Autopsy Post Mortem vs Sydney. What a thriller! Pies by a point

First rule of Aliir...Once he takes the mark, grab him and hold on....give away a free...after we all get back into position.....just don't let him play on as he always does.
Wouldn't that give away 50m rather than a free kick?

With 90 seconds to go and 7 points up, who was the campaigner who played on from HB?
Crisp to Grundy. Not a smart option in that situation, was tearing my hair out.

STFU Idiot, if anything we got the rub of the green.
LOLwut? You mean we got one technically correct free kick at an important time which led to Varcoe's goal, had Schade ridden like Seattle Slew for no free immediately followed by Jack getting a free and goal for a lesser version of the same thing, and otherwise got to watch the Swans throw the ball all night whenever tackled.

Great win by the boys.
Really should have had it sown up earlier but it will do!

Adams, Treloar, Sidey and of course Pendles all good again.
Thought Grundy was beaten by Naismith, can't really understand the comments saying he had a great game, that was last week. Maybe I missed something.
Defenders were good tonight. Except for Reid who I thought was ordinary. Dropping easy marks and kicking was off tonight.

Couldn't believe our skills in the first quarter, thought I was watching Hawthorn for a moment.
Disappointing that we couldn't lo kick at least 7-8 goals with the dominance we had.

Great game bring on the saints next week.

Broomy looked 'right' last night. Like he belonged in the team, and belonged at AFL level. He was in the right places, getting to where he needed to be, and confident in his team mates. His first game back last week was good enough, but this was a significant step up. He'll take a lot of positives out of that game. Hoping it was - if not quite a 'break-out' game - at least a 'watershed' game.
He needs the continuity, he could be anything.
I think I'd like to see him on a wing though, he has great awareness and could start a lot of forward moves from there

Quite amazing first quarter. Never seen anything like it. If thats a glimpse into the future then Collingwood can achieve big things

That said, ironically we nearly lost it because of our failure to capitalise in that first quarter (on top of three missed set shots in the last) . Should have really gone in at quarter time seven goals ahead and it would have been game over.

Wouldn't that give away 50m rather than a free kick?

Crisp to Grundy. Not a smart option in that situation, was tearing my hair out.

LOLwut? You mean we got one technically correct free kick at an important time which led to Varcoe's goal, had Schade ridden like Seattle Slew for no free immediately followed by Jack getting a free and goal for a lesser version of the same thing, and otherwise got to watch the Swans throw the ball all night whenever tackled.
extra like for the Seattle Slew usage.
Fantastic US triple crown winner

Quite amazing first quarter. Never seen anything like it. If thats a glimpse into the future then Collingwood can achieve big things

That said, ironically we nearly lost it because of our failure to capitalise in that first quarter (on top of three missed set shots in the last) . Should have really gone in at quarter time seven goals ahead and it would have been game over.
Should have been over half way through the last quarter too
Mayne, Fasolo and White all missing relatively easy set shots

I actually think they have been respectful and taken it quite well. Well the ones i have seen/heard from anyway.

Most are saying the better side won and congratulated us and copped the loss on the chin
Was at the game and it is the interpretation of some of the rules, Sydney in general are quite respectful just some struggle with the rules at times.

Mate. Watch the replay of that match.

That was, quite simply by the length of the Nullabor, Reid's worst game of his career.

The fact that even Maynard, MAYNARD was better than Reid makes it stand out even more.

Maynard was good. No comparison to Reid. Maynard overall was one of best.

Even bucks though so, I'm paraphrasing, but he said that was probably Maynard's best game for the club.

I can recall Maynard doing heaps of good things, I can recall him doing a single bad one.

He's a whipping boy for some. Maynard was close to our best than to our worst.

Youngsters were mostly all good

Schade - yes he will make it. Didnt look like a lost puppy unlike last week
Phillips - found plenty of the ball and will learn from some rushed kicks that went to the opposition
Smith -vanilla as usual
Grundy - still a youngster. MASSIVE
Maynard - one of our best, will be a gun
Moore - worked hard early with some high leads but then had a stinker after that
Ramsay - after a slow start in the first two rounds, his best game of the year
Broomhead - best game of his career
WHE - quet and clannger filled but nailed THAT GOAL proving why we recruited him

Great win by the boys.
Really should have had it sown up earlier but it will do!

Adams, Treloar, Sidey and of course Pendles all good again.
Thought Grundy was beaten by Naismith, can't really understand the comments saying he had a great game, that was last week. Maybe I missed something.
Defenders were good tonight. Except for Reid who I thought was ordinary. Dropping easy marks and kicking was off tonight.

Couldn't believe our skills in the first quarter, thought I was watching Hawthorn for a moment.
Disappointing that we couldn't lo kick at least 7-8 goals with the dominance we had.

Great game bring on the saints next week.
Grundy - 23 disposals, 2 marks, 7 tackles, 43 hitouts
Naismith - 10 disposals, 4 marks, 2 tackles, 31 hitouts

Remind me where Grundy was beaten???

I still don't know how we ended up with Schade. Was he actually delisted by Gold Coast? I find that funny because he has such a cool head on his shoulders. Buddy was taller, stronger and faster than Schade, but Schade was with him all the time, barely let him have a look at goals except for that last one in the last minute or so, phenomenal effort.

I've been a supporter of Maynard, he infuriates you with some of the things he does, but I just see a really good player in him and I think he's the best of our smaller defenders - he was fantastic last night. Bray will put his body on the line, week after week, for the team and he's a keeper for that.

My thoughts are that Smith and Mayne will go out of the side for Dunn and Elliot. I think the side looked considerably better for dropping Aish and Blair to bring in Greenwood (who was really good outside of missing a few goals) and Varcoe (who just makes us a better side) and I think these two changes improve us again for next week in another winnable game.

St.Kilda have a rather large forward line so it wouldn't shock me if Keeffe gets considered for a game too.

First rule of Aliir...Once he takes the mark, grab him and hold on....give away a free...after we all get back into position.....just don't let him play on as he always does.
Aliir is Sydney's Harry O and that ain't no colour thing....he always plays on.

He has a bit more game the Harry I reckon. A very good kick and more ropey, a bit like Dustin Fletcher was. But players will need to wise up to his play on trick. It's pretty predictable.

Well stats can be deceiving!
Amazed that he had it 23 times, I'll have to watch the replay.
More hitouts is also surprising be interesting to see how many were to advantage. Felt like Naismith was jumping all over him at centre bounces especially.
Look he didn't play a bad game by any stretch but was a step down from last week when he was outstanding.

I thought the ruck contests were a nill all draw. rarely were their clean breaks from the contests. mostly wrestling and ineffective tap outs. ome of the holding both rucks were getting away with were ridiculous.

Should have been over half way through the last quarter too
Mayne, Fasolo and White all missing relatively easy set shots
Strangely enough WHE, White and Faz nailed the shots from the boundary.
it is momentum I know but those 3 shots aren't o blame for the narrow win. It is the complete dominance in the 1st and patches afterwards where we just couldn't hit the scoreboard. I love to see more of long bombs from Howe or Goldy (or Dunn when he plays). Almost guaranteed hit and we don’t have to break our backs for the ball to get in the 50 for that.
A bit more firepower in the form of Elliott wouldn't hurt either.

Sent from my SM-N910G using Tapatalk

Autopsy Post Mortem vs Sydney. What a thriller! Pies by a point