A Section Premier 2012

Last time the Scotchies played the Bernies at the pit they sent them back to B Section and from all reports the current group from Glenferrie like running ….. a lot so the big deck should suit them.

Trinity and Caulfield is also very important as is De La and UB
Xav's should account for the B Graders easily enough @ home and I can't see Coll having too many issues with the Bogans

bernies against scotch at the snakepit next week, seems to be an 8 point match, scotch are definately up and about, a 6 goal win over xavier under any circumstance is always a good indication. bernies handed their first defeat at dunshea, completly outplayed in the first half, can they turn it around at the pit next weekend? thoughts?

an 8 point match round 4???

...a bit early for that terminology isnt it?

Last time the Scotchies played the Bernies at the pit they sent them back to B Section and from all reports the current group from Glenferrie like running ….. a lot so the big deck should suit them.

Xav's should account for the B Graders easily enough @ home and I can't see Coll having too many issues with the Bogans

Scotch easily
Trinity just at Marles with Rambo too tall and wise for the fields
De La to make UB 0-4
Carey to be too quick for Xavs in the vast spaces of Sportscover
Collegians just at St bedes

You appear to have a distinct dislike for Old Carey. Did one of them r:eek:t your missus? Im not sure by what definition they are B grade, however 5 players in the state side plus others like Smithwick and some good youngsters coming through, they dont appear to be heading there soon. Having said that, depth still appears to be a problem , noting their 2s results.

Reminds me of one of my favorite Monty Python lines:

"I'm Brian of Nazareth, and so is my wife!"

Aliases galore Penski!

One of my favourite Life of Brian bits too Scribe. But you missed the critical precursor. The Centurion had an order to release the real Brian.

Mr Cheeky :Uh, I'm Brian of Nazareth.
Brian: What?
Mr Cheeky: Yeah, I - I - I'm Brian of Nazareth.
Centurion: Take him down!
Mr Big Nose: I'm Brian!
Victim 2: Look, I'm Brian!
Brian: I'm Brian!
Victims: I'm Brian!I'm Brian!
Gregory
: I'm Brian, and so's my wife!

Brian’s here, there and everywhere. Soooo confusing to us mere mortals.:rolleyes:

Back to footy. Having seen two halves of Scotch games this year I’m impressed with how well organised they are and with their sustained intensity. No real stars just an even spread of good hard-at-it players. Could this finally be their year? Way too early to say,but the signs are positive.

One of my favourite Life of Brian bits too Scribe. But you missed the critical precursor. The Centurion had an order to release the real Brian.

Mr Cheeky :Uh, I'm Brian of Nazareth.
Brian: What?
Mr Cheeky: Yeah, I - I - I'm Brian of Nazareth.
Centurion: Take him down!
Mr Big Nose: I'm Brian!
Victim 2: Look, I'm Brian!
Brian: I'm Brian!
Victims: I'm Brian!I'm Brian!
Gregory
: I'm Brian, and so's my wife!

Brian’s here, there and everywhere. Soooo confusing to us mere mortals.:rolleyes:

Back to footy. Having seen two halves of Scotch games this year I’m impressed with how well organised they are and with their sustained intensity. No real stars just an even spread of good hard-at-it players. Could this finally be their year? Way too early to say,but the signs are positive.

Can't wait to the 26th May where all roads lead to OS and welcoming back Lawrence to see what bag of tricks he will get up to with his game plan.
Should be a cracker!

Do OS put on president lunches?

Cheers

'Scotch n Bear please"

CC

Scotch easily
Trinity just at Marles with Rambo too tall and wise for the fields
De La to make UB 0-4
Carey to be too quick for Xavs in the vast spaces of Sportscover
Collegians just at St bedes

Didn't Blues win last week? Agree with your tips though. Carey doing ok for B Grade. Scotch and choke come business end one could safely predict.

You appear to have a distinct dislike for Old Carey. Did one of them r:eek:t your missus? Im not sure by what definition they are B grade, however 5 players in the state side plus others like Smithwick and some good youngsters coming through, they dont appear to be heading there soon. Having said that, depth still appears to be a problem , noting their 2s results.

We have been through this before have we not?

I have played & followed Ammo footy for years and in all that time Carey have always been floating around in C and B section, last year was the first time I have seen them in A. When they have been in Premier A for 3-4 years I will think of them as an A Grade club, until then they are a B Grade club!

Lots of teams have come up for a couple of years then dropped back & not been seen again, MHSOB, Whitefriars, Pegs, Uni Blacks, Old Brighton, Marcellin.

Nah not with me anyway. I think that is a fairly arrogant view. I'm sure there are plenty at Blacks saying they are an A grade club biding their time. I'm thinking you might see some more 'B' grade clubs in coming years. How would you class Werribee and Beauy?

It's not arrogant at all, it's just the way it is. Over the last 12-15 years I have seen at least 6-8 clubs come up from B, tell everyone how good they are and do ok for 2 maybe 3 years but then bye bye they are gone again.

When a team first comes up from B they always pick up players & in their first year they normally do ok, second year they might just hold on (which is what I reckon OC will do this year) but by the 3rd year the novelty of playing Premier A has worn off, players go back to the other leagues and they struggle. When OC have been in A section for another year or 2 I'll consider them an A grade club.

It's not arrogant at all, it's just the way it is. Over the last 12-15 years I have seen at least 6-8 clubs come up from B, tell everyone how good they are and do ok for 2 maybe 3 years but then bye bye they are gone again.

When a team first comes up from B they always pick up players & in their first year they normally do ok, second year they might just hold on (which is what I reckon OC will do this year) but by the 3rd year the novelty of playing Premier A has worn off, players go back to the other leagues and they struggle. When OC have been in A section for another year or 2 I'll consider them an A grade club.

Pretty hard for a 'newbie' Premier club to earn its stripes in your book, youlike!

According to you, Carey were/are telling everybody how good they are. Got anything other than your opinion to back that up?

If you think Carey have been a B and C grade side for a number of years you haven't been around for too long at all. D2 in 2004, D1 in 2005 and 2006, C in 2007, B in 2008, 2009 and 2010 and A in 2011 and this year. Seems to me you weren't around before 2007.

I think you are being arrogant. 'Just the way it is' - in your mind. Hardly a general consensus.

Meh, drop the persecution complex.

Everyone looking elsewhere, but Collegians just keep getting the job done.

Not a persecution complex at all. I'm sure youlike can name other clubs that in his book "don't rate".

Given that traditional A grade sides like Haileybury, SKOBS and Old Melburnians have been 'floating' around for a few years I wonder how he would rate them.

And yes, I agree.... Collegians ARE getting the job done and even at this stage look odds-on.

Pretty hard for a 'newbie' Premier club to earn its stripes in your book, youlike!

Yeah it is, anything wrong with that?

According to you, Carey were/are telling everybody how good they are. Got anything other than your opinion to back that up?!

Read the top of the page

If you think Carey have been a B and C grade side for a number of years you haven't been around for too long at all. D2 in 2004, D1 in 2005 and 2006, C in 2007, B in 2008, 2009 and 2010 and A in 2011 and this year. Seems to me you weren't around before 2007.?!

Where did I say that?

I think you are being arrogant. 'Just the way it is' - in your mind. Hardly a general consensu

Inferiority Complex much?

Good banter boys, good banter.

Poor old St Bede's if they get relegated (which is unlikely) will not be considered an A Grade club by youlike's definition even having won an A flag…

Brian, I must say I find myself agreeing with you a lot lately!

We seem to think along very similiar lines!

Originally Posted by PresEx:

Yeah it is, anything wrong with that?

No... but you appear to be the only person on the forum with the mindset.

According to you, Carey were/are telling everybody how good they are. Got anything other than your opinion to back that up?!

Read the top of the page

I don't see anything at the top of the page that bears any relevance to Carey telling everybody how good they are.

If you think Carey have been a B and C grade side for a number of years you haven't been around for too long at all. D2 in 2004, D1 in 2005 and 2006, C in 2007, B in 2008, 2009 and 2010 and A in 2011 and this year. Seems to me you weren't around before 2007.?!

Where did I say that?

You said: "Carey have always been floating around in C and B section, last year was the first time I have seen them in A". You are correct in terms of Carey's presence in A Grade - 2011 was the first time. However, I was simply refuting your "always" claim regarding Carey in C and B sections - that's not how it's been. Carey have been "floating" (to use your terminology) in C and B sections since the beginning of 2007, which is hardly "always". Perhaps go back the "10 to 15 years" you mention in a previous post and check out where they have really been.

I think you are being arrogant. 'Just the way it is' - in your mind. Hardly a general consensus.

Inferiority Complex much?

No doubt my comments come across that way but comments like yours appear to be in the "how dare they" mould. Are Carey perhaps keeping another club out of Premier section that you believe is more deserving? Your comments come across as those from somebody in a "superior" position. To me (and a couple of others who have commented) that is arrogance. I still hold the view that what you said is not the general consensus.

Your opinion of what consitutes an "A Grade" club is just that - an opinion. Don't don't expect everybody to fall in line with it - I don't.

'Nuff said..........

Not from Carey youlike and I could quote the same for most of the top two flights and have so on several occasions if you feel like doing a little research. Occy is not Carey and is closer to your end of town yet he has said similar things. For some reason though Carey seems to hit a nerve with you so maybe I will continue to spruik for the time being.

Any club that gets up to A deserves big respect. It's a tough comp. Re Carey, they will be here long enough to have youlike finally pay them their dues, although I'm sure they are not hanging out for his blessings of worthiness. Scotch out muscled Xavs on the weekend. They have become quite big. Interesting to see if they can finally mount a sustained challenge. But from where I see it youlike it what I saw.

I'd say that any that the 'big respect' comes when you get to A grade, and survive your first year. Then you know you have made it. To go up and fall straight back down again gives the feeling that you're just not good enough yet.

No such thing as a B grade club in ‘A’ grade. If you’re in the top division then you are an ‘A’ grade club - no matter how long or short the visit may be.

Agree about SBMT. Four completed seasons for 3 finals campaigns, 2 GFs and a premiership. Top effort. Saw the Tigers first hand on Saturday. Not at their best but still plenty of talent in that group despite the off-season losses. Depth might be an issue and the evenness of the comp means that a tough game looms each week. But they are hard to beat at home and will be very stiff to be relegated.

Not at all BS, SBMT have been in A for 4 years (maybe 5) so they are 100% an A Grade club....no doubt (Unlike your mob... how is B Section anyway?)

PresEx - Sorry mate I didn't ready your reply, it was too long, try and keep it short.

It's pretty easy ..... St Bernards, Caulfield and Carey = B Grade clubs, everyone else is A Grade.

Scotch out muscled Xavs on the weekend. They have become quite big. Interesting to see if they can finally mount a sustained challenge. But from where I see it youlike it what I saw.

I have not seen OS play this year Pus but that's interesting you thought they were "quite big" as OX are generally fairly large. I was going to head down and have a look on Sat but the light rain kept me indoors (don't like getting wet)

Not at all BS, SBMT have been in A for 4 years (maybe 5) so they are 100% an A Grade club....no doubt (Unlike your mob... how is B Section anyway?)

PresEx - Sorry mate I didn't ready your reply, it was too long, try and keep it short.

It's pretty easy ..... St Bernards, Caulfield and Carey = B Grade clubs, everyone else is A Grade.

I give the St. Bernards boys abour an hour before they lose it on here youlike.

Personally, 4 A grade GF's in 5 years in the early 2000's give them a bit of credibility regardless of playing in B grade in recent years.