Aug 12, 2004
Inside 50
The van Berlos
I wouldn't mind a bit of discussion on this topic.

When I joined BigFooty - the Adelaide Board was one of the more inclusive and dynamic discussion Team Boards. We used to invite well informed and rigorous debate on just about any topic - and were respected for being a Board where others could come for a decent chat and some good natured banter.

I get the feeling that these days - some of us have become just a little too precious. I've noticed - as have others - that often our first reaction to a post from an opposition supporter is to shoot them down in flames wihout even considering the content of the post.

There's nothing more pathetic than going to another Team Board to contribute to a discussion of interest - just to have your post dismissed out of hand accompanied by immature name calling.

I would like to think that this is not a characteristic of our Board.

All trolls will be dealt with swiftly and decisively by Kane, Nikki, or myself - but it would be nice to regain a level of maturity whereby alternate opinions can be discussed here without telling posters to **** off just because they are from another club.

I'd be interested in getting an opinion on this from everyone who considers themselves a regular on this Board in the interests of trying to reclaim some dynamism and substance to argument and discussion.

Reading posts from Adelaide supporters telling others to **** off without provocation is embarrassing frankly. Surely we are not that insecure and insular that we have to dismiss out of hand other posters.

Thoughts ??

Totally agree with you MD.

Yes we should give the obvious trolls very short change indeed, but I'd also hate to see this board turn into an insular simpering pat each other on the back board while telling any reasonable visitor that they are mentally incapacitated or just plain to fk off.

The more the merrier IMO as long as they don't troll, get abusive or just plain rude. :thumbsu:

Totally Agree. I quite enjoy getting an insight to what opposition supporters have to say regarding the club. As long as its not trolling, I dont have any problem with opposition supporters voicing their oppinions or asking relevant questions. There will always be the ones that fish for a reaction but other than that, no issue at all. Hopefully we can all recognize a decent post when its there, regardless of what team they support.

Couldnt agree more , another thing that annoys me is when a persons opinion is challenged on this board for opinions they hold on another board

This is the AFC board, if you dont like a poster from battles you have had on other boards, take it back to those boards. Read the post and try and respond to the post and not the poster

Little bit of an over reaction I think.

I'm on here a bit and whenever an opposition supporter comes on here and gets told to **** off, it's because they're provoking crap and are just here to fish. However , I think the majority of the time when there's discussion with a poster from a different club who is pilot & knows what they're talking about it's all very lovey dovey and haven't seen a problem.

But as passionate supporters, it's our natural instinct to defend our club when we don't think it's warranted abuse. Unfortuantely there are a few people who just come on here to stir us up and look for a bite, so people tell them where to stick it, and rightly so.

My opinion probably isn't going to see me on this board past the morning. (You can probably get my opinion out of that last line).

Without saying too much:

I think BigFooty, Crows board included, has lost it's original purpose. This board is REALLY REALLY cliquey, when I first started posting I found it hard to be involved in discussion. Once your in the clique, it's okay though.

Just think this needs to be addressed a little.

There ARE plenty of supporters out there who know footy just as much as you, probably more, so get back to what you originally signed up for. Discussion.

BTW if ur a port supporter, **** off.

I'm on here a bit and whenever an opposition supporter comes on here and gets told to **** off, it's because they're provoking crap and are just here to fish. However , I think the majority of the time when there's discussion with a poster from a different club who is pilot & knows what they're talking about it's all very lovey dovey and haven't seen a problem.

But as passionate supporters, it's our natural instinct to defend our club when we don't think it's warranted abuse. Unfortuantely there are a few people who just come on here to stir us up and look for a bite, so people tell them where to stick it, and rightly so.

I agree.

Screw this hippy 'save the opposition posters' crap.

When opposition posters actually contribute something, they are treated with respect on this board. When they come in full of their team bias, they are shot down, and rightfully so.

We need to stop protecting the snide trolls like asgardian, lets get real he is a troll but does it in a different way.

We all know and respect other opposition supporters that are regulars on this board such as *PAF, Ford Fairlane, Tas etc and Im sure if other supporters come onto this board and post relevent topics then nobody has a problem with that either.

I think the repeated garbage and snide remarks that asgardian makes though is what gets peoples backs up.

I'm on here a bit and whenever an opposition supporter comes on here and gets told to **** off, it's because they're provoking crap and are just here to fish. However ,.

It might sound like dobbing and it might seem weak not to get a few smacks in but thats what the report post button is for. Let the Mods deal with it. Better the Mods ban one than ban many ;)

I agree MD ......there are many occasions opposition posters come and make a comment, quite harmless in fact, and are shot down almost immediately.

We have posters from opposition clubs who have added to discussions on this board ......TAS & TOA just to name two.

WE do need to encourage contributions from all irrespective of what team they support ........and yes i have cringed when seeing some of the treatment we as a board have dished out.

By all means get rid of trolls ....but that's not in the main who are getting mis-treated.

I'm with MD on this one - there has been quite a large increase in posters being dismissed out of hand just because of the team they support is not the afc. This is often without even taking into account what they have said. One example is that Bulldogs supporters are getting very short shrift at the moment without provocation.

Some of the calls for banning people in posts instead of reporting them, so that we can deal with them, has not been constructive. It is why that button is there. :eek:

Yes, this is 'our' board but as macca23 said we don't want it to be a place where we just pat each others backs. This is a discussion board.

All I will suggest is that when a post gets you angry, when responding, take the time to either walk away from the computer and then go back a re-read what you have written before hitting that submit button ;) It will help me, MD and Kane greatly...

My opinion probably isn't going to see me on this board past the morning. (You can probably get my opinion out of that last line).

Without saying too much:

I think BigFooty, Crows board included, has lost it's original purpose. This board is REALLY REALLY cliquey, when I first started posting I found it hard to be involved in discussion. Once your in the clique, it's okay though.

There ARE plenty of supporters out there who know footy just as much as you, probably more, so get back to what you originally signed up for. Discussion.

BTW if ur a port supporter, **** off.

The old clique is at it again in this thread

I agree MD ......there are many occasions opposition posters come and make a comment, quite harmless in fact, and are shot down almost immediately.

We have posters from opposition clubs who have added to discussions on this board ......TAS & TOA just to name two.

WE do need to encourage contributions from all irrespective of what team they support ........and yes i have cringed when seeing some of the treatment we as a board have dished out.

By all means get rid of trolls ....but that's not in the main who are getting mis-treated.

Too true, there is no mutual respect these days.

The word please does not exist, and thank you well.......................

There is no need to go over the top unless others come on here and start abusing straight away, then the mods will give them the short shift.

I enjoy a little argie bargie with most opposition as long as it doesn't get out of hand.

Care to name names? :confused:

Anyone over 25 or long time posters I expect.

Does anyone read the Board Rules or do we need to discuss some broader guidelines?

Not hard and fast rules, as M32 says a good bit of byplay is fine, but it seems that there is an elitism creeping in, yes us ''oldies'' might have our own little club, but thats more familiarity with styles and personalities.

Bottom line for me is if you feel the need to tell another poster to F%^& off then maybe you shouldnt hit submit

I think the Board has had an element of "cliqueyness in the past - but not so much these days. Sometimes a clique can be misinterpreted for "posters who have been here for a long time and possibly socialise outside of this forum". There are many of us who catchup face to face - and so an element of familiarity sometimes shows through in posts. Take for instance Bay 142 bods or Gun Club people. There is a certain familiarity there - but the rest of us shouldn't feel threatened by that.

We need to stop protecting the snide trolls like asgardian, lets get real he is a troll but does it in a different way.

I think the repeated garbage and snide remarks that asgardian makes though is what gets peoples backs up.
regardless of who they are - they will be dealt with

It might sound like dobbing and it might seem weak not to get a few smacks in but thats what the report post button is for. Let the Mods deal with it. Better the Mods ban one than ban many ;)
I guess the key here is to try and protect the integrity of the thread...that should be the first consideration. Trying to deal with Trolls ourselves in threads messes up the topic and detrails the thread. It's easiler to report the post and let a Mod deal with it.
The old clique is at it again in this thread
Again - likeminded opinion is not necessarily a clique
I enjoy a little argie bargie with most opposition as long as it doesn't get out of hand.
I also enjoy the banter with opposition posters - but all too often they are alienated before that stage is reached.

I guess bottom line for me is - no one wants a sanitised Board where everyone is Polictically correct - and we embrace all the w***ers on BigFooty and become soft targets. All I'm saying is that perhaps it would be nice to deconstruct someone's argument rather than starting off with - "you smell - **** off"

G'day guys just wanted to know what sort of footballer is Pfeiffer is he worth picking up in the psd.Thanks:thumbsu:

Lolza

Example A

Some would tell this fine young poster from Richmond to go ninth and multiply, but I would direct him to the approrpiate thread while also reporting the post :D

Gaso, there is a thread already discussing this topic on the 1st page :)

Couldnt agree more , another thing that annoys me is when a persons opinion is challenged on this board for opinions they hold on another board

This is the AFC board, if you dont like a poster from battles you have had on other boards, take it back to those boards. Read the post and try and respond to the post and not the poster

Agree. :thumbsu:

My stand on some sort of "code of conduct" is relatively simple as long as the said post is not repetitive, vulgar (swearing) or offensive to anyone then let it stand.

In the use of the safe method of swearing on our board well in my opinion that should be treated as the "same as same as" & be punished in the appropriate manner.

Humor should be welcomed & not thrown out needlessly for the reason of what club the poster supports.

Lolza

Example A

Some would tell this fine young poster from Richmond to go ninth and multiply, but I would direct him to the approrpiate thread while also reporting the post :D

Gaso, there is a thread already discussing this topic on the 1st page :)
Thanks mate i didn't realise.Cheers

I dont post a great deal but i read these boards religiously at least twice a day and i do notice whats going on with opposition supporters on the AFC board.

But at the same time some people are more sensitive than others and cant take baiting in any form. In which case, use the report button and if the mods deem it inappropriate then it will be removed.

I don't think we're that harsh to opposition supporters who actually have something relevant to say on this board? It's only the stupid OMG We have won 16 premiership trolls and you guys suck lol! that gets a shitty reaction and what do you really expect there?

And my major problem with this board is the massive overreaction to everything that goes wrong and the tendency to lay blame for everything that goes wrong. I know some people here are emotionally attatched to the Crows, and that's fine to an extent, but the reactions say, to Taylor's injury are just freaking ludicrous. No one here has the medical training and insider knowledge to diagnose the cause of Taylor's injury so why is the first answer to point the finger at Neil Craig?

The same comes up with recruiting. For every self proclaimed recruiting genius on this board who likes to crow about every mistake Jimmy Fantasia or Matt Rendell has made over the years they should go back and read a few of their own back posts, and back posts of the more knowledgable posters in previous pre-draft threads. If you ever want to laugh try and find the 2003 draft thread and watch the collective dummy spit when we pass over Brent Hall for Josh Kruger. Now I know Kruger didn't end up great, but Hall really set the world on fire ...

And also, the crying over the Danyle Pearce and Mathew Pavlich. It's got to stop. I mean honestly, both these guys were passed over by every club in the league. It's not like it was a special Adelaide are stupid happening.

But apart from that I love you all.

Too true, there is no mutual respect these days.

The word please does not exist, and thank you well.......................

I think you're all taking the internet a little too seriously. So what if I don't say please or thankyou over the net? I'm sure most posters here are polite and courteous people in the real world but just because your cyber manners aren't up to scratch doesn't mean you have any less respect for someone.