Banter Preseason general discussion - The Reigning Premiers Edition

Mate of mine who’s worked very closely with the State U18’s reckons Foley is an absolute ripper. He’s a mad Dockers supporter & is gutted they didn’t pick him up. He also told me before he debuted that Barrass will be better than Glass so he has some good form.
The Freo camp looked pretty dejected that we took him on draft day.

Holy crap Cripps had his strongest season in his whole career. He kicked heaps of goals, still dominating forward pressure stats, and somehow at the same time was racking up touches and working further up the ground to link up from defense.

The bloke is entering his prime and would be a walk up start in any team in the league.

Not only did he prove he's better than a simple role player this year, he was racking up more votes than nearly anyone in this board's MVP award in the second half of the year. Which is the highest honour you can get imo.

I remember a couple of huge goals he roosted from outside of 50; his confidence was going through the roof, he knew what a good job he was doing. No reason to think that form won't continue.

Shame eaglesnutcase , shame!
Cripps is one of those guys who frequently features on people’s Outs purely because he isn’t a flashy player, yet he is very important to our lineup especially with his pressure.

Gun.

William's is the only pick i was genuinely stoked about on draft day. Been a fan of his for a long long time.

I see so much more potential in him replacing JK than Brander, who doesn't seem to play tall.

He's also a screwed up angry faced ranga, Cameron Ling styles :mad:

images

William's is the only pick i was genuinely stoked about on draft day. Been a fan of his for a long long time.

I see so much more potential in him replacing JK than Brander, who doesn't seem to play tall.

Branders work below his knees for a guy 194 + is elite , also has great endurance and agility.

He wasn't well coached last year at EP......... but thats another story and in saying that, he is by no means an orphan.
Glad we now have our own WAFL side.

You know Masten shits me more than a 2am Kebab, he is as soft as melted butter and I’m furious he isn’t a better player for a pick 3. But he’s hugely important to our sides structure with his gut running, outside receiving and delivery by foot inside 50/ up the ground. No body does this role better than masten in our side. So stop being a bunch of fuggen idiots and suggestion to drop him for achoo they play different roles for gods sake

Yep, reckon he'll be a star and only one I was really excited about at the draft.

What makes Brander a star is he good when the ball is on the deck, often too agile for tall defenders. JK and Buddy also have this similar trait that makes them potent. Not comparing him to them but he seems to get goals even when spoilt by the defender but he's quick to gather possession again and get a shot away like what makes these two dangerous.

This pretty adequately explains why I hope AFLX is a one time failed experiment. I hope that none get injured playing in this trashfire.

I think AFLW is trash I hate the hype and is just pollution to my eyes and time that I inadvertantly see it but that may be just me . Aflx is trash less trash by far than AflW.

Wow

I legit haven't missed an AFLW game this season.

Like Chris Marsden, it's not for everybody.

I'm not spending a solitary second watching AFLX though. That plastic shit can **** right off.

I legit haven't missed an AFLW game this season.

Like Chris Marsden, it's not for everybody.

I'm not spending a solitary second watching AFLX though. That plastic shit can **** right off.

I have watched the highlights of a few AFLW games (the off-season is too friggin long), and I must say the skills have improved a lot from last season. There are some fine athletes amongst them.

Nah AFLX is a joke of the highest order. The problem i have with AFLW is there might be more productive ways of spending that cash like going towards a proper reserves competition or expanding AFL lists.

From an equity point of view having a women's competition is fine but the AFLW always going to be a D-grade competition and the women playing are getting paid more than their male counterparts.

List of viewing priorities.
AFL
WAFL
Colts & U18
Ametures & AFLW
AFLX

Few tweaks and a bit more time for the first real wave of juniors to develop and the standard of AFLW will jump up pretty quickly IMO.

Not sure why they insist on letting HTB and illegal tackles go unpenalised though. They’d surely get more goals and uncontested possies if they called those even half as stringently as they do in the men’s.

I get the comp want to showcase the intensity that the women can scrap at (it’s pretty impressive), but it can just lead to over congestion as it does in the mens comp.

Once they start scoring more the entertainment value will go up heaps.

Oh, and they have to do something about all the bloody ACLs. It’s unbelievable

Banter Preseason general discussion - The Reigning Premiers Edition