
Repeated attempts to discredit Bartlett by senior Demons chiefs (and some suits at AFL HQ) during a bitter and costly three-year legal war did not break him.
Instead, Bartlett walks away with a bag of money and a belated acknowledgment that the game has failed him.
Melbourne fans who endured the boardroom fiasco are right in asking why it took so long for common sense to prevail.

Even attempts by footy powerbrokers Peter Gordon and Eddie McGuire to help resolve the dispute earlier this year failed to break the deadlock. Self-interest ruled the day at Demonland until recently, which is why some key figures have left the club.
Interim president Brad Green has made the right calls since taking charge and will soon be the last man standing from a 2021 board that got it so horribly wrong in removing Bartlett and then waging war against him.

AFL boss Andrew Dillon can be indecisive and should have intervened sooner, but deserves credit for his role in this week’s resolution as does former Demons vice-president Geoff Freeman.

Bartlett’s likely appointment to the West Australian Football Commission will come with the league’s blessing.

The boardroom saga is finally over, but as Freeman said yesterday “it’s a matter that should never have taken this long to settle”.

“For all involved and all Melbourne supporters it’s time we put this unfortunate distraction behind us and concentrate on football,” he said.

Re his WAFC appointment - Mark Duffield wrote the following yesterday.

Meanwhile Bartlett is firming as a likely WA Football Commissioner with the election process already underway. WAFL clubs view him as a possible future chairman of the WAFC. His run for the commission is not related to the end of the litigation process, but key AFL figures had believed it was critical for him to resolve his legal battles with Melbourne and the AFL in particular. It is understood extensive mediation talks were taking place over the past three weeks between all parties.

- Didn't know Bartlett was an original Eagle.

Long before he was President of Melbourne, Bartlett was an inaugural squad member at West Coast, playing four games for the Eagles in 1987 before injuries cut short his AFL career.
He has a strong affiliation with the East Perth Royals where he played 153 games over a 10 year period and he also went on to play football in country WA before his retirement.

For a club formed out of deep seated jealousy of the success of the PAFC Magpies, the harder they try to be them the further away they get. (sadly so do we)

View attachment 2161492
Maybe they think Port fans will believe it's Magpies merch, and buy it in droves, without twigging they are just boosting Crow coffers?

That's not as weird as it sounds. The number of Black on Black and Black & white/silver Yankees, Redsox etc. caps I see being worn by Port fans at games has escalated over the last decade or so. Yankees gear in our colours will show up even more after their world series win.

Although obviously the NY etc. logos are a wee bit more timeless and iconic than what the crows dish up as a logo every few years to boost merch sales. Have seen a few port caps/beanies in various places in the US over the years though- good conversation starter.

That's not as weird as it sounds. The number of Black on Black and Black & white/silver Yankees, Redsox etc. caps I see being worn by Port fans at games has escalated over the last decade or so. Yankees gear in our colours will show up even more after their world series win.

Although obviously the NY etc. logos are a wee bit more timeless and iconic than what the crows dish up as a logo every few years to boost merch sales. Have seen a few port caps/beanies in various places in the US over the years though- good conversation starter.
Yankees lost.
But I’m guilty of this, I usually wear my White Sox hats, they are black and white so it works :)

OK before I give up giving it more airtime, what's the bet that the Advertiser/Sunday Mail has free give aways of these cringe stickers before the 2025 season starts.

View attachment 2162046
made from south australian court proceedings

Lets appeal to no one aside from kick a vic boomers from the 1990's Bound for Souf Straya!!
With John Olsen as chair and former channel Ten teleprompter reader, Graeme Goodings, Ricciuto and the 2IC of SA Police on their board it should come as no surprise that they've pulled out the 90s SA Great shtick for another run.

Bit disappointed they didn't use the 'Adelaide Alive' slogan to be honest.

made from south australian court proceedings
Port Adelaide FC
Proudly South Aussie
Made from the people of the Port - and it's supporters everywhere!

Put that on a sticker, Kochie. You'll sell millions.

Oh wait. No, we're a poor little battling club that's just thankful to be in with the big boys. How could I have mis-read that little gem from our grand poohbah?

Whoops. Dodgers hats just aren't as popular here for some reason - Giants ones are.

That white sox emblem always reads to me as Sux which is even better. Especially at our finals games.
Maybe it is because I am a Dodgers supporter but I see plenty of Dodgers hats when I am out and about. I went to the Oz Asia festival and saw a few. I was wearing a Dodgers jersey and had a person come up to me and we had a good chat about the world series that was going on at the time. Last time I stood up on the hill I saw plenty Dodgers caps to.

Dodgers, Yankees, Red Sox, White Sox and the odd Cubs ones are the main ones I see.

I do wonder how many people wearing an American sports team hat from any team are actually supporter of that team.

Maybe it is because I am a Dodgers supporter but I see plenty of Dodgers hats when I am out and about. I went to the Oz Asia festival and saw a few. I was wearing a Dodgers jersey and had a person come up to me and we had a good chat about the world series that was going on at the time. Last time I stood up on the hill I saw plenty Dodgers caps to.

Dodgers, Yankees, Red Sox, White Sox and the odd Cubs ones are the main ones I see.

I do wonder how many people wearing an American sports team hat from any team are actually supporter of that team.
I'm a White Sux fan (very appropriate), so wear that mostly, but I also play locally for the Dodgers, so wear a fair bit of Dodger merch.

I think most people wearing Yankees or Raiders team gear do so because of the brand appeal.
I remember being behind a guy at the shops once in a Raiders shirt that was asked by the cashier if he was going to watch the Superbowl. He had no idea it was the next day.

Then you get heaps of people in Bulls and Lakers gear who the term "casual fan" would be a huge understatement.

Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 29