pressure causes essendon to choke, 99 prelim...

dunstall19

Apr 5, 2001
NT
99 prelim, 2000 v bulldogs, 2001 v carlton

same old story, it doesnt look like changing. The club is prone to choke or capitulate under immense pressure or 1 on 1 pressure when essendon arent allowed space to run freely.

it cant be a fluke as it happens time and time again....

#19 brown and gold represent the colours of pride dedication and love of the guernsey.

dunstall dill
Strange, but I thought you barracked for the crappy dorks.
confused.gif

------------------
RED & BLACK, THE COLOURS OF FENG SHUI

Originally posted by dunstall,19:

it cant be a fluke as it happens time and time again....

Good onya. So whenever we have a loss where we had a chance to win, it is automatically deemed as a choke!! Grow up idiot!!

You say it happens time and time again....hmmm.....we lost "once"...that's right...."once" last year and you say it happens all of the time! Yes we have lost once this year, but we were never going to do a repeat of last year's H&A.

In the past 2 seasons, i can almost count our losses on one hand, unliuke your sorry lot!!! You sir are delusional!!

I'm not much interested in bagging a club simply for the sake of bagging, and I don't endorse dunstall,19's opinions because, well because I believe they are pointless and wrong. Whatever. We're all entitled to our opinions. I just came on here because I caught windyhill's dig at Hawthorn's near merger.

It was a pretty comfortable No vote at that meeting, even allowing for all the allegations of vote stacking, etc, and I think it speaks volumes for the integrity of Hawthorn fans in the face of betrayal at the committee level. Far from a choke, it was the dawn of a new era for us.

I've had a few run-ins with Dan lately, and I just want to make it clear right how that I have nothing against the Essendon Football Club, or 90% of their supporters I come across here. Your recent history is quite incredible, especially in the light of equalisation policies, salary cap restrictions etc. Not that you should care about my opinion on this anyway, but I just didn't want to create a false impression.

Cheers.

Dunstall's post was pure crap except for the bit were he said "The club is prone to choke or capitulate under immense pressure or 1 on 1 pressure when essendon arent allowed space to run freely."

if you replace the "choke or capitulate" with "struggle" you have a very true comment.

The only way you can beat Essendon is if you stick to your man and not allow them any space - but that's alot easier said than done.

Apart from that comment, the rest was crap.

"it cant be a fluke as it happens time and time again.... "
Are you serious - 3 losses in 40-odd matches. That's not time and time again.

------------------
Join the big footy tipping competition at Footy Tips
Join the BigFooty Cricket Cup
visit the Easts Cricket Club
The ulitimate statistics reference

Originally posted by RogerC:
I'm not much interested in bagging a club simply for the sake of bagging, and I don't endorse dunstall,19's opinions because, well because I believe they are pointless and wrong. Whatever. We're all entitled to our opinions. I just came on here because I caught windyhill's dig at Hawthorn's near merger.

It was a pretty comfortable No vote at that meeting, even allowing for all the allegations of vote stacking, etc, and I think it speaks volumes for the integrity of Hawthorn fans in the face of betrayal at the committee level. Far from a choke, it was the dawn of a new era for us.

I've had a few run-ins with Dan lately, and I just want to make it clear right how that I have nothing against the Essendon Football Club, or 90% of their supporters I come across here. Your recent history is quite incredible, especially in the light of equalisation policies, salary cap restrictions etc. Not that you should care about my opinion on this anyway, but I just didn't want to create a false impression.

Cheers.
Yes,it was a cheap shot roger,just responding in kind to dunstall

There have also been plenty of times when opposition teams have applied man-on-man pressure to the Bombers, yet have been thrashed. I could claim Hawthorn don't handle man-on-man pressure, because they have lost 12 of their last 26 games. I could say : "same old story for Hawethorn for each of their 12 losses"
rolleyes.gif

No, the best way to beat Essendon is to play your natural game and don't worry about them (Essendon). Melbourne came close last year in Round 9 when they lost by only 13 points. They played their usual hard running style of game and nearly won the match.

If you are too negative, it will usually backfire. Play your natural game, and worry about YOUR team first. If you concentrate on stopping the opposition ahead of trying to win the game based on your own teams physical effort, it is a sure sign of failure in my opinion.

Originally posted by topdon:
Good onya. So whenever we have a loss where we had a chance to win, it is automatically deemed as a choke!! Grow up idiot!!

You say it happens time and time again....hmmm.....we lost "once"...that's right...."once" last year and you say it happens all of the time! Yes we have lost once this year, but we were never going to do a repeat of last year's H&A.

In the past 2 seasons, i can almost count our losses on one hand, unliuke your sorry lot!!! You sir are delusional!!

do you want more examples-- It was pretty well known that the club could choke on the eve of the 99 final. Why wasn't it surprising!!! answer that!!!! it wasnt surprising because since 93' the club has lost many games where it has shown little heart and looked more interested in jagging some flashy highlights than getting dirty and going in hard.

you cannot tell me sydney deserved to win in a 96 final at the SCG.

it goes back further than 99 you drongo, look at some history books of you club topdon, before stating the obvious about your good run in the past year or 2.

Originally posted by windyhill:
Agreed Alf,i would say the biggest choke came from his club,almost merging.Yes their supporters staved it off,but plenty of them voted for it.

thats pretty funny-dickhead

Hawthorn voted against merging, finish! evan if the club was in debt the members had faith in the players as well as the supporters all over the country. This led to Hawthorn leading the melbourne clubs in members as the supporters got behind the most successful team of the last 20 years and the last 30 years!!!

Good comeback man, I rate it!!!!!

Originally posted by AlfAndrews:
I'm still trying to work out whether this topic is an attempt at humour or not. This guy is such a moron he might actually be serious!!!

If I believed you actually have seen a game of football in your life I would be surprised at your stupidity!! I think you may need to play some sports to actually know what choking is about, so ask an old teammate of mine named Terry Kirstenfeldt who dropped 4 catches in a cricket grand final.

ring 013 ha,,, and then ill believe!!!!

Originally posted by dunstall,19:
thats pretty funny-dickhead

the members had faith in the players as well as the supporters all over the country. This led to Hawthorn leading the melbourne clubs in members as the supporters got behind the most successful team of the last 20 years and the last 30 years!!!

Good comeback man, I rate it!!!!!

My cat keeps getting calls from the h/thorn membership dept,"hey puss it`s for you" he just keeps licking his balls,leave him alone h/thorn

#19[/b][/QUOTE]
My cat keeps getting calls from the h/thorn membership dept,"hey puss it`s for you" he just keeps licking his balls,leave him alone h/thorn
[/B][/QUOTE]

I see Essendon have only overtaken the hawks in memebers since they started to win consistently!!

bandwagon club like the tigers!!!!

you **** should merge and become the richdon tigmers and wear black with a stripe representing blood and piss across the front.

#19 colors of dedication pride and love of the guernsey!!!!

Um, I think we have yet another case of Essendon envy. Same old story for Hawthorn. They have lsot 12 of their past 26 games. Obviously in those 12 losses, they didn't handle the pressure. Can't perform under pressure, the Hawks.
rolleyes.gif

Of course in his Essendon-bagging post, he has conveniently forgotton the many Bomber wins where they (Essendon) have been under pressure at three-quarter-time, only to win the match.

I could take any club and claim that all their losses have been chokes. But considering the Bombers have won more often than any other club over the last 24 months, it is a good reflection that they choke LESS than any other club.

STAT :

Home and away matches, since 1990, that have been decided by 6 points or less that Essendon has been involved in :

22 wins, 4 losses!

So, the Bombers have won 22 out of 26 close H&A matches since 1990 (not counting draws). I wonder how good the Hawks are in close finishes? Hmmmmmmm.

They won in 2000 so what, so why would they care about 99 for.
They got close in 96, but we just beat em even if they did get through, they would have been hammered, they had heaps of injuries after that night.

As for the Hawthorn members, didn't they sign up half the zoo a few years back? Also, the hawks memberships have dropped since they had more than the dons in 97. Essendon didn't make the finals in 97 and there member numbers grew in 1998, so your point of bandwagoning is flawed.

This is a great troll of a topic btw.

This is to all of you, the ones bagging essendon for being chokers and to the dickheads talking about Hawthorn nearly merging, look at the facts before you say anything

------------------
"61, 71, 91...2001??"

"Give McCabe a well deserved payrise"

http://hfchotspot.homestead.com

pressure causes essendon to choke, 99 prelim...