Opinion Qualifying Final Changes vs. Sydney

Franklin is the one to worry about, stop him and we are good. Goodes is past it and Tippett will play into Dawson's hands. Sydney will also be susceptible to the rebound as those talls aren't going to excel at keeping the ball in the forward 50.
The only time Goodes bags a few is when you over compensate for Franklin and Tipper, and when he dives. I think Sutcliffe or Ibbo will be plenty for containing him.

Seems two options only to me:

1) Silvagni in only and we get shorter in the backline but at least have players who know the structures down there. Smith and Pearce (2nd and 1st year players) are not up to it and Mayne etc. robs us up forward. I would do this if it looks nice and wet.

2) If it will be dry and they will have their talls in then maybe consider our only real experienced option in Keps for one last hurrah by playing on Goodes. Keps could also rotate with Clarke in the forward line from time to time.

Playing McPharlin would be a huge risk. If they can win without him he will get another two weeks and be cherry ripe for a PF. If he plays and gets injured he is gone for the season.

Can't understand why some are keen to drop Crozier for De Boer. Didn't have a great game on the weekend as sub, but he's played a decent part in our new found attacking flair. We've shifted away from the honest role player, I don't see why we all of a sudden lose faith come finals.

Cometh the hour cometh the man. Alex your time has come! One things for sure, you know you're going to get 100% from this bloke. You never know, he could end up with a premiership medal. I bet he didn't think that a few months ago when he was playing week in week out at Peel.

Can't understand why some are keen to drop Crozier for De Boer. Didn't have a great game on the weekend as sub, but he's played a decent part in our new found attacking flair. We've shifted away from the honest role player, I don't see why we all of a sudden lose faith come finals.

I reckon he needs to start, don't like him as sub. We'd be getting an upgrade in tackling and experience and a downgrade in just about everything else if we dropped Croz for MDB.

Cometh the hour cometh the man. Alex your time has come! One things for sure, you know you're going to get 100% from this bloke. You never know, he could end up with a premiership medal. I bet he didn't think that a few months ago when he was playing week in week out at Peel.

Has tended to play like a headless chook when recalled in the past due to lack of job security I guess. Hopefully with his recent re-signing and the knowledge MJ isn't coming back leads to a cooler, less pressured head this week, I do trust him to acquit himself well though.

I reckon he needs to start, don't like him as sub. We'd be getting an upgrade in tackling and experience and a downgrade in just about everything else if we dropped Croz for MDB.

Agreed, Crozier does the stuff that wins you finals, and his contested game, while definitely not as good, is good enough to keep MDB out. I think he'll be persisted with as sub, purely because I'm not sure we really have anyone else more suitable. We need 4 quarters from pretty much every other member of the 22.

oh ok good. A friend of mine was adamant that rain wouldn't matter as there was a roof... and I couldn't remember
spt_stadium030219,0.jpg

No doubt our defence will be undermanned but in the wet weather you'd hope that Silvangi/Dawson/Ibbo should be able to at least break even. Besides, Buddy is the only one that really worries me....in my view Reid is vastly overrated and Dawson has done well on Tippett in the past.

Lets not panic just yet :)

The reasons are obvious conditions conditions conditions. Who is stronger in the hips, who is less likely to get knocked off the ball in heavy conditions, who is more likely to keep his feet? DeBoer of course.

Having said all that I would love to see Crozier play but I can easily see reasons for a change especially after DeBoer's excellent WAFL game.

the 100 games more of experience will be handy in finals, he can play genuine mid I'd needed or fwd defence, cause he is overall a better option IMO for finals footy, crozier is stiff but with balla, Walters tabs and pav up fwd crozier doesn't have the ability to play in the mid like MDB

De Boer was awful in the finals last year. Playing him instead of Lachie Neale in the GF was a horrible mistake.

The reasons are obvious conditions conditions conditions. Who is stronger in the hips, who is less likely to get knocked off the ball in heavy conditions, who is more likely to keep his feet? DeBoer of course.

Having said all that I would love to see Crozier play but I can easily see reasons for a change especially after DeBoer's excellent WAFL game.
Who is better at using the ball and more likely to kick goals?

Bringing back De Boer would be a step backwards for what the team has built over the past few weeks.

I like the idea of playing Mayne back, and if we do this then Crozier should start in the forward line. I think we need his vision to create a few fast breaks as in a low scoring game this could be the difference between winning and losing.

Johnno out ( grrrrrr ), Silvagni in.

Suban / Crozier out, Lake Grace Surfy in.

I like Subans grunt work which could be handy in a final, but he has failed to shine with the opportunity he's been given. Crozier may be kept as he is a handy forward option.

All I know is that if A. Goodes has a "fainting episode", Ballas, Mayne & Zaccy Dawson will give him warm comfort and good advice !!!!.

Last years QF team against Geelong:
B: Cameron Sutcliffe, Zac Dawson, Paul Duffield
HB: Lee Spurr, Luke McPharlin, Stephen Hill
C: David Mundy, Ryan Crowley, Tendai Mzungu
HF: Hayden Ballantyne, Chris Mayne, Nathan Fyfe
F: Zac Clarke, Matthew Pavlich, Michael Walters
FOL: Aaron Sandilands, Matt de Boer, Nick Suban
I/C: Michael Barlow, Lachie Neale, Danyle Pearce
SUB: Tom Sheridan

So if the changes this week are Fyfe, Sivagni for Suban, MJ, I reckon we are a better off team from last year with:
IN: Tabs, Crozier, Neale and Silvagni
OUT: Deboer, Suban, Sheridan and McPharlin

Last years QF team against Geelong:
B: Cameron Sutcliffe, Zac Dawson, Paul Duffield
HB: Lee Spurr, Luke McPharlin, Stephen Hill
C: David Mundy, Ryan Crowley, Tendai Mzungu
HF: Hayden Ballantyne, Chris Mayne, Nathan Fyfe
F: Zac Clarke, Matthew Pavlich, Michael Walters
FOL: Aaron Sandilands, Matt de Boer, Nick Suban
I/C: Michael Barlow, Lachie Neale, Danyle Pearce
SUB: Tom Sheridan

So if the changes this week are Fyfe, Sivagni for Suban, MJ, I reckon we are a better off team from last year with:
IN: Tabs, Crozier, Neale and Silvagni
OUT: Deboer, Suban, Sheridan and McPharlin

And Luke had just returned from injury and was only mediocre in that game.
Was Johnson not in last year's QF ? If so, there isn't much different.

We have enough bigger bodies in our team to thrive in greasy conditions, but ultimately we need to get the ball through the big sticks more times than Sydney. De Boer is going to add nothing to our scoring potency.

Finals do become a more contested game, but IMO we're going to benefit more from keeping Crozier in the team and relying on Fyfe, Barlow, Mundy, Mzungu etc to win the ball. If we were lacking inside types, I'd definitely be all for bringing MDB in.

BIG BIG test for Dawson and Silvagni. I am fairly confident they have it in them to stop Buddy and Tippett. If Freo are going to win this game though there best chance will be by dominating the midfield and play attacking footy. Same style that has been adopted over last few weeks. They can't leave it up to the back line this time.

Opinion Qualifying Final Changes vs. Sydney