Training Pre season training

I also like Jones in the side when he is up and about, he gives us that little attitude edge and gets into the opposition. It is something we need when we have leaders like Steele, who is courageous but you never see that 'f*ck you' attitude we are going to win this. You see it more in our kids like Phillipou and Garcia.

People used to get into Cotchin about some of his antics, but I loved that he had that bit of mongrel and preparedness to do anything to get on top of his opponent/s.
Fakest tough guy of all time. He has zero 'edge'

On SM-S928B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Exactly. I don't care if it takes half the season and he has to play a month with Sandringham on limited minutes. Just as long as he gets a 5 weeks or so block in the senior team and is primed for finals.
That game - I think it was against Geelong - where he went full beserker was one of the moments of the season...that, and Sharman's game - I think it was Essendon - where he went all Alpha dog 🤩
Higgins goal against Carlton was also bliss (if you didn't enjoy it, then your life is just one long missionary position)
Henry was already out injured by the Geelong game. I think you’re talking about the Sydney game?

I'm still waiting for the person who started the Winx BS to come forward , One 40 mtr leed and he is bent over puffing , I sure hope he has improved his fitness
Probably like Dempster, who didn’t have that elite aspect other than finishing up being pretty elite in his role and one of the first picked. Not saying that’s Gus, but Dempster was a jet for a few years.
Gus’s biggest strength is his overhead marking, he’s a one grabber and clunks them clean as a whistle!

Someone that hasn’t been given a mention is young Campigli, a hybrid size forward recently signed by Sandy from the Amo’s.
Around 188cm, moves well and uses the footy efficiently by hand and foot!
He also looks proficient in the air, so all in all one to watch I think…reckon he’s around 20-22 years old at a guess!

Probably like Dempster, who didn’t have that elite aspect other than finishing up being pretty elite in his role and one of the first picked. Not saying that’s Gus, but Dempster was a jet for a few years.
Even had a phrase specially for him …

He “dempstered” them iirc, for every opponent he beat.
And the difference was he stopped just spoiling and actually started intercept marking. Became an extremely good player.

Training Friday 6th December

Brutal weather, and a brutal training session in hot, steamy and sometimes windy conditions.

When I arrived I noticed pretty much the full squad out on the training track including the core group missing from earlier in the week. The rehab group is getting smaller with only Stocker and Liam Henry in it today (joined later on by Caminiti who was having his shoulder tested in a pretty brutal session).
Liam Henry did a couple of gentle run throughs but he looked proppy - he kept looking down at his knee. It doesn't look good at the moment and I'd say he is a long way off from joining in on training. Gave me Brad Crouch vibes - ouch!

Todays' session had lots of punishing running. At about the half way point, the core group that re-joined training broke out into three groups and ran laps at a pretty decent pace. Every time Marshall and Howard came past you could hear them sucking in deep breathes. Wilson once again was the stand-out in this running drill along with Steele and Byrnes.
Once this group completed their running, they disappeared into the gym. Good to see Windy out there in full training today. as well as Max King.

There was a drill which focused on the forward craft, led by Brendan Bolton. Ball kicked into the forward line (reasonably deep entry), with the small forwards charging towards the kicker, creating space behind them. The FF & FB would contest the mark, while the small forwards doubled back towards the contest looking to crumb the spoil. Good energy about this drill with lots of encouragement and feedback.
Later on, there was a defence vs offence drill, where it looked like the focus for the forwards was to move the ball quickly (release their teammate) and the defenders job was to pick up loose players, apply pressure and cut off outlets. A few skill errors here, mainly by hand with targets being missed. RTB quick to provide feedback. I must say, RTB's feedback is elite. The way he gets into the detail with his feedback is amazing. No wonder he is such a great coach.
He had a go at Keeler at one point for his positioning. Seemed to be standing in no man's land.

Of the new recruits, Travaglia is going to be a star. He is so prominent in training. He's one of those guys where you can't take your eyes off him. His link up play and running are elite for someone so young. This may sound strange but I reckon Dodson is already ahead of Heath. I really like the way he moves - very agile for someone 203cm. One more pre-seaon and he'll be ready to go. Patrick Said has a very nice side step while High Boxshall is a very good size and doesn't look out of his depth in the drills. Quite strong and neat with this skills. No Elwood Peckett today.

At the very end, the players changed into their runners for more running work. Man this was brutal to watch.

First off, they ran around the oval for 2 minutes. Brad Hill clearly in front, followed by Jack Higgins and Angus McLelland. They then did a series of 50 metre sprints (at about 60-70% effort) with 15 second rests between efforts. This is where Keeler really stood out. He was in front on every sprint, and clearly in front. The longer this went, the more noticeable it was that the two Carlton boys (Dow & Carroll) were struggling. Did they not run at Carlton?
They then finished by another 2 minute lap of the oval. The Pou was so determined to win this, and he did. Followed closely by Irish. By this stage Carroll was really struggling and he ended up last by some way. He really needs to build a tank to compliment his exquisite kicking skills. Macrae did ok in the running, about middle of the pack.
The best runners today were Hill, Pou, Higgins, McLellan & Irish. I was pleasantly surprised by how much Collard has improved with his running. He even did a chase down tackle in one of the drills which got a loud acknowledgement for.

All in all, it was a punishing session. If our running was good last year, I reckon we're going to take it to another level next year. It also feels like along with running ability, we've made skills a pre-requisite in our drafting.

Cheers,
Great write up , you know your mate Jordan is stealing your content to repost on that ******ed saints facebook page don't you

Someone that hasn’t been given a mention is young Campigli, a hybrid size forward recently signed by Sandy from the Amo’s.
He also looks proficient in the air, so all in all one to watch I think…reckon he’s around 20-22 years old at a guess!
Played under 19 ammo’s this year.

20 years old

Hopefully has some Tim Membrey about him

I'm still waiting for the person who started the Winx BS to come forward , One 40 mtr leed and he is bent over puffing , I sure hope he has improved his fitness

The players called him Winx

There has been a lot of horse racing analogies lately and I’m not across it all. It’s sending me over the rails, to be honest.

Can we stick to cricket?

They also hate Garcia and Arie as well because they were late pick too.

Hope your post was a pisstake, if not, give yourself an uppercut.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Jesus, obviously they mean that they weren't in our top choice list which is a fair assessment. I liked him but there was no way I wanted to spend a top pick on a project ruck.

Getting guys like Ari and Dodson....even Hotton who were sliders is good business. If you snag a few players that hit outside the first few rounds you can really improve your list fast.

Was he number 46?

I mean, Doug Wilkie Battle was arguably undersized but we didn't change it because of how good each of them are individually

Therefore we got rinsed by Adelaide (Tex, Fog, Thilthorpe), Brisbane (Hipwood, Daniher, Morris), Bulldogs (Darcy, Naughton, Lobb) etc.

Same could happen with Gus - he performs too well to be dropped despite the detriments to our defensive structure

Which is why I so want 195cm Caminiti to succeed as a key defender. We don't have anyone else apart from Cordy. Barrat and Tauru being long-term guys to partner Caminiti

The Crows tall forwards scored three goals between them, same as Phillipou and Mason Wood had between them. We lost out of the centre with Marshall losing badly at the taps and them easily wining clearance. Looks like we chose to play Phillipou on ball and Steele out of there more. Our forwards failed to fire with Membrey, Owens, Snags, Butler combining for 2 behinds. Marshall 0 goals 2 behinds also. Had much less inside 50s too.

We lost by 5 goals which if we'd kicked a few goals instead of behinds we would have been closer.

My only knock on him is his kicking. It’s ok without being great. But good size and can run.

Training Pre season training