Quiet on Kosi

There has been a lot of discussion about potential player trades etc, and normally it drives me mad, because the subject choice.......Judd, Riewoldt......would be highly sought after.

Just wondering whether people thought Kosi would be as highly sought after.

He is out of contract. He is not having a good year, and his injury history is well documented.

Would we want him.....most likely as a ruck? Would his body hold up to it?
You could definately see some difficulties in contract negotiations with the Saints given his injuries and form.

Personally I think we would take him if he were available, but I'm not so sure that we should. He's not quite Gardiner (injury toll wise), but not far off, and playing more as a forward these days.

What do you think?

I have discussed this in regards to the pies and all agreed that stkilda would want too much because he "could" be one of the most damaging stars of the comp but no club could give up alot for a player with his injury list, especially head injuries. May get to his best again but i wouldnt want my club giving up heaps and taking the risk

They can only trade him if they resign him though.
My premise is really based on the thought that he will want big bucks....and they, based on his recent history may not give it.
He may then be tempted to look elsewhere and walk to the PSD.......its a stretch, but that was my thought process.

They can only trade him if they resign him though.
My premise is really based on the thought that he will want big bucks....and they, based on his recent history may not give it.
He may then be tempted to look elsewhere and walk to the PSD.......its a stretch, but that was my thought process.

i think you will find if they resign him then they cant trade him. I beleive this rule came in a few years ago when for memory Heffernan for essendon got traded after resigning.

They can trade him, even if they do re-sign him

Similar to what we did with Fevola a couple of seasons back. We re-signed him to ensure that he couldn't walk for nothing into the PSD.

However, if they do re-sign him for big money, then they may be forced to pay a portion of his contract as a sweetener.

As long as the player agree's to the trade, it doesn't matter if he has a contract.

In the end I don't think we should trade for anyone. Nobody of any quality comes for free and I don't want to trade any of our players or early draft picks.

The problem with Kosi is that as a high draft pick player who has shown a bit in the past he's more valuable to the struggling Saints then he would be to anyone else. His price would be fairly high despite his poor form.

IIRC Kosi was close to leaving last time his contract was up for re-newing.

We we're the front runners at that stage, but due to the players on our list at the time - we couldn't give him what he wanted.

It's interesting though - because 2/3 years ago, the Saints were flying and we were struggeling. So I found it strange that he'd eve consider a move to us.

Maybe this time we can pull the deal off ?

Given that Riewoldt, Dal Santo and Kosi are all out of contract at the end of the year, and what is currently going on down at Linton St., it would take a massive effort for the Saints to keep all 3 IMHO.

What Carlton do have in their favour is a heap of talented kids, and a likely top 5 pick at the end of the yaar. I'm not saying that we will do it, but i'm sure the club could come up with something to get a very good player to Princes Park next year.

The place must be looking more attractive now that Pratt is on board, and we are starting to get things together on field as well.

Who wants him? Over rated. Played three good games in a row two years ago and that's it. Injury plagued and I'm yet to see him take a game by the scruff of the neck. All this equals Ko-shit-tzke. I'd much prefer Riewoldt.:thumbsdown:

Pretty harsh assesment of Kosi there mate. Of course we would rather take one of the Nicks, but if Kosi did fall through the cracks, then I would be more than willing to take him at Princes Park.

Actually looking at our list I'm not sure we need another ruckman. With Setanta stepping up as a potential ruckman we have: Ackland, Setanta, Cloke, Aisake, Hampson, Jacobs, McLaren.

McLaren is going to be delisted but overwise I think we've more than got our ruck division covered.

In my mind we trade for a star midfield (such as Dal Santo) or a quality Key Position Defender (highly unlikely that any will be available) or we keep our draft picks and just continue down the road we're currently on. St kilda and Fremantle has proven just how stupid it is to trade your pick away, no matter how good you might think you're list is.

Actually looking at our list I'm not sure we need another ruckman. With Setanta stepping up as a potential ruckman we have: Ackland, Setanta, Cloke, Aisake, Hampson, Jacobs, McLaren.

What happens when Carlos is needed back in defence?
Hampson is still 18 months away from playing senior footy, the jury is still out on Aisake and Jacobs is still a rookie, and is playing in the seconds for the Ants. And there has to be ???? over Clokes shoulder.

I was having this discussion today with another Carlton supporter, and in my mind, we MUST take another ruckman in this years draft. Would love Kruezer, but if he's gone before we can select him, there are quite a few that we can go with. FWIW, I think there are better ruckman in this years draft than both Aisake and Jacobs.

McLaren is going to be delisted but overwise I think we've more than got our ruck division covered.

In my mind we trade for a star midfield (such as Dal Santo) or a quality Key Position Defender (highly unlikely that any will be available) or we keep our draft picks and just continue down the road we're currently on. St kilda and Fremantle has proven just how stupid it is to trade your pick away, no matter how good you might think you're list is.

I really hope they put Setanta back to FUB hopefully for the next 7-8 years.

The rest of our rucks are avg or as yet unproven, Seaby would be comming into his prime now.

I'm pretty sure i read somewhere on here or in the paper next years draft we are going to be drafting pretty much all ONB type players.

What happens when Carlos is needed back in defence?
Hampson is still 18 months away from playing senior footy, the jury is still out on Aisake and Jacobs is still a rookie, and is playing in the seconds for the Ants. And there has to be ???? over Clokes shoulder.

I was having this discussion today with another Carlton supporter, and in my mind, we MUST take another ruckman in this years draft. Would love Kruezer, but if he's gone before we can select him, there are quite a few that we can go with.
You want to pick another ruckman in the draft, despite the fact that we've got 6 of them, just as a safe guard for next year... yet you want to pick a kid who probably won't be ready for three years? WTF?? :confused:

What happens when you want Setanta to go into defense? If Cloke isn't available you pick Aisake or Jacobs or Hampson and give them a taste of AFL footy. You could even give Kennedy a role as a relief ruckman when Ackland needs a rest. We've got plenty of options in the ruck so I don't see why we need to recruit another.

We need midfield options, and key defenders. That's what we need, that's what we should recruit. Sometimes you've just got to trust that our recruiters know what they've doing, that at least one of the three young ruckman they've recruited (we only need one to step up) will make it as an AFL ruckman and that we don't need half of the supplimentary players specialising in a position that only fills 9% of an AFL team.

No, we should try to poach a young midfielder than a Koschitzke who is made of chalk and injury prone.

Someone like Meesen from the Crows in a straight swap for Hartlett or our second round pick. I wouldn't want to give up more than our second round pick for a player who hasn't shown anything or wanted out because he's homesick. We need to keep winning to make this club a more attractive destination than Richmond and the underachieving Saints.

Plus Pratt's bucks. :D

You want to pick another ruckman in the draft, despite the fact that we've got 6 of them, just as a safe guard for next year... yet you want to pick a kid who probably won't be ready for three years? WTF?? :confused:

Of those 6, these are who we have to choose from:

McLaren - All but gone at seasons end, so he needs to be replaced.
Ackland - Servicable at best, and needs to find some from
Cloke - Was our No.1 ruckman before being injured, and there now has to be ??? over his shoulder
Hampson - Nowhere near ready for AFL footy
Jacobs - Playing 2's for the Ants, and needs time
Aisake - Needs to debut this year so we can see what he can do in the AFL. Wonderful athlete, but can look lost and make some mistakes in the VFL.
Kennedy - Can pitch hit in the ruck, but has to get back into the team first.
Carlos - Holding his own in the ruck, and is good around the ground, but I believe his spot should be at FB.

We are still developing our list, and yes we need to draft a ruckman so when our list starts to peak in a couple of years hopefully, we've got Hampson ready to go (hopefully), and another highly raten ruckman that isn't that far off (hopefully).

What happens when you want Setanta to go into defense? If Cloke isn't available you pick Aisake or Jacobs or Hampson and give them a taste of AFL footy. You could even give Kennedy a role as a relief ruckman when Ackland needs a rest. We've got plenty of options in the ruck so I don't see why we need to recruit another.:

For far too long, Carlton have ignored drafting ruckman, and have prefered to trade/PSD ruckman from other clubs - French, McLaren, Ackland and Cloke. We HAVE to start developing our own, and whilst drafting Hampson is a good start, we still need another one this year.

We need midfield options, and key defenders. That's what we need, that's what we should recruit.

Mids - yes
Defenders - No. We've covered that recently by drafting Bower, Austin, Flint and Jamison.

What I think we need to do is this:

Pick 1 - Kruezer, or best available mid
Pick 2 - Ruckman (If we didn't get Kruezer), or mid, if we did get Kruezer
Pick 3 onwards - Best available

We are still developing our list, and yes we need to draft a ruckman so when our list starts to peak in a couple of years hopefully, we've got Hampson ready to go (hopefully), and another highly raten ruckman that isn't that far off (hopefully).

For far too long, Carlton have ignored drafting ruckman, and have prefered to trade/PSD ruckman from other clubs - French, McLaren, Ackland and Cloke. We HAVE to start developing our own, and whilst drafting Hampson is a good start, we still need another one this year.
We're developing 4 at the minute, 5 if you count Kennedy as an option, 6 if you count Cloke who's still pretty young. How many ruckman do you want us to develop? :confused:

Mids - yes
Defenders - No. We've covered that recently by drafting Bower, Austin, Flint and Jamison.
You can rule out Jamison here and now. He's gone.

Have a look at our starting 22 and take out: Whitnall, Lappin, Bannister, Saddington, throw Gibbs into the midfield and look at our defense. Bower, Austin, Anderson and Flint will all have to make it if we're to have a defense in two or three years and that's a gamble I'm not willing to make.

Why are Carlton supporters so obsessed about our playing list?

Aren't you happy you got Ackland?
He's actually done surprisingly well over the last few games.

As for you're playing list, it's only natural to be interested when it looks like a clubs falling apart and its best players want out.

Besides this thread has moved beyond old chalk bones into a discussion about the recruitment of ruckman and whether we need another.

We're developing 4 at the minute, 5 if you count Kennedy as an option, 6 if you count Cloke who's still pretty young. How many ruckman do you want us to develop? :confused:

Becuase we simply need to replace McLaren when he gets cut at the end of the year, and from what I have seen in the U18's this year, there are better prospects out there than Aisake and Jacobs. Kennedy is NOT a ruckman, and neither is Carlos for that matter.

You can rule out Jamison here and now. He's gone..

Why's that?

Have a look at our starting 22 and take out: Whitnall, Lappin, Bannister, Saddington, throw Gibbs into the midfield and look at our defense. Bower, Austin, Anderson and Flint will all have to make it if we're to have a defense in two or three years and that's a gamble I'm not willing to make.

Lappin and Whitnall have been playing forward for the past few weeks, so they are already out of the defence. Saddo is doing a job at the minute, and his form has been sound, and there is no reason why he couldn't continue next year. Banno played on Johnson for a half against the 'doggies, and then followed C.Cornes around on Saturday night.

FWIW, my back 6 for round 1 next year would be:

Backs: Scotland O'hailpin Saddington
H-Backs: Anderson Thornton Bower

Others we could rotate back through there could be Bannister, Walker and Whitnall.

Quiet on Kosi